On this page
When the lights go out at dinner time, the best small inverter generator is the one that runs quietly, fits the loads you actually need and does not dominate the porch. We compared listings with full details alongside title-only listings, ranked by watts, noise, run time and warranty. Fuel generators run outdoors only, far from doors and windows, because of carbon monoxide. Start with watts and noise, then check run time, outlets and warranty before choosing, since the right small generator is the one that matches the loads you plan to run.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Westinghouse iGen1500c: 1500 peak watts at 52 dBA with a 12-hour run time. Check price on Amazon
Best for Camping Pulsar NER15iS: 1500 starting watts at 62 dB for camping and tailgating. Check price on Amazon
2200 Watt Pick Honda EU2200i: 2200 watts in the title, with no further details stated. Check price on Amazon
Compact Pick Genkins GK1600: Portable inverter generator named in the title. Check price on Amazon
The kits we chose
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Westinghouse iGen1500c | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Honda EU2200i | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Pulsar NER15iS | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Genkins GK1600 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Westinghouse iGen1500c
A 1500-peak-watt portable inverter generator with a CO sensor, parallel capability and a 12-hour run time.
Pros
- 1500 peak watts and 1000 rated watts at less than 3% THD
- As low as 52 dBA with a 12-hour run time on a 0.79 gallon tank
- Parallel capable with other Westinghouse inverter generators
- CO sensor plus Economy Mode for fuel efficiency
Cons
- Weight differs between bullets (32 lbs) and spec table (30.1 pounds)
- Parallel cord required separately for parallel use
- No electric start is stated
- No dual-fuel option is stated
Detailed Review
Westinghouse lists a 1500 peak watt portable inverter generator with 1000 rated watts at less than 3% THD, noise as low as 52 dBA and a 12-hour run time on a 0.79 gallon tank. Economy Mode stretches fuel efficiency, parallel capability joins it with other Westinghouse inverter generators, and a CO sensor and EPA compliance cover safety. The listing contradicts itself on weight: the bullets state 32 Lbs, while the spec table states 30.1 pounds, so trust the bullets figure. The listing states a 3 Year Limited Warranty with service, labor and parts coverage.
Who it is for: homeowners who want quiet backup power for essentials with parallel capability. Who should skip it: buyers who need an electric start, dual fuel or a stated weight that matches the spec table.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Peak watts | 1500 watts |
|---|---|
| Rated watts | 1000 watts |
| Noise | 52 dBA |
| Run time | 12 hours, 0.79 gallon tank |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CO sensor and EPA compliance, so safety scores 7 of 10. 3 Year Limited Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Honda EU2200i
A 2200-watt inverter generator that lists 48 to 57 dB(A), app control over Bluetooth and a 3-year residential warranty.
Pros
- 48 to 57 dB(A) noise range stated, below a normal conversation per the listing
- My Generator app with Bluetooth for remote operation and service reminders
- Eco Throttle System listed for fuel efficiency on a 0.95 gallon tank
- CO-MINDER automatic shutdown on high carbon monoxide levels stated
Cons
- Bullet and spec table weights differ: just over 47 pounds against 51.0 pounds
- Not available in California, per the listing note
- No 240V outlet stated in the listing
- No USB outlet stated in the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states 2200 watts, 120V output, 48 to 57 dB(A), a 0.95 gallon tank with 3.2 to 8.1 hours of run time, an Eco Throttle System, the My Generator app over Bluetooth with wireless stop and service reminders, CO-MINDER carbon monoxide detection with automatic shutdown, and a 3-year residential warranty. One contradiction sits inside the listing: the bullets say the unit weighs just over 47 pounds, while the spec table says 51.0 pounds, so this article follows the bullets. The listing also notes the unit is not available in California.
Who it's for: campers and homeowners who want low stated noise, app monitoring and carbon monoxide shutdown in a 2200-watt unit. Who should skip it: shoppers who need a 240V outlet or a California-legal unit, since the listing states neither.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Peak watts | 2200 |
|---|---|
| Noise | 48 to 57 dB(A) |
| Run time | 3.2 to 8.1 hours |
| Warranty | 3 years |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CO-MINDER carbon monoxide detection with automatic shutdown stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3-year residential warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Pulsar NER15iS
A 1500-starting-watt portable inverter generator with quiet 62dB operation for camping, tailgating and home backup.
Pros
- 1500 starting watts and 1100 running watts
- 62dB quiet operation for camping and tailgating
- Clean sine wave power for sensitive electronics
- Overload protection and short circuit protection
Cons
- No run time is stated
- No outlet count is stated
- Largest listed dimensions among the full-data picks
- No parallel capability is stated
Detailed Review
Pulsar lists a 1500 starting watt portable inverter generator with 1100 running watts, 62dB noise output and sine wave electronics for cleaner power. Overload protection and short circuit protection are built in, and the spec table lists 26.4 Pounds with dimensions of 24.0 inches x 15.0 inches x 22.0 inches. The listing states a 3 Years Manufacture Warranty, with no run time and no outlet count stated.
Who it is for: campers and tailgaters who want a light, quiet generator for home backup. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated run time, parallel capability or a smaller footprint.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Peak watts | 1500 starting watts |
|---|---|
| Rated watts | 1100 running watts |
| Noise | 62dB |
| Weight | 26.4 Pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Overload protection and short circuit protection, so safety scores 5 of 10. 3 Years Manufacture Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Genkins GK1600
A 1600 peak watt inverter generator at 26 lbs, for campers wanting a light unit with CO protection and parallel capability.
Pros
- 26 lbs with a compact 17 by 10 by 17 inch size
- 1600 peak watts and 1200 rated watts with THD under 2%
- Up to 8 hours of run time at 25% load in ECO mode
- CO protection with low-oil and overload auto-shutdown
Cons
- Spec table model reads GK1200 while the title lists GK1600
- 1200 rated watts suits only small loads
- No 30A RV outlet is stated
- No fuel tank size is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 1600 peak watts and 1200 rated watts from a 60cc engine, pure sine-wave power with THD under 2%, ECO mode with up to 8 hours at 25% load, 58 dB at 23 feet, dual 120V outlets and dual USB ports, and CO protection with low-oil and overload auto-shutdown. The spec table model reads GK1200, while the title and part number list GK1600, so the title figure is used here.
Who it's for: campers wanting a light, quiet unit for phones, laptops and small loads. Who should skip it: campers needing more than 1200 rated watts or a 30A RV outlet.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Peak watts | 1600W |
|---|---|
| Rated watts | 1200W |
| Weight | 26 lbs |
| Noise | 58 dB at 23 feet |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CO protection, low-oil and overload auto-shutdown, so safety scores 9 of 10. 2-year manufacturer warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Oxseryn 4400W Inverter4400 peak watts with ECO mode for RV camping and home backup.Check on Amazon
Oxseryn 2800W Inverter2800 peak watts with ECO mode and parallel function for camping.Check on Amazon
WEN 2500W Inverter2500 surge watts with fuel shutoff and a three-year warranty.Check on Amazon
ComJoy 2400W Inverter2400 peak watts with parallel operation for camping and home backup.Check on Amazon
Numbers side by side
| Generator | Solar Score | Peak watts | Rated watts | Noise | Run time | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse iGen1500c | 9.7/10 | 1500 | 1000 | 52 dBA | 12 hours | 3 Year Limited Warranty | View on Amazon |
| Pulsar NER15iS | 9.6/10 | 1500 | 1100 | 62dB | Not stated | 3 Years Manufacture Warranty | View on Amazon |
| Honda EU2200i | 9.7/10 | 2200 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Genkins GK1600 | 9.6/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 3 November 2026.
Where the points went
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty, as explained on our How we pick page. For inverter generators, safety reflects a CO sensor and overload and short-circuit protection. Two of the picks state a warranty term, and two state none. The two title-only listings score lowest because so little is stated about them. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse iGen1500c | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 4 |
| Pulsar NER15iS | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 4 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best small inverter generator
Starting watts vs rated watts
Starting watts cover the surge when a motor starts, while rated watts cover the steady load. The Westinghouse lists 1500 peak watts and 1000 rated watts, and the Pulsar lists 1500 starting watts and 1100 running watts. The Honda title gives a 2200-watt figure with rated watts not stated, so size the steady load from the rated figure where one is given. A generator that covers the surge but not the steady load will stall under sustained use, so both figures matter. For home backup use, see our inverter generator for home backup picks.
Noise and run time
Noise decides whether a generator suits a campsite or a quiet street. The Westinghouse lists noise as low as 52 dBA with a 12-hour run time on a 0.79 gallon tank, and the Pulsar lists 62dB with no run time stated. A lower noise figure matters most where neighbors are close, while a longer run time matters most during an extended outage. The two full-detail listings differ by a wide margin on noise, so read the figure rather than the marketing word around it. Compare noise figures in our quiet inverter generator picks.
Outlets, weight and parallel use
Outlets decide what plugs in at once. The Westinghouse lists two 120V 20 Amp outlets and two USB outlets, and it is parallel capable with other Westinghouse inverter generators, with a parallel cord required separately. Weight decides how far it travels: the Pulsar lists 26.4 Pounds, while the Westinghouse bullets list 32 Lbs. Check the outlet count against the devices you plan to run together. Two USB outlets on the Westinghouse cover phones and small electronics without an adapter.
Fuel tank size
Tank size and run time go together. The Westinghouse lists a 0.79 gallon tank with a 12-hour run time, which frames how long one fill lasts. The Pulsar states no tank size and no run time, and the Honda and Genkins listings state neither figure. When run time is the deciding factor, the Westinghouse is the only pick here with both figures stated. A small tank means more frequent refills during a long outage, so weigh tank size against how often you can tend the machine. Refill planning matters most when the generator runs overnight.
Warranty and safety features
Warranty and safety features separate the two full-detail listings from the title-only listings. The Westinghouse states a 3 Year Limited Warranty with a CO sensor, and the Pulsar states 3 Years Manufacture Warranty with overload protection and short circuit protection. The Honda and Genkins listings state no warranty term and no safety features. A longer warranty term does not change the watts, but it does change how long the maker stands behind the machine. Compare warranty terms in our inverter generator with warranty picks.
Sizing Notes
- Match starting watts to the largest motor load and rated watts to the steady load: the Westinghouse lists 1500 peak watts and 1000 rated watts, and the Pulsar lists 1500 starting watts and 1100 running watts.
- Match run time to the outage window: the Westinghouse lists a 12-hour run time on a 0.79 gallon tank, while the Pulsar states no run time.
- Match noise to the campsite: the Westinghouse lists noise as low as 52 dBA and the Pulsar lists 62dB.
- Match the warranty term to the purchase: the Westinghouse lists a 3 Year Limited Warranty and the Pulsar lists 3 Years Manufacture Warranty.
- Match outlets to devices: the Westinghouse lists two 120V 20 Amp outlets and two USB outlets for phones and small electronics.
FAQ: power away from the grid
Can a small inverter generator run home essentials?
The Westinghouse lists 1000 rated watts for home essentials, and the Pulsar lists 1100 running watts for home backup. Match the rated watts to the loads you plan to run at the same time. The Honda and Genkins listings give no load guidance beyond their titles.
How quiet are these generators?
The Westinghouse lists noise as low as 52 dBA. The Pulsar lists 62dB. The Honda and Genkins listings state no noise figure. Noise figures come from the listings, not from a shared measurement standard, so compare them as stated.
Which generators state a warranty?
The Westinghouse states a 3 Year Limited Warranty, and the Pulsar states 3 Years Manufacture Warranty. The Honda and Genkins listings state no warranty term.
Can these generators be paralleled?
The Westinghouse states parallel capability with other Westinghouse inverter generators, with a parallel cord required separately. Parallel operation joins two compatible generators for more available wattage. The Pulsar, Honda and Genkins listings state no parallel capability.
Related solar guides
See every Inverter and Dual Fuel Generators guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.
More picks: 2200w quiet lightweight inverter generator, inverter generator for the price and portable inverter generator with wheels.




