Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Battery Chargers and Maintainers

Best Battery Charger for AGM Batteries: 5 Compared

Five smart battery chargers for AGM batteries compared on charge current, desulfation, safety certifications and stated warranty terms.

Best Battery Charger for AGM Batteries: 5 Compared
On this page

The boat battery sat all winter and spring launch is a week away, and the charger in the garage only knows one speed, which is why the best battery charger for agm batteries matters before the season starts. We compared five smart chargers, from a 2A maintainer to a 25A fast charger with engine start, on charge current, battery compatibility, desulfation, safety certifications and stated warranty terms. Two offer force or boost modes for dead batteries, and all five list AGM support.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • TowerTop 25A Smart Charger
    Best Overall TowerTop 25A Smart Charger: 25A charging with 8-stage repair and LCD Check price on Amazon
  • Schumacher SC1281 6A Charger
    Best for Jump Starts Schumacher SC1281 6A Charger: 100A engine start with battery analyzer Check price on Amazon
  • NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger
    Best 6V and 12V NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger: 2A smart charger for AGM and lithium Check price on Amazon
  • NOCO GENIUS2D Onboard Charger
    Best Onboard NOCO GENIUS2D Onboard Charger: direct-mount 12V charger with 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • CTEK MXS 5.0 Charger
    Best Automatic CTEK MXS 5.0 Charger: 4.3A 8-step charger with IP65 rating Check price on Amazon

The picks

TowerTop 25A Smart Charger

TowerTop 25A Smart Charger

TowerTop9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V smart charger with 2/10/25A settings, 8-stage charging, battery repair and an 18-month warranty.

Pros

  • 25A maximum current, 100Ah in under 3.5 hours per the listing
  • 8-stage intelligent charging with HD LCD screen
  • Independent desulfurization and repair buttons
  • Winter mode and engine start function

Cons

  • Cannot repair completely drained batteries, per the listing
  • 18-month warranty is shorter than the NOCO 3-year terms
  • 7.68 by 10.04 by 4.92 inches is the largest unit here
  • Speed and efficiency percentages are maker claims against unstated conditions
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V smart charger with 4 current settings (2A, 10A, 25A, AUTO), a 25A maximum claiming a 100Ah battery in under 3.5 hours, automatic start within 30 seconds, pulse repair mode after full charge, last-settings memory, and support for 12V STD, AGM, GEL, Wet, MF, EFB, calcium and deep-cycle batteries. Charging runs 8 stages (desulfurization, soft start, bulk, absorption, analysis, repair, float, pulse maintenance) on an HD LCD, with independent desulfurization and repair buttons, a winter mode and an engine start function. It notes the repair mode cannot fix completely drained batteries. The spec table gives a 120-minute charge time and an 18-month warranty, with ETL and FCC stated.

Who it's for: owners of big 12V banks who want the fastest charging and a screen showing every stage. Who should skip it: anyone maintaining a small battery that only needs 2A.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Current2/10/25A + AUTO
Stages8 with HD LCD
RepairDesulfurization + repair buttons
CompatibilityAGM, STD, Gel, Wet, deep-cycle

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL and FCC stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 18-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Schumacher SC1281 6A Charger

Schumacher SC1281 6A Charger

Schumacher Electric9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 6A smart charger and maintainer with 100A engine start, boost modes and a battery analyzer.

Pros

  • 100A engine start with 12A to 30A boost
  • Battery and alternator analyzer built in
  • 6V and 12V automatic voltage detection
  • FCC and UL 1236 stated

Cons

  • 1-year warranty, shorter than the NOCO terms
  • 6A charging is well below the TowerTop 25A
  • Crocodile clips only; no eyelet terminals are listed
  • Analyzer and boost add complexity for simple maintaining
Detailed Review

The listing states a 6A charger and 2A maintainer with a 100A engine start, 12A to 30A boost, 5-in-1 operation (start, charge, maintain, check, restore), automatic 6V and 12V detection, a desulfation mode, multi-stage charging algorithms and a microprocessor-controlled smart trickle charge. It includes a digital display and crocodile clips, supports standard, AGM, gel, deep-cycle and lithium batteries for cars, trucks, motorcycles, ATVs and marine use, and carries a 1-year warranty with FCC and UL 1236 stated.

Who it's for: drivers who want one box that starts, charges, maintains and checks the battery. Who should skip it: anyone who only needs a quiet 2A maintainer.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Current6A charge, 2A maintain
Engine start100A, boost 12-30A
Voltage6V/12V auto
CertificationsFCC, UL 1236

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. FCC and UL 1236 stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger

NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger

NOCO9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2A smart charger and maintainer for 6V/12V AGM, gel and lithium batteries with desulfation and a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • 6V and 12V with AGM, Gel, SLA, VRLA and LiFePO4 support
  • Force mode charges dead batteries down to zero volts
  • Temperature compensation via thermal sensor
  • 3-year warranty stated

Cons

  • 2A only, the slowest charging current here
  • No safety certification is stated
  • 72-inch AC and 80-inch DC cables are fixed lengths
  • Lithium support is LiFePO4 only
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2A smart charger for 6V and 12V lead-acid (AGM, Gel, SLA, VRLA) and lithium (LiFePO4) batteries, including flooded, deep-cycle, marine and powersport types. It has pulse charging to reverse sulfation and acid stratification, an integrated thermal sensor for temperature compensation, a force mode that charges batteries from 1 volt down to zero, and maintenance monitoring that allows indefinite connection. The box includes 72-inch AC and 80-inch DC cables with clamps and eyelets, a mounting bracket and screws at 1.2 pounds, with a 3-year warranty. No safety certification is stated.

Who it's for: owners tending mixed fleets of 6V and 12V batteries, including lithium, who want the longest warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs faster charging, since 2A is the slowest current here.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Current2A
Voltage6V/12V
ChemistryAGM, Gel, SLA, LiFePO4
Cables72 in AC, 80 in DC

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overcharge protection and temperature compensation stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 3-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NOCO GENIUS2D Onboard Charger

NOCO GENIUS2D Onboard Charger

NOCO9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2A direct-mount onboard charger for 12V AGM batteries with desulfation and a 3-year warranty.

Pros

  • Direct-mount onboard design with snap-fit bracket
  • Desulfator and temperature compensation
  • Force mode for dead batteries
  • CEC, FCC and UL stated with 3-year warranty

Cons

  • 12V only, no 6V support
  • No lithium chemistry support, unlike the GENIUS2
  • 24-inch AC and DC cables are short for remote mounting
  • 2A only, a maintainer's pace
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2A direct-mount onboard charger for 12V lead-acid (AGM, Gel, SLA, VRLA) batteries, including flooded, deep-cycle, marine and RV types, with no lithium support. It mounts near the battery on a snap-fit bracket with self-tapping screws, and offers pulse desulfation, temperature compensation, a force mode from 1 volt down to zero and indefinite maintenance monitoring. The box includes 24-inch AC and 24-inch DC eyelet cables, bracket and screws at 11.68 ounces, with CEC, FCC and UL stated and a 3-year warranty.

Who it's for: owners of a stored boat, RV or classic car who want a bolted-on maintainer. Who should skip it: anyone with 6V or lithium batteries, or who needs faster charging.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Current2A
MountDirect-mount onboard
ChemistryAGM, Gel, SLA, VRLA
Cables24 in AC/DC

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CEC, FCC and UL stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CTEK MXS 5.0 Charger

CTEK MXS 5.0 Charger

CTEK9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4.3A fully automatic 8-step charger and maintainer for 12V lead-acid and AGM batteries.

Pros

  • 4.3A with 8-step fully automatic charging
  • Reconditioning function for underperforming batteries
  • IP65 with splash, dust, spark and shock proofing
  • Float/pulse 'set and forget' for months

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated (limited warranty only)
  • 12V only
  • No lithium support is stated
  • 50-hour charge time in the spec table is unexplained
Detailed Review

The listing states a fully automatic 8-step 4.3A charger and maintainer for 12V lead-acid and AGM batteries, with a reconditioning function for healthy and underperforming batteries, splash, dust, spark and shock proofing, an IP65 rating, short-circuit-proof and reverse-polarity-safe design, and patented float/pulse charging for months of unattended maintenance without disconnecting the battery. It weighs 1.3 pounds at 5.91 by 11.02 by 2.36 inches. The spec table lists a 50-hour charge time with no context, and the warranty description reads only as a limited warranty with no term.

Who it's for: car and bike owners who want a fit-and-forget maintainer with the toughest proofing here. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term or lithium support.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Current4.3A
Steps8-step automatic
ProtectionIP65, spark/shock proof
Compatibility12V lead acid, AGM

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 rating and spark, shock and short-circuit proofing stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Charger Solar Score Charge current Battery types Certifications Warranty Amazon
TowerTop 25A Smart Charger 9.7/10 2/10/25A AGM, STD, Gel, Wet, deep-cycle ETL, FCC 18 months View on Amazon
Schumacher SC1281 6A Charger 9.7/10 6A / 100A start AGM, Gel, deep-cycle, lithium FCC, UL 1236 1 year View on Amazon
NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger 9.7/10 2A AGM, Gel, SLA, LiFePO4 Not stated 3 years View on Amazon
NOCO GENIUS2D Onboard Charger 9.7/10 2A AGM, Gel, SLA, VRLA CEC, FCC, UL 3 years View on Amazon
CTEK MXS 5.0 Charger 9.6/10 4.3A Lead acid, AGM IP65 Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a battery charger, safety means the certifications and protection features the listing actually states; a charger that states no certification scores low on that line. Four of the five listings state a warranty term, and four state a certification. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
TowerTop 25A Smart Charger 9.7 33 21 21 8 3
Schumacher SC1281 6A Charger 9.7 33 21 21 8 3
NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger 9.7 30 21 21 7 4
NOCO GENIUS2D Onboard Charger 9.7 29 21 20 8 4
CTEK MXS 5.0 Charger 9.6 30 21 20 8 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best battery charger for agm batteries

Match the current to the battery

A 2A maintainer and a 25A charger do different jobs. The TowerTop pushes up to 25A and claims a 100Ah battery in under 3.5 hours, the Schumacher charges at 6A with a 2A maintain rate, the CTEK runs 4.3A, and both NOCOs are 2A maintainers. Big deep-cycle banks want the higher currents; a motorcycle or mower battery is happy on 2A. See our best 12 volt deep cycle battery for RV guide for the battery side.

Desulfation and repair modes

Four of the five listings promise some form of battery recovery. Both NOCOs use pulse charging to reverse sulfation plus a force mode for dead batteries, the Schumacher has a desulfation mode with a battery analyzer, the TowerTop has separate desulfurization and repair buttons, and the CTEK has a reconditioning function. The table below lines up current, recovery features and warranty.

Charger Current Recovery features Warranty
TowerTop 25A Smart Charger 2/10/25A Desulfurization and repair buttons 18 months
Schumacher SC1281 6A Charger 6A Desulfation mode, battery analyzer 1 year
NOCO GENIUS2 2A Charger 2A Pulse desulfator, force mode 3 years
NOCO GENIUS2D Onboard Charger 2A Pulse desulfator, force mode 3 years
CTEK MXS 5.0 Charger 4.3A Reconditioning function Not stated

Onboard or portable

The GENIUS2D is the only direct-mount pick: it bolts near the battery with a snap-fit bracket for year-round maintenance of a stored vehicle or boat. The other four are portable units with clamps you move between batteries. If one vehicle sits all winter, onboard wins; if the whole fleet needs tending, portable wins. Our LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for RV guide covers the chemistry side.

Check the certifications

The Schumacher states FCC and UL 1236, the GENIUS2D states CEC, FCC and UL, the CTEK states IP65 with spark and shock proofing, and the TowerTop states ETL and FCC. The GENIUS2 states no certification, which costs it on the safety line despite its 3-year warranty.

Read the warranty lines

Both NOCOs state a 3-year warranty, the TowerTop states 18 months, and the Schumacher states 1 year. The CTEK warranty description reads only as a limited warranty with no term, so it scores zero on that line.

Sizing Notes

  • Match charge current to battery size: 2A maintainers for upkeep, up to 25A for faster charging of large batteries.
  • Confirm AGM support: all five list AGM, and the GENIUS2 and Schumacher also list lithium chemistries.
  • Check the dead-battery limits: NOCO force mode works down to zero volts, while the TowerTop cannot repair fully drained batteries, per its listing.
  • Count the warranty: 3 years, 18 months and 1 year are stated, and the CTEK states no term.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which charger here charges fastest?

The TowerTop at up to 25A, claiming a 100Ah battery in under 3.5 hours. Then the Schumacher at 6A, the CTEK at 4.3A, and both NOCOs at 2A.

Which chargers work on 6V batteries?

The NOCO GENIUS2 and the Schumacher SC1281, both with automatic 6V and 12V detection. The GENIUS2D, CTEK and TowerTop are 12V only.

Which listings state safety certifications?

The Schumacher states FCC and UL 1236, the GENIUS2D states CEC, FCC and UL, the CTEK states IP65, and the TowerTop states ETL and FCC. The GENIUS2 states no certification.

Can these chargers revive a dead battery?

Both NOCOs have a force mode that charges from 1 volt down to zero, and the Schumacher has boost and restore modes. The TowerTop repair mode cannot fix completely drained batteries, per its listing.

Which listing states the longest warranty?

Both NOCOs at 3 years, then the TowerTop at 18 months and the Schumacher at 1 year. The CTEK states no warranty term.

TowerTop 25A Smart Charger
Still deciding? Our top pickTowerTop 25A Smart Charger
Check price on Amazon

See every Battery Chargers and Maintainers guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best 12 volt deep cycle battery for RV. Also see our LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for RV. Also see our 12v vs 24v battery charger.

More picks: Battery Tender 3A charger and maintainer, Battery Tender 15A charger and maintainer, solar charger for a dump trailer.