On this page
The dump trailer sat all winter and the battery was flat when the first spring job called, which is exactly why the best solar charger for a dump trailer is a small maintainer that lives on the battery between jobs. We compared five 12V solar chargers the listings describe for dump trailers, from 12W to a 40W two-panel kit, and scored them on stated watts, build, value, safety and warranty terms. The two-panel kit leads on coverage, while charge stages and stated protections decide the rest.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Callsun 40W 2-Panel Kit: two 20W panels with IP68 sealing and a 365-day warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Single Panel SUNER POWER 30W Charger: 30W panel with MPPT and adjustable mount bracket Check price on Amazon
Best Documented SUNER POWER 12W Charger: UL and CE marks plus 8 stated safety protections Check price on Amazon
Best Maintenance Pulse Zuomeng 20W Charger: built-in maintenance pulse with 4 charge stages Check price on Amazon
Best Compact Pick Zuomeng 15W Charger: 15W semi-flexible panel, thinner and easier to store Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Callsun 40W 2-Panel Kit | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | SUNER POWER 30W Charger | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SUNER POWER 12W Charger | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Zuomeng 20W Charger | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Zuomeng 15W Charger | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Callsun 40W 2-Panel Kit
Two 20W panels with smart controllers, 360° mounts and IP68 sealing for trailer batteries.
Pros
- Two 20W panels with two controllers and two mounts
- IP68 weather sealing stated
- 365-day warranty stated
- 6-in-1 protections with 3-stage charging
Cons
- Spec table 24.37V output conflicts with 12V use; trust the title
- 6 pounds for the kit, the heaviest here
- No UL or CE mark stated
- Two panels to mount instead of one
Detailed Review
The listing states two 20W 12V monocrystalline panels, each with a smart controller, a 360° adjustable mount, alligator clip cables and O-rings. It lists 3-stage charging (Bulk, Absorption, Maintenance), 6-in-1 protections against reverse current, over-charge, over-voltage, over-current, short-circuit and over-temperature, IP68 weather sealing, a 14°F to 158°F operating range and a 365-day warranty. The spec table gives 20.23V maximum voltage and 24.37V output voltage against the 12V battery use in the title and bullets, so trust the title and bullets. The maker claims up to a 25-year service life.
Who it's for: dump trailer owners who want two panels and two controllers to cover a trailer and a second battery. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a single-panel kit or a stated UL mark.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 2/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panels | 2 x 20W, 12V |
|---|---|
| Charging | 3-stage, 6-in-1 protections |
| Weather | IP68, 14°F to 158°F |
| Kit | 2 controllers, 2 mounts, clips, O-rings |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP68 weather sealing and 6-in-1 protections (anti-backflow, over-charge, over-voltage, over-current, short-circuit, over-temperature) stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 365-day warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUNER POWER 30W Charger
A 30W 12V panel with a built-in MPPT controller and an adjustable mount bracket.
Pros
- 30W, the largest single panel here
- Adjustable mount bracket included
- A+ grade cells, aluminum frame, tempered glass
- 8 safety protections stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No weight stated
- No UL or CE mark stated
- Single panel; no second controller for another battery
Detailed Review
The listing states a 30W 12V panel with a built-in smart MPPT charge controller, 3-stage charging (Bulk, Absorption, Float), 8 safety protections and an adjustable mount bracket. It lists A+ grade solar cells, an aluminum frame, tempered glass, a plug-and-play SAE harness and alligator clips, with 24 by 13.8 by 0.7 inches. The maker claims up to 99% tracking efficiency and 98% peak conversion efficiency. No weight or warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: dump trailer owners who want the largest single panel here with an adjustable bracket. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term or a two-panel kit.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel | 30W, 12V, MPPT |
|---|---|
| Charging | 3-stage (Bulk, Absorption, Float) |
| Size | 24 x 13.8 x 0.7 in |
| Mount | adjustable bracket, SAE harness |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 8 safety protections stated (over-charge, over-discharge, over-voltage, over-current, over-load, short circuit, reverse polarity, over-temperature) plus weather sealing, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUNER POWER 12W Charger
A 12W 12V panel with MPPT, UL and CE marks and wide 12V battery compatibility.
Pros
- UL and CE marks stated
- Widest battery compatibility, including LiFePO4
- 8 safety protections stated
- 3.3 pounds with suction cups for quick mounting
Cons
- 12W is the lowest output here
- No warranty term is stated
- Part number BC-50W-P does not match the 12W title
- No adjustable mount bracket stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12W 12V panel with Ultra-Smart MPPT, 3-stage charging (Bulk, Absorption, Float) and 8 safety protections, compatible with flooded, gel, AGM, SLA and LiFePO4 12V batteries including dump trailer batteries. It lists Grade A+ cells at up to 21%-30% efficiency, tempered glass, a corrosion-resistant frame, UL and CE marks, 0.6 by 9.4 by 16.5 inches, 3.3 pounds and alligator clips, cigarette lighter and bare wire connectors. The part number BC-50W-P does not match the 12W title figure, so trust the title. The maker claims up to 99% tracking efficiency and 98% peak conversion efficiency.
Who it's for: owners who want UL and CE marks and the widest stated battery compatibility here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 12W or a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel | 12W, 12V, MPPT |
|---|---|
| Charging | 3-stage (Bulk, Absorption, Float) |
| Size | 0.6 x 9.4 x 16.5 in, 3.3 lb |
| Marks | UL, CE |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 8 safety protections stated (over-charge, over-discharge, over-voltage, over-current, over-load, short circuit, reverse polarity, over-temperature); UL and CE marks stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Zuomeng 20W Charger
A 20W semi-flexible panel kit with MPPT and a maintenance pulse for 12V lead-acid batteries.
Pros
- Built-in maintenance pulse against sulfation
- 4 charging stages plus maintenance mode
- 20W semi-flexible panel
- Screws and nuts included for trailer mounting
Cons
- Warranty field shows only "1" with no unit; no term stated
- 12V lead-acid only; no lithium stated
- No IP rating stated
- No protection list beyond the maintenance pulse
Detailed Review
The listing states a 20W semi-flexible monocrystalline panel kit for dump trailers with an intelligent MPPT charge controller, a built-in maintenance pulse, 4 charging stages plus a maintenance mode and an LED indicator. It lists 14.4V maximum voltage, MC4 connectors, screws and nuts for mounting and 0.75 kg. The warranty field shows only "1" with no unit, so no warranty term is stated. It suits 12V lead-acid batteries.
Who it's for: dump trailer owners who want a maintenance pulse to fight sulfation on a parked trailer. Who should skip it: anyone who needs lithium compatibility or a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel | 20W, semi-flexible |
|---|---|
| Charging | 4-stage + maintenance pulse |
| Output | 14.4V max, MC4 |
| Weight | 0.75 kg |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Upgraded water resistance stated; MPPT and maintenance pulse, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Zuomeng 15W Charger
A 15W semi-flexible panel kit with MPPT and a maintenance pulse, the lightest here.
Pros
- Built-in maintenance pulse against sulfation
- 4 charging stages plus maintenance mode
- 0.75 kg, the lightest here
- Upgraded water resistance stated
Cons
- 15W output; lower than the 20W sibling
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table 3 x 4 x 3 in reads like the controller box
- 12V lead-acid only; no lithium stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 15W semi-flexible monocrystalline panel kit with an intelligent MPPT charge controller, a built-in maintenance pulse, 4 charging stages plus a maintenance mode and an LED indicator for 12V lead-acid batteries. It lists upgraded water resistance, MC4 connectors and 0.75 kg. The spec table gives 3 by 4 by 3 inches, which reads like the controller box rather than the panel. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: owners of small trailers who want the lightest kit here at 0.75 kg. Who should skip it: anyone who wants more watts or a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel | 15W, semi-flexible |
|---|---|
| Charging | 4-stage + maintenance pulse |
| Connectors | MC4 |
| Weight | 0.75 kg |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Upgraded water resistance stated; MPPT and maintenance pulse, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
SUNER POWER 20W 12V Solar Panel BatteryCheck on Amazon
Zuomeng 32W Solar Battery ChargerCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Charger | Solar Score | Panel watts | Charge stages | Protections | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Callsun 40W 2-Panel Kit | 9.7/10 | 2 x 20W | 3-stage | 6-in-1, IP68 | 365 days | View on Amazon |
| SUNER POWER 30W Charger | 9.6/10 | 30W | 3-stage | 8 protections | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| SUNER POWER 12W Charger | 9.5/10 | 12W | 3-stage | 8 protections, UL/CE | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Zuomeng 20W Charger | 9.5/10 | 20W | 4-stage + pulse | maintenance pulse | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Zuomeng 15W Charger | 9.5/10 | 15W | 4-stage + pulse | maintenance pulse | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a solar charger, safety means the charge controller’s stated protections and weather sealing: the Callsun states IP68 and 6-in-1 protections, and both SUNER POWER picks state 8 electrical protections. Only the Callsun states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Callsun 40W 2-Panel Kit | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 22 | 9 | 2 |
| SUNER POWER 30W Charger | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 0 |
| SUNER POWER 12W Charger | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 0 |
| Zuomeng 20W Charger | 9.5 | 27 | 19 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
| Zuomeng 15W Charger | 9.5 | 26 | 19 | 20 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar charger for a dump trailer
Match the watts to the battery’s drain
These are maintainers, not fast chargers: they offset the battery’s drain during storage and keep it topped off. The listings here state 12W, 15W, 20W, 30W and a 2 x 20W kit, so a bigger trailer battery suits the higher-wattage end. The Callsun’s two panels and two controllers can cover a trailer battery plus a second battery, while a single 12W or 15W panel suits one battery on a small trailer.
Read the charge stages
The SUNER POWER picks and the Callsun describe 3-stage charging: Bulk, Absorption, then Float or Maintenance. Both Zuomeng picks describe 4 charging stages plus a maintenance mode, with a built-in maintenance pulse the listing says fights sulfation as the battery nears full charge. Either way, the controller should stop pushing current when the battery is full and resume as it discharges.
| Charger | Panel watts | Charge stages |
|---|---|---|
| Callsun 40W 2-Panel Kit | 2 x 20W | 3-stage |
| SUNER POWER 30W Charger | 30W | 3-stage |
| SUNER POWER 12W Charger | 12W | 3-stage |
| Zuomeng 20W Charger | 20W | 4-stage + maintenance pulse |
| Zuomeng 15W Charger | 15W | 4-stage + maintenance pulse |
Check protections and weather sealing
Both SUNER POWER listings state 8 protections: over-charge, over-discharge, over-voltage, over-current, over-load, short circuit, reverse polarity and over-temperature, plus weather sealing. The Callsun states 6-in-1 protections and IP68 weather sealing with a 14°F to 158°F operating range. The Zuomeng picks state upgraded water resistance and a maintenance pulse but no protection list. See our best portable solar panel with charge controller guide for larger panel-and-controller pairings, and our charge controller guides for standalone controllers.
Mount it where the sun lands
The 12W SUNER POWER includes suction cups for quick mounting, the 30W includes an adjustable mount bracket, the Callsun includes two 360° adjustable mounts, and the Zuomeng picks include screws and nuts for a fixed mount. Pick the mount that fits the trailer: suction cups for a temporary setup on a parked trailer, screws or a bracket for a panel that stays put through the season.
Sizing Notes
- Match the charger’s 12V output to your trailer’s 12V battery; the SUNER POWER 12W also lists LiFePO4, the Zuomeng picks are 12V lead-acid only.
- Size panel watts to the battery: 12W to 40W stated here, with the two-panel kit for bigger banks or a second battery.
- Check the controller’s battery settings against your battery chemistry as the listing states it: flooded, gel, AGM, SLA or LiFePO4.
- Mount with the hardware the listing includes: suction cups, adjustable brackets or screws and nuts.
- Use the connectors the listing states: alligator clips, SAE harness, MC4 or O-rings, and keep the cable run short.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many watts do I need to maintain a dump trailer battery?
The listings here state 12W to 40W, and describe these as maintainers that prevent battery drain during storage rather than fast chargers. A larger trailer battery suits the higher-wattage end of that range.
What do the charge stages do?
The listings describe Bulk, Absorption and Float or Maintenance stages that fill the battery and then hold it, plus a maintenance pulse on the Zuomeng picks that the listing says fights sulfation near full charge.
Which charger here states the best weather sealing?
The Callsun, with IP68 weather sealing and a 14°F to 158°F operating range stated. The SUNER POWER picks state weather sealing without an IP rating, and the Zuomeng picks state upgraded water resistance.
Can these charge a LiFePO4 battery?
The SUNER POWER listings state LiFePO4 among the supported 12V chemistries, and the Callsun lists LiFePO4, Li-ion, AGM, SLA, GEL, FLD, EFB and MF. The Zuomeng picks state 12V lead-acid batteries only.
Which listings state a warranty?
The Callsun states a 365-day warranty. The other four listings state no warranty term; the Zuomeng 20W warranty field shows only “1” with no unit.
Related guides
See every Solar Chargers and Power Banks guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best portable power station with solar panels for camping. Also see our best portable solar panel with charge controller. Also see our best solar panel kit for RV. Also see our best solar charger for backcountry. Also see our best solar charger for backpacking. Also see our best solar panel for campervan. Also see our best solar charger for electric fence. Also see our best solar charger for goats. Also see our best solar charger for ultralight backpacking. Also see our best solar power bank for backpacking. Also see our best solar power bank for multiple devices. Also see our best solar power bank for travel. Also see our best solar power bank for trekking. Also see our best solar power bank with crank. Also see our best solar power bank for camping. Also see our best solar garden lights for winter. Also see our best solar lantern for backpacking. Also see our best solar lantern for hurricane season. Also see our best 12v refrigerator for road trip. Also see our best 20 amp lithium battery charger. Also see our best solar power bank for laptop. Also see our best solar power bank for road trip. Also see our best solar charger for hikers. Also see our best solar power bank under 50. Also see our best solar charger for dump trailer under 70. Also see our best rv power converter charger under 150. Also see our solar charger vs wall charger. Also see our 20000mah vs 24000mah solar power bank. Also see our best solar power bank for earthquake kit. Also see our solar flood lights vs spotlights. Also see our best portable power charger under 50. Also see our smallest solar panel with highest wattage. Also see our solar charger adapters.
More picks: SUNER POWER 20W 12V Solar Charger (B07Y5TKMZ4) and Zuomeng 32W Solar Battery Charger (B0FZBFC4Q5).




