On this page
The short answer on 4 awg vs 6 awg solar cable: pick the Kimbluth for a pure copper 100 FT run rated to 600V, and pick the GEARit pair for short, color-coded power and ground runs where copper-clad aluminum is acceptable. Wire gauge decides how much copper sits between your panels and your controller. We compared the two listings used for this comparison on what each states: gauge, conductor, length and voltage. The short verdict: the Kimbluth suits a single long pure copper run; the GEARit suits short paired runs in cars, RVs and trailers. One note up front: this article was set up as 4 AWG against 6 AWG, but the GEARit listing describes 4 gauge wire in its own title and bullets, so read it as a 4 gauge example.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
4 awg vs 6 awg solar cable: side by side
| 4 AWG vs 6 AWG | Kimbluth 4 AWG THHN 100FT | GEARit 4 Gauge CCA Pair |
|---|---|---|
| Stated gauge | 4 AWG | 4 gauge |
| Conductor | 100% pure bare copper | Copper-clad aluminum |
| Length | 100 feet | 25 ft red, 25 ft black |
| Voltage stated | Up to 600V | 12 volts |
| Temperature stated | Up to 90°C | Not stated |
| Strands stated | 7 wires | 186 strands |
| Warranty stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
Gauge and conductor
The Kimbluth listing states 4 AWG THHN building wire in 100% pure bare copper, with a multi-strand build the spec table counts as 7 wires. The GEARit listing was slotted as the 6 AWG example, but its title and bullets both describe 4 gauge wire: a red and black pair for separate power and ground runs. Its bullets state copper-clad aluminum conductors, fine stranded and flexible, positioned as a cost-conscious option where pure copper is not required. The GEARit spec table disagrees with the bullets on two points: it says Material Type: Copper and Gauge: 8. The title and bullets win on both.
Length and voltage
The Kimbluth states a single 100 FT black wire, rated up to 600V with a working temperature up to 90°C, in a PA6 nylon plus PVC sheath stated to bring corrosion resistance, self-lubricating behavior and oil resistance. The GEARit states 25 feet of red cable and 25 feet of black cable, meant to be measured and cut for custom amp, battery, inverter or distribution-panel wiring, and its spec table states 12 volts. On paper the Kimbluth covers long high-voltage runs and the GEARit covers short low-voltage paired runs, but neither listing states a 6 AWG conductor, so the gauge half of the question stays unanswered.
What the listings leave unclear
The GEARit table’s Gauge: 8 and Material Type: Copper conflict with the title and bullets, which say 4 gauge and copper-clad aluminum; the title and bullets win. Neither listing states a warranty term or a safety certification, so both the warranty and safety columns are zero across the board. The Kimbluth states its 90°C working temperature and 600V rating clearly, while the GEARit states 12 volts but no temperature rating. The Kimbluth lists residential, CNC, ground wire, lighting, household appliances and automotive uses; the GEARit lists car audio, RV, trailer, inverter, generator and solar.
Two examples

Kimbluth 4 AWG THHN 100FT
A 100 FT black 4 AWG THHN wire in pure stranded copper, rated to 600V and 90°C with a nylon jacket.
Pros
- 100 feet of 4 AWG pure copper stranded wire stated
- Rated up to 600V with working temperature up to 90°C stated
- PA6 nylon plus PVC sheath with oil and corrosion resistance stated
- Suitable for wet and dry environments stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety certification is stated
- Only black color stated
- 100 FT length only, no stated cut option
Detailed Review
The listing states a 100 FT black 4 AWG THHN building wire in 100% pure bare copper strands, rated up to 600V with a working temperature up to 90°C. The PA6 nylon plus PVC sheath is stated to bring corrosion resistance, self-lubricating behavior and oil resistance, and the wire is described as highly flame retardant for wet and dry environments. Stated uses include residential, CNC, ground wire, lighting, household appliances and automotive; the spec table counts 7 wires in the multi-strand build, part number M-BLACK-THHN-4 GAUGE-100FT.
Who it's for: anyone who wants a long pure copper run with a stated 600V rating. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a shorter length or a red and black pair.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Gauge | 4 AWG |
|---|---|
| Length | 100 feet |
| Voltage | up to 600V |
| Temperature | up to 90°C |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GEARit 4 Gauge CCA Pair
A 25FT black and red 4 gauge cable pair in copper-clad aluminum, cut to fit automotive, RV and solar wiring.
Pros
- 25 feet each of red and black for color-coded runs stated
- Fine stranded flexible conductors stated
- Copper-clad aluminum for cost-conscious builds stated
- Lists RV, inverter, generator and solar applications stated
Cons
- Title and bullets say 4 gauge, the table says Gauge 8
- Bullets state copper-clad aluminum, the table says Copper
- No warranty term is stated
- No safety certification is stated
Detailed Review
This listing was slotted as the 6 AWG side of the comparison, but its own title and bullets describe 4 gauge wire: 25 feet of red cable plus 25 feet of black cable for separate power and ground runs. The bullets state copper-clad aluminum conductors, fine stranded and flexible, as a cost-conscious option where pure copper is not required; the spec table instead says Material Type: Copper and Gauge: 8, but the title and bullets win. The table also states 186 strands and 12 volts, lists car audio, RV, trailer, inverter, generator and solar among the applications, and gives the model as GI-GRD-4G-CC-25F-BR.
Who it's for: anyone wiring short paired runs in a car, RV or trailer who accepts copper-clad aluminum. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a 6 AWG conductor, since the listing states 4 gauge.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 66 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Gauge | 4 gauge (bullets); 8 (table) |
|---|---|
| Length | 25 ft red, 25 ft black |
| Conductor | Copper-clad aluminum |
| Voltage | 12 volts |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For wire, safety means a certification the listing names; neither listing states one, so the safety column is zero across the board. Neither listing states a warranty term with a concrete period either. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kimbluth 4 AWG THHN 100FT | 9.5 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| GEARit 4 Gauge CCA Pair | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
4 awg vs 6 awg solar cable: which should you choose?
Choose the Kimbluth for the long pure copper run: 100 feet of 4 AWG THHN at 600V with a nylon jacket, suited to residential, ground and automotive wiring. Choose the GEARit for short paired runs: 25 feet each of red and black 4 gauge wire in copper-clad aluminum, with 186 strands per the spec table for flexible routing through tight compartments. For more wire comparisons, see our solar cable vs battery cable and best wire for battery cables guides.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Longest stated run | Kimbluth 4 AWG THHN 100FT, 100 feet |
| Pure copper conductor stated | Kimbluth 4 AWG THHN 100FT, 100% pure bare copper |
| Short paired runs | GEARit 4 Gauge CCA Pair, 25 ft red and black |
| Cost-conscious build stated | GEARit 4 Gauge CCA Pair, copper-clad aluminum |
Sizing Notes
- Match the conductor: pure copper on the Kimbluth, copper-clad aluminum on the GEARit.
- Check the voltage: up to 600V on the Kimbluth, 12 volts on the GEARit.
- Check the length: 100 feet on the Kimbluth; 25 feet each of red and black on the GEARit.
- Note the gauge mismatch: the GEARit spec table says Gauge 8 while its title and bullets say 4 gauge; the title and bullets win.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which wire here is pure copper?
The Kimbluth states 100% pure bare copper strands. The GEARit states copper-clad aluminum conductors.
What lengths do the listings state?
The Kimbluth states 100 feet of black wire. The GEARit states 25 feet of red cable and 25 feet of black cable.
What voltages do the listings state?
The Kimbluth states up to 600V with a working temperature up to 90°C. The GEARit spec table states 12 volts.
Is the GEARit wire actually 6 AWG?
No. Its title and bullets describe 4 gauge wire; only its spec table says Gauge 8. Treat it as a 4 gauge example.
Do these wires state a warranty?
No. Neither listing states a warranty term.
Related guides
See every Solar Panels and Kits guide.
More picks: solar cable vs battery cable, best solar extension cable for trailer, best wire for battery cables, best battery cable lugs.




