On this page
Caravan batteries live between two jobs: starting the tow vehicle and running the lights, pump and fridge off-grid. The best 12v battery for caravan setups starts with honest figures: capacity in amp hours, cranking amps for starting, and the terminal type that fits your leads. We compared four 12-volt picks on what each listing states. The Weize 94R leads with 80AH and a 36-month warranty, though its own bullets say it is not suitable for deep-cycle use.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Weize 94R Platinum AGM Battery: 80AH group 94R with 850CCA stated Check price on Amazon
Best Small Pick Mighty Max ML18-12 AGM Battery: 18AH AGM with UL certification stated Check price on Amazon
Best Cranking Pick OPTIMA 34/78 RedTop Battery: 800CCA spiral cell with 100-min reserve stated Check price on Amazon
Best Compact Pick Mighty Max ML5-12 AGM Battery: 5AH AGM at 3.5 pounds stated Check price on Amazon
The kits we chose
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Weize 94R Platinum AGM Battery | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Mighty Max ML18-12 AGM Battery | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | OPTIMA 34/78 RedTop Battery | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Mighty Max ML5-12 AGM Battery | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Weize 94R Platinum AGM Battery
A 12-volt 80AH group 94R AGM automotive battery with 850CCA, 140RC and a 36-month warranty.
Pros
- 80AH capacity with 850CCA and 140RC, the largest figures here
- 36-month warranty stated in the title
- Non-spillable AGM with vibration resistance stated
- -22 to 158 degrees F operating range stated
Cons
- Bullets say it is not suitable for deep-cycle use in solar or marine applications
- 50.9 pounds, the heaviest pick here
- Automotive start-stop design, not a leisure battery
- Terminal position must be verified before purchase, per the bullets
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12-volt 80AH group 94R/H7 AGM battery with 850CCA, 140RC, tapered terminals (left negative, right positive), 12.4 by 6.89 by 7.48 inches, 50.9 pounds, less than 8% self-discharge after 90 days, a -22 to 158 degrees F operating range, 14.4 to 15.0-volt charging, non-spillable AGM construction with vibration resistance and up to 2 times the cycle life of conventional batteries. The bullets explicitly say it is not suitable for deep-cycle use in solar or marine applications. Coverage is 36 months.
Who it's for: buyers who want the largest stated capacity and the longest stated warranty here. Who should skip it: caravan owners who need a dedicated deep-cycle leisure battery, per the listing's own note.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 80 AH, 140RC, 850CCA |
|---|---|
| Size | Group 94R, 12.4 x 6.89 x 7.48 in |
| Terminals | Tapered, left (-), right (+) |
| Weight | 50.9 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Non-spillable AGM with vibration resistance stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 36-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mighty Max ML18-12 AGM Battery
A 12-volt 18AH sealed AGM battery with nut and bolt terminals, UL certification and deep discharge recovery.
Pros
- 18AH sealed AGM with deep discharge recovery stated
- UL Certified stated
- Full one-year warranty stated in the bullets
- Mounts in any position and resists shocks and vibration
Cons
- No cranking amp figure is stated
- Spec table warranty says to request it from customer service; trust the bullets' full year
- Battery and screws only; no wire harness or mounting accessories
- 6.7 pounds stated with no reserve capacity figure
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12-volt 18AH sealed lead acid AGM battery with nut and bolt terminals, UL certification, 7.12 by 3.00 by 6.50 inches, 6.7 pounds, a high discharge rate, wide operating temperatures, long service life and deep discharge recovery, mounting in any position and resistance to shocks and vibration. The bullets state a full one-year warranty while the spec table says to request it from customer service; trust the bullets.
Who it's for: buyers who want a mid-size sealed AGM with a real certification stated. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated cranking figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 18 AH, 12 volts |
|---|---|
| Size | 7.12 x 3.00 x 6.50 in |
| Terminals | Nut and bolt |
| Rating | UL Certified, 6.7 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL Certified stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

OPTIMA 34/78 RedTop Battery
A 12-volt 800CCA RedTop AGM starting battery with dual SAE and GM terminals and 100 minutes of reserve.
Pros
- 800CCA with 50AH C20 capacity and 100 minutes of reserve
- Dual SAE and GM terminals in one battery
- 99.99% pure lead spiral cell design stated
- more vibration resistant than standard flooded batteries, per the listing
Cons
- Warranty description says parts only; no concrete term is stated
- It is a starting battery, not a deep-cycle battery
- 38.8 pounds, heavier than the two Mighty Max picks
- 6 cells stated with no charging voltage figure
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12-volt 800CCA RedTop sealed AGM starting battery for car, truck and SUV with dual SAE and GM terminals, 50AH C20 capacity, 100 minutes of reserve capacity, 10.06 by 6.94 by 7.88 inches, 38.8 pounds, 6 cells, a spiral cell design with 99.99% pure lead, more vibration resistance than standard flooded batteries and up to three times longer life, per the listing. The warranty description says parts only, which is not a concrete term. It is a starting battery.
Who it's for: buyers who want the second-highest cranking figure here with dual terminals. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 19/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 50 AH C20, 100-min reserve |
|---|---|
| Cranking | 800CCA, 6 cells |
| Terminals | Dual SAE and GM |
| Weight | 38.8 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Maintenance-free sealed AGM stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mighty Max ML5-12 AGM Battery
A 12-volt 5AH sealed AGM battery with an F1 terminal, the smallest and lightest pick here.
Pros
- 5AH sealed AGM, the smallest capacity here
- 3.5 pounds stated, the lightest pick here
- Mounts in any position and resists shocks and vibration
- High performance in high and low temperatures stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated (customer service request only)
- Battery only; no wire harness or mounting accessories
- Bullets say 3.5 pounds while the spec table says 3.1; trust the bullets
- No cranking amp or reserve capacity figure is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12-volt 5AH sealed lead acid AGM battery with an F1 terminal, 3.54 by 2.76 by 4.21 inches, 3.5 pounds in the bullets (the spec table says 3.1 pounds; trust the bullets), mounting in any position, resistance to shocks and vibration and long-lasting performance in high and low temperatures. The listing is for the battery only with no wire harness or mounting accessories. The warranty description says only to request it from customer service, which is not a concrete term.
Who it's for: small auxiliary loads where a 5AH sealed battery fits. Who should skip it: anyone running real caravan loads on a single battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 21/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 5 AH, 12 volts |
|---|---|
| Size | 3.54 x 2.76 x 4.21 in |
| Terminals | F1 |
| Weight | 3.5 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Sealed maintenance-free SLA stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Numbers side by side
| Battery | Solar Score | Capacity | CCA | Terminals | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weize 94R Platinum AGM Battery | 9.7/10 | 80 AH | 850 | Tapered | 36 months | View on Amazon |
| Mighty Max ML18-12 AGM Battery | 9.6/10 | 18 AH | Not stated | Nut and bolt | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| OPTIMA 34/78 RedTop Battery | 9.6/10 | 50 AH | 800 | Dual SAE/GM | None stated | View on Amazon |
| Mighty Max ML5-12 AGM Battery | 9.4/10 | 5 AH | Not stated | F1 | None stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
Where the points went
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For batteries, safety means sealed, spill-proof and vibration-resistant construction: all four picks state sealed AGM or SLA designs. Two picks state a concrete warranty term (36 months and 1 year); two state no term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weize 94R Platinum AGM Battery | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 6 | 4 |
| Mighty Max ML18-12 AGM Battery | 9.6 | 27 | 21 | 22 | 5 | 3 |
| OPTIMA 34/78 RedTop Battery | 9.6 | 30 | 22 | 19 | 6 | 0 |
| Mighty Max ML5-12 AGM Battery | 9.4 | 21 | 20 | 21 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best 12v battery for caravan use
Match the capacity to the load
The four picks state 5AH, 18AH, 50AH and 80AH. The Weize states 80AH with 140RC, the OPTIMA states 50AH with 100 minutes of reserve, the Mighty Max ML18-12 states 18AH and the ML5-12 states 5AH. A 5AH battery suits a small auxiliary load; real caravan loads need the upper end. For deep-cycle caravan options, see our deep-cycle RV batteries.
Starting or deep-cycle
Read the listing, not the category. The OPTIMA is a car, truck and SUV starting battery, and the Weize bullets explicitly say it is not suitable for deep-cycle use in solar or marine applications. The Mighty Max ML18-12 states deep discharge recovery, the closest deep-cycle claim here. Match the battery to whether you crank or draw slowly.
| Battery | Capacity | CCA | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weize 94R Platinum AGM Battery | 80 AH | 850 | 36 months |
| Mighty Max ML18-12 AGM Battery | 18 AH | Not stated | 1 year |
| OPTIMA 34/78 RedTop Battery | 50 AH | 800 | None stated |
| Mighty Max ML5-12 AGM Battery | 5 AH | Not stated | None stated |
Check the terminals and fit
The four picks use four different terminals: F1 on the ML5-12, nut and bolt on the ML18-12, tapered on the Weize and dual SAE and GM posts on the OPTIMA. The Weize is a group 94R/H7 at 12.4 by 6.89 by 7.48 inches and 50.9 pounds, so measure the tray before ordering. The Weize bullets say to verify terminal position before purchase.
Weigh the warranty
The Weize states 36 months and the Mighty Max ML18-12 states a full one year in its bullets (its spec table says to request it from customer service). The OPTIMA warranty description says parts only and the ML5-12 says to request it from customer service; neither states a concrete term. The ML18-12 also states UL certification, the only third-party mark here.
Sizing Notes
- Match the capacity: 5AH at the low end, 80AH at the top.
- Check the terminals: F1, nut and bolt, tapered, or dual SAE and GM.
- Measure the tray: the group 94R pick is 12.4 by 6.89 by 7.48 inches.
- Note the use case: starting batteries and deep-cycle are different jobs.
- Match the warranty: 36 months on one, 1 year on one, none stated on two.
FAQ: power away from the grid
Which pick states the largest capacity?
The Weize, with 80AH and 140RC. The OPTIMA states 50AH, the Mighty Max ML18-12 states 18AH and the ML5-12 states 5AH.
Which pick states the longest warranty?
The Weize, with 36 months. The Mighty Max ML18-12 states a full one year; the other two state no concrete term.
Which pick states a third-party certification?
The Mighty Max ML18-12, which states UL certification. No other pick states a mark.
Is any pick described as a deep-cycle battery?
Not directly. The Weize bullets explicitly say it is not suitable for deep-cycle use, and the OPTIMA is a starting battery. The Mighty Max ML18-12 states deep discharge recovery, the closest deep-cycle claim here.
Which pick is the lightest?
The Mighty Max ML5-12, at 3.5 pounds stated in the bullets (its spec table says 3.1). The heaviest is the Weize at 50.9 pounds.
What terminals do the picks use?
F1 on the ML5-12, nut and bolt on the ML18-12, tapered on the Weize and dual SAE and GM posts on the OPTIMA.
Related solar guides
See every Deep-Cycle RV Batteries guide and all Batteries, Chargers and Monitors guides.
More picks: best lifepo4 batteries, battery monitors and battery chargers and maintainers.




