On this page
A kayak battery has one job: run the fish finder or GPS all day without sinking the hatch. The best 12v battery for kayak electronics balances capacity against weight, and two of the four picks here are LiFePO4. We compared four 12-volt picks on what each listing states: capacity, chemistry, weight, cycle life and warranty. The ABKpower 20AH leads with 6000+ cycles, while the WOXABHSL 7AH is the lightest LiFePO4 at 1.76 pounds.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall ABKpower 20AH LiFePO4 Battery: 20AH LiFePO4 with 6000+ cycles and IP65 stated Check price on Amazon
Best Lightweight WOXABHSL 7AH LiFePO4 Battery: 7AH LiFePO4 at 1.76 pounds with BMS stated Check price on Amazon
Best Sealed AGM Mighty Max ML9-12 AGM Battery: 9AH AGM with UL certification stated Check price on Amazon
Best Kayak Kit Nocqua 10AH Power Kit Battery: 10AH kit with charger and camo sleeve stated Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ABKpower 20AH LiFePO4 Battery | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | WOXABHSL 7AH LiFePO4 Battery | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Mighty Max ML9-12 AGM Battery | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Nocqua 10AH Power Kit Battery | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

ABKpower 20AH LiFePO4 Battery
A 12-volt 20AH LiFePO4 battery with a 20A BMS, 6000+ cycles, IP65 rating and a 1-year replacement warranty.
Pros
- 20AH with 256Wh and 6000+ cycles at 80% DOD stated
- 20A BMS with 75A peak discharge and IP65 rating
- Up to 4 in parallel for expanded capacity stated
- -4 to 140 degrees F operating range stated
Cons
- Not for starting batteries, golf carts or jacks, per the note
- 5 pounds, heavier than the two smaller lithium picks
- M5 terminals only, with insulation caps and bolts included
- 4 cells with no charger included
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12-volt 20AH LiFePO4 deep cycle battery with 256Wh, a 20A BMS with 75A peak discharge, 6000+ cycles at 80% DOD (4000+ at 100% DOD), IP65 rating, 7.17 by 3.03 by 6.69 inches, 5 pounds, M5 terminals, up to 10 years of deep cycle performance, a -4 to 140 degrees F range, up to 4 in parallel and charging to 50%+ before seasonal storage. The note says it is for deep cycle energy storage only, not starting batteries, golf carts or jacks. Coverage is a 1-year replacement warranty.
Who it's for: kayak anglers who want the largest stated capacity and the longest stated cycle life here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a starting battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 20 AH, 256Wh |
|---|---|
| Cycles | 6000+ at 80% DOD |
| BMS | 20A, 75A peak, IP65 |
| Weight | 5 pounds, M5 terminals |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 20A BMS with IP65 rating stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1-year replacement warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

WOXABHSL 7AH LiFePO4 Battery
A 12-volt 7AH LiFePO4 battery with a built-in BMS, 10A max discharge, 1500+ cycles and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- 12.8-volt 7AH LiFePO4 with 1500+ cycles stated
- Built-in BMS with 10A max continuous discharge
- 1.76 pounds, far lighter than lead acid, per the bullets
- Max 2 in series and 4 in parallel for expansion stated
Cons
- Spec table says 1.7 and 1.8 pounds; trust the bullets' 1.76
- Only a 14.4V dedicated LiFePO4 charger within 1 to 5 amps is allowed
- Not for 120V high-power motors, per the bullets
- 1-year warranty covers manufacturing defects only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12.8-volt 7AH LiFePO4 battery replacing 6FM7 12V7Ah lead-acid, 5.94 by 2.56 by 3.71 inches, 1.76 pounds in the bullets (the spec table says 1.7 and 1.8), a built-in BMS with 10A max continuous discharge, 1500+ cycles, protection against overcharge, over-discharge, overcurrent and short circuit, max 2 in series and 4 in parallel, charging with a 14.4V LiFePO4 charger within 1 to 5 amps and a 30-day recharge rule in storage. It cannot run 120V high-power motors. Coverage is 1 year on manufacturing defects.
Who it's for: fish finder and kayak loads where a light LiFePO4 fits. Who should skip it: anyone who needs high-current loads.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 7 AH, 12.8 volts |
|---|---|
| Cycles | 1500+ cycles |
| BMS | 10A max discharge |
| Weight | 1.76 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Built-in BMS with overcurrent protection stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mighty Max ML9-12 AGM Battery
A 12-volt 9AH sealed AGM battery with an F2 terminal, UL certification and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- 9AH sealed AGM with high discharge rate stated
- UL Certified stated
- Full one-year warranty stated in the bullets
- Spill-proof, mounts in any position, resists shocks and vibration
Cons
- Battery only; no wire harness or mounting accessories
- Spec table warranty says to request it from customer service; trust the bullets' full year
- 5.5 pounds for 9AH, heavier than the lithium picks
- No cycle life figure is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12-volt 9AH sealed lead acid AGM battery with an F2 terminal, UL certification, 5.94 by 2.56 by 4.02 inches, 5.5 pounds, a high discharge rate, wide operating temperatures, long service life, spill-proof construction, mounting in any position and resistance to shocks and vibration. The bullets state a full one-year warranty while the spec table says to request it from customer service; trust the bullets.
Who it's for: buyers who want a sealed AGM with a real certification stated. Who should skip it: anyone counting grams for a kayak hatch.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 9 AH, 12 volts |
|---|---|
| Size | 5.94 x 2.56 x 4.02 in |
| Terminals | F2 |
| Rating | UL Certified, 5.5 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL Certified with spill-proof SLA stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Nocqua 10AH Power Kit Battery
A 12-volt 10AH lithium kit with a 110V charger, camo sleeve and cables for GPS and fish finders.
Pros
- 12-volt 10AH lithium kit with a 110V charger included
- Compatible with Garmin, Raymarine, Lowrance and Humminbird, per the listing
- Protection against short circuits, overcharging, high voltage and deep discharge
- Ballistic nylon camo sleeve with component cable included
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists 34 g while the item weight is 1.4 pounds; trust 1.4
- 10AH with no cycle life figure stated
- Kit form only; no bare battery option is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12-volt 10AH lithium battery kit with a 110V charger, a 12V 10Ah battery, a ballistic nylon camo sleeve and a component cable, 3.5 by 3.5 by 3 inches, 1.4 pounds in the spec table (the 34 g battery weight entry is inconsistent; trust 1.4), protection against short circuits, overcharging, high voltage and deep discharge and stated compatibility with Garmin, Raymarine, Lowrance and Humminbird for GPS and fish finders. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: kayak anglers who want a ready-to-go kit with a charger. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty or cycle figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 22/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 10 AH, 12 volts |
|---|---|
| Kit | 110V charger, sleeve, cable |
| Size | 3.5 x 3.5 x 3 in |
| Rating | 1.4 pounds, no warranty |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Short-circuit, overcharge and deep-discharge protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Battery | Solar Score | Capacity | Chemistry | Weight | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ABKpower 20AH LiFePO4 Battery | 9.7/10 | 20 AH | LiFePO4 | 5 lb | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| WOXABHSL 7AH LiFePO4 Battery | 9.6/10 | 7 AH | LiFePO4 | 1.76 lb | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Mighty Max ML9-12 AGM Battery | 9.5/10 | 9 AH | SLA AGM | 5.5 lb | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Nocqua 10AH Power Kit Battery | 9.5/10 | 10 AH | Lithium ion | 1.4 lb | None stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For batteries, safety means stated protections and ratings: the ABKpower states a 20A BMS plus IP65, the WOXABHSL states a built-in BMS, the Nocqua states four protections and the Mighty Max states UL certification with spill-proof SLA. Three picks state a 1-year warranty; the Nocqua states none. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ABKpower 20AH LiFePO4 Battery | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 6 | 3 |
| WOXABHSL 7AH LiFePO4 Battery | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 22 | 6 | 3 |
| Mighty Max ML9-12 AGM Battery | 9.5 | 26 | 20 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| Nocqua 10AH Power Kit Battery | 9.5 | 29 | 22 | 19 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best 12v battery for kayak electronics
Match the capacity to the day
The four picks state 7AH, 9AH, 10AH and 20AH. The WOXABHSL states 7AH, the Mighty Max states 9AH, the Nocqua states 10AH and the ABKpower states 20AH with 256Wh. A fish finder draws steadily all day, so the 20AH pick gives the most headroom. For deep-cycle options, see our deep-cycle RV batteries.
LiFePO4 or AGM
The ABKpower and WOXABHSL are LiFePO4 with a BMS, 6000+ and 1500+ cycles stated respectively. The Mighty Max is a sealed AGM with UL certification, and the Nocqua is a lithium ion kit. LiFePO4 weighs less per amp hour: the 20AH ABKpower is 5 pounds while the 9AH Mighty Max is 5.5 pounds. See our LiFePO4 batteries for more.
| Battery | Capacity | Weight | Cycles stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| ABKpower 20AH LiFePO4 Battery | 20 AH | 5 lb | 6000+ |
| WOXABHSL 7AH LiFePO4 Battery | 7 AH | 1.76 lb | 1500+ |
| Mighty Max ML9-12 AGM Battery | 9 AH | 5.5 lb | Not stated |
| Nocqua 10AH Power Kit Battery | 10 AH | 1.4 lb | Not stated |
Check the kit contents
Only the Nocqua ships as a kit with a 110V charger, a camo sleeve and a component cable. The ABKpower ships with insulation caps, M5 bolts and a manual. The WOXABHSL and Mighty Max ship as batteries only with no wire harness. The Nocqua lists stated compatibility with Garmin, Raymarine, Lowrance and Humminbird.
Weigh the warranty and protections
The ABKpower states a 1-year replacement warranty, the WOXABHSL states 1 year on manufacturing defects, and the Mighty Max states a full one year in its bullets. The Nocqua states no warranty term. On protections, the ABKpower states a 20A BMS with IP65, the WOXABHSL a built-in BMS, the Nocqua four protections and the Mighty Max UL certification. A battery monitor helps track the state of charge on the water.
Sizing Notes
- Match the capacity: 7AH at the low end, 20AH at the top.
- Check the weight: 1.4 pounds at the low end, 5.5 pounds at the top.
- Note the chemistry: two LiFePO4, one lithium ion kit, one SLA AGM.
- Count the cycles: 1500+ on one, 6000+ on one, not stated on two.
- Match the warranty: 1 year on three, none stated on one.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pick states the longest cycle life?
The ABKpower, with 6000+ cycles at 80% DOD (4000+ at 100%). The WOXABHSL states 1500+; the other two state no cycle figure.
Which pick includes a charger?
The Nocqua, which ships as a kit with a 110V charger, a camo sleeve and a component cable. The others ship without a charger.
Which picks are LiFePO4?
The ABKpower (20AH) and the WOXABHSL (7AH). The Nocqua is lithium ion and the Mighty Max is sealed AGM.
Which pick states a third-party certification?
The Mighty Max ML9-12, which states UL certification. The ABKpower states IP65; no other pick states a mark.
Which pick is the lightest?
The Nocqua, at 1.4 pounds stated. The WOXABHSL is 1.76 pounds; the ABKpower is 5 pounds and the Mighty Max 5.5 pounds.
Which picks can be wired together?
The WOXABHSL states max 2 in series and 4 in parallel; the ABKpower states up to 4 in parallel. The others state no wiring rules.
Related guides
See every Deep-Cycle RV Batteries guide and all Batteries, Chargers and Monitors guides.
More picks: Nocqua.




