Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Battery Chargers and Maintainers

Best Battery Charger and Maintainer (2026): 5 Compared

Five battery charger-maintainers compared on the charge amps, engine start, protections and warranty each listing actually states.

Best Battery Charger and Maintainer (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

The truck sat all winter and the battery is flat, and finding the best battery charger and maintainer means matching amps and functions to your vehicles. We compared five charger-maintainers on what each listing states: charge amps, engine-start figures, stated protections and warranty terms. The CRAFTSMAN 12A leads with 6V/12V auto-detect and desulfation, while the NEXPEAK 2-pack brings the longest stated warranty at 2 years.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • CRAFTSMAN 12A Charger
    Best Overall CRAFTSMAN 12A Charger: 12A with 6V/12V auto-detect and desulfation Check price on Amazon
  • NEXPEAK 1.75A Charger 2-Pack
    Best Warranty NEXPEAK 1.75A Charger 2-Pack: 2-year warranty with 7-stage charging and LCD Check price on Amazon
  • Schumacher SC1361 6A Charger
    Best Engine Start Schumacher SC1361 6A Charger: 50A engine start with 10A boost and UL 1236 Check price on Amazon
  • Schumacher SP1297 3A Charger
    Best Compact Schumacher SP1297 3A Charger: 3A with LiFePO4 support and UL Check price on Amazon
  • CRAFTSMAN Wheeled 6A Charger
    Best Wheeled CRAFTSMAN Wheeled 6A Charger: 175A engine start with 135-minute timer Check price on Amazon

The picks

CRAFTSMAN 12A Charger

CRAFTSMAN 12A Charger

CRAFTSMAN9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12A charger and maintainer with 6V/12V auto-detect and desulfation.

Pros

  • 12A rapid charging stated, the highest here
  • 6V/12V auto voltage detection stated
  • Desulfation mode with multi-stage charging stated
  • UL and FCC stated with a 1-year warranty

Cons

  • 12 x 16 x 5 inches is the largest footprint here
  • 1-year warranty is shorter than the NEXPEAK's 2 years
  • The spec table lists input voltage as 12 volts, which does not match a plug-in AC charger
  • No engine-start figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12A battery charger and maintainer with 6V/12V auto voltage detection, desulfation mode, multi-stage charging, reverse hook-up protection and a digital display, with a 6-foot AC cord and 6-foot battery cables, at 3.4 pounds. It lists UL and FCC and a 1-year warranty. The spec table lists input voltage as 12 volts, which does not match a plug-in AC charger; this review trusts the title and bullets.

Who it's for: owners who want the highest charge amps here with 6V/12V auto-detect. Who should skip it: owners who need an engine-start figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Charge12A
Voltage6V/12V auto-detect
CertificationUL, FCC
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL and FCC with reverse hook-up protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Warranty Description: 1 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NEXPEAK 1.75A Charger 2-Pack

NEXPEAK 1.75A Charger 2-Pack

NEXPEAK9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of 1.75A charger-maintainers with LCD and 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 2-year warranty stated, the longest here
  • 7-stage charging with pulse repair stated
  • LCD screen with charging status stated
  • 8 protections stated, from short circuit to over-current

Cons

  • 1.75A is the lowest charge current here
  • Cannot charge lithium batteries or batteries below 0.3V, per the listing
  • No certifications are stated
  • The title says 2-pack while the spec table lists 1 item
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of 1.75A battery chargers and maintainers for 6V and 12V batteries with an LCD screen, 7-stage charging and pulse repair, STD and trickle modes, a 6.6ft SAE cord with alligator and ring connectors, and a 2-year warranty. It lists 8 protections and states it cannot charge lithium batteries or batteries below 0.3V. The title says 2-pack while the spec table lists 1 item; the listing leaves the count unclear.

Who it's for: owners who want two maintainers with the longest stated warranty. Who should skip it: owners who charge lithium batteries.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Charge1.75A x 2
Voltage6V/12V
DisplayLCD
Warranty2 years

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Short circuit, overload, low/high voltage, overcharge, over-temperature, reverse-connection and over-current protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Warranty Description: 2 years warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Schumacher SC1361 6A Charger

Schumacher SC1361 6A Charger

Schumacher Electric9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6A charger and maintainer with 50A engine start and UL 1236.

Pros

  • 50A engine start with 10A boost stated
  • 6A charge with 2A smart trickle stated
  • UL 1236 and FCC stated
  • 1-year warranty stated

Cons

  • 9.5 pounds, the heaviest plug-in unit here
  • 10-hour charge time stated
  • No desulfation is stated
  • 1-year warranty is shorter than the NEXPEAK's 2 years
Detailed Review

The listing states a 6A battery charger and maintainer with 50A engine start, 10A boost, 6A/2A charge/maintain, smart trickle charge and reverse hook-up protection, with LED indicators, at 9.5 pounds. It lists UL 1236, FCC, DOE and Prop 65, a 10-hour charge time and a 1-year warranty.

Who it's for: owners who want engine-start power with maintaining. Who should skip it: owners who need desulfation stated.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Charge6A / 2A
Engine start50A
CertificationUL 1236, FCC
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL 1236 and FCC with reverse hook-up protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Warranty Description: 1 Year stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Schumacher SP1297 3A Charger

Schumacher SP1297 3A Charger

Schumacher Electric9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 3A charger and maintainer with LiFePO4 support and UL.

Pros

  • 3A charge with smart trickle stated
  • Standard, AGM, gel and LiFePO4 supported
  • Desulfation mode stated
  • UL stated with a 1-year warranty at 1.8 pounds

Cons

  • 3A is slow for large batteries
  • No engine-start figure is stated
  • 1-year warranty is shorter than the NEXPEAK's 2 years
  • No digital display is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 3A battery charger and maintainer for 12V batteries including standard, AGM, gel and lithium (LiFePO4), with smart trickle charge, desulfation mode and reverse polarity protection, a 6-foot power cord and 5-foot booster cables, clamps and ring leads, at 1.8 pounds. It lists UL and a 1-year warranty.

Who it's for: owners who want a light 3A maintainer that supports LiFePO4. Who should skip it: owners who need engine-start power.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Charge3A
Battery types12V incl. LiFePO4
CertificationUL
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL with reverse polarity protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Warranty Description: 1 Year stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CRAFTSMAN Wheeled 6A Charger

CRAFTSMAN Wheeled 6A Charger

CRAFTSMAN9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A wheeled 6A charger with 175A engine start and manual timer.

Pros

  • 175A engine start with 25A boost stated
  • 135-minute manual timer stated
  • Analog ammeter stated
  • Steel case with wheels and retractable handle stated

Cons

  • Manual timer control; not automatic
  • 8.91 x 11.76 x 33.37 inches; the largest unit here
  • No desulfation is stated
  • 1-year warranty is shorter than the NEXPEAK's 2 years
Detailed Review

The listing states a wheeled 6A battery charger and maintainer with 175A engine start, 25A boost charge, a 135-minute manual timer, analog ammeter, steel case, retractable handle and wheels, at 8.91 x 11.76 x 33.37 inches. It lists UL and a 1-year warranty. The timer is manual, so charging is not automatic.

Who it's for: owners who want wheeled engine-start power with manual control. Who should skip it: owners who want a fully automatic maintainer.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Charge6A
Engine start175A
Control135-min manual timer
Warranty1 year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Warranty Description: 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Charger Solar Score Charge / Maintain Engine start Safety features Warranty Amazon
CRAFTSMAN 12A Charger 9.7/10 12A Not stated UL, FCC, reverse hook-up 1 year View on Amazon
NEXPEAK 1.75A Charger 2-Pack 9.7/10 1.75A Not stated 8 protections stated 2 years View on Amazon
Schumacher SC1361 6A Charger 9.6/10 6A / 2A 50A UL 1236, FCC 1 year View on Amazon
Schumacher SP1297 3A Charger 9.6/10 3A Not stated UL, reverse polarity 1 year View on Amazon
CRAFTSMAN Wheeled 6A Charger 9.6/10 6A 175A UL 1 year View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a battery charger, safety means the protections the listing states (reverse polarity, short circuit, overcharge, over-temperature, over-current and similar) and the certifications it names, such as UL or FCC; a listing that states none scores zero on that line. All five state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
CRAFTSMAN 12A Charger 9.7 32 21 21 7 3
NEXPEAK 1.75A Charger 2-Pack 9.7 28 21 21 7 4
Schumacher SC1361 6A Charger 9.6 30 20 20 7 3
Schumacher SP1297 3A Charger 9.6 27 21 21 7 3
CRAFTSMAN Wheeled 6A Charger 9.6 29 19 19 7 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best battery charger and maintainer

Charge amps and engine start

Charge amps run from 12A on the CRAFTSMAN 12A down to 1.75A on the NEXPEAK, with 6A on the Schumacher SC1361 and CRAFTSMAN wheeled, and 3A on the Schumacher SP1297. Engine start is stated on two: 175A on the CRAFTSMAN wheeled and 50A on the Schumacher SC1361.

Charger Stated charge Stated engine start
CRAFTSMAN 12A Charger 12A Not stated
NEXPEAK 1.75A Charger 2-Pack 1.75A Not stated
Schumacher SC1361 6A Charger 6A 50A
Schumacher SP1297 3A Charger 3A Not stated
CRAFTSMAN Wheeled 6A Charger 6A 175A

Maintainer and desulfation modes

All five state a trickle or smart trickle maintain mode. Desulfation is stated on the Schumacher SP1297, the CRAFTSMAN 12A and the NEXPEAK (as pulse repair). The NEXPEAK states a 7-stage charging program, and the CRAFTSMAN 12A states multi-stage charging with a digital display.

Battery compatibility

The CRAFTSMAN 12A states 6V/12V auto voltage detection, and the NEXPEAK states 6V and 12V support. LiFePO4 support is stated on the Schumacher SP1297, the Schumacher SC1361 and the CRAFTSMAN 12A, while the NEXPEAK listing states it cannot charge lithium batteries or batteries below 0.3V. For LiFePO4 charging, see our best lithium battery charger for LiFePO4 guide.

Certifications and warranty

UL is stated on all four Schumacher and CRAFTSMAN units (UL 1236 on the SC1361), and FCC on the SC1361 and CRAFTSMAN 12A; the NEXPEAK states no certifications. On warranty, the NEXPEAK states 2 years and the other four each state 1 year. For DC charging on the road, see our best dc to dc charger for RV guide.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the charge amps: 12A, 6A, 3A and 1.75A stated.
  • Check engine start: 175A, 50A, or none stated.
  • Check 6V support: stated on the CRAFTSMAN 12A and NEXPEAK.
  • Check LiFePO4: stated on three; the NEXPEAK excludes it.
  • Check the warranty: 2 years (NEXPEAK), 1 year (the other four).

Frequently Asked Questions

Which charger here has the highest charge amps?

The CRAFTSMAN 12A at 12A. The Schumacher SC1361 and CRAFTSMAN wheeled state 6A, the SP1297 states 3A, and the NEXPEAK states 1.75A.

Which state UL?

The Schumacher SP1297, the Schumacher SC1361 (UL 1236), the CRAFTSMAN 12A and the CRAFTSMAN wheeled. The NEXPEAK states no certifications.

Which has the longest stated warranty?

The NEXPEAK at 2 years. The other four each state 1 year.

Which work with 6V batteries?

The CRAFTSMAN 12A with auto voltage detection, and the NEXPEAK with 6V and 12V support.

Which support LiFePO4?

The Schumacher SP1297, the Schumacher SC1361 and the CRAFTSMAN 12A. The NEXPEAK listing states it cannot charge lithium batteries.

CRAFTSMAN 12A Charger
Still deciding? Our top pickCRAFTSMAN 12A Charger
Check price on Amazon

See every Battery Chargers and Maintainers guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best lithium battery charger for LiFePO4. Also see our best battery charger for trolling motor. Also see our best dc to dc charger for RV. Also see our best lifepo4 battery charger. Also see our best 12v battery for solar panel.