Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

12v Chest Freezer vs Electric Cooler: Which One Should You Buy?

A 12v chest freezer vs electric cooler comparison: one portable cooler that runs on vehicle power against two larger chest freezers that run on household voltage.

12v Chest Freezer vs Electric Cooler: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short answer on 12v chest freezer vs electric cooler: pick the chest freezer side for a fixed spot at home or in the garage, and pick the electric cooler side for the road, where wheels and a vehicle power lead matter more than raw capacity. We compared the listings on power input, capacity, temperature range, portability and warranty terms. The cooler side is the only side here that runs from a vehicle supply, while the chest freezer side runs from household voltage and offers the larger stated capacities.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

12v chest freezer vs electric cooler: side by side

12v chest freezer vs electric cooler EKOJUCE 69QT Cooler Midea 3.5 Cu Ft Freezer BODACIOUS 7.0 Cu Ft Freezer Amazon
Power input 12/24V DC, 100-240V AC 115 volts 110 volts
Capacity 69 quarts 3.5 cubic feet 7 cubic feet
Temperature range -4°F to 68°F 0°F to 110°F freezer, 38°F to 110°F fridge Not stated
Portability 2 wheels, dual handles Not stated Not stated
Warranty 1 year manufacturer 1 Year warranty 1 year from purchasing date

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 24 October 2026.

Power input: the real split

Power input is where the two sides part company. The EKOJUCE cooler listing states both 12/24V DC and 100-240V AC inputs, includes 2 power cables, and states three-level battery protection for use in cars, SUVs and trucks. The Midea chest freezer listing states 115 volts, and the BODACIOUS chest freezer listing states 110 volts, and neither freezer listing states a vehicle input. A buyer who needs to run the unit from a vehicle supply therefore has only one side in this group, while a buyer with a household outlet to spare gets the larger stated capacities on the chest freezer side.

Capacity and footprint

Within the chest freezer side, the BODACIOUS example states 7 cubic feet at 21.57 x 17.32 x 33.46 in and 48.5 pounds, while the Midea example states 3.5 cubic feet at 17.6 x 21.5 x 33.5 in and 47.8 pounds. The EKOJUCE cooler states 69 quarts, with 65 liters also stated, at 18 x 30.3 x 18 in, and states no weight. Because the chest capacities are stated in cubic feet and the cooler capacity in quarts, the listings give no shared figure for a direct capacity winner across the sides, so compare capacity within each side and judge footprint from the stated dimensions.

Temperature range and portability

The EKOJUCE cooler states a temperature range of -4°F to 68°F with MAX and ECO modes, detachable baffles that split the interior into left and right areas, dual handlebars, off-road wheels, a shock-proof design that operates on a tilt of 40°, 4 cup slots on the lid and a bottle opener on the side. The Midea freezer converts between freezer and fridge modes, states garage operating ranges of 0°F to 110°F in freezer mode and 38°F to 110°F in fridge mode, keeps items frozen for up to 48 hours after losing power, and adds a removable basket, adjustable legs and an LED light. The BODACIOUS freezer states a 6-setting adjustable thermostat without stated temperatures for the settings, a removable basket and a defrost water drain. On portability, only the cooler listing states wheels and handles.

What the listings leave unclear

The EKOJUCE spec table lists voltage as an AC figure only, while its bullets state both 12/24V DC and 100-240V AC, so trust the bullets for the full power picture. The same listing states capacity in both quarts and liters and states no weight, so a buyer who needs the weight must ask before buying. The BODACIOUS spec table lists 2 shelves for a chest freezer without any explanation in the bullets, and its 6 thermostat settings carry no stated temperatures. The Midea listing is consistent across title, bullets and spec table, but states no vehicle input and no wheels. Above all, neither chest freezer listing states a 12V input, so the honest split is household voltage on the freezer side against vehicle and household power on the cooler side.

Three examples

EKOJUCE 69QT Cooler

EKOJUCE 69QT Cooler

EKOJUCE9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 69-quart portable cooler with wheels, a -4°F to 68°F range and 12/24V DC plus 100-240V AC inputs.

Pros

  • 12/24V DC and 100-240V AC inputs with 2 power cables included
  • -4°F to 68°F range with MAX fast cooling and ECO modes
  • 2 wheels, dual handlebars, 4 cup slots and a bottle opener
  • Three-level battery protection and UL certification stated

Cons

  • No weight stated in the listing
  • Spec table voltage field lists only the AC side, so the bullets give the full power picture
  • Maker note says to leave it standing upright for a day before first use
  • Capacity stated in two units, 69 quarts and 65 liters, so compare with care
Detailed Review

The listing states a 69QT portable freezer with wheels, a -4°F to 68°F range, MAX and ECO modes, detachable baffles that split the interior into left and right areas, dual handlebars, off-road wheels, a shock-proof design that operates on a tilt of 40°, 4 cup slots, a bottle opener, three-level battery protection and UL certification, with 12/24V DC and 100-240V AC inputs. The spec table voltage field lists only the AC side, while the bullets state both DC and AC inputs, so trust the bullets, and the capacity appears in both quarts and liters. The listing states no weight.

Who it's for: road travelers and vehicle owners who need cold storage that runs from a vehicle supply and rolls to the campsite. Who should skip it: buyers who want a fixed home freezer with the largest stated capacity.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 2/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity69 quarts (65 liters stated)
Power input12/24V DC and 100-240V AC
Temperature range-4°F to 68°F
Dimensions18 x 30.3 x 18 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL certification and three-level battery protection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Midea 3.5 Cu Ft Freezer

Midea 3.5 Cu Ft Freezer

Midea9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3.5 cubic foot chest freezer that converts to fridge mode, with a removable basket and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Converts between freezer and fridge modes
  • Keeps items frozen for up to 48 hours after losing power
  • Garage operating ranges stated: 0°F to 110°F freezer, 38°F to 110°F fridge
  • Removable basket, adjustable legs and an LED light

Cons

  • 115 volts only, with no vehicle input stated
  • No wheels or handles stated
  • 3.5 cubic feet is smaller than the 7 cubic foot example here
  • Adjustable temperature stated without numbered settings
Detailed Review

The listing states a 3.5 cubic foot chest freezer that converts to fridge mode, with garage operating ranges of 0°F to 110°F in freezer mode and 38°F to 110°F in fridge mode, power outage protection that keeps items frozen for up to 48 hours, a removable basket, adjustable legs, an LED light and UL certification, at 115 volts and 47.8 pounds. Title, bullets and spec table agree on the capacity and voltage, so this listing is consistent.

Who it's for: small households that want a second freezer for the garage or basement, with a fridge mode for changing storage needs. Who should skip it: vehicle travelers who need a 12V input and wheels.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity3.5 cubic feet
Voltage115 volts
Dimensions17.6 x 21.5 x 33.5 in
Weight47.8 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL certification stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 Year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BODACIOUS 7.0 Cu Ft Freezer

BODACIOUS 7.0 Cu Ft Freezer

BODACIOUS9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 7 cubic foot chest freezer with a 6-setting thermostat, a removable basket and a defrost water drain.

Pros

  • Largest stated capacity here at 7 cubic feet
  • 6-setting adjustable thermostat
  • Removable basket for organized storage
  • Defrost water drain and ETL certification stated

Cons

  • 110 volts only, with no vehicle input stated
  • Heaviest here at 48.5 pounds, with no wheels stated
  • Spec table lists 2 shelves without explanation in the bullets
  • Thermostat settings carry no stated temperatures
Detailed Review

The listing states a 7 cubic foot chest freezer with a 6-setting adjustable thermostat, a removable basket, a defrost water drain, ETL certification and a 1 year warranty from purchasing date, at 110 volts, 21.57 x 17.32 x 33.46 in and 48.5 pounds. The spec table lists 2 shelves for a chest freezer without any explanation in the bullets, and the 6 thermostat settings carry no stated temperatures, so judge the size and weight figures on their own rather than the compact claim in the bullets.

Who it's for: home and garage owners who want the largest stated capacity here in one fixed unit. Who should skip it: buyers who need road use, since it states household voltage only and no wheels.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity7 cubic feet
Voltage110 volts
Dimensions21.57 x 17.32 x 33.46 in
Weight48.5 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 24 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL certification stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year from purchasing date. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For cold storage, safety means a stated certification or protection, such as UL, ETL or battery protection, and all three listings state one. All three state a 1-year warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
EKOJUCE 69QT Cooler 9.7 32 21 21 8 2
Midea 3.5 Cu Ft Freezer 9.7 30 21 21 7 2
BODACIOUS 7.0 Cu Ft Freezer 9.6 29 21 20 7 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

12v chest freezer vs electric cooler: which should you choose?

Choose the chest freezer side if the unit will stay in one place and you want the larger stated capacity: the BODACIOUS example suits a garage or second freezer spot, and the Midea suits a smaller household that also wants a fridge mode and stated outage protection. Choose the electric cooler side if the unit must travel: the EKOJUCE example is the only listing here with wheels, handles and a stated vehicle power input. If you need both a fixed freezer and road cold storage, these listings do not offer one unit that covers both jobs, so match the stated power input first and the capacity second.

If you need Look at
Vehicle power EKOJUCE 69QT Cooler, 12/24V DC and 100-240V AC
Largest stated chest capacity BODACIOUS 7.0 Cu Ft Freezer, 7 cubic feet
Convertible freezer and fridge Midea 3.5 Cu Ft Freezer, up to 48 hours after losing power

Sizing Notes

  • Match the stated power input to the supply you have: the cooler states 12/24V DC and 100-240V AC, while the freezer listings state 110 volts and 115 volts.
  • Check the stated dimensions against the space: the BODACIOUS example measures 21.57 x 17.32 x 33.46 in, the Midea 17.6 x 21.5 x 33.5 in, and the cooler 18 x 30.3 x 18 in.
  • Match capacity units with care: chest capacities are stated in cubic feet and the cooler capacity in quarts, so compare within each side rather than across the units.
  • Match the stated temperature range to the use: the cooler states -4°F to 68°F, and the Midea states garage operating ranges for fridge and freezer modes.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can either chest freezer run from a vehicle outlet?

Not per these listings. The BODACIOUS listing states 110 volts and the Midea listing states 115 volts, with no vehicle input stated. Only the EKOJUCE cooler states 12/24V DC.

Which listing states wheels?

The EKOJUCE cooler, with 2 wheels, dual handlebars and off-road wheels stated. Neither freezer listing states wheels or handles.

What temperature range does the cooler state?

The EKOJUCE listing states -4°F to 68°F, with MAX fast cooling and ECO energy-saving modes.

Do all three listings state a warranty?

Yes. The BODACIOUS listing states 1 year from purchasing date, the Midea listing states 1 Year warranty, and the EKOJUCE listing states 1 year manufacturer.

Which listing keeps food frozen after a power loss?

The Midea listing states items stay frozen for up to 48 hours after losing power. The other two listings state no such figure.

EKOJUCE 69QT Cooler
Still deciding? Our top pickEKOJUCE 69QT Cooler
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.

More picks: best 12v cooler dual zone, 12v cooler vs 12v refrigerator, best portable power station for camping.