On this page
When the outage drags past dinner into a cold night, a generator that burns whatever fuel is on hand keeps the fridge and the lights going, and that is why the best tri fuel generator with pure sine wave matters for a house that cannot wait for a fuel delivery. We compared what each listing states: watts on each fuel, noise levels, run times, outlets, protections and warranty terms. The picks below cover a portable gas unit and a large tri-fuel unit, with title-only listings kept at the end because their listings state less.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall GENMAX GM10500iETC: Tri-fuel output to 10500W starting with remote start stated Check price on Amazon
Portable Pick Genkins 4500W: 62 pounds with wheels, electric start and 63 dB from 23 feet Check price on Amazon
Remote Start Title Westinghouse 12000W: Remote start in the title, with no further specs stated Check price on Amazon
Peak Watt Title Westinghouse 13500W: 13500 peak watts in the title, with no further specs stated Check price on Amazon
The kits we chose
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | GENMAX GM10500iETC | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Westinghouse 12000W | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Genkins 4500W | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Westinghouse 13500 Tri-Fuel | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |

GENMAX GM10500iETC
A tri-fuel generator with 10500 starting watts on gasoline, remote start and a 3-year warranty stated in its bullets.
Pros
- Three fuels with watts stated for each: gasoline, LPG and natural gas
- Remote start plus one-button start and electric start stated
- 50A and 30A outlets plus four 20A outlets stated
- Long protection list: overload, thermal, overvoltage, undervoltage, overcurrent, short circuit and overspeed
Cons
- 304.0 pounds in the spec table, the largest weight figure here
- Warranty contradiction: bullets say 3 years, spec table says 1 year
- No noise level stated
- No run time stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 458cc single cylinder unit with 10500 starting watts and 8500 running watts on gasoline, 9500 starting watts and 8000 running watts on LPG, and 8400 starting watts and 6800 running watts on natural gas, with THD less than 3%. It lists remote start, one-button start and electric start, one 120/240V 30A L14-30R outlet, one 120/240V 50A 14-50R outlet, four 120V 20A 5-20R outlets, a 12V DC 8.3A cigarette lighter outlet, parallel connectors, a battery charging port, an overload reset switch, an LED light, a voltage transfer switch and a CO alarm. It also lists overload, thermal, overvoltage, undervoltage, overcurrent, short circuit and overspeed protection. One contradiction sits inside the listing: the bullets say the unit includes a 3-year warranty, while the spec table says 1 year, so this article follows the bullets.
Who it's for: homeowners who need tri-fuel watts across gasoline, LPG and natural gas with remote start and a long protection list. Who should skip it: shoppers who need a stated noise level, a stated run time or a unit one person can move, since this listing states none of the first two and lists 304.0 pounds.
Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 89 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Peak watts | 10500 |
|---|---|
| Fuels | Gasoline, LPG, natural gas |
| Outlets | 50A and 30A outlets |
| Warranty | 3 years |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Overload, thermal, overvoltage, undervoltage, overcurrent, short circuit and overspeed protection plus CO alarm stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 3-year warranty stated in bullets. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Westinghouse 12000W
Tri-fuel inverter generator with 12,000 peak watts and 9,000 running watts on gasoline, remote start and a 3 Year Limited Warranty stated.
Pros
- Tri-fuel design: gasoline, propane and natural gas, with 12,000 peak watts on gasoline
- Remote start key fob included, with a 12V battery charger in the box
- CO sensor and low oil shutdown included
- 50A outlet, 30A twist lock and GFCI 20A duplex household outlet stated
Cons
- 191.0 pounds in the spec table, the heaviest weight stated in this group
- Peak and running watts differ by fuel: 11,000 peak watts on propane and 9,800 peak watts on natural gas
- 30.2 by 25.2 by 26.6 inches in the spec table, a large footprint for storage
- No USB port is listed among the outlets
Detailed Review
The listing states a tri-fuel inverter generator with gasoline figures of 12,000 peak watts and 9,000 running watts, propane figures of 11,000 peak watts and 8,100 running watts, and natural gas figures of 9,800 peak watts and 7,200 running watts, at 3% THD or less, with Eco Mode, a 457cc 4-Stroke OHV engine, up to 19 hours at 25% load on a 7.9 gallon tank, noise as low as 64 dBA, a 50A outlet, a 30A twist lock, a GFCI 20A duplex household outlet, parallel capability, a remote start key fob, a 12V battery charger, low oil shutdown, a CO sensor and a 3 Year Limited Warranty. A licensed electrician should install any connection to home wiring.
Who it's for: homeowners who want tri-fuel home backup power with remote start and a 50A outlet for larger loads. Who should skip it: buyers who want a lighter generator or a USB port on the panel.
Its Solar Score of 9.8/10 comes from performance 34/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 89 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Peak and running watts on gasoline | 12,000 and 9,000 |
|---|---|
| Peak and running watts on propane | 11,000 and 8,100 |
| Fuel tank and runtime | 7.9 gallon, up to 19 hours at 25% load |
| Noise | As low as 64 dBA |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CO sensor and low oil shutdown stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3 Year Limited Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Genkins 4500W
A 4500-watt portable gas inverter generator with pure sine wave power, electric start and a 2-year limited warranty.
Pros
- 4500W peak and 3800W rated with THD of 3% or less stated
- 62 pounds with built-in wheels and a handle
- 63 dB at 23 feet stated
- Low-oil shutdown, overload protection and circuit breaker stated
Cons
- Gasoline only, no LPG or natural gas stated
- No outlet list stated in the listing
- No remote start stated, electric start only
- No CO alarm stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 174CC 4-stroke OHV engine with 4500W peak and 3800W rated power, clean pure sine wave power with THD of 3% or less, a 1.9-gallon tank with up to 8 hours of use at half load, 63 dB at 23 feet, 62 pounds with built-in wheels and a handle, parallel capability, low-oil automatic shutdown, overload protection, a circuit breaker, EPA certification and a 2-year limited warranty. No contradiction sits inside the listing, and no outlet list is given.
Who it's for: campers and homeowners who want a portable 4500-watt unit with stated sine wave power and low stated noise. Who should skip it: shoppers who need tri-fuel use, a stated outlet list or remote start, since this listing states none of those.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Peak watts | 4500 |
|---|---|
| Rated watts | 3800 |
| Noise | 63 dB from 23 feet |
| Weight | 62 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Low-oil shutdown, overload protection and circuit breaker stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year limited warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Inverter limits. Stay within the stated continuous watts (surge watts last only a moment), use the cable size and fuse the manual gives, ventilate it, and never connect an inverter to home wiring yourself; that is work for a licensed electrician.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Westinghouse 13500 Tri-Fuel
Tri-fuel portable generator stating gasoline, propane and natural gas operation, 10500 running watts and 13500 peak watts on gasoline, and a 3-year limited residential warranty.
Pros
- Gasoline, propane and natural gas operation stated
- 10500 running watts and 13500 peak watts on gasoline stated
- Runs up to 19 hours at 25% load on a 9.5-gallon gasoline tank stated
- Push-button start with an included remote key fob, plus recoil starting as backup
Cons
- Propane and natural gas watt figures are not stated
- 230.0 pounds stated, the heaviest weight in this group
- Automatic transfer switch sold separately
- No noise level is stated
Detailed Review
The title states 13500 peak watts and the bullets agree, stating 10500 running watts and 13500 peak watts on gasoline, while the spec table size line says 13000W. The title and bullets win over the spec table, so compare on the 13500 peak watt figure. The listing also states a 500cc engine with a pressure lubrication system, a reusable oil screen, a built-in fuel gauge, 50A and 30A outlets, automatic low-oil shutdown and a CO sensor.
Who it's for: buyers with a natural gas line available who want gasoline, propane and natural gas in one portable generator. Who should skip it: buyers who need stated propane or natural gas watt figures, or a lighter unit than 230.0 pounds.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Fuel | Gasoline, propane, natural gas |
|---|---|
| Power on gasoline | 10500 running / 13500 peak watts |
| Run time | Up to 19 hours at 25% load |
| Size | 27.2 x 26.1 x 26.5 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 3 November 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CO sensor shutdown and automatic low-oil shutdown stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3-year limited residential warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Westinghouse 12500W12500 peak watts with remote start and 3-year limited warrantyCheck on Amazon
GENMAX 9000W9000 peak watts on gasoline with remote start and 3-year limited warrantyCheck on Amazon
Numbers side by side
| Tri-Fuel Generator | Solar Score | Peak Watts | Fuels | Noise Level | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GENMAX GM10500iETC | 9.8/10 | 10500 | Gasoline, LPG, natural gas | Not stated | 3 years | View on Amazon |
| Genkins 4500W | 9.7/10 | 4500 | Gasoline | 63 dB | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| Westinghouse 12000W | 9.8/10 | 12000 | Tri-fuel | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Westinghouse 13500W | 9.7/10 | 13500 | Tri-fuel | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 3 November 2026.
Where the points went
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a tri-fuel generator, safety means stated protections such as overload protection, low-oil shutdown, circuit breakers and CO alarms; a pick that states none scores zero on that line. Two of the four picks state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GENMAX GM10500iETC | 9.8 | 33 | 22 | 21 | 9 | 4 |
| Genkins 4500W | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best tri fuel generator with pure sine wave
Compare watts on each fuel
The GENMAX unit lists 10500 starting watts and 8500 running watts on gasoline, 9500 starting watts and 8000 running watts on LPG, and 8400 starting watts and 6800 running watts on natural gas. The Genkins unit lists 4500W peak and 3800W rated power on gasoline only, with no LPG or natural gas figures stated. The two Westinghouse titles list peak watts only: 12000 peak watts on one and 13500 peak watts on the other, with no per-fuel split stated. A fuel selector switch design is listed for the GENMAX unit, letting the operator switch among gasoline, LPG and natural gas. Match the fuel you can actually get during an outage to the watts listed for that fuel, not to the headline gasoline figure.
| Generator | Gasoline watts | Other fuels |
|---|---|---|
| GENMAX GM10500iETC | 10500 starting, 8500 running | LPG 9500 starting, 8000 running; natural gas 8400 starting, 6800 running |
| Genkins 4500W | 4500 peak, 3800 rated | Gasoline only |
| Westinghouse 12000W | 12000 peak | Tri-fuel |
| Westinghouse 13500W | 13500 peak | Tri-fuel |
Check the sine wave figure
The Genkins unit lists clean pure sine wave power with THD of 3% or less, and the GENMAX unit lists THD less than 3% for sensitive equipment such as computers and cell phones. Both full-data picks therefore state a THD figure at or under 3%, which is the figure to look for when the loads include electronics. The GENMAX listing names computers and cell phones as sensitive equipment. The Genkins listing names home appliances and RV devices. Neither Westinghouse title states a THD figure.
Weigh weight and size
The Genkins unit lists 62 pounds with built-in wheels and a handle, while the GENMAX unit lists 304.0 pounds in its spec table with no wheels stated. The gap between 62 pounds and 304.0 pounds decides whether one person moves the unit or two people do, so check the weight line before the watts line when the generator must move. Built-in wheels and a handle are listed for the Genkins unit, while no wheels are stated for the GENMAX unit. For home backup use, see our inverter generator for home backup guide.
Run it outdoors
Fuel generators run outdoors only, far from doors and windows, because of carbon monoxide. The GENMAX unit lists a CO alarm among its panel features.
Sizing Notes
- Match watts to the load on each fuel: 10500 starting watts on gasoline against 8400 starting watts on natural gas for the GENMAX unit.
- Match the sine wave figure to sensitive electronics: THD less than 3% on the GENMAX unit and THD of 3% or less on the Genkins unit.
- Match run time to the tank: up to 8 hours at half load on a 1.9-gallon tank for the Genkins unit.
- Check the warranty term: 3 years on the GENMAX unit per its bullets against 2 years limited on the Genkins unit.
FAQ: power away from the grid
Which pick here runs on three fuels?
The GENMAX unit, which lists watts on gasoline, LPG and natural gas. Both Westinghouse titles also name tri-fuel units, but state no watt figures per fuel.
Which pick here lists remote start?
The GENMAX unit, which lists remote start, one-button start and electric start. The Westinghouse 12000W title also names remote start, while the Genkins unit lists electric start only.
Which pick here lists the lowest weight?
The Genkins unit, at 62 pounds with built-in wheels and a handle. The GENMAX unit lists 304.0 pounds in its spec table, and neither Westinghouse title states a weight.
Which picks state a warranty term?
The GENMAX unit states a 3-year warranty in its bullets, while its spec table says 1 year; this article follows the bullets. The Genkins unit states a 2-year limited warranty. Neither Westinghouse title states a warranty term.
What noise levels do the listings state?
The Genkins unit lists 63 dB at 23 feet. The GENMAX listing states no noise level, and neither Westinghouse title states one.
Related solar guides
See every Inverter and Dual Fuel Generators guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best tri fuel generator natural gas. Also see our dual fuel vs tri fuel generator.
More picks: inverter generator for home backup, gas generator for camping, quiet generator for RV.




