On this page
The short answer on solar string lights vs solar net lights: pick string lights for lines along a fence, pergola or patio edge, and pick net lights for draping over a bush or tree in one piece. We compared 4 examples, 2 string sets and 2 net sets, on layout, LEDs, power, modes, weather rating and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Solar string lights vs solar net lights: side by side
| Solar string lights vs solar net lights | Brightown 55FT S14 | Brightown Globe 2-Pack | DBFAIRY Net | Govee Net | Takeaway | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Layout | Linear | Linear | Grid | Grid | Strings run in lines, nets drape in grids | |
| LEDs | 16+1 | 120 (2-pack) | 100 | 480 | LED counts range from 16+1 to 480 | |
| Length / coverage | 55 ft | 72 ft total (2-pack) | 4.9 x 4.9 ft | 2.8 x 9.4 ft | Strings cover length, nets cover area | |
| Power | Solar, dual solar/USB | Solar | Solar | Corded electric | Only the Govee example needs an outlet | |
| Modes | 3 modes, remote | 8 modes | 8 modes | 64 modes, app | Mode counts range from 3 to 64 | |
| Weather rating | IP65 | IP65 | IP65 | Water resistant, no IP code | Three examples state IP65 | |
| Warranty | 1 year | Not stated | Not stated | 1 year | Two examples state 1 year | |
| Control | Remote | Button, 2 switches | Button | App, Alexa, Google Assistant | Controls range from buttons to voice |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
Layout: lines vs nets
The layout split is the whole comparison. The two string examples hang in a linear layout: the Brightown S14 set runs 55ft with 3ft bulb spacing, and the Brightown globe set runs 72ft total as a 2-pack. The two net examples drape in a grid layout: the DBFAIRY net covers 4.9 x 4.9ft, and the Govee net covers 2.8 x 9.4ft. For a long run along a fence or pergola, a string set fits the line. For a bush or tree, a net covers the surface in one drape instead of winding a string around it.
Power: solar vs corded
Three examples here run on solar, and one does not. The Brightown S14 charges by solar or USB in 4-6hrs for 8-10hrs of glow, the Brightown globe set is solar powered with auto on at dark, and the DBFAIRY net is solar powered with a 1200mAh battery for up to 8 hours at night. The Govee net is the exception: its power source is corded electric, with a 13ft power cable, so it needs an outlet nearby. Anyone shopping for solar net lights should check the power source on the Govee example before ordering, because it does not run on solar.
Modes and control
Modes and control separate the four examples more than any other spec. The Brightown S14 has 3 modes with a remote, 4 brightness levels and 6/8hr timers. The Brightown globe set has 8 modes with a memory function and button control. The DBFAIRY net has 8 modes with button control. The Govee net has 64 modes, 16 million colors and RGBIC control of each bead through the Govee Home App, Alexa or Google Assistant. If remote dimming and timers matter, the S14 is the only example here with a remote. If app and voice control matter, only the Govee example offers them.
What the listings leave unclear
Four small conflicts deserve care. The S14 bullets state an E12 base while the spec table states E26, so trust the bullets. The globe spec table lists a unit count of 70 feet against the 72ft total in the bullets, so trust the bullets. The DBFAIRY title states 5 x 5ft while the bullets state 4.9ft x 4.9ft, so trust the bullets. The Govee title and spec table differ on the weather rating, and the Govee example states water resistant with no IP code, while the other three examples state IP65. Warranty is also split: the S14 and the Govee examples state 1 year, while the globe and DBFAIRY examples state no term.
Four examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Brightown 55FT S14 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Brightown Globe 2-Pack | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | DBFAIRY Solar Net | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Govee RGBIC Net | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Brightown 55FT S14
A 55ft solar string light set with 16+1 shatterproof bulbs, a remote control, dimming and timers.
Pros
- 55ft length with 3ft bulb spacing
- Remote with 4 brightness levels, 3 modes and 6/8hr timers
- Dual solar and USB charging for 8-10hrs of glow
- IP65 rating with shatterproof bulbs
Cons
- Bulb base conflict: bullets state E12, spec table states E26
- Only 16+1 bulbs, fewer than the 120 LED globe set
- White light only at 2700 Kelvin, no multicolor option
- Dimming and timers need the remote control
Detailed Review
The Brightown S14 set is 55ft long with 16+1 shatterproof bulbs, 3ft bulb spacing, a 6ft lead wire and a 1ft tail wire. The remote adjusts 4 brightness levels, 3 light modes and 6/8hr auto-off timers, and the lights charge by solar or USB in 4-6hrs for 8-10hrs of glow. The color temperature is 2700 Kelvin, the rating is IP65, and the warranty is 1 year. Note the conflict: the bullets state an E12 base, while the spec table states E26, so trust the bullets.
Who it is for: a patio, garden or backyard that wants remote dimming and timers on a 55ft run. Who should skip it: anyone who wants multicolor bulbs, or a set without a remote.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 55 ft |
|---|---|
| Bulbs | 16+1, shatterproof |
| Control | Remote |
| Rating | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Brightown Globe 2-Pack
A 2-pack of solar globe string lights with 120 LEDs, 72ft total and 8 lighting modes.
Pros
- 2-pack with 72ft total and 120 LEDs
- 8 lighting modes with a memory function
- Auto on at dark and auto off at daytime
- IP65 rating for rain and snow
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Multicolor only, no white option stated
- Spec table unit count of 70 feet against the 72ft total in the bullets
- Button control only, with no remote stated
Detailed Review
The Brightown globe set is a 2-pack with 72ft total and 120 LEDs in G30 globe bulbs, with 8 lighting modes and a memory function that saves the last mode. The lights turn on at dark and off at daytime by sensor, the panel is adjustable monocrystalline silicon, and the rating is IP65. Note the small conflict: the spec table lists a unit count of 70 feet against the 72ft total in the bullets, so trust the bullets.
Who it is for: a terrace, pergola, patio or garden that wants multicolor globe lights for parties and celebrations. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a white-only set, or a stated warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 72 ft total, 2-pack |
|---|---|
| LEDs | 120 |
| Modes | 8, with memory |
| Rating | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

DBFAIRY Solar Net
A 5 x 5ft solar net light with 100 LEDs, 8 modes and a 1200mAh battery for up to 8 hours at night.
Pros
- 5 x 5ft net covers bushes and trees in one drape
- 100 LEDs with 8 lighting modes
- Solar powered with a 1200mAh battery for up to 8 hours at night
- IP65 rating for the net and the solar panel
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Cool white at 6000 Kelvin only, no multicolor option
- Title states 5 x 5ft against the 4.9 x 4.9ft in the bullets
- Button control only, with no remote or app stated
Detailed Review
The DBFAIRY net is a solar net light with 100 LEDs, 8 lighting modes and a 1200mAh battery that runs up to 8 hours at night with enough daytime sun. The panel and the net are IP65 rated, the color temperature is 6000 Kelvin, and the box holds a ground stake and the net lights. Note the small conflict: the title states 5 x 5ft, while the bullets state 4.9ft x 4.9ft, so trust the bullets.
Who it is for: a bush, tree, fence or wall that wants a solar net draped in one piece. Who should skip it: anyone who wants multicolor lights, or a stated warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Coverage | 4.9 x 4.9 ft |
|---|---|
| LEDs | 100 |
| Battery | 1200mAh, up to 8 hours |
| Rating | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Govee RGBIC Net
A 2.8 x 9.4ft RGBIC net light with 480 LEDs, 64 modes and app plus voice control, powered by corded electric.
Pros
- 480 LEDs with RGBIC control of each bead
- 64 modes with 16 million colors
- App, Alexa and Google Assistant control
- 1 year warranty stated
Cons
- Corded electric, not solar powered
- 13ft power cable needs an outlet nearby
- Title and spec table differ on the weather rating
- Needs the Govee Home App for full DIY features
Detailed Review
The Govee net is 2.8 x 9.4ft with 480 LEDs, RGBIC control of each bead, 64 modes and 16 million colors. Control runs through the Govee Home App, Alexa or Google Assistant over Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, and the power cable is 13ft long. Note the power difference: this example is corded electric, not solar powered, so it needs an outlet nearby. The title and the spec table differ on the weather rating, so treat the rating with care.
Who it is for: a bush or patio that wants app and voice control with dense, colorful LEDs. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a solar powered net, or a set without an app.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Coverage | 2.8 x 9.4 ft |
|---|---|
| LEDs | 480 |
| Modes | 64, RGBIC |
| Control | App, Alexa, Google Assistant |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For outdoor lights, safety means a stated weather rating: three examples state IP65, while the Govee states water resistant with no IP code. Two examples state a 1 year warranty, the S14 and the Govee, while the globe and DBFAIRY examples state none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brightown 55FT S14 | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 2 |
| Brightown Globe 2-Pack | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 0 |
| DBFAIRY Solar Net | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
| Govee RGBIC Net | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 2 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Solar string lights vs solar net lights: which should you choose?
| Style | Pick it for | Note |
|---|---|---|
| String lights | Lines along fences, pergolas and patios | Two solar examples, remotes vary |
| Net lights | Draping over bushes and trees | One solar example, one corded example |
Sizing Notes
- Match the string length to the run: 55ft for the S14, 72ft total for the globe 2-pack.
- Match the net size to the bush: 4.9 x 4.9ft for the DBFAIRY net, 2.8 x 9.4ft for the Govee net.
- Check the power source first: three examples here run on solar, while the Govee example needs an outlet.
- Check the control: remote on the S14, buttons on the globe and DBFAIRY sets, app and voice on the Govee net.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do solar string lights work without an outlet?
Three examples here run on solar: the two Brightown string sets and the DBFAIRY net. The Govee net is corded electric and needs an outlet, so check the power source before ordering.
How do I hang net lights on a bush?
Drape the net over the bush in one piece. The DBFAIRY net covers 4.9 x 4.9ft, and the Govee net covers 2.8 x 9.4ft with a mesh that lays over the bush and can be fastened down.
Can I control these lights with a remote or app?
Only the S14 set has a remote control, with 4 brightness levels, 3 modes and 6/8hr timers. The globe and DBFAIRY sets use button control. Only the Govee net offers app, Alexa and Google Assistant control.
Which lights here have a warranty?
The Brightown S14 set and the Govee net both state a 1 year warranty. The Brightown globe set and the DBFAIRY net state no warranty term, so check the listing before ordering.
Related guides
See every path, string and deck light guide and all solar outdoor guides.
More picks: outdoor solar string lights for fence, outdoor solar string lights for yard.








