Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Path, String and Deck Lights

Solar Tree Lights vs Solar Spotlights: Which One Should You Buy?

Solar tree lights vs solar spotlights compared through three listings: a corded tree-lights set, a solar uplight set, and a solar spotlight set.

Solar Tree Lights vs Solar Spotlights: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short answer on solar tree lights vs solar spotlights: pick tree lights when the job is dressing a tree or a tall feature, and pick spotlights when the job is aiming a beam at a path, a bed or a wall. The tree-lights side here leans on color scenes and app control, while the spotlights side leans on solar power, dusk-to-dawn switching and aimed beams. One honest wrinkle runs through this comparison: the Govee tree-lights example is corded electric, not solar, so it needs a covered GFCI receptacle, while both spotlight-style listings run on solar power. We compared the listed lights on what each states: power source, brightness, modes, mounting and warranty terms.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Solar tree lights vs solar spotlights: side by side

Solar tree lights vs solar spotlights Sunyardlux Solar Spot Lights Katipeal Solar Spot Lights Govee Outdoor Tree Lights Amazon
Side Solar tree lights Solar spotlights Solar tree lights
Power source Solar powered Solar powered Corded electric
Brightness stated Not stated 1000 lumens 1400 lumens
Modes 9 solid + 2 dynamic 4 brightness modes 66 scene modes
IP code IP68 IP68 Not stated
Mounting Ground stake, wall mount Ground stake, wall mount Tree mount
Pack count 6 10 3
Warranty 1 year Not stated 1 year

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.

Power source: corded vs solar

Power source is the sharpest split in this comparison. The Govee tree lights are corded electric at 24 volts and 36 watts, and the warning states outdoor use needs a covered Class A GFCI protected receptacle that is weatherproof, with the power unit connected to the receptacle. The Sunyardlux and Katipeal listings are solar powered and cordless, with no wiring and no outlet needed. The Sunyardlux listing states 10-12 hours of light after 6-8 hours of direct sunlight, with a built-in light sensor switching the lights on at dusk and off at dawn. The Katipeal listing states 10-24 hours of light depending on sunlight, and asks for at least 8 hours of sunlight during the day for best performance. A yard without a covered outdoor receptacle points toward the solar pair, while a tree near a receptacle keeps the Govee option open.

Brightness and color

Brightness and color split the other way. The Govee listing states 1400 lumens with 66 scene modes and RGBWIC color, plus app control, Google Assistant and Matter support, and dimming with 2-way switching. The Katipeal listing states 1000 lumens in cool white only, with 4 brightness modes: low light at 24+ hours, medium at 20+ hours, high at 10+ hours, and breathing at 10+ hours. The Sunyardlux listing states no lumen figure at all, so its brightness cannot be ranked numerically against the other two; what it states instead is RGB plus 3 color temperatures, with 9 solid colors and 2 dynamic modes, and a focused optic lens that concentrates light through refraction for a tighter beam. Do not call a side brighter on brightness unless both sides state a lumen figure, and here only the Govee and Katipeal listings do.

Mounting and placement

Mounting follows the job each side is built for. The Govee lights are tree mount, and 3 packs cover a 32 foot high tree, with the listing noting trees with more open and less dense leaves suit the effects best. The Sunyardlux lights mount by ground stake or wall mount, with the light head and solar panel angles adjusted separately to uplight trees, shrubs, flowerbeds, flags and signs. The Katipeal lights mount by ground stake or wall mount as well, with a 150 degree adjustable head for aiming the beam at yards, gardens, pathways, driveways and patios. Pack counts differ too: 3 for Govee, 6 for Sunyardlux, and 10 for Katipeal, so the Katipeal set covers the most positions from one box.

What the listings leave unclear

Three gaps deserve a plain statement. The Govee listing states no IP code, so its weather resistance cannot be compared with the IP68 codes the Sunyardlux and Katipeal listings state. The Sunyardlux listing states no lumen figure and no watt figure, so its brightness and power draw cannot be ranked numerically. The Katipeal listing states no warranty term, while the Govee and Sunyardlux listings state 1 year each. An odd or missing figure is a reason to say the listing leaves it unclear, not a win for either side.

Three examples

Sunyardlux Solar Spot Lights

Sunyardlux Solar Spot Lights

Sunyardlux9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6-pack of solar spot lights with RGB plus 3 color temperatures, a focused optic lens, and dusk-to-dawn switching for tree uplighting.

Pros

  • RGB plus 3 color temperatures with 9 solid and 2 dynamic modes
  • Focused optic lens for a tighter beam without more power use
  • Dusk-to-dawn switching with 10-12 hours of light after 6-8 hours of sun
  • IP68 code with ground stake or wall mounting

Cons

  • No lumen figure is stated, so brightness cannot be compared numerically
  • No watt figure is stated
  • No item weight is stated
  • One-button control only, no app control stated
Detailed Review

Sunyardlux lists a 6-pack of solar spot lights with RGB plus 3 color temperatures, 9 solid colors and 2 dynamic modes, and a focused optic lens that concentrates light through refraction for a tighter beam. The multi-angle split design adjusts the light head and solar panel separately, and a built-in light sensor switches the lights on at dusk and off at dawn, giving 10-12 hours of light after 6-8 hours of direct sunlight. The listing states an IP68 code, ground stake or wall mounting with included hardware, and a 1-year warranty.

Who it's for: yards that need aimed color uplighting on trees, shrubs, beds, flags and signs. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated lumen figure or app control.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 2/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
PowerSolar powered
Modes9 solid + 2 dynamic
Runtime10-12 hours
CodeIP68

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68 code, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1-year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Katipeal Solar Spot Lights

Katipeal Solar Spot Lights

Katipeal9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10-pack of cool white solar spotlights with 56 LEDs, 4 brightness modes, and a 150 degree adjustable head for yards, gardens and pathways.

Pros

  • 1000 lumens with 56 LEDs and 4 brightness modes
  • 10-pack with ground stakes, screws and wall plugs included
  • 150 degree adjustable head for aiming the beam
  • IP68 code with a stated -4 to 140 degrees Fahrenheit working range

Cons

  • Cool white only, no color modes stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Needs at least 8 hours of sunlight for best performance
  • No app control is stated
Detailed Review

Katipeal lists a 10-pack of cool white solar spotlights with 56 LEDs, a brightness of 1000 lumens, and 4 brightness modes: low light at 24+ hours, medium at 20+ hours, high at 10+ hours, and breathing at 10+ hours. The larger monocrystalline silicon panels claim up to 35% energy conversion efficiency, and the built-in 1500mAh battery gives 10-24 hours of light depending on sunlight. The listing states an IP68 code, a 150 degree adjustable head, ground stake or wall mounting, and a working range of -4 to 140 degrees Fahrenheit. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: paths, gardens and yards that need many aimed white beams on solar power. Who should skip it: anyone who needs color modes or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
PowerSolar powered
Brightness1000 lumens
LEDs56
CodeIP68

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68 code, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Govee Outdoor Tree Lights

Govee Outdoor Tree Lights

Govee9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3-pack of corded RGBWIC tree lights with 66 scene modes, app control, and 32 feet of height coverage for tall trees.

Pros

  • 1400 lumens with 66 scene modes and RGBWIC color
  • 3-pack covers a 32 foot high tree
  • App control with Google Assistant and Matter support
  • Dimmable with 2-way switching

Cons

  • Corded electric, not solar powered, despite the tree-lights side
  • No IP code is stated
  • Needs a covered Class A GFCI protected receptacle outdoors
  • 3-pack is the smallest pack count here
Detailed Review

Govee lists a 3-pack of RGBWIC tree lights with 1400 lumens, 66 scene modes, and app control through the Govee Home App, with Google Assistant and Matter support. Three packs cover a 32 foot high tree, and the listing notes trees with more open and less dense leaves suit the lighting effects best. The power source is corded electric at 24 volts and 36 watts, and the warning states outdoor use needs a covered Class A GFCI protected receptacle that is weatherproof, with the power unit connected to the receptacle. The listing states a 1 year manufacturer warranty and no IP code.

Who it's for: tall trees near a covered outdoor receptacle where app scenes and color control matter most. Who should skip it: anyone who needs solar power or a stated IP code.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
PowerCorded electric, 24 volts
Brightness1400 lumens
Modes66 scene modes
Coverage32 foot tree height

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For outdoor lights, safety means a stated IP code or another stated safety note; the Sunyardlux and Katipeal listings state an IP68 code, and the Govee listing states a GFCI receptacle warning but no IP code. Two of the three state a warranty term, 1 year each for Govee and Sunyardlux, while the Katipeal listing states none. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Sunyardlux Solar Spot Lights 9.6 29 21 21 8 2
Katipeal Solar Spot Lights 9.6 28 21 22 8 0
Govee Outdoor Tree Lights 9.5 30 21 20 0 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Solar tree lights vs solar spotlights: which should you choose?

Choose solar tree lights when the feature is a tree or a tall planting and you want color scenes or app control: the Govee set suits a tall tree near a covered receptacle, and the Sunyardlux set suits uplighting trees, shrubs and beds on solar power with color modes. Choose solar spotlights when the job is aiming white beams at paths, beds, driveways and patios: the Katipeal set suits that job with 10 aimed heads, 1000 lumens, and 4 brightness modes. If the yard has no covered outdoor receptacle, the solar pair is the only option among these three that runs without one.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the Govee power unit to a covered Class A GFCI protected receptacle, as its warning states.
  • Check sun hours before choosing solar: Sunyardlux states 6-8 hours of direct sunlight for 10-12 hours of light, and Katipeal asks for at least 8 hours for best performance.
  • Match pack count to the positions you need: 3 for Govee, 6 for Sunyardlux, and 10 for Katipeal.
  • Check beam aim: the Katipeal head adjusts 150 degrees, and the Sunyardlux head and panel angles adjust separately.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are the tree-lights examples solar powered?

Not all of them. The Govee example is corded electric and needs a covered Class A GFCI protected receptacle outdoors, while the Sunyardlux example is solar powered.

Which listing states the highest brightness?

The Govee listing states 1400 lumens, ahead of the Katipeal listing at 1000 lumens. The Sunyardlux listing states no lumen figure.

Do these lights switch on at dusk?

The Sunyardlux listing states a built-in light sensor that switches on at dusk and off at dawn, and the Katipeal listing states automatic charging by day and lighting up at dusk. The Govee listing states app control and scheduling instead.

Which listings state an IP68 code?

Sunyardlux and Katipeal state an IP68 code. The Govee listing states no IP code.

Which listings state a warranty term?

Govee and Sunyardlux state 1 year each. The Katipeal listing states no warranty term.

Sunyardlux Solar Spot Lights
Still deciding? Our top pickSunyardlux Solar Spot Lights
Check price on Amazon

See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar landscape path lights.