Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Inverter and Dual Fuel Generators

Best Rv Generator Box (2026): Compared by Spec

RV generator boxes compared on box type, size, cover and latch, ventilation, certification and warranty terms, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Rv Generator Box (2026): Compared by Spec
On this page

When the generator sits outside the RV and the rain starts, the best rv generator box is the housing that keeps the unit and its connections out of the weather. A licensed electrician should install the inlet and outlet boxes. We compared what each listing states: box type, size, cover and latch, ventilation, certification and warranty terms. The strongest listings pair a stated certification with a lockable cover, while the thinner listings leave weight or warranty unstated.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Stromberg Carlson CC-220
    Best Overall Stromberg Carlson CC-220: aluminum box with tie-down rings and a 1-year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
  • RVMATE 50A Inlet Box
    Inlet Pick RVMATE 50A Inlet Box: 50A inlet with ETL certification and an LED power indicator Check price on Amazon
  • PAULINN 30A Outlet Box
    Outlet Pick PAULINN 30A Outlet Box: 30A UL Listed outlet box with a lockable swing cover Check price on Amazon
  • Wpokke Generator Box
    Lockable Door Pick Wpokke Generator Box: lockable top cover with ventilation holes and six panels Check price on Amazon
  • EFQKLPY Generator Box
    Ground Pick EFQKLPY Generator Box: ventilated metal enclosure with a latch for lock installation Check price on Amazon

The kits we chose

Stromberg Carlson CC-220

Stromberg Carlson CC-220

Stromberg Carlson9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Aluminum generator box with tie-down rings, propane ventilation and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Rust-resistant aluminum diamond plate construction
  • Tie-down rings inside for the generator and accessories
  • Propane ventilation through tray holes
  • 1-year warranty stated

Cons

  • 39.0 by 21.0 by 24.0 inches stated
  • Designed for the CC-255 trailer tray
  • No electrical figure is stated
  • No weight is stated
Detailed Review

The title states a generator box with tie-down rings, anti-theft design, propane ventilation, durable aluminum, trailer readiness and A-frame and 4-inch square bumper adapters. The bullets add a strong anti-theft design, a rust-resistant aluminum diamond plate construction, propane ventilation through existing tray holes for residual propane and gas fumes, a lid lock knob and tie-down rings inside. The spec table gives 39.0 by 21.0 by 24.0 inches and lists a 1-year warranty.

Who it's for: RV owners who want a lockable aluminum box for a generator on a trailer tray. Who should skip it: buyers who want an electrical inlet or outlet box, or a stated weight.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size39.0 x 21.0 x 24.0 inches
MaterialAluminum diamond plate
FitCC-255 trailer tray
Warranty1-year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Propane ventilation and lock knob stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

RVMATE 50A Inlet Box

RVMATE 50A Inlet Box

RVMATE9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

50A generator inlet box at 125/250V and 6250/12500W with ETL certification and an LED power indicator.

Pros

  • 50A inlet at 125/250V and 6250/12500W
  • ETL and cETL certification stated
  • LED power indicator on the flip cover
  • Pre-drilling design with a removable front

Cons

  • No weight is stated
  • No dimensions are stated
  • Needs an electrician for wiring work
  • Moisture protection depends on the flip cover being closed
Detailed Review

The title states a pre-drilling 50A generator inlet box, NEMA SS2-50P, 125/250V, 6250/12500W and ETL listing. The bullets add a pre-drilling design for removing and replacing wiring caps, ETL and cETL certification, a clear LED power indicator on the flip cover, internal space stated as 50% larger than an ordinary power inlet box, a removable front, steel construction with anti-corrosive powder-coat paint and a flip cover that closes against moisture when not working. The bullets note outdoor installation in an open area where the generator is used, to avoid carbon monoxide hazard. The spec table states no weight and no dimensions.

Who it's for: RV owners and homeowners who want a 50A inlet box with ETL certification and an LED indicator. Who should skip it: buyers who want a storage enclosure, or stated weight and dimensions.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Amps50A
Volts125/250V
Watts6250/12500W
InletNEMA SS2-50P

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL and cETL certified stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PAULINN 30A Outlet Box

PAULINN 30A Outlet Box

PAULINN9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

30A RV power outlet box at 125V with a NEMA TT-30R receptacle, a lockable swing cover and UL listing.

Pros

  • 30A outlet at 125V with a NEMA TT-30R receptacle
  • UL Listed stated
  • Enclosed and lockable swing cover
  • Matte, scratch-resistant and rust-resistant paint

Cons

  • No weight is stated
  • No dimensions are stated
  • Needs an electrician for wiring work
  • No LED indicator is stated
Detailed Review

The title states a 30A RV power outlet box, NEMA TT-30R, 125V, an enclosed and lockable outdoor panel and UL listing. The bullets add UL certification, an enclosed and lockable swing cover with a locking part at the bottom, an arc-shaped design with larger space, matte, scratch-resistant and rust-resistant paint and outdoor and indoor use for motorhomes, EVs, generators and welders. The spec table states no weight and no dimensions.

Who it's for: RV owners who want a lockable 30A outlet box with UL listing. Who should skip it: buyers who want a storage enclosure, or stated weight and dimensions.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Amps30A
Volts125V
ReceptacleNEMA TT-30R
CoverLockable swing cover

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL Listed stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Wpokke Generator Box

Wpokke Generator Box

Wpokke9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Metal generator box at 28 by 22 by 22 inches with ventilation holes, a lockable top cover and six panels.

Pros

  • 28.0 by 22.0 by 22.0 inches stated
  • Ventilation holes around the box
  • Lockable top cover with a pre-assembled hinge
  • Assembly stated at approximately 20 minutes

Cons

  • No weight is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Assembly is required
  • No certification is stated
Detailed Review

The title states a 28 by 22 by 22 inch generator box with ventilation holes and a lockable door. The bullets add a heavy-duty metal shell with a polished surface, rust resistance and corrosion resistance, ventilation openings around the box, a pre-assembled hinge design with a lockable top cover, six panels with pre-drilled holes and assembly stated at approximately 20 minutes. The spec table gives 28.0 by 22.0 by 22.0 inches.

Who it's for: RV, truck and trailer owners who want a ventilated metal box with a lockable cover. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term or a stated weight.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size28.0 x 22.0 x 22.0 inches
MaterialMetal shell
VentilationVentilation holes
PanelsSix panels

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Ventilation holes and lockable top cover stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

EFQKLPY Generator Box

EFQKLPY Generator Box

EFQKLPY9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Metal generator box at 28 by 22 by 22 inches with ventilation holes, a latch for lock installation and pre-punched holes.

Pros

  • 28.0 by 22.0 by 22.0 inches stated
  • Ventilation openings around the sides
  • Latch system supporting lock installation
  • Pre-assembled hinge with top-opening access

Cons

  • No weight is stated
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Assembly is required
  • No certification is stated
Detailed Review

The title states a heavy duty metal generator box at 28 by 22 by 22 inches with ventilation holes and a lockable design. The bullets add a metal enclosure for outdoor exposure to rain, snow and sunlight, ventilation openings around the sides for airflow, a pre-assembled hinge design with top-opening access, a latch system supporting lock installation, side, front and rear panels with pre-punched mounting holes and stable ground installation. The spec table gives 28.0 by 22.0 by 22.0 inches.

Who it's for: RV, truck and trailer owners who want a ventilated metal box for ground installation. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term or a stated weight.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size28.0 x 22.0 x 22.0 inches
MaterialMetal
VentilationVentilation openings
AccessTop-opening hinge

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Ventilation holes and latch for lock installation stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Jopquyo Generator BoxJopquyo Generator BoxSuits RV and trailer use with soundproof insulation and exhaust fan.Check on Amazon
  • peastorm Generator Boxpeastorm Generator BoxSuits outside use with lockable design and cooling fan.Check on Amazon
  • confote Generator Boxconfote Generator BoxSuits trailer tongues with aluminum build and T-handle latch.Check on Amazon
  • Lockable Generator Box 24x16x22Lockable quiet enclosure for outside, RV, truck and trailer use.Check on Amazon
  • Fsehyue Generator Tool BoxAluminium tool box for trailer tongues with T-handle lock and keys.Check on Amazon

Numbers side by side

RV Generator Box Solar Score Type Size Cover or latch Warranty Amazon
Stromberg Carlson CC-220 9.6/10 Storage box 39.0 x 21.0 x 24.0 inches Lock knob 1 year View on Amazon
RVMATE 50A Inlet Box 9.6/10 Inlet box Not stated Flip cover with LED indicator Not stated View on Amazon
PAULINN 30A Outlet Box 9.6/10 Outlet box Not stated Lockable swing cover Not stated View on Amazon
Wpokke Generator Box 9.6/10 Storage box 28.0 x 22.0 x 22.0 inches Lockable top cover Not stated View on Amazon
EFQKLPY Generator Box 9.5/10 Storage box 28.0 x 22.0 x 22.0 inches Latch for lock installation Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 3 November 2026.

Where the points went

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a generator box, safety means certifications, lockable covers and ventilation the listing actually states; a box that states none scores zero on that line, whatever its size. The Stromberg box states a warranty term, and the other picks state none. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Stromberg Carlson CC-220 9.6 28 22 21 5 2
RVMATE 50A Inlet Box 9.6 30 21 21 8 0
PAULINN 30A Outlet Box 9.6 28 21 21 8 0
Wpokke Generator Box 9.6 28 21 21 5 0
EFQKLPY Generator Box 9.5 27 21 21 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best rv generator box

Match the box type to the job

An inlet box, an outlet box and a storage enclosure do different jobs, so start from the job, not the size. The RVMATE is a 50A inlet box. The PAULINN is a 30A outlet box. The Stromberg, the EFQKLPY and the Wpokke are storage enclosures. The RVMATE lists 125/250V and 6250/12500W. The PAULINN lists a 125V TT-30R receptacle. For the panel side of an RV setup, see RV power distribution panel.

Check size against the generator

Size decides whether the generator fits with room for air and hands. The Stromberg lists 39.0 by 21.0 by 24.0 inches. The EFQKLPY lists 28.0 by 22.0 by 22.0 inches. The Wpokke lists 28.0 by 22.0 by 22.0 inches. The RVMATE states no dimensions. The PAULINN states no dimensions.

Box Size Latch
Stromberg Carlson CC-220 39.0 by 21.0 by 24.0 inches Lock knob
Wpokke Generator Box 28.0 by 22.0 by 22.0 inches Lockable top cover
EFQKLPY Generator Box 28.0 by 22.0 by 22.0 inches Latch for lock installation

Weigh covers, latches and ventilation

Covers and latches decide who can open the box, and ventilation decides how hot it gets inside. The RVMATE lists a flip cover with a clear LED power indicator. The PAULINN lists an enclosed and lockable swing cover. The Stromberg lists a lid lock knob and tie-down rings inside. The EFQKLPY lists a latch system supporting lock installation. The Wpokke lists a lockable top cover with a pre-assembled hinge. The Stromberg lists propane ventilation through tray holes. The EFQKLPY lists ventilation openings around the sides. The Wpokke lists ventilation openings around the box.

Read the certification and warranty lines

Certification and warranty lines split this group more sharply than size does. The RVMATE lists ETL and cETL certification. The PAULINN lists UL certification. The Stromberg lists a 1-year warranty. The RVMATE states no warranty term. The PAULINN states no warranty term. The EFQKLPY states no warranty term. The Wpokke states no warranty term. For a cabin view of generator power, see inverter vs generator for cabin.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the box to the generator size: the Stromberg lists 39.0 by 21.0 by 24.0 inches.
  • Match the box to the generator size: the EFQKLPY and the Wpokke both list 28.0 by 22.0 by 22.0 inches.
  • Check the inlet figures before you buy: the RVMATE lists 50A at 125/250V.
  • Check the outlet figures before you buy: the PAULINN lists 30A at 125V.
  • Check ventilation for propane fumes: the Stromberg lists airflow for residual propane and gas fumes through tray holes.

FAQ: power away from the grid

Which box lists the largest stated size?

The Stromberg lists 39.0 by 21.0 by 24.0 inches.

Which boxes list a certification?

The RVMATE lists ETL and cETL certification. The PAULINN lists UL certification.

Which box lists a warranty term?

The Stromberg lists a 1-year warranty.

Which boxes list ventilation holes?

The EFQKLPY lists ventilation openings around the sides. The Wpokke lists ventilation openings around the box.

Do the inlet and outlet boxes state dimensions?

No dimensions are stated for the RVMATE inlet box. No dimensions are stated for the PAULINN outlet box.

Stromberg Carlson CC-220
Still deciding? Our top pickStromberg Carlson CC-220
Check price on Amazon

See every Inverter and Dual Fuel Generators guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.

More picks: inverter vs generator for food truck, portable power station vs gas generator for tailgating, solar generator vs gas generator home backup.