Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Batteries and Charging

50Ah vs 100Ah AGM Battery: 4 Batteries Compared

50Ah AGM car batteries against 100Ah LiFePO4 examples, compared on weight, protection, cycles and warranty, with the chemistry difference stated plainly.

50Ah vs 100Ah AGM Battery: 4 Batteries Compared
On this page

The short answer on 50ah vs 100ah agm battery: pick the 50Ah AGM side for a vehicle-specific starting battery that matches an AGM-required car, and pick the 100Ah side for RV, marine or solar storage where a larger capacity battery with a battery management system fits the system. One caution runs through this comparison: the two 100Ah examples are listed as LiFePO4 batteries, not AGM, so check chemistry as well as capacity before buying.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

50Ah vs 100Ah: side by side

50Ah vs 100Ah WEIZE 50Ah AGM Interstate 50Ah AGM GRNOE 100Ah LiFePO4 GRNOE 100Ah 2-Pack Amazon
Capacity 50Ah 50Ah 100Ah 100Ah each
Chemistry AGM AGM LiFePO4 LiFePO4
Weight 32 lb 34.2 lb 22.5 lb 21.9 lb each
CCA 570CCA 570CCA Not stated Not stated
Cycles stated Not stated Not stated 4000 at 100% DOD 15000+ at 60% DOD
Protection stated Not stated Not stated BMS, temperature protection 100A BMS, full protection
Warranty 36 Months 36 Month Warranty 36 months from order 5 years

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

Capacity and chemistry

The two sides differ first in chemistry, not just capacity. The WEIZE and Interstate examples are 12V 50Ah AGM automotive batteries in group sizes 140R and H4, both stating 570CCA, with 80RC on the WEIZE example and 80 minutes of reserve capacity on the Interstate example. The GRNOE examples are 12V and 12.8V 100Ah LiFePO4 batteries, one single and one 2-pack, each stating a built-in BMS. The 100Ah side therefore brings lithium chemistry and battery management to the comparison, while the 50Ah side brings automotive starting figures, and the GRNOE listings state their batteries are for energy storage, not for engine starting.

Weight and size

Weight separates the sides clearly. The WEIZE example weighs 32 pounds and the Interstate example weighs 34.2 pounds, while the GRNOE single weighs 22.5 pounds and each 2-pack battery weighs 21.9 pounds. Case sizes differ too: the WEIZE example measures 6.89 by 7.48 by 8.15 inches, the Interstate example 6.89 by 8.13 by 7.5 inches, the GRNOE single 6.7 by 12.9 by 8.6 inches, and each 2-pack battery 10.24 by 6.61 by 8.23 inches. Check the tray and the terminal layout before choosing: the WEIZE example uses a tapered terminal with left negative and right positive, the Interstate example uses a top post terminal, the GRNOE single uses M8 terminal bolts, and the 2-pack uses M6 terminal bolts.

Protection and monitoring

Only the 100Ah side states a battery management system. The GRNOE single states a built-in BMS with temperature protection and UL/UN38.3 certification. The GRNOE 2-pack states a 100A BMS protecting against overcharge, over-discharge, overcurrent, overvoltage and short circuit, plus UN38.3, IEC, CE, UL and RoHS certification. Neither 50Ah AGM example states a BMS or a protection list. The WEIZE example states heat and cold resistance from its AGM construction materials and an operating temperature range of -22°F to 158°F, while the GRNOE single states operation from -20°C to 60°C, or -4°F to 140°F.

What the listings leave unclear

The GRNOE single states a BMS but gives no BMS amperage figure, while the 2-pack states a 100A BMS. The Interstate spec table lists Battery Type as Lead Acid while its title says AGM; this article follows the title and bullets and calls it AGM. The GRNOE single notes that some units may ship in 0V protection mode and need a 14.6V LiFePO4 activation charger to wake up, and both GRNOE listings warn against standard lead-acid chargers. The WEIZE and Interstate examples give no cycle count for their own batteries: the Interstate bullets give a 100-cycle figure for conventional products, not for the MTX-H4 itself.

Four examples

GRNOE 100Ah 2-Pack

GRNOE 100Ah 2-Pack

GRNOE9.8/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of 12.8V 100Ah LiFePO4 batteries, each with a 100A BMS, in a group 24 size with a 5-year warranty.

Pros

  • 100A BMS with full protection stated
  • 15000+ cycles at 60% DOD stated
  • 4S4P expansion to 51.2V 400Ah stated
  • 5-year warranty stated

Cons

  • Not for engine starting, per the listing
  • No temperature range figure stated
  • No cycle figure at 100% DOD stated
  • The 20.48kWh figure needs a 4S4P setup, not just this 2-pack
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of 12.8V 100Ah LiFePO4 batteries, each with a 100A BMS protecting against overcharge, over-discharge, overcurrent, overvoltage and short circuit, 15000+ cycles at 60% DOD, dustproof, moisture-proof and salt-spray resistance, group 24 size, dimensions of 10.24 by 6.61 by 8.23 inches, a weight of 21.9 pounds each, M6 terminal bolts, 4S4P expansion to 51.2V 400Ah, UN38.3, IEC, CE, UL and RoHS certification, and a 5-year warranty with a 10-year repair service. It also states the pair is not for engine starting.

Who it's for: RV, marine, solar and off-grid users who want two 100Ah LiFePO4 batteries with a 100A BMS each. Who should skip it: readers who want an AGM battery, a single unit, or engine starting, since this is a LiFePO4 2-pack not for engine starting.

Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 22/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 89 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity100Ah each
Voltage12.8V
BMS100A
Weight21.9 pounds each

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 100A BMS with overcharge, over-discharge, overcurrent, overvoltage and short circuit protection; CE, IEC, RoHS, UL and UN38.3, so safety scores 9 of 10. 5-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GRNOE 100Ah LiFePO4

GRNOE 100Ah LiFePO4

GRNOE9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery with a built-in BMS, UL/UN38.3 certification and a 36-month warranty window.

Pros

  • 4000 cycles at 100% DOD stated
  • Built-in BMS with temperature protection stated
  • UL/UN38.3 certification stated
  • 22.5 pounds stated

Cons

  • No BMS amperage figure stated
  • Some units may ship in 0V protection mode
  • Not for starting batteries, per the listing
  • Upper operating limit of 140°F stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 100Ah LiFePO4 battery with automotive-grade cells, 4000 cycles at 100% DOD, 6000+ cycles at 80% DOD and 15000+ cycles at 60% DOD, operation from -20°C to 60°C, a built-in BMS with temperature protection, UL/UN38.3 certification, dimensions of 6.7 by 12.9 by 8.6 inches, a weight of 22.5 pounds, M8 terminal bolts, and a warranty window of 36 months from the date of order. It also notes that some units may ship in 0V protection mode and need a 14.6V LiFePO4 activation charger, and that it is for energy storage, not for starting batteries.

Who it's for: RV, marine, solar and off-grid storage users who want a 100Ah LiFePO4 battery with a BMS. Who should skip it: readers who want an AGM starting battery or a stated BMS amperage figure, since this example is LiFePO4 and gives no BMS amperage.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 87 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity100Ah
Voltage12V
Weight22.5 pounds
Cycles4000 at 100% DOD

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Built-in BMS with temperature protection; UL/UN38.3 certified, so safety scores 9 of 10. Within 36 months from the date of order. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

WEIZE 50Ah AGM

WEIZE 50Ah AGM

WEIZE9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 50Ah AGM automotive battery in group size 140R, with 570CCA, 80RC and a 36-month warranty.

Pros

  • 570CCA stated
  • 80RC stated
  • Charging voltage 14.4 to 15.0V and current 0 to 18A stated
  • Operating temperature range -22°F to 158°F stated

Cons

  • No BMS or protection list stated
  • Battery only in the box
  • 32 pounds stated
  • Tapered terminal position must be verified against the vehicle
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 50Ah AGM automotive battery in BCI group size 140R, with 570CCA, 80RC, a tapered terminal with left negative and right positive, dimensions of 6.89 by 7.48 by 8.15 inches, a weight of 32 pounds, a charging voltage of 14.4 to 15.0V, an acceptable charging current of 0 to 18A, an operating temperature range of -22°F to 158°F, battery only in the box, and a 36-month warranty.

Who it's for: drivers who need an AGM starting battery in group size 140R. Who should skip it: readers who want a 100Ah capacity or a stated BMS, since this example is 50Ah with no BMS stated.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity50Ah
CCA570
Group size140R
Weight32 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 36 Months. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Interstate 50Ah AGM

Interstate 50Ah AGM

Interstate Batteries9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 50Ah AGM car battery in group size H4, with 570CCA, 80 minutes of reserve capacity and a 36-month warranty.

Pros

  • 570CCA stated
  • 80 minutes of reserve capacity stated
  • Listing states fit for 200+ year/make/model combinations
  • Top post terminal stated

Cons

  • No BMS or protection list stated
  • 34.2 pounds stated
  • No charging voltage or current stated
  • Spec table lists Battery Type as Lead Acid while the title says AGM
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 50Ah AGM car battery in group size H4, with 570CCA, 80 minutes of reserve capacity, a top post terminal, dimensions of 6.89 by 8.13 by 7.5 inches, a weight of 34.2 pounds, and a 36-month warranty. One inconsistency: the spec table lists Battery Type as Lead Acid while the title says AGM; this article follows the title and bullets and calls it AGM.

Who it's for: drivers who need an AGM starting battery in group size H4. Who should skip it: readers who want a 100Ah capacity or a stated BMS.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Capacity50Ah
CCA570
Reserve80 minutes
Group sizeH4

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 36 Month Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For batteries, safety means a battery management system, a protection list or a certification the listing names; both 100Ah examples state a BMS, and neither 50Ah example does. All four state a warranty term, from 36 months to 5 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
GRNOE 100Ah 2-Pack 9.8 32 22 22 9 4
GRNOE 100Ah LiFePO4 9.7 32 22 21 9 3
WEIZE 50Ah AGM 9.6 30 21 21 0 3
Interstate 50Ah AGM 9.5 29 21 21 0 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

50ah vs 100ah agm battery: which should you choose?

Choose the 50Ah AGM side if the vehicle needs an AGM starting battery in group size 140R or H4: the WEIZE example fits group 140R and the Interstate example fits group H4, both with 570CCA. Choose the 100Ah side for RV, marine or solar storage where the listing allows energy storage use and a BMS is wanted: both GRNOE examples state a BMS, and the 2-pack adds a 100A BMS figure and a 5-year warranty. Do not choose the 100Ah examples for engine starting: both GRNOE listings state they are not for engine starting.

If you need Look at
AGM starting battery, group 140R WEIZE 50Ah AGM
AGM starting battery, group H4 Interstate 50Ah AGM
100Ah storage with a BMS GRNOE 100Ah LiFePO4 or GRNOE 100Ah 2-Pack
Longest stated warranty GRNOE 100Ah 2-Pack, 5 years
Lowest listed weight GRNOE 100Ah 2-Pack, 21.9 lb each

Sizing Notes

  • Match the battery voltage and chemistry to every charging source: the 50Ah examples are 12V AGM, the GRNOE single is 12V LiFePO4 and the 2-pack is 12.8V LiFePO4.
  • Check the tray and group size: WEIZE group 140R, Interstate group H4, GRNOE 2-pack group 24, GRNOE single 6.7 by 12.9 by 8.6 inches.
  • Keep draw under the 100A BMS limit on the GRNOE 2-pack; the single GRNOE listing gives no BMS amperage figure.
  • Use a LiFePO4-compatible charger for the GRNOE examples, since both listings warn against standard lead-acid chargers.
  • Leave changes to fixed vehicle wiring to a qualified technician.

Frequently Asked Questions

What capacity do the two sides list?

The 50Ah side lists 50Ah on both examples, and the 100Ah side lists 100Ah per battery on both examples.

Are the 100Ah examples AGM batteries?

No. Both 100Ah examples are listed as LiFePO4 batteries, while both 50Ah examples are listed as AGM.

Which batteries here state a BMS?

Both GRNOE 100Ah examples state a built-in BMS. Neither 50Ah AGM example states one.

Which battery here has the longest stated warranty?

The GRNOE 2-pack, at 5 years. The other three examples state 36 months.

GRNOE 100Ah 2-Pack
Still deciding? Our top pickGRNOE 100Ah 2-Pack
Check price on Amazon

See every Deep Cycle and RV Batteries guide and all Batteries and Charging guides.

More picks: LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for generator, 150Ah vs 200Ah AGM battery, 12V LiFePO4 battery.