On this page
At a campsite at dusk, with the trailer dark and phones dead, the best generators for camping trailers question stops being abstract. The listings compared here split between fuel inverter generators that burn gas for watts and a solar power station that stores energy in a battery. Both can keep trailer gear running, but they differ on watts, run time, outlets, weight and warranty. This guide compares the picks on the figures the listings state, then helps match one to the trailer.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall EF ECOFLOW TRAIL 300: 288Wh LiFePO4 capacity with solar charging and five DC ports Check price on Amazon
Best Fuel Pick PowerSmart PS50A: 1200 surge watts with overload protection and a 2-year warranty Check price on Amazon
High Wattage maXpeedingrods MXR3500: 3500W portable inverter generator for larger trailer loads Check price on Amazon
Small Solar Kit MARBERO 155Wh Kit: 155Wh kit with a 30W panel for light camping loads Check price on Amazon
The kits we chose
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | maXpeedingrods MXR3500 3500W | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | EF ECOFLOW TRAIL 300 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | PowerSmart PS50A | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | MARBERO 155Wh Solar Kit | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

maXpeedingrods MXR3500 3500W
A 3500W peak portable inverter generator with 3000 running watts of pure sine wave power, a 2-year warranty and a CO sensor.
Pros
- 3000 running watts and 3500 peak watts of pure sine wave power
- 2-year warranty plus free lifetime technical support stated
- CO sensor and overload protection stated
- 58 dB at 23 feet in Eco mode with 8.3 hours at 25% load
Cons
- Burns gasoline, unlike the battery inverters here
- 47 lbs is the heaviest unit here
- The spec table's 4000W peak figure disagrees with the title's 3500W
- No certification mark is stated
Detailed Review
The maXpeedingrods listing states a 3500W peak, 3000 running watt portable inverter generator with pure sine wave output, a 120V 30A RV outlet, two 120V 20A outlets and two USB outlets, running 8.3 hours at 25% load and 4.5 hours at 50% load from a 4L tank. It states a 2-year warranty with free lifetime technical support, a CO sensor and overload protection. The spec table disagrees in places, listing a 4000W peak figure and a 23580 g weight against the bullets' 3500W and 47 lbs, so we trust the title and bullets.
Who it's for: trailer owners who want generator power with an RV outlet and quiet 58 dB running. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a battery-powered inverter with no fuel or exhaust.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Peak / running | 3500W / 3000W |
|---|---|
| Waveform | Pure sine wave |
| Outlets | 30A RV, 2 x 20A AC, 2 USB |
| Noise | 58 dB at 23 ft |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CO sensor and overload protection stated; no certification mark stated., so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty with free lifetime technical support stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

EF ECOFLOW TRAIL 300
A 288Wh LiFePO4 power station with 300W of DC output across five ports, solar charging up to 110W and a 5-year warranty stated in the spec table.
Pros
- 288Wh LiFePO4 capacity with 300W of DC output
- Five DC ports: 2 USB-A, 2 USB-C and 1 12V car port
- Solar, car and dual USB-C charging, with 0-80% in 85 minutes on dual USB-C
- 5-year warranty stated in the spec table
Cons
- Panel inclusion is unclear: the listing names a 45W panel and also says panels are sold separately
- DC output only; no AC outlet is stated
- 300W ceiling limits it to small DC loads
- Panel weight of 3.1 lb adds to the 5.69 lb station when carried together
Detailed Review
The TRAIL 300 is a DC-only power station: a 288Wh LiFePO4 battery with 300W of pure DC output, up to 140W per port, across 2 USB-A ports at 12W, 2 USB-C PD3.1 ports and 1 12V car port at 10A. Recharging runs three ways: car charging at 110W max, solar charging at 110W max, and dual USB-C fast charging at 2 x 140W, with 0-80% in 85 minutes on dual USB-C. The listing is unclear on the panel: the title names a 45W solar panel and the bullets describe 45W solar charging, yet the same bullets say panels are sold separately, so treat the panel as a separate purchase.
Who it's for: campers and trailer owners who run DC gear such as phones, laptops and a 12V electric cooler, and want solar, car and USB-C charging in a 5.69 lb pack. Who should skip it: anyone who needs an AC outlet or more than 300W, where a fuel inverter generator fits better.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 288Wh |
|---|---|
| Output | 300W DC, up to 140W per port |
| Ports | 2 USB-A, 2 USB-C, 1 12V car port |
| Recharging | Car 110W max, solar 110W max, dual USB-C 2 x 140W |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Five layers of protection, LiFePO4 battery, so safety scores 5 of 10. 5 Year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PowerSmart PS50A
A 1200 surge watt portable generator with a 71cc 2-stroke engine, a 1.1-gallon tank and up to 5 hours of runtime at 50% load, with overload and short-circuit protection.
Pros
- 1200 surge watts and 900 rated watts for camping lights, slow cookers and small power tools
- Overload and short-circuit protection with ANSI/PGMA G300, ANSI/UL2201 and EPA certifications
- 34 lbs with a built-in carrying handle
- 2-year warranty with support responding within 24 hours
Cons
- 2-stroke engine needs fuel mixing, with a fuel mixing cup included
- No solar charging; fuel only
- Single 120V 7.5A AC outlet limits simultaneous AC loads
- Runtime of up to 5 hours at 50% load is short for overnight use
Detailed Review
The PS50A is a small fuel generator: a 71cc 2-stroke engine offering 1200 surge watts and 900 rated watts, with a 1.1-gallon fuel tank and up to 5 hours of continuous runtime at 50% load. The control panel gives a 120V 7.5A AC outlet and a 12V 5.3A DC output, with a DC cable for battery charging in the box, plus a 40-inch DC charging cable, spark plug socket, fuel mixing cup and high-altitude screw. Safety lines state overload and short-circuit protection, ANSI/PGMA G300, ANSI/UL2201 and EPA certifications.
Who it's for: trailer owners who need a light fuel generator for camping lights, slow cookers, small power tools and portable fans. Who should skip it: anyone who wants silent solar charging or more than 900 rated watts.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 1200 surge watts, 900 rated watts |
|---|---|
| Engine | 71cc 2-stroke |
| Runtime | Up to 5 hours at 50% load |
| Outlets | 120V 7.5A AC, 12V 5.3A DC |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Overload and short-circuit protection, ANSI/PGMA G300, ANSI/UL2201, EPA, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MARBERO 155Wh Solar Kit
A MARBERO 155Wh solar generator kit with a 30W panel, IP65 and a 12-month warranty.
Pros
- 155Wh with 30W panel included stated
- 23% panel efficiency with IP65 stated
- Two 100W AC outlets with USB and DC ports stated
- 12 months warranty stated
Cons
- 155Wh against 296Wh on the EnginStar
- 100W AC output against 300W on the EnginStar
- 30W panel recharges in 6 to 7 hours stated
- No stated protection beyond short circuit
Detailed Review
The listing states a 155Wh portable power station kit with a 30W triple-fold solar panel at 23% efficiency and IP65, a 6.5-foot cable, and a power converter with 18W QC3.0 USB-A and 18W USB-C outputs. It states two 100W AC outlets, one QC3.0 USB-A, two USB-A, one USB-C, three DC outputs, a car port, a 3-mode LED flashlight, short circuit protection, a 3.7-pound station, and a 12 months warranty with round-the-clock customer service. The panel recharges the station in 6 to 7 hours stated.
Who it's for: backpackers who want a complete kit at the lowest stated weight here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 300W AC output or more capacity.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 155Wh |
|---|---|
| AC output | 100W |
| Panel | 30W included |
| Weight | 3.7 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating on the solar panel and short circuit protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 12 months warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power station limits. Stay within the stated continuous output and solar input limits, keep the unit ventilated and dry, charge within the stated temperature range, and never connect it to home wiring except through equipment a licensed electrician installs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Oxseryn 2800W Inverter2800 peak watts for camping and home backup useCheck on Amazon
Honda EU2200i2200 watts with CO-MINDER shutdown and a 3-year warrantyCheck on Amazon
PowerSmart 4000W Inverter4000 peak watts, 3200 rated watts, parallel readyCheck on Amazon
Evernexta 4000W Inverter4000 starting watts with a 30A outlet and 2-year warrantyCheck on Amazon
Numbers side by side
| Generator | Solar Score | Output | Fuel or charge | Weight | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EF ECOFLOW TRAIL 300 | 9.6/10 | 300W DC, 288Wh | 45W solar, car, USB-C | 5.69 lb | 5 Year | View on Amazon |
| PowerSmart PS50A | 9.6/10 | 1200 surge watts, 900 rated watts | 1.1-gallon tank, up to 5 hours at 50% load | 34 lbs | 2-year warranty | View on Amazon |
| maXpeedingrods MXR3500 | 9.7/10 | 3500W | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| MARBERO 155Wh Kit | 9.6/10 | 155Wh | 30W panel | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 3 November 2026.
Where the points went
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For generators, safety means certifications and protections the listing actually states, such as overload protection; a pick that states none scores zero on that line. Two of the products state a warranty term, and the two title-only listings state none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EF ECOFLOW TRAIL 300 | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 5 | 4 |
| PowerSmart PS50A | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best generators for camping trailers
Start from watts, not watt-hours alone
Fuel generators and power stations quote different figures, so read them separately. The PowerSmart PS50A gives 1200 surge watts and 900 rated watts from a 71cc 2-stroke engine. The EF ECOFLOW TRAIL 300 gives 300W of DC output from a 288Wh battery. A trailer load that needs an AC outlet points toward the fuel pick, while a load that runs on DC points toward the power station.
Fuel or solar for the trailer
Fuel generators run outdoors only, far from doors and windows, because of carbon monoxide. A fuel pick suits a trailer owner who wants higher watts and a refillable tank, with up to 5 hours of runtime at 50% load on the PowerSmart pick. A solar power station suits a trailer owner who wants silent charging from sun, car or USB-C, with solar charging at 110W max on the TRAIL 300. For more on the fuel side, see our best gas generator for camping guide, and for the station side, see our best portable power station for camping guide.
Outlets and charging
Outlets decide what actually plugs in. The PowerSmart pick gives a 120V 7.5A AC outlet and a 12V 5.3A DC output. The TRAIL 300 gives five DC ports and no AC outlet stated. Charging differs the same way: the fuel pick refills from a 1.1-gallon tank, while the power station recharges from solar at 110W max, car charging at 110W max, or dual USB-C at 2 x 140W. The table below lines up the outlets and charging for each product.
| Generator | Outlets | Charging or fuel |
|---|---|---|
| EF ECOFLOW TRAIL 300 | 2 USB-A, 2 USB-C, 1 12V car port | Solar 110W max, car 110W max, dual USB-C 2 x 140W |
| PowerSmart PS50A | 120V 7.5A AC, 12V 5.3A DC | 1.1-gallon tank, up to 5 hours at 50% load |
| maXpeedingrods MXR3500 | Not stated | Not stated |
| MARBERO 155Wh Kit | Not stated | 30W panel |
For a head-to-head on the two approaches, see our portable power station vs inverter generator comparison.
Weight and where it rides
Weight decides how the generator travels to the trailer. The TRAIL 300 weighs 5.69 lb, with a 45W solar panel at 3.1 lb carried alongside it. The PowerSmart pick weighs 34 lbs with a built-in carrying handle. The two title-only listings state no weight, so check the listing before counting on a one-person carry.
Sizing Notes
- Match the generator watts against the loads you plan: 300W DC from the power station against 1200 surge watts and 900 rated watts from the fuel pick.
- Match watt-hours against the loads you plan: 288Wh in the power station sets the energy budget for DC gear.
- Match panel watts against the station input: a 45W panel against 110W max solar charging.
- Check the outlets against the gear: a 120V 7.5A AC outlet and a 12V 5.3A DC output on the fuel pick, five DC ports on the power station.
- Use the cable and charging figures the listing gives: a 40-inch DC charging cable on the fuel pick, car charging at 110W max on the power station.
FAQ: power away from the grid
Can a 300W power station run trailer appliances?
It depends on the load. The TRAIL 300 gives 300W of DC output with no AC outlet stated, so it suits DC gear such as phones, laptops and a 12V electric cooler. Larger AC appliances need a fuel inverter generator with higher rated watts.
How long does the PowerSmart PS50A run?
Up to 5 hours of continuous runtime at 50% load from a 1.1-gallon fuel tank. Runtime follows the load, so lighter loads stretch the tank and heavier loads shorten it.
Does the TRAIL 300 come with a solar panel?
The listing is unclear. The title names a 45W solar panel and the bullets describe 45W solar charging, yet the same bullets say panels are sold separately. Treat the panel as a separate purchase unless the listing at checkout says otherwise.
What warranty terms do the picks state?
The TRAIL 300 states 5 Year in the spec table. The PS50A states a 2-year warranty. The two title-only listings state no warranty term.
Why are two cards so short?
The MARBERO kit and the maXpeedingrods generator give a title and no further figures, so their cards stay short and their scores sit below the full-data picks.
Related solar guides
See every Inverter and Dual Fuel Generators guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best portable power station for camping. Also see our best gas generator for camping. Also see our portable power station vs inverter generator.




