On this page
The charger hums along long after the battery is full, and you keep wondering whether to unplug it before bed. The best battery charger with timer takes that decision away: it charges on a schedule or shuts itself off when done. We compared what each listing states about timers, automatic shut-off and float modes, charge rates, supported voltages, listed protections and warranty terms.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall IOTBIG 20W MPPT Solar Charger: 20W MPPT with 8 protections and a 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Plug-In Charger Clore PL2310 Smart Charger: 2/6/10A rates for 6V and 12V with UL listed Check price on Amazon
Best Flexible Panel POWOXI 30W MPPT Solar Charger: 30W ETFE panel with a lithium mode button Check price on Amazon
Best With USB Output POWOXI 20W Solar Maintainer: 20W panel plus an SAE to 5V USB cable Check price on Amazon
Best Compact Marsrut 5W Solar Charger: 5W panel with IP65, IEC and UL stated Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | IOTBIG 20W MPPT Solar Charger | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Clore PL2310 Smart Charger | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | POWOXI 30W MPPT Solar Charger | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | POWOXI 20W Solar Maintainer | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Marsrut 5W Solar Charger | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 6 | ECOBOSS 10W Solar Maintainer | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

IOTBIG 20W MPPT Solar Charger
A 20-watt 12V solar charger and maintainer with an MPPT controller and an adjustable mount bracket.
Pros
- 20 watt panel with MPPT controller stated
- Eight protections listed, including reverse polarity and short circuit
- 3-year warranty stated
- Mount bracket and 10ft SAE cable included
Cons
- Maker claim of 20-30% more current than PWM is marketing wording
- Spec table gives no wattage or amperage
- No timer feature is stated, only float maintenance
- IP68 rating comes from the maker's own wording
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 20W smart MPPT solar charger and maintainer with eight protections: overcharge, over-discharge, reverse polarity, overcurrent, overvoltage, reverse current, short circuit and overheating. It lists LiFePO4, Gel, SLA, Wet and Calcium batteries and says the unit switches to float maintenance once the battery is full. The spec table lists 2.5 pounds and a 3 year manufacturer warranty but gives no wattage, so trust the title and bullets for the 20 watt figure.
Who it's for: owners who want a solar maintainer with a stated 3-year warranty and an adjustable mount for a parked vehicle or boat. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated timer feature; this listing states none.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel power | 20W |
|---|---|
| Output voltage | 12V DC |
| Weight | 2.5 pounds |
| Warranty | 3 years stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP68 rating and eight listed protections stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 3-year hassle-free warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Clore PL2310 Smart Charger
A 10-amp fully automatic smart charger for 6V and 12V batteries with multi-phase charging and temperature compensation.
Pros
- 2/6/10 amp charge rates stated
- Temperature compensation stated
- Fully automatic multi-phase charging
- Stable power supply mode stated
Cons
- Spec table says 1 amp against 2/6/10 amp bullets
- No timer feature is stated
- 3.9 pounds, heavier than the solar kits here
- Input voltage listed as 12 volts in the spec table
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10-amp fully automatic smart charger for 6V and 12V batteries with 2, 6 and 10 amp charge rates, an advanced multi-phase charging process, temperature compensation and a stable power supply mode. The spec table says 1 amp for charge rates against the 2/6/10 amp bullets; trust the title and bullets. The spec table lists UL under specification met and a 1-year warranty is stated.
Who it's for: owners who want an automatic multi-rate charger for 6V and 12V batteries. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated timer feature; this listing states none.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charge rates | 2/6/10A (bullets) |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 6V/12V |
| Amperage | 10A stated |
| Warranty | 1 year stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL specification met and temperature compensation stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

POWOXI 30W MPPT Solar Charger
A 30-watt flexible ETFE solar panel kit with a built-in MPPT controller and a battery type mode button.
Pros
- 30 watt flexible ETFE panel with built-in MPPT controller
- Mode button for 12V AGM, GEL, LiFePO4 and lithium
- Eight protections listed, including over-temperature
- Four-step battery indicator in 25%, 50%, 75% and 100% steps
Cons
- Efficiency claim of 36% carries an unexplained asterisk
- Warranty is described as 12-month after-sales service
- No timer feature is stated
- Spec table lists only 1.67 A of amperage capacity
Detailed Review
The listing states a 30W 12V flexible ETFE panel with an independent IP67 MPPT controller, a three-stage Bulk, Absorption and Float process, and a mode button for 12V AGM, GEL, LiFePO4 and lithium. The spec table lists 18 volts maximum voltage, 14.4 volts output, 1.67 A and 450 g. The bullets mention both a 12-Month After-Sales Service and free lifetime technical support, and the 36% efficiency claim carries an unexplained asterisk, so read both as maker claims.
Who it's for: owners who want a flexible panel and a selectable lithium mode on one 12V battery. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated timer feature or a full warranty term; this listing states neither.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel power | 30W |
|---|---|
| Output voltage | 14.4V |
| Weight | 450 g |
| Service | 12-month after-sales |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 controller, CE/ROHS and eight listed protections stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 12-Month After-Sales Service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

POWOXI 20W Solar Maintainer
A 20-watt 12V solar charger and maintainer kit with a PWM controller and an SAE to 5V USB cable.
Pros
- 20 watt monocrystalline panel
- SAE to 5V USB cable stated
- Five protections listed
- LED indicators in 25%, 50%, 75% and 100% steps
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists 18 volts output while the bullets discuss 12 volt batteries
- Claim of 20%-30% more power than traditional models has no stated basis
- No timer feature is stated; the controller shuts down at night
Detailed Review
The listing states a 20-watt monocrystalline panel kit with an external 3-stage PWM controller, a mounting bracket and an SAE to 5V USB cable. It lists overcharge, over-discharge, short circuit, overload and reverse polarity protection, and says the controller shuts down at night and restarts in the day. The spec table lists 18 volts output while the bullets describe a 12-volt battery, so treat the 18 volts as the panel figure. No warranty term and no certification are stated.
Who it's for: owners who want a small panel for a 12V battery plus USB phone charging. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated timer feature, a certification or a warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel power | 20W |
|---|---|
| Output voltage | 18V (spec table) |
| USB cable | SAE to 5V |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Overcharge, over-discharge, short circuit, overload and reverse polarity protections stated; no certification stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Marsrut 5W Solar Charger
A 5-watt 12V portable solar trickle charger kit with a USB connector and suction cups.
Pros
- IP65 rating stated
- IEC and UL listed under specification met
- Suction cups and USB connector included
- Output current stated as 270 to 410mA
Cons
- Only 5 watts
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists a USB connector type while the bullets describe 12V batteries
- No timer feature is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 5W solar panel with an operating voltage of 18V, an open circuit of 21.6V and 12V on-load output, with an output current of 270 to 410mA. It lists built-in protection against overcharging and reverse discharge. The spec table lists 0.27 A and a USB connector type, which sits oddly beside the 12V battery use in the title, so trust the title and bullets.
Who it's for: owners who want a small maintainer for a car, boat or motorcycle battery. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more than 5 watts, a stated timer feature or a warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel power | 5W |
|---|---|
| Operating voltage | 18V |
| Rating | IP65 |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IEC and UL under specification met, IP65 rating and overcharge and reverse discharge protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ECOBOSS 10W Solar Maintainer
A 10-watt 12V solar trickle charger and maintainer with tri-color indicator lights and plug-in cables.
Pros
- 10 watt monocrystalline panel
- Tri-color LED shows power, charging and full states
- Cigarette lighter and alligator clip cables included
- Blocking diode and five protections listed
Cons
- No certification is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- The 3-minute installation claim is the maker's own wording
- No timer feature is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10W monocrystalline trickle charger with a built-in blocking diode and protection against overcharging, reverse current, short circuit, overload and overheating. A three-color indicator shows solar power detected, charging and fully charged. It lists AGM, GEL, SLA, flooded and LiFePO4 batteries and includes a DC to alligator clip cable, a DC to cigarette lighter cable and four suction cups. The listing calls it sealed but states no IP rating, certification or warranty term.
Who it's for: owners who want a simple plug-in solar maintainer for a car or trailer battery. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated timer feature, a certification or a warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 18/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 65 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel power | 10W |
|---|---|
| Output voltage | 12V |
| Weight | 14.08 ounces |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Blocking diode and overcharge, reverse current, short circuit, overload and overheating protections stated; no certification stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Charger | Solar Score | Timer Feature | Output | Certification | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IOTBIG 20W MPPT Solar Charger | 9.7/10 | Not stated | 20W, 12V | IP68, 8 protections | 3 years | View on Amazon |
| Clore PL2310 Smart Charger | 9.6/10 | Not stated | 2/6/10A, 6V/12V | UL | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| POWOXI 30W MPPT Solar Charger | 9.6/10 | Not stated | 30W, 12V | IP67, CE/ROHS | 12-month service | View on Amazon |
| POWOXI 20W Solar Maintainer | 9.5/10 | Not stated | 20W, 12V | None stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Marsrut 5W Solar Charger | 9.4/10 | Not stated | 5W, 12V | IP65, IEC, UL | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| ECOBOSS 10W Solar Maintainer | 9.4/10 | Not stated | 10W, 12V | None stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a charger, safety means the certifications and protections the listing actually states: UL, IEC, CE and IP marks, plus listed overcharge and reverse polarity protections. A listing that states none scores zero on that line. Only the IOTBIG, Clore and POWOXI 30W listings state a warranty term or service period; the others score zero there. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IOTBIG 20W MPPT Solar Charger | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 4 |
| Clore PL2310 Smart Charger | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| POWOXI 30W MPPT Solar Charger | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| POWOXI 20W Solar Maintainer | 9.5 | 26 | 19 | 20 | 6 | 0 |
| Marsrut 5W Solar Charger | 9.4 | 23 | 19 | 19 | 7 | 0 |
| ECOBOSS 10W Solar Maintainer | 9.4 | 23 | 18 | 19 | 5 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best battery charger with timer
The timer is the feature
None of the listings here states a built-in timer. What they state instead is automatic behavior: the Clore PL2310 is described as fully automatic with a multi-phase charging process, the IOTBIG switches to float maintenance once the battery is full, and the POWOXI 30W stops charging when the battery is full and resumes when needed. That is automatic management, not a schedule you set. If a timer is the point, look for a stated shut-off timer or a stated on/off cycle range in the listing, and confirm whether it is built into the charger or a separate device. For the full category, see our battery charger timer guides.
Plug-in or solar
The Clore PL2310 is a wall-plug charger with battery clamps, a ring terminal and a 12V adapter among its output connectors. The IOTBIG, both POWOXI kits, the Marsrut and the ECOBOSS are solar trickle chargers and maintainers that top up a 12V battery from a small panel. A plug-in unit suits a battery you can bring to an outlet. A solar maintainer suits a vehicle, boat or trailer parked outdoors, where the listing states a panel size such as 20 watts, 30 watts or 5 watts.
Match voltage and chemistry
The Clore states 6V and 12V charging. The solar kits state 12V batteries. The POWOXI 30W lists a mode button for 12V AGM, GEL, LiFePO4 and lithium, and the IOTBIG and ECOBOSS name LiFePO4 among compatible batteries. The Clore listing does not state lithium support, so do not assume it. Our 12V LiFePO4 battery guides cover the battery side of lithium setups.
Watch the spec tables
The Clore bullets state 2, 6 and 10 amp charge rates while its spec table says 1 amp; trust the title and bullets over the spec table. The spec table also lists the input voltage as 12 volts, which reads as a data entry slip next to the wall-plug format the product clearly is. The POWOXI 30W listing mixes a 12-month after-sales service with a free lifetime technical support line, and attaches an unexplained asterisk to its efficiency claim. When a listing contradicts itself, the title and bullets carry more weight, and the contradiction costs the listing points.
Read the warranty and protection lines closely
The IOTBIG states a 3-year warranty and eight protections. The Clore states a 1-year warranty term and lists UL under specification met. The Marsrut lists IEC and UL plus an IP65 rating, while the POWOXI 20W and ECOBOSS list protections but no certification. Our LiFePO4 battery charger for truck guides compare more charging options.
Sizing Notes
- Match voltage to the battery: 6V and 12V charging stated for the Clore PL2310, 12V for the solar kits.
- Check charge rates against battery size: 2, 6 and 10 amps per the Clore bullets (the spec table says 1 amp; trust the bullets).
- Match panel watts to the job: 30 watts, 20 watts, 10 watts or 5 watts as each listing states.
- Confirm the warranty: 3 years for the IOTBIG, 1 year for the Clore, 12-month after-sales service for the POWOXI 30W.
- Note what is missing: no timer feature is stated by any pick, so these suit automatic or float charging rather than scheduled charging.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does any of these chargers have a timer?
No timer feature is stated in any of the listings. They describe automatic charging, float maintenance or automatic shut-off at night instead.
Can you charge a lithium battery with a standard charger?
Check the listing first. The POWOXI 30W states a mode button for LiFePO4 and lithium, and the IOTBIG and ECOBOSS name LiFePO4 among compatible batteries. The Clore listing does not state lithium support.
What voltages do they charge?
The Clore states 6V and 12V batteries with 2, 6 and 10 amp charge rates per the bullets. The solar kits state 12V batteries.
What is the contradiction in the Clore listing?
The bullets state 2, 6 and 10 amp charge rates while the spec table says 1 amp. The title and bullets take precedence over the spec table.
Can any of them jump start a car?
No engine-start output is stated in any of these listings, so do not buy them for starting duty.
Related guides
See every Battery Chargers and Maintainers guide and all Batteries and Charging guides.
More picks: 12V LiFePO4 battery, LiFePO4 battery charger for truck, deep cycle battery for ham radio.





