Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Solar Flood and Security Lights

Solar vs Wired Flood Lights: Which One Should You Buy?

Solar or wired flood lights? Four listings compared on the brightness, camera features and weather codes each one actually states.

Solar vs Wired Flood Lights: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short answer on solar vs wired flood lights: pick solar if you have no outdoor wiring and want bright motion light without an electrician, as the CLAONER and MIHANI examples show with 3500 and 2500 lumens; pick wired if you already have outdoor wiring and want a camera with nonstop power, as the Ring and Blink examples show with 1080p video and sirens. We compared four listings on what each states: brightness, camera features, weather codes and warranty terms. The solar pair wins on wire-free install; the wired pair wins on always-on power and video.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Solar vs wired: side by side

Solar vs Wired CLAONER Solar Flood Lights MIHANI Solar Flood Lights Blink Wired Floodlight Camera Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus Amazon
Power source Solar Solar Wired Wired
Brightness stated 3500 lm 2500 lm 2600 lm 2000 lm
Camera Not stated Not stated 1080p HD 1080p HD
Weather code stated IP67 IP65 Not stated Not stated
Warranty 2 years Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

Brightness

Brightness is close across the four. The CLAONER solar example states 3500 lumens, the Blink wired example states 2600 lumens, the MIHANI solar example states 2500 lumens, and the Ring wired example states 2000 lumens. Both sides state their figures clearly, so this is a fair head-to-head: solar takes the top spot, wired takes second.

Camera and smart features

Only the wired side states cameras. The Ring states 1080p HD video with customizable motion zones and real-time alerts, and the Blink states 1080p HD live view with color night view, two-way audio and dual-zone motion detection. Both state a siren and Alexa support. The solar pair states no camera, only PIR motion sensors: 26 feet and 180 degrees on the CLAONER, 30 feet and 180 degrees on the MIHANI.

Power and install

The solar examples need no wiring: the MIHANI includes screws and expansion anchors, and the CLAONER splits the lamp from the panel on a 16.4-foot cable so the panel can sit in the sun. The wired examples need house power: the Ring states hardwired installation, and the Blink states it connects to existing outdoor wiring. A licensed electrician should handle the wired connection, and no install steps are given here. For more solar flood options, see our best solar flood lights for outside guide.

Weather codes

The solar side states weather codes and the wired side does not. CLAONER states IP67, the strongest code here, and MIHANI states IP65. Neither the Ring nor the Blink listing states a weather code, so the review cannot compare that spec across the sides.

What the listings leave unclear

The CLAONER bullets state a 2-year warranty while the spec table says 12 months. The MIHANI spec table lists an E26 bulb base and “Water Resistant” against the IP65 integrated LED light in the bullets. The Blink spec table describes a battery-powered camera with 2 AA batteries and 2-year battery life, which contradicts the wired floodlight camera in the title. The Ring bullets state a 105dB siren in one line and an 85dB siren in another. In each case this review trusts the title and bullets.

Four examples

CLAONER Solar Flood Lights

CLAONER Solar Flood Lights

CLAONER9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-pack of solar flood lights at 3500 lumens with IP67, a remote and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 3500 lumens stated, the brightest here
  • IP67 stated, the strongest weather code here
  • 4 lighting modes with remote control stated
  • 2-year warranty stated in the bullets

Cons

  • The spec table says 12 months, contradicting the 2-year warranty in the bullets
  • The '30% conversion rate and 50% charging rate' claims name no baseline
  • The separate solar panel needs its own sunny spot on the 16.4-foot cable
  • The stated 5W panel figure is small next to the 3500-lumen output
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4-pack of solar flood lights with 4 adjustable heads, 3500 lumens from 288 LEDs, a separate solar panel on a 16.4-foot cable, and 4 lighting modes controlled by a rear switch or remote. It lists a PIR motion sensor with 26-foot range and 180-degree detection, 350-degree illumination angle, 2500 square feet of coverage, IP67 and a 2-year warranty, at 9.6 x 2.2 x 4.64 inches and 3.7 pounds. The spec table says 12 months, contradicting the 2-year warranty in the bullets; this review trusts the title and bullets.

Who it's for: owners who want the brightest solar flood lights here with a separate panel they can place in the sun. Who should skip it: owners who want an integrated camera.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness3500 lm, 288 LEDs
Weather codeIP67
Modes4 lighting modes, remote
Warranty2 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MIHANI Solar Flood Lights

MIHANI Solar Flood Lights

MIHANI9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3-pack of solar motion flood lights at 2500 lumens with IP65 and a tempered glass panel.

Pros

  • 2500 lumens stated
  • IP65 stated with a tempered glass solar panel
  • 3 lighting modes with a PIR motion sensor (180 degrees, 30 ft) stated
  • 3-pack with mounting screws and anchors included

Cons

  • No concrete warranty term is stated ('Manufacturer Warranty' with no term)
  • The spec table lists an E26 bulb base, which does not match the integrated LED flood light in the bullets
  • The spec table lists 'Water Resistant' while the bullets state IP65
  • The '2-3 times larger panel' claim names no baseline
Detailed Review

The listing states a 3-pack of 3-head solar motion flood lights at 2500 lumens, with a built-in tempered glass solar panel, a PIR motion sensor with 180-degree detection up to 30 feet, and 3 lighting modes. It lists IP65, ABS construction and an installation kit with 2 screws and 2 expansion anchors. The spec table lists an E26 bulb base and 'Water Resistant', which do not match the integrated LED light and IP65 in the bullets; this review trusts the title and bullets. The warranty type is listed as 'Manufacturer Warranty' with no term, so no warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: owners who want a 3-pack of solar flood lights with a tempered glass panel. Who should skip it: owners who want a stated warranty term or a camera.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness2500 lm
Weather codeIP65
SensorPIR, 180 deg, 30 ft
Pack3-pack with mounting kit

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Blink Wired Floodlight Camera
Blink9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A wired floodlight camera at 2600 lumens with 1080p video and Alexa support.

Pros

  • 2600 lumens stated, the brightest wired example
  • 1080p HD live view with two-way audio stated
  • Dual-zone customizable motion detection with a siren stated
  • Works with Alexa stated

Cons

  • The spec table describes a battery-powered camera (2 AA batteries, 2-year battery life), contradicting the wired floodlight camera in the title
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Cloud clip storage needs a subscription plan, sold separately after a free 30-day trial
  • No weather code is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a wired floodlight camera with 2600 lumens of LED lighting, 1080p HD live view with color night view, two-way audio, dual-zone customizable motion detection and a built-in siren, working with Alexa. It includes the camera and an installation kit and connects to existing outdoor wiring. The spec table describes a battery-powered camera with 2 AA batteries and 2-year battery life, which contradicts the wired floodlight camera in the title and bullets; this review trusts the title and bullets. Cloud clip storage needs a Blink Subscription Plan, sold separately after a free 30-day trial.

Who it's for: homeowners with existing outdoor wiring who want a camera plus the brightest wired floodlight here. Who should skip it: owners who want wire-free solar power.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness2600 lm
Camera1080p HD, two-way audio
MotionDual-zone, siren
VoiceWorks with Alexa

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Motion detection with siren stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus

Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus

Ring9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hardwired floodlight camera at 2000 lumens with 1080p video and Alexa support.

Pros

  • Hardwired for nonstop power stated
  • 2000-lumen motion-activated floodlights stated
  • 1080p HD camera with customizable motion zones stated
  • Works with Alexa stated

Cons

  • The bullets state both a 105dB siren and an 85dB siren
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 2000 lumens is the dimmest here
  • Clip history needs a Ring Protect subscription, sold separately
Detailed Review

The listing states a hardwired floodlight camera with 2000-lumen motion-activated floodlights, a 1080p HD security camera with customizable motion zones, real-time alerts and a siren, working with Alexa. It hardwires to the outside of the home for nonstop power. The bullets state a 105dB security siren in one line and an 85dB siren in another; the listing leaves the figure unclear. Clip history needs a Ring Protect subscription, sold separately.

Who it's for: homeowners with existing outdoor wiring who want a hardwired camera floodlight. Who should skip it: owners who want the brightest light or a stated warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness2000 lm
Camera1080p HD
PowerHardwired
VoiceWorks with Alexa

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Motion-activated floodlights with siren stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For flood lights, safety means the weather code, the motion sensor and the siren the listing states; the IP67 and IP65 solar listings score above the wired pair, which states no weather code. Only one of the four states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
CLAONER Solar Flood Lights 9.7 32 21 21 7 4
MIHANI Solar Flood Lights 9.6 30 20 20 6 0
Blink Wired Floodlight Camera 9.6 29 21 20 5 0
Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus 9.5 28 21 20 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Solar vs wired flood lights: which should you choose?

Choose solar if you have no outdoor wiring, if you want the brightest light here, or if you want the strongest stated weather code: the CLAONER suits bright security lighting, and the MIHANI suits a 3-pack of motion lights. Choose wired if you already have outdoor wiring and want video with nonstop power: the Ring suits a hardwired camera floodlight, and the Blink suits the brightest wired light with Alexa.

If you need Look at
Brightest stated output CLAONER Solar Flood Lights, 3500 lm
Wire-free install CLAONER or MIHANI solar
Camera with nonstop power Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus
Brightest wired light Blink Wired Floodlight Camera, 2600 lm

Sizing Notes

  • Count heads against the area: the CLAONER states 4 adjustable heads and the MIHANI states 3 heads.
  • Match brightness to the job: 3500, 2600, 2500 and 2000 lumens are stated.
  • Check the weather code: IP67 on the CLAONER, IP65 on the MIHANI, none stated on the wired pair.
  • Plan the panel spot: the CLAONER panel sits on a 16.4-foot cable away from the lamp.
  • For the wired installs, a licensed electrician should handle the connection.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which example here is the brightest?

The CLAONER solar example at 3500 lumens. The Blink wired example states 2600 lumens, the MIHANI solar example 2500 lumens, and the Ring wired example 2000 lumens.

Do the wired examples state weather codes?

Neither the Ring nor the Blink listing states a weather code. The solar examples state IP67 (CLAONER) and IP65 (MIHANI).

Which of these state a warranty?

Only CLAONER states one: a 2-year warranty in the bullets (the spec table says 12 months). The MIHANI, Ring and Blink listings state no warranty term.

Do the solar examples need wiring?

No. The MIHANI includes screws and expansion anchors, and the CLAONER splits the lamp from the panel on a 16.4-foot cable.

Which have a camera?

The Ring and the Blink, both with 1080p video. The solar pair states no camera, only PIR motion sensors.

CLAONER Solar Flood Lights
Still deciding? Our top pickCLAONER Solar Flood Lights
Check price on Amazon

See every Solar Flood and Security Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar flood lights for outside. Also see our best solar flood lights for shed. Also see our best solar flood lights with sensor. Also see our best solar flood lights for yard. Also see our best solar flood lights for garden.