On this page
The short answer on amp hours vs watt hours: amp-hours are how the battery listing states capacity (the Power Sonic listing sells a 12V 12Ah battery), while watt-hours are how the meter listing states energy (the HTRC meter reads 0-6554Wh). We compared four listings, two tagged per side, on what each states: capacity figures, power figures, measurement ranges and warranty terms. The HTRC meter leads because it states both sides’ figures with the most detail. The two amplifiers sit one per side but state watts only.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Amp hours vs watt hours: side by side
| Amp hours vs watt hours | HTRC 150A Power Analyzer | Nobsound G2 PRO Amplifier | BOSS MC900B Amplifier | Power Sonic 12V 12Ah Battery | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Side | Watt hours | Amp hours | Watt hours | Amp hours | |
| Capacity or power stated | 0-65Ah, 0-6554Wh measured | 300W amplifier | 500W amplifier | 12V, 12Ah | |
| Stated limits | 60V, 150A | 32V, 5A supply | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Certification | CE, NIST | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Warranty | Not stated | Not stated | 6-year bullets, 3-year table | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
What the amp-hours side states
The Power Sonic listing states a 12V 12Ah sealed lead acid battery with F2 terminals. The Nobsound listing, tagged to the same side, states a 300W mono amplifier with a 32V 5A power supply and no amp-hour figure at all. So the amp-hours side has one clear capacity listing and one power listing. The Nobsound’s 32V 5A supply and 4 to 8 ohm impedance are amplifier figures, not battery figures.
What the watt-hours side states
The HTRC listing states a meter that measures 0-150A, 0-60V, 0-6554W, 0-65Ah and 0-6554Wh, with CE and NIST stated. The BOSS listing states a 500W 4-channel amplifier with 125W maximum x 4 at 4 ohms and 94W RMS x 4. So the watt-hours side has one energy readout and one power listing. The meter’s backlit LCD and 12 gauge wire are stated for field use.
Watts are not hours
Neither amplifier states amp-hours or watt-hours. The Nobsound states 300W and the BOSS states 500W; a watt figure describes power, not energy over time, and neither listing gives an hour figure to go with it. Do not read stored energy into a watt figure. The hour figures appear only on the Power Sonic battery and the HTRC meter.
What the listings leave unclear
The BOSS bullets claim a 6-year platinum dealer warranty for Amazon purchases while the spec table says 3 years, so trust the bullets. The bullets give 1.75 by 6.6 by 1.75 inches at 2.9 pounds while the spec table gives 7.8 by 3.8 by 1.75 inches; trust the bullets again. The Power Sonic spec table lists a 1 gram weight, 1 by 1 by 1 inch dimensions and a NiMH cell type, none of which fit the 12V 12Ah sealed lead acid battery in the title. The Nobsound bullets say the amp drives 320W passive speakers, above its 300W maximum output.
Four examples
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | HTRC 150A Power Analyzer | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Nobsound G2 PRO Amplifier | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | BOSS MC900B Amplifier | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Power Sonic 12V 12Ah Battery | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

HTRC 150A Power Analyzer
A 150A power analyzer that measures volts, amps, watts, amp-hours and watt-hours on DC systems.
Pros
- Measures 0-150A, 0-60V, 0-6554W, 0-65Ah and 0-6554Wh
- CE and NIST stated
- 0.01A, 0.01V and 0.01Wh resolution stated
- 12 gauge wire stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Designed for systems under 60V only
- 85 grams with no dimensions stated
- Auxiliary battery needed for 0V to 60V mode
Detailed Review
The listing states a 150A power analyzer that measures 0-150A at 0.01A resolution, 0-60V at 0.01V resolution, 0-6554W at 0.1W resolution, 0-65Ah at 0.001Ah resolution and 0-6554Wh at 0.01Wh resolution, works from 4.8V to 60V on 12 gauge wire with a backlit LCD. CE and NIST are stated, and it weighs 85 grams. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: owners who want amp-hour and watt-hour readouts from one meter. Who should skip it: anyone working above 60V.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Range | 0-150A, 0-60V |
|---|---|
| Energy | 0-65Ah, 0-6554Wh |
| Certification | CE, NIST stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE and NIST stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 300W output with TPA3255 chip stated
- Built-in speaker protection circuit stated
- 32V 5A power supply included
- Aluminum chassis stated
Cons
- No amp-hour or watt-hour figure is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- Bullets say it drives 320W speakers, above the 300W maximum output
- 0.5 kg with no dimensions stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 300W mono Class D amplifier with a TPA3255 chip, a 32V 5A power supply, a gain switch with two output level settings, 40 to 300Hz subwoofer frequency adjustment, 4 to 8 ohm speaker impedance and a built-in speaker protection circuit in an aluminum chassis at 0.5 kg. The bullets say it drives 320W passive speakers, which is above the 300W maximum output. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: buyers who want a compact 300W subwoofer amp. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for battery capacity figures.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 300W mono, Class D |
|---|---|
| Supply | 32V 5A |
| Impedance | 4-8 ohm |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Built-in speaker protection circuit stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BOSS MC900B Amplifier
A 500W 4-channel marine amplifier with Bluetooth and a 6-year dealer warranty in the bullets.
Pros
- 500W maximum, 125W x 4 at 4 ohms stated
- 94W RMS x 4 stated
- Bluetooth remote included
- 2.9 pounds stated
Cons
- Bullets claim 6-year warranty, spec table says 3-year
- Bullets give 1.75 x 6.6 x 1.75 in, spec table 7.8 x 3.8 x 1.75 in
- No amp-hour or watt-hour figure is stated
- No protection circuit is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 500W 4-channel marine amplifier with 125W maximum x 4 at 4 ohms, 94W RMS x 4, Bluetooth with a multi-function remote and a USB charging port. The bullets claim a 6-year platinum dealer warranty for Amazon purchases while the spec table says 3 years; trust the bullets. The bullets give 1.75 by 6.6 by 1.75 inches at 2.9 pounds while the spec table gives 7.8 by 3.8 by 1.75 inches; trust the bullets.
Who it's for: boat and ATV owners who want 500W with Bluetooth. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for battery capacity figures.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 500W, 4-channel |
|---|---|
| Power | 125W x 4 max, 94W RMS x 4 |
| Size | 1.75 x 6.6 x 1.75 in, 2.9 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 6-year dealer warranty in bullets, 3-year in spec table. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 12V 12Ah capacity stated
- Sealed lead acid, rechargeable
- F2 terminals stated
- Short, clear title
Cons
- Spec table lists 1 gram weight and 1 x 1 x 1 inch size
- Spec table says NiMH cell type, title says sealed lead acid
- No warranty term is stated
- No protection features are stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 12Ah sealed lead acid battery with F2 terminals, rechargeable. The spec table lists a battery weight of 1 gram, dimensions of 1 by 1 by 1 inches and a NiMH cell type, none of which fit the 12V 12Ah sealed lead acid battery in the title; trust the title.
Who it's for: buyers who want a small 12Ah sealed battery. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the weight or dimensions stated.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 18/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 59 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 12V 12Ah |
|---|---|
| Type | Sealed lead acid |
| Terminals | F2 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Here safety means stated certifications and protection circuits; only the HTRC states CE and NIST, and only the Nobsound states a protection circuit. Only the BOSS listing states a warranty term, with two conflicting figures. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HTRC 150A Power Analyzer | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
| Nobsound G2 PRO Amplifier | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 19 | 5 | 0 |
| BOSS MC900B Amplifier | 9.4 | 28 | 19 | 18 | 0 | 3 |
| Power Sonic 12V 12Ah Battery | 9.3 | 23 | 18 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
Amp hours vs watt hours: which should you choose?
Choose amp-hours when the batteries you compare state amp-hours at one voltage, like the 12V 12Ah Power Sonic. Choose watt-hours when you want the energy figure directly, like the 0-6554Wh readout on the HTRC meter. For amplifiers, neither side states hours, so compare the watt figures as stated.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Battery capacity in amp-hours | Power Sonic 12V 12Ah Battery |
| Energy in watt-hours | HTRC 150A Power Analyzer, 0-6554Wh |
| Amplifier power in watts | Nobsound 300W or BOSS 500W |
| Both Ah and Wh readouts | HTRC 150A Power Analyzer |
Sizing Notes
- Keep the meter within its stated limits: 60V and 150A on the HTRC.
- Read battery capacity as the listing states it: 12V and 12Ah on the Power Sonic.
- Size amplifier supply to the stated figures: 32V 5A on the Nobsound.
- Fuse the positive lead as the manual directs.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which listing states an amp-hour figure?
The Power Sonic battery at 12V 12Ah, and the HTRC meter which measures 0-65Ah.
Which listing states a watt-hour figure?
The HTRC meter, which measures 0-6554Wh. The same meter also measures 0-65Ah. No other listing states watt-hours.
Do the amplifiers state amp-hours or watt-hours?
No. The Nobsound states 300W and the BOSS states 500W, with no hour figures.
Which listings state a warranty?
Only the BOSS, with 6 years in the bullets and 3 years in the spec table. The other three state no warranty term.
Related guides
See every Deep Cycle and RV Batteries guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our LiFePO4 battery guides. Also see our best battery monitor for solar system.










