Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Inverter and Dual Fuel Generators

Best Inverter Generator for the Price (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Inverter generators from 1200 to 7800 running watts compared on fuel options, stated protections, noise figures and warranty terms.

Best Inverter Generator for the Price (2026): 5 Picks Compared
On this page

When the lights go out at dinner time and the fridge, the phones and the router all go dark together, the best inverter generator for the price is the unit that covers the loads that matter without paying for capacity that stays idle. This article compares what each listing states: surge and running watts, fuel options, stated protections, noise figures and warranty terms. The group runs from a small camping unit to a tri-fuel home backup unit, and the ranking follows the stated specs, not the sales copy.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • GENMAX GM6250iET Tri-Fuel
    Best Overall GENMAX GM6250iET Tri-Fuel: tri-fuel switching with remote, app and electric start plus a 50A outlet Check price on Amazon
  • GENMAX GM10500XiT Tri-Fuel
    Highest Output GENMAX GM10500XiT Tri-Fuel: 10500 peak watts with ATS, a 50A outlet and tri-fuel switching Check price on Amazon
  • WEN 56280iX Inverter
    Fuel Shutoff Pick WEN 56280iX Inverter: CO Watchdog shutdown sensor and fuel shutoff with a 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • AIVOLT VO4200iX Generator
    Longest Runtime AIVOLT VO4200iX Generator: 16 hours at 25% load from a 2.6-gallon tank with ECO mode Check price on Amazon
  • Genkins GK1600 Mini
    Best Small Pick Genkins GK1600 Mini: 26 pounds, 56 dBA at 23 feet, and a CO sensor Check price on Amazon

The kits we chose

GENMAX GM6250iET Tri-Fuel

GENMAX GM6250iET Tri-Fuel

GENMAX9.8/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Tri-fuel inverter generator with 6250 starting watts and 5500 running watts on gasoline, a 50A outlet, and remote, app and electric start options.

Pros

  • Runs on gasoline, propane (LPG) and natural gas (NG) with a dedicated fuel-source selector
  • 5500 running watts and 6250 starting watts on gasoline for power tools, air conditioners and refrigerators
  • Electric start, remote key fob start, Bluetooth app start and 2-wire auto start listed
  • Overload, thermal, overvoltage, undervoltage, overcurrent, short circuit and overspeed protection listed

Cons

  • Start-method count in the listing does not match the methods it lists
  • 101.0 pounds, so moving it needs the wheel kit and foldable handle
  • Noise figure is stated only at 25% load, not at full load
  • Natural gas and propane running watts are not stated separately from gasoline figures
Detailed Review

The listing states 5500 running watts and 6250 starting watts on gasoline, tri-fuel switching between gasoline, propane (LPG) and natural gas (NG), THD of 3% or under, ECO idle mode, and a runtime of up to 10 hours at 25% load. It lists two 120V 20A 5-20R outlets, one 120V 30A L5-30R outlet, one 120/240V 50A 14-50R outlet, a 5V USB-A/C port and a battery charging port, plus a digital display showing wattage load, runtime hours, voltage, frequency, fuel level, oil alerts, CO warnings and Bluetooth status. The listing says four starting methods, then names electric start, remote key fob start, Bluetooth app start, 2-wire auto gen start and recoil start, one more than the count given, so trust the list, not the count.

Who it's for: homeowners and RV owners who want tri-fuel flexibility, a 50A outlet and remote or app starting. Who should skip it: buyers who need stated running watts for propane or natural gas, or a unit light enough to carry without wheels.

Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 88 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Starting watts6250
Running watts5500
Outlets120V 20A, 120V 30A, 120/240V 50A
Runtime10 hours at 25% load

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overload, thermal, overvoltage, undervoltage, overcurrent, short circuit and overspeed protection plus CO sensor stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 3-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GENMAX GM10500XiT Tri-Fuel

GENMAX GM10500XiT Tri-Fuel

GENMAX9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Tri-fuel open frame inverter generator with 10500 peak watts and 7800 running watts, ATS, a 50A outlet and a digital display.

Pros

  • 10500 peak watts and 7800 running watts for home backup and RV camping
  • Runs on gasoline, LPG and natural gas with one-button, remote and recoil start options
  • CO alarm and multi-functional digital display listed
  • THD of 3% or under for sensitive electronics such as smartphones and laptops

Cons

  • 120.92 pounds, so the compact and lightweight description does not match the stated weight
  • Fuel use is stated as under 370 grams per kilowatt-hour, not as a tank size in gallons
  • Noise level is not stated
  • Outlet list beyond the 50A figure and USB ports is not spelled out
Detailed Review

The listing states 7800 running watts and 10500 peak watts, tri-fuel switching between gasoline, LPG and natural gas, THD of 3% or under, a runtime of up to 13.5 hours at 25% load, ATS, a CO alarm, a digital display and a 50A outlet. It lists one-button start, remote start and recoil start, plus a battery charging port and 2-wire auto start/stop. The spec table gives 27.12 by 25.27 by 23.62 inches and 120.92 pounds, which sits oddly with the bullet claim of a compact and lightweight design, so trust the weight figure.

Who it's for: buyers who need the highest surge watts here, tri-fuel switching and a 50A outlet for home backup. Who should skip it: buyers who need a unit they can carry, or a stated noise figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Peak watts10500
Running watts7800
FuelGasoline, LPG, natural gas
Weight120.92 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CO alarm and CO sensor stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 3-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

AIVOLT VO4200iX Generator

AIVOLT VO4200iX Generator

AIVOLT9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Open frame inverter generator with 4200 peak watts and 3300 running watts, 16 hours of runtime at 25% load and ECO mode.

Pros

  • 4200 peak watts and 3300 running watts for refrigerators, sump pumps, CPAP machines, power tools and RV AC units
  • 16 hours at 25% load from a 2.6-gallon tank with ECO mode
  • EPA and PGMA certified with low-oil shutdown and overload protection
  • RV outlet (TT-30R), two household outlets (5-20R) and two USB ports, plus parallel capability

Cons

  • Parallel kit is optional, not included
  • No CO sensor is stated
  • No 50A outlet is listed
  • No wheel kit is stated for moving 54.3 pounds
Detailed Review

The listing states 4200 peak watts and 3300 running watts, inverter technology with under 3% THD, a 2.6-gallon tank, up to 16 hours at 25% load, ECO mode, 68dB at 23 feet and 54.3 pounds. It lists an RV outlet (TT-30R), two household outlets (5-20R) and two USB ports, low-oil shutdown, overload protection and EPA and PGMA certification. The spec table gives 20.28 by 14.76 by 18.19 inches and a 2-year manufacturer warranty. No CO sensor and no wheel kit are stated.

Who it's for: RV owners and homeowners who want overnight runtime at 25% load and an RV outlet in an open frame unit. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated CO sensor or a 50A outlet.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Peak watts4200
Running watts3300
Runtime16 hours at 25% load
Noise68dB at 23 feet

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. EPA and PGMA certified with low-oil shutdown and overload protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Genkins GK1600 Mini

Genkins GK1600 Mini

Genkins9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Portable inverter generator with 1600 peak watts and 1200 rated watts, clean power under 2% THD and a CO sensor, at 26 pounds.

Pros

  • 26 pounds with a compact 17.0 by 10.0 by 17.0 inch size for campsites and backyard gatherings
  • 56 dBA at 23 feet, quiet enough for casual conversation
  • CO sensor and overload protection for dual-layer safety
  • 2 120V outlets and 2 USB ports for small appliances and mobile devices

Cons

  • Parallel kit is not included
  • Small 0.58 gallon tank
  • 1-year manufacturer warranty, less cover than the 3-year terms listed for other picks
  • No 30A or 50A outlet is listed
Detailed Review

The listing states a 60.4cc 4-stroke OHV engine, 1600 peak watts and 1200 rated watts, clean pure-sine power with THD under 2%, a 0.58 gallon fuel tank, up to 10 hours at 25% load, ECO mode, 56 dBA at 23 feet and 26 pounds. It lists 2 120V outlets, 2 USB ports, parallel capability with the kit not included, a CO sensor and overload protection. The spec table gives 17.0 by 10.0 by 17.0 inches and a 1-year manufacturer warranty.

Who it's for: campers who want a light, quiet unit for phones, laptops and lights. Who should skip it: buyers who need to run larger loads, or a 30A or 50A outlet.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Peak watts1600
Rated watts1200
Weight26 pounds
Noise56 dBA at 23 feet

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CO sensor and overload protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

WEN 56280iX Inverter

WEN 56280iX Inverter

WEN9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

Inverter generator with 2800 surge watts and 2250 rated watts, clean power for sensitive electronics, a CO Watchdog sensor and fuel shutoff.

Pros

  • WEN Watchdog CO Shutdown Sensor turns the unit off if dangerous carbon monoxide levels are detected
  • Fuel shutoff uses up remaining fuel in the carburetor before shutting down, to extend lifespan
  • Clean power for sensitive electronics such as smartphones, tablets and laptops
  • Two 120V receptacles, one 12V DC receptacle and two 5V USB ports

Cons

  • Weight is not stated
  • Noise level is not stated
  • Runtime is not stated
  • No 30A or 50A outlet is listed
Detailed Review

The listing states a 98cc engine, 2800 surge watts and 2250 rated watts, clean power for sensitive electronics, the WEN Watchdog CO Shutdown Sensor, fuel shutoff, two three-prong 120V receptacles, one 12V DC receptacle and two 5V USB ports. The spec table gives 19.7 by 11.6 by 18.7 inches and a three-year limited warranty. No weight, noise figure or runtime is stated, so those comparisons cannot be made from this listing.

Who it's for: campers and homeowners who want CO shutdown protection and fuel shutoff on a mid-size inverter unit. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated weight, noise figure or runtime before they buy.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Surge watts2800
Rated watts2250
Engine98cc
Size19.7 x 11.6 x 18.7 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. WEN Watchdog CO Shutdown Sensor stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • PowerSmart 4000W InverterPowerSmart 4000W Inverter4000 starting watts with 59 dBA at 23 feet for camping and home useCheck on Amazon
  • Oxseryn 2800W InverterOxseryn 2800W Inverter2800 peak watts, under 58 dBA at 23 feet, for camping and home backupCheck on Amazon
  • Honda EU2200i InverterHonda EU2200i Inverter2200 watts with app and Bluetooth monitoring plus CO-MINDER shutdownCheck on Amazon
  • Oxseryn 4400W InverterOxseryn 4400W Inverter4400 peak watts with a 30A RV outlet and 14 hours at 25% loadCheck on Amazon
  • Evernexta 4000W InverterEvernexta 4000W Inverter4000 starting watts with a 30A outlet and 2-year limited warrantyCheck on Amazon

Numbers side by side

Generator Solar Score Surge watts Running watts Runtime at 25% load Warranty Amazon
GENMAX GM6250iET Tri-Fuel 9.8/10 6250 5500 10 hours 3 years View on Amazon
GENMAX GM10500XiT Tri-Fuel 9.7/10 10500 7800 13.5 hours 3 years View on Amazon
AIVOLT VO4200iX Generator 9.6/10 4200 3300 16 hours 2 years View on Amazon
Genkins GK1600 Mini 9.6/10 1600 1200 10 hours 1 year View on Amazon
WEN 56280iX Inverter 9.6/10 2800 2250 Not stated 3 years View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 3 November 2026.

Where the points went

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an inverter generator, safety means the CO sensors, shutdown sensors, overload protection and certifications the listing actually states; a unit that states none scores zero on that line, whatever its watts. Every main pick here states a warranty term, with terms from 1 year to 3 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
GENMAX GM6250iET Tri-Fuel 9.8 32 22 21 9 4
GENMAX GM10500XiT Tri-Fuel 9.7 33 21 20 7 4
AIVOLT VO4200iX Generator 9.6 29 21 21 7 3
Genkins GK1600 Mini 9.6 27 20 21 7 2
WEN 56280iX Inverter 9.6 28 21 21 7 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best inverter generator for the price

Start from running watts, not surge watts

Surge watts cover the brief spike when a motor starts, while running watts cover the load that keeps going. The GENMAX GM10500XiT lists 10500 peak watts and 7800 running watts. The WEN 56280iX lists 2800 surge watts and 2250 rated watts. The Genkins GK1600 lists 1600 peak watts and 1200 rated watts. Size the unit on running watts for the loads that will run together, and treat surge watts as headroom for starting motors.

Pick a fuel you can keep on hand

The GENMAX GM6250iET lists gasoline, propane (LPG) and natural gas (NG) with a dedicated fuel-source selector. The GENMAX GM10500XiT lists the same three fuels with flexible switching between gasoline, LPG and natural gas. The AIVOLT VO4200iX lists a gas powered design, and the Genkins GK1600 lists a gas generator design. If propane or natural gas is already piped or stored where the unit will run, a tri-fuel pick avoids a separate fuel run during an outage.

Generator Fuel Start
GENMAX GM6250iET Tri-Fuel Gasoline, propane, natural gas Electric, remote key fob, Bluetooth app, 2-wire auto, recoil
GENMAX GM10500XiT Tri-Fuel Gasoline, LPG, natural gas One-button, remote, recoil
WEN 56280iX Inverter Not stated Not stated
AIVOLT VO4200iX Generator Gasoline Not stated
Genkins GK1600 Mini Gasoline Pull-start

Run it outdoors, away from doors and windows

Fuel generators run outdoors only, far from doors and windows, because of carbon monoxide. That single rule shapes where the unit can sit, whatever its watts. The CO sensors and shutdown sensors in this group add protection, but they do not change the outdoors rule.

Check outlets, noise and weight before you buy

The GENMAX GM6250iET lists two 120V 20A outlets, one 120V 30A outlet, one 120/240V 50A outlet, a 5V USB-A/C port and a battery charging port. The AIVOLT VO4200iX lists an RV outlet, two household outlets and two USB ports. The GENMAX GM10500XiT lists a 50A outlet and USB ports, without a fuller outlet list. For noise, the Genkins GK1600 lists 56 dBA at 23 feet. The AIVOLT VO4200iX lists 68dB at 23 feet. The GENMAX GM6250iET lists about 66dB at 25% load. For weight, the Genkins GK1600 lists 26 pounds. The GENMAX GM10500XiT lists 120.92 pounds. See our inverter generator for home backup guide for the home backup side, and our quiet generator for RV guide if noise matters at a campsite. A portable power station vs inverter generator comparison covers the battery alternative.

Sizing Notes

  • Match running watts to the loads you plan to run at once, using the running watts each listing states rather than surge watts alone.
  • Match fuel choice to what you keep on hand: gasoline, propane (LPG) or natural gas where the listing states tri-fuel support.
  • Match outlet types to your gear: 120V household outlets, 30A RV outlets and 50A outlets differ across these listings.
  • Check stated noise figures and weight against where the unit will sit and who will move it.

FAQ: power away from the grid

Which picks here run on three fuels?

The GENMAX GM6250iET and the GENMAX GM10500XiT both list gasoline, propane (LPG) and natural gas.

Which pick here weighs the least?

The Genkins GK1600, at 26 pounds.

Which pick here states the longest runtime at 25% load?

The AIVOLT VO4200iX, at 16 hours at 25% load from a 2.6-gallon tank.

Which picks here list a 50A outlet?

The GENMAX GM6250iET and the GENMAX GM10500XiT both list a 50A outlet.

Which picks here list remote starting?

The GENMAX GM6250iET lists remote key fob start and Bluetooth app start. The GENMAX GM10500XiT lists remote start.

GENMAX GM6250iET Tri-Fuel
Still deciding? Our top pickGENMAX GM6250iET Tri-Fuel
Check price on Amazon

See every Inverter and Dual Fuel Generators guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best inverter generator with warranty. Also see our best gas generator for camping. Also see our best value generator for RV.

More picks: best portable inverter generator with wheels, best RV generator for travel trailers, best long propane hose for generator, LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for generator.