Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Inverter and Dual Fuel Generators

Best Inverter Generator Cord (2026): 5 Cords Compared

Five generator cords compared on stated length, amps, watts, connector type, weather codes and warranty terms, from a 10-foot inlet-box cord to a 50-foot extension cord.

Best Inverter Generator Cord (2026): 5 Cords Compared
On this page

When the generator sits across the yard from the house, the cord between them decides whether backup power reaches the loads that matter, and that is why the best inverter generator cord deserves the same care as the generator itself. We compared what each listing states: length, amps, watts, connector type, weather codes and warranty terms. The picks below cover short inlet-box cords and long extension cords, with extra options listed after the picks.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Southwire 20FT 30A Cord
    Best Overall Southwire 20FT 30A Cord: 180-day limited warranty stated, plus twist-locking ends Check price on Amazon
  • PlugSaf 50FT 30A Cord
    Longest Cord PlugSaf 50FT 30A Cord: 50 feet of 10AWG cord with ETL listing and IP65 stated Check price on Amazon
  • PlugSaf 25FT 30A Cord
    Shorter Length PlugSaf 25FT 30A Cord: 25 feet of 10AWG cord with ETL listing and IP65 stated Check price on Amazon
  • CircleCord 10FT 30A Cord
    Inlet Box Included CircleCord 10FT 30A Cord: 10-foot cord with an inlet box, storage bag and organizer Check price on Amazon
  • Deeklify 15FT 50A Cord
    50 Amp Option Deeklify 15FT 50A Cord: 50-amp twist-lock cord with ETL certification stated Check price on Amazon

The kits we chose

Southwire 20FT 30A Cord

Southwire 20FT 30A Cord

Southwire9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20-foot 10-gauge generator cord with L14-30 locking ends, dual voltage 125V/250V and a 180-day limited warranty.

Pros

  • 180-day limited warranty stated, the only warranty term here
  • 10-gauge cord with twist-locking ends
  • Dual voltage 125V/250V stated
  • 30 amps of power stated

Cons

  • No watt figure stated
  • No ETL or IP code stated
  • No cord organizer stated
  • 20 feet sits mid-range, shorter than the 25 and 50-foot picks
Detailed Review

The listing states 20 feet of 10-gauge cord with L14-30 locking plug and receptacle, dual voltage 125V/250V, 30 amps of power, molded connectors and weather resistance, plus a 180-day limited warranty. One small contradiction sits inside the listing: the title says Yellow and Black, while the spec table says Black, so this article follows the title. The listing states no watt figure, no ETL listing and no IP code.

Who it's for: shoppers who want a stated warranty term with twist-locking ends in a mid-length cord. Who should skip it: shoppers who need a stated watt figure or an ETL listing, since this listing states neither.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length20 feet
Amps30
Voltage125V/250V
Warranty180 days

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Twist-locking ends and weather-resistant cord stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 180-day limited warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PlugSaf 50FT 30A Cord

PlugSaf 50FT 30A Cord

PlugSaf9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 50-foot 30-amp generator cord in 10AWG with 3750/7500W, ETL listing and IP65 stated.

Pros

  • 50 feet, the longest length here
  • 3750/7500W at 125/250V stated
  • ETL Listed and IP65 stated
  • Adjustable cord organizer included for coiling and hanging

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No inlet box included
  • 50 feet of cord to coil and hang after use
  • No 50-amp version in this listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 50-foot 4-prong cord in 10AWG, 125/250V, 3750/7500W, NEMA L14-30P to L14-30R twist-lock ends, pure copper wire, an IP65 code, ETL listing, heat resistance, flame retardance and corrosion resistance, plus an adjustable cord organizer. The listing states the cord suits generator-to-house use with a manual transfer switch and outdoor RV use, and notes low temperatures of -40 degrees Celsius in its weather claims. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: shoppers who need the longest run here with a stated IP65 code and an organizer for storage. Who should skip it: shoppers who need a stated warranty term or an inlet box, since this listing states neither.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length50 feet
Amps30
Watts3750/7500W
Gauge10AWG

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL Listed and IP65 stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PlugSaf 25FT 30A Cord

PlugSaf 25FT 30A Cord

PlugSaf9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 25-foot 30-amp generator cord in 10AWG with 3750/7500W, ETL listing and IP65 stated.

Pros

  • 25 feet of 10AWG cord, easier to coil than the 50-foot version
  • 3750/7500W at 125/250V stated
  • ETL Listed and IP65 stated
  • Adjustable cord organizer included for coiling and hanging

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No inlet box included
  • Shorter than the 50-foot version
  • No 50-amp version in this listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 25-foot 4-prong cord in 10AWG, 125/250V, 3750/7500W, NEMA L14-30P to L14-30R twist-lock ends, pure copper wire, an IP65 code, ETL listing, heat resistance, flame retardance and corrosion resistance, plus an adjustable cord organizer. One small contradiction sits inside the listing: the title says Green, while the spec table says Black, so this article follows the title. The listing states the cord suits generator-to-house use with a manual transfer switch and outdoor RV use, and no warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: shoppers who want the PlugSaf cord specs in a shorter, easier-to-coil length. Who should skip it: shoppers who need 50 feet of reach or a stated warranty term, since this listing gives neither.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length25 feet
Amps30
Watts3750/7500W
Gauge10AWG

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL Listed and IP65 stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CircleCord 10FT 30A Cord

CircleCord 10FT 30A Cord

CircleCord9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10-foot 30-amp generator cord with an inlet box, ETL listing and 7500W stated.

Pros

  • Inlet box included with rubber plugs over the knockouts
  • Rubber plugs removable without a special tool
  • ETL Listed stated
  • Storage bag and adjustable cord organizer included

Cons

  • 10 feet is the smallest length here
  • No warranty term stated
  • No IP code stated
  • No 50-amp version in this listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a 10-foot 4-prong cord in 10 gauge, SJTW, 125/250V, up to 7500W, NEMA L14-30P male to L14-30R female twist lock, ETL listing, pure copper wiring with flame-retardant, heat-resistant and UV-resistant PVC, plus an inlet box, a storage bag and an adjustable cord organizer. The listing states the cord with its inlet box suits generator-to-house use with a manual transfer switch. No warranty term and no IP code are stated.

Who it's for: shoppers who want an inlet box in the box with a short, tidy cord. Who should skip it: shoppers who need a long run or a stated warranty term, since this listing gives neither.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length10 feet
Amps30
Watts7500W
ExtrasInlet box included

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL Listed stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Deeklify 15FT 50A Cord

Deeklify 15FT 50A Cord

Deeklify9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 15-foot 50-amp generator cord with NEMA 14-50P to SS2-50R twist-lock ends and ETL certification stated.

Pros

  • 50-amp output at 250V stated, above the 30-amp picks here
  • Twist-lock ends seal the interface against wind and rain per the listing
  • ETL certification stated
  • Ergonomic non-slip handle for plugging and unplugging, even with gloves

Cons

  • No watt figure stated
  • No warranty term stated
  • 15 feet suits shorter runs than the 20, 25 and 50-foot picks
  • No inlet box included
Detailed Review

The listing states a 15-foot cord with NEMA 14-50P to SS2-50R twist-lock ends, 250V/50A output, multi-strand pure copper cores, ETL certification, aging-resistant PVC insulation, a twist-lock seal against wind and rain, a listed range from -40 to 100 degrees Celsius, an ergonomic non-slip handle and a cable tie for organization. One small contradiction sits inside the listing: the title says Yellow, while the spec table says Black-Yellow, so this article follows the title. No watt figure and no warranty term are stated.

Who it's for: shoppers who need a 50-amp cord for RV or camper use with a stated ETL certification. Who should skip it: shoppers who need a long run or a stated watt figure, since this listing gives neither.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Length15 feet
Amps50
Voltage250V
ConnectorsNEMA 14-50P to SS2-50R

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL certification stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Deeklify 10FT 50A CordDeeklify 10FT 50A Cord10-foot 50-amp twist-lock cord with ETL certification statedCheck on Amazon
  • Champion 25FT Fan CordChampion 25FT Fan Cord25-foot cord splitting a 30-amp outlet into three household outletsCheck on Amazon
  • POWGRN 35FT 30A CordPOWGRN 35FT 30A Cord35-foot 30-amp cord with ETL listing and IP65 statedCheck on Amazon
  • Champion 2FT Adapter CordChampion 2FT Adapter Cord2-foot adapter splitting a 30-amp plug into three household outletsCheck on Amazon
  • EP 10FT 30A CordEP 10FT 30A Cord10-foot 30-amp cord with ETL listing and 7500W statedCheck on Amazon

Numbers side by side

Generator Cord Solar Score Length Amps Watts Warranty Amazon
Southwire 20FT 30A Cord 9.6/10 20 feet 30 Not stated 180 days View on Amazon
PlugSaf 50FT 30A Cord 9.6/10 50 feet 30 3750/7500W Not stated View on Amazon
PlugSaf 25FT 30A Cord 9.6/10 25 feet 30 3750/7500W Not stated View on Amazon
CircleCord 10FT 30A Cord 9.6/10 10 feet 30 7500W Not stated View on Amazon
Deeklify 15FT 50A Cord 9.6/10 15 feet 50 Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 3 November 2026.

Where the points went

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a generator cord, safety means stated protections such as ETL listing, IP codes, twist-locking ends and weather-resistant jackets; a cord that states none scores zero on that line. One of the five picks states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Southwire 20FT 30A Cord 9.6 29 21 20 5 3
PlugSaf 50FT 30A Cord 9.6 32 22 21 8 0
PlugSaf 25FT 30A Cord 9.6 32 22 21 8 0
CircleCord 10FT 30A Cord 9.6 30 21 21 8 0
Deeklify 15FT 50A Cord 9.6 30 21 20 8 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best inverter generator cord

Match amps and connector type

The Deeklify cord lists 50 amps at 250V with NEMA 14-50P to SS2-50R ends, while the other four picks list 30 amps with L14-30 ends. The CircleCord cord adds an inlet box with rubber plugs over the knockouts. Check the plug on your generator against the cord ends before buying, since a 50-amp plug and a 30-amp plug are not interchangeable. A licensed electrician should install the inlet box and transfer switch side of the setup.

Pick a length with slack, not stretch

Lengths here run from 10 feet on the CircleCord cord to 50 feet on the PlugSaf 50FT cord, with 15 feet on the Deeklify cord, 20 feet on the Southwire cord and 25 feet on the PlugSaf 25FT cord in between. Measure the run from the generator to the inlet or load, then allow slack for bends and for moving the generator. For backup use at home, see our inverter generator for home backup guide.

Generator Cord Length Amps
Southwire 20FT 30A Cord 20 feet 30
PlugSaf 50FT 30A Cord 50 feet 30
PlugSaf 25FT 30A Cord 25 feet 30
CircleCord 10FT 30A Cord 10 feet 30
Deeklify 15FT 50A Cord 15 feet 50

Read the weather code, not the adjective

Both PlugSaf cords state ETL listing and an IP65 code, and the Deeklify and CircleCord cords state ETL listing. The Southwire cord states weather resistance with twist-locking ends but no ETL listing and no IP code. A stated code tells you more than a weather adjective, so weigh the ETL and IP65 lines above bare weather claims when the cord will live outdoors.

Check the warranty line

Only the Southwire cord states a warranty term: 180 days limited. The other four picks state no warranty term at all, so the warranty line does not separate them. If a stated term matters to you, the Southwire cord is the only pick here that gives you one. For a comparison with a power station instead of a generator, see our portable power station vs inverter generator guide.

Sizing Notes

  • Match amps to the outlet: 50 amps on the Deeklify cord against 30 amps on the other four picks.
  • Match length to the run: 10 feet on the CircleCord cord against 50 feet on the PlugSaf 50FT cord.
  • Match watts to the generator: 3750/7500W on the PlugSaf cords against 7500W on the CircleCord cord.
  • Check the warranty term: 180 days limited on the Southwire cord, with no term stated on the other picks.

FAQ: power away from the grid

Which cord here is the longest?

The PlugSaf 50FT cord, at 50 feet. The next longest pick is the PlugSaf 25FT cord at 25 feet, followed by the Southwire cord at 20 feet.

Which cord here lists 50 amps?

The Deeklify 15FT cord, which lists 250V/50A with NEMA 14-50P to SS2-50R twist-lock ends. The other four picks list 30 amps.

Which cords state an IP65 code?

The PlugSaf 50FT cord and the PlugSaf 25FT cord, which both state ETL listing and an IP65 code. The Deeklify and CircleCord cords state ETL listing without an IP code.

Which cord here states a warranty term?

The Southwire 20FT cord, which states a 180-day limited warranty. The other four picks state no warranty term.

Which cord here includes an inlet box?

The CircleCord 10FT cord, which includes an inlet box with rubber plugs over the knockouts, plus a storage bag and an adjustable cord organizer.

Southwire 20FT 30A Cord
Still deciding? Our top pickSouthwire 20FT 30A Cord
Check price on Amazon

See every Inverter and Dual Fuel Generators guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best inverter generator for home backup. Also see our portable power station vs inverter generator.

More picks: gas generator for camping, generators for camping trailers, quiet generator for RV.