On this page
When the lights go out at dinner time and the fridge starts warming, the best inverter generator for home backup becomes the difference between a quiet evening and a dark house. This article compares what each listing states for each pick: watts by fuel, outlets, fuel tank, runtime, noise and warranty, so the match to a home backup setup is easy to judge.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Westinghouse 12000W: Tri-fuel power with remote start and a 3 Year Limited Warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Best Runtime Pick AIVOLT 4200W: Up to 16 hours at 25% load with ECO mode stated Check price on Amazon
Highest Output EFURDEN 6000W: 6000 peak watts with a 30A RV-ready outlet stated Check price on Amazon
RV-Ready Pick Evernexta 4800W: 4800 starting watts with a 30A twist-lock outlet stated Check price on Amazon
Extra Pick Westinghouse 8200W: 8200 peak watts tri-fuel portable inverter generator, per the title Check price on Amazon
The kits we chose
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Westinghouse 12000W | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Westinghouse iGen8200TFc | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | AIVOLT 4200W | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | EFURDEN 6000W | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Evernexta 4800W | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Westinghouse 12000W
Tri-fuel inverter generator with 12,000 peak watts and 9,000 running watts on gasoline, remote start and a 3 Year Limited Warranty stated.
Pros
- Tri-fuel design: gasoline, propane and natural gas, with 12,000 peak watts on gasoline
- Remote start key fob included, with a 12V battery charger in the box
- CO sensor and low oil shutdown included
- 50A outlet, 30A twist lock and GFCI 20A duplex household outlet stated
Cons
- 191.0 pounds in the spec table, the heaviest weight stated in this group
- Peak and running watts differ by fuel: 11,000 peak watts on propane and 9,800 peak watts on natural gas
- 30.2 by 25.2 by 26.6 inches in the spec table, a large footprint for storage
- No USB port is listed among the outlets
Detailed Review
The listing states a tri-fuel inverter generator with gasoline figures of 12,000 peak watts and 9,000 running watts, propane figures of 11,000 peak watts and 8,100 running watts, and natural gas figures of 9,800 peak watts and 7,200 running watts, at 3% THD or less, with Eco Mode, a 457cc 4-Stroke OHV engine, up to 19 hours at 25% load on a 7.9 gallon tank, noise as low as 64 dBA, a 50A outlet, a 30A twist lock, a GFCI 20A duplex household outlet, parallel capability, a remote start key fob, a 12V battery charger, low oil shutdown, a CO sensor and a 3 Year Limited Warranty. A licensed electrician should install any connection to home wiring.
Who it's for: homeowners who want tri-fuel home backup power with remote start and a 50A outlet for larger loads. Who should skip it: buyers who want a lighter generator or a USB port on the panel.
Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 34/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 89 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Peak and running watts on gasoline | 12,000 and 9,000 |
|---|---|
| Peak and running watts on propane | 11,000 and 8,100 |
| Fuel tank and runtime | 7.9 gallon, up to 19 hours at 25% load |
| Noise | As low as 64 dBA |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CO sensor and low oil shutdown stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3 Year Limited Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Westinghouse iGen8200TFc
A tri-fuel portable inverter generator with 8200 peak watts on gas, a 50A outlet and a 3 Year Limited Warranty for home backup and cabin use.
Pros
- Tri-fuel: gas, propane and natural gas with stated watts for each
- Less than 3% THD stated for safe electronics use
- 50A outlet plus 30A RV outlet and 20A duplex outlet stated
- Up to 17 hours of run time on a 3.9 gallon tank at 25% load stated
Cons
- Weight of 134.5 pounds, the heaviest in this set
- Remote electric start is stated without a stated remote range
- Fuel use figures are stated at 25% load only
- No solar charging input is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a tri-fuel portable inverter generator with 6600 running and 8200 peak watts on gas, 5940 running and 7380 peak watts on propane, and 5280 running and 6560 peak watts on natural gas. It lists a 120/240V 14-50R 50A outlet, a 120V TT-30R 30A RV outlet, a GFCI 120V 5-20R 20A duplex outlet, less than 3% THD, a 298cc 4-stroke OHV engine, up to 17 hours of run time on a 3.9 gallon fuel tank at 25% load, automatic low oil shutdown, a CO sensor, around 60 dBA at 25% load, remote electric start and parallel capability. The spec table states a weight of 134.5 pounds, dimensions of 27.0 x 20.9 x 21.7 inches and a 3 Year Limited Warranty.
Who it's for: cabin and home backup owners who need large stated watts with a 50A outlet. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a light unit.
Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 88 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Fuel | Gas, propane, natural gas |
|---|---|
| Gas watts | 6600 running, 8200 peak |
| Outlets | 50A, 30A RV, 20A duplex |
| Weight | 134.5 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 1 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CO sensor with automatic low oil shutdown, so safety scores 9 of 10. 3 Year Limited Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

AIVOLT 4200W
4200 peak watts and 3300 running watts with up to 16 hours at 25% load, a 2.6-gallon tank and a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty stated.
Pros
- 4200 peak watts and 3300 running watts with less than 3% THD
- Up to 16 hours at 25% load from a 2.6-gallon tank, with ECO mode
- RV outlet, 2 household outlets and 2 USB ports on the panel
- Low oil shutdown and overload protection with EPA and PGMA certification stated
Cons
- No remote start is listed
- Parallel kit is optional, not included
- No 50A outlet is listed
- No carry handle is mentioned
Detailed Review
The listing states 4200 peak watts and 3300 running watts, less than 3% THD, up to 16 hours at 25% load from a 2.6-gallon tank, ECO mode, low oil shutdown, overload protection, EPA and PGMA certification, an RV outlet, 2 household outlets, 2 USB ports, 68 dB noise, 54.3 lbs and a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty. The spec table lists 20.28 by 14.76 by 18.19 inches.
Who it's for: homeowners and RV owners who want 3300 running watts, a long runtime at 25% load and USB ports on the panel. Who should skip it: buyers who want remote start or a 50A outlet on the listing.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Peak and running watts | 4200 and 3300 |
|---|---|
| Fuel tank and runtime | 2.6-gallon, up to 16 hours at 25% load |
| Outlets | RV outlet, 2 household outlets, 2 USB ports |
| Noise | 68 dB |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. EPA and PGMA certification with low oil shutdown and overload protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 6000 peak watts and 4500 running watts, the highest peak watts in this group after the Westinghouse pick
- 30A RV-ready outlet plus 2 120V AC outlets, a USB port and a Type-C port
- Less than 5% THD for compatible electronics and appliances
- 3-gallon tank, described as giving extended running between refuels
Cons
- Bullets list a 2-year warranty while the spec table lists 1 Year
- 72.0 pounds in the spec table, a heavy weight for moving by hand
- No noise level is stated
- No overload, low-oil or short-circuit protection is listed
Detailed Review
The listing states 6000 peak watts and 4500 running watts, inverter technology with less than 5% THD, a 30A RV-ready outlet, 2 120V AC outlets, a USB port, a Type-C port, a 3-gallon tank, an open-frame build, EPA compliance and a 2-year warranty in the bullets. The spec table lists a 1 Year warranty, which does not match the bullets, so trust the bullets for the warranty term. The spec table lists 72.0 pounds.
Who it's for: homeowners who need 4500 running watts and a 30A RV-ready outlet for home backup, outdoor projects, camping and RV use. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated noise figure or a lower stated weight.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Peak and running watts | 6000 and 4500 |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 30A RV-ready outlet, 2 120V AC outlets, USB port, Type-C port |
| Fuel tank | 3-gallon |
| Weight | 72.0 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. EPA compliant stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Evernexta 4800W
4800 starting watts and 3500 running watts with a 30A twist-lock outlet, a 2-gallon tank and a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty stated.
Pros
- 4800 starting watts and 3500 running watts with less than 3% THD
- 30A twist-lock outlet plus 2 120V 20A AC outlets and a 12V DC port
- Up to 9 hours at 25% load from a 2-gallon tank, with ECO mode and a 223cc 4-stroke OHV engine
- Care Service Plan registration extends coverage to 3 years, with support typically answered within 24 hours
Cons
- RV adapter sold separately
- No overload or low-oil protection is listed
- No noise figure is stated
- No USB port is listed
Detailed Review
The listing states 4800 starting watts and 3500 running watts, less than 3% THD, 2 120V 20A AC outlets, a 120V 30A twist-lock outlet, a 12V DC port, ECO mode, a VFT meter, indicator lights, a 223cc 4-stroke OHV engine, a 2-gallon tank with up to 9 hours at 25% load, 55 lbs with a built-in carry frame, pull-start design and a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty. The spec table lists 55.0 pounds and 20.08 by 13.39 by 19.69 inches.
Who it's for: homeowners who want 3500 running watts and a 30A twist-lock outlet for refrigerators, lights, TVs and routers during outages. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated noise figure, listed protection features or an included RV adapter.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Starting and running watts | 4800 and 3500 |
|---|---|
| Outlets | 30A twist-lock outlet, 2 120V 20A AC outlets, 12V DC port |
| Fuel tank and runtime | 2-gallon, up to 9 hours at 25% load |
| Engine | 223cc 4-stroke OHV |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL or ETL listing and no protection detail is stated, so safety scores zero. 2 Year Manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Oxseryn 4400W4400 peak watts with a 30A RV port for home backup loadsCheck on Amazon
PowerSmart 4000W4000 starting watts with a 30A twist-lock outlet for home useCheck on Amazon
Numbers side by side
| Generator | Solar Score | Peak watts | Running watts | Fuel tank | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse 12000W | 9.8/10 | 12,000 | 9,000 (gasoline) | 7.9 gallon | 3 years | View on Amazon |
| AIVOLT 4200W | 9.7/10 | 4200 | 3300 | 2.6-gallon | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| EFURDEN 6000W | 9.6/10 | 6000 | 4500 | 3-gallon | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| Evernexta 4800W | 9.6/10 | 4800 | 3500 | 2-gallon | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| Westinghouse 8200W | 9.8/10 | 8200 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 3 November 2026.
Where the points went
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an inverter generator, safety means carbon monoxide detection, low-oil shutdown, overload protection and stated certifications the listing actually states; a pick that states none of those scores lower on that line. The 4 picks with stated specs each state a warranty term, and the Westinghouse pick states the longest term at 3 years. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse 12000W | 9.8 | 34 | 22 | 21 | 8 | 4 |
| AIVOLT 4200W | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| EFURDEN 6000W | 9.6 | 33 | 20 | 21 | 3 | 3 |
| Evernexta 4800W | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best inverter generator for home backup
Match running watts to the home load
Running watts decide what a home setup can carry at the same time, so start from the loads and match the listing figure, not the peak figure. The table below puts the running watts and outlets side by side for each pick. Fuel generators run outdoors only, far from doors and windows, because of carbon monoxide.
| Generator | Running watts | Outlets |
|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse 12000W | 9,000 (gasoline) | 50A outlet, 30A twist lock, GFCI 20A duplex |
| AIVOLT 4200W | 3300 | RV outlet, 2 household outlets, 2 USB ports |
| EFURDEN 6000W | 4500 | 30A RV-ready outlet, 2 120V AC outlets, USB port, Type-C port |
| Evernexta 4800W | 3500 | 30A twist-lock outlet, 2 120V 20A AC outlets, 12V DC port |
| Westinghouse 8200W | Not stated | Not stated |
Check watts by fuel on tri-fuel picks
Tri-fuel picks list separate figures for each fuel, so read the figure for the fuel you plan to use. The Westinghouse lists 12,000 peak watts and 9,000 running watts on gasoline, 11,000 peak watts and 8,100 running watts on propane, and 9,800 peak watts and 7,200 running watts on natural gas. The Westinghouse 8200 title gives a peak figure only, with no running watts stated for any fuel. See the Inverter and Dual Fuel Generators guides for more inverter generator picks.
Noise, weight and runtime for backup use
Noise figures, weight figures and runtime figures are stated for most picks, so each is easy to compare before a purchase. The Westinghouse lists noise as low as 64 dBA and up to 19 hours at 25% load on a 7.9 gallon tank, while the AIVOLT lists 68 dB and up to 16 hours at 25% load on a 2.6-gallon tank. Listed weights run from 54.3 lbs for the AIVOLT to 191.0 pounds for the Westinghouse. For a closer look at the trade-offs against a battery station, see Portable Power Station vs Inverter Generator.
Read the warranty and protection lines
Warranty terms and protection features vary more than watts do across this group. The Westinghouse lists a 3 Year Limited Warranty with a CO sensor and low oil shutdown, the AIVOLT lists a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty with low oil shutdown, overload protection and EPA and PGMA certification, and the Evernexta lists a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty with a Care Service Plan registration that extends coverage to 3 years. The EFURDEN warranty figures do not match between the bullets and the spec table, so read that listing closely before a purchase.
Sizing Notes
- Match running watts to the loads you plan: the Westinghouse lists 9,000 running watts on gasoline and the EFURDEN lists 4500 running watts.
- Match watts to fuel on tri-fuel picks: the Westinghouse lists 8,100 running watts on propane and 7,200 running watts on natural gas.
- Match outlets to the home connection: the Westinghouse lists a 50A outlet and a 30A twist lock, and the Evernexta lists a 30A twist-lock outlet with 2 120V 20A AC outlets.
- Match the fuel tank to the runtime you need: the Westinghouse lists up to 19 hours at 25% load on a 7.9 gallon tank and the AIVOLT lists up to 16 hours at 25% load on a 2.6-gallon tank.
FAQ: power away from the grid
Which pick here lists the highest peak watts?
The Westinghouse lists 12,000 peak watts and 9,000 running watts on gasoline, with a 50A outlet and remote start.
Which pick here lists a CO sensor?
The Westinghouse lists a CO sensor with low oil shutdown, plus remote start and a 3 Year Limited Warranty.
Which picks here list a 30A outlet?
The Westinghouse lists a 30A twist lock, the EFURDEN lists a 30A RV-ready outlet, and the Evernexta lists a 30A twist-lock outlet.
How long does the AIVOLT run on a tank?
The listing states up to 16 hours at 25% load from a 2.6-gallon tank, with ECO mode.
What does the Westinghouse 8200 listing state?
The title states 8200 peak watts for a tri-fuel portable inverter generator, and running watts, outlets, fuel tank, weight and warranty are not stated.
Related solar guides
See every Inverter and Dual Fuel Generators guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our long propane hose for generator. Also see our quietest generators for rv use. Also see our rv generator box for travel trailers. Also see our petrol generator for camping. Also see our rv generators for 5th wheel. Also see our best deals on generators for rv. Also see our portable inverter generator with wheels. Also see our dual fuel vs gas generator. Also see our dual fuel vs propane generator. Also see our best inverter generator for the price. Also see our best generators for camping trailers. Also see our tri fuel generator natural gas. Also see our rv generator box. Also see our quiet inverter generator low noise. Also see our 2200w quiet lightweight inverter generator. Also see our inverter generator set. Also see our tri fuel electric start generator. Also see our inverter generator rain cover. Also see our inverter generator small. Also see our inverter generator cord. Also see our remote start inverter generators portable. Also see our tri fuel generator sine wave. Also see our tri-fuel home backup portable generator. Also see our inverter generator parallel kit. Also see our inverter generator open frame. Also see our 3500 watt super quiet inverter generator. Also see our dual fuel generator conversion kit. Also see our rv generator cord.
More picks: Portable Power Station vs Inverter Generator, Inverter vs Generator for Cabin, Power Station vs Gas Generator for Job Site.





