On this page
The best deep cycle battery for ham radio use is the one that matches your station’s voltage and runs it through long sessions without sagging, and the ten batteries here cover 10Ah to 100Ah in AGM and LiFePO4 chemistries. We compared what each listing publishes: capacity, chemistry, cycle life, stated protections and warranty terms. The Mighty Max ML35-12 leads on documentation with a UL mark and a 1 year warranty, and the LiFePO4 picks trade higher cycle counts for a higher cell cost.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Mighty Max ML35-12 35Ah: 35Ah deep cycle SLA with UL mark and 1 year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best 2-Pack AGM Mighty Max ML18-12 2-Pack: two 18Ah AGM batteries with UL mark Check price on Amazon
Best LiFePO4 HWE Energy 12V 25Ah LiFePO4: 25Ah LiFePO4 with 20A BMS and 5000+ cycles Check price on Amazon
Compact LiFePO4 ECO-WORTHY 12V 20Ah LiFePO4: 20Ah LiFePO4 with BMS for small stations Check price on Amazon
High Capacity 2-Pack Daakmax 12V 35Ah AGM 2-Pack: two 35Ah AGM batteries Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mighty Max ML35-12 35Ah | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Mighty Max ML18-12 2-Pack | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | HWE Energy 12V 25Ah | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | ECO-WORTHY 12V 20Ah | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Daakmax 12V 35Ah 2-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Mighty Max ML35-12 35Ah
A 12V 35Ah SLA/AGM deep cycle battery with UL certification and a 1 year warranty.
Pros
- 35Ah deep cycle SLA/AGM capacity
- UL Certified stated
- Spill proof, mounts in any position
- Resists shock and vibration
Cons
- Spec table lists 16 ounces against 24 pounds for the same battery
- No wire harness or mounting accessories are included
- No cycle life figure is stated
- 35A amperage figure with no discharge rate stated
Detailed Review
The listing describes the Mighty Max ML35-12, a 12V 35Ah sealed lead acid, AGM deep cycle battery that is maintenance free and UL Certified. It measures 7.76 by 5.12 by 7.01 inches, lists 24 pounds, and describes spill-proof construction that mounts in any position with shock and vibration resistance and deep discharge recovery. The spec table lists both 24 pounds and 16 ounces for the weight; trust 24 pounds for a 35Ah battery. The listing covers battery and screws only, with no wire harness or mounting accessories, and a full 1 year warranty is stated.
Who it's for: station builders who want a documented 35Ah AGM with a UL mark and a 1 year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated cycle life figure or included wiring.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 35Ah, 12V |
|---|---|
| Chemistry | SLA/AGM |
| Size | 7.76 x 5.12 x 7.01 in |
| Weight | 24 pounds |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL Certified stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturers Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mighty Max ML18-12 2-Pack
A 2-pack of 12V 18Ah SLA/AGM deep cycle batteries with UL certification and a 1 year warranty.
Pros
- Two 18Ah batteries in one pack
- UL Certified stated
- Spill proof, mounts in any position
- Nut and bolt terminals
Cons
- Spec table lists 24 pounds and 11.9 pounds without per-battery clarity
- No wire harness or mounting accessories are included
- No cycle life figure is stated
- 18Ah per battery suits smaller stations
Detailed Review
The listing describes the Mighty Max ML18-12 as a 2-pack of 12V 18Ah sealed lead acid, AGM deep cycle batteries, maintenance free and UL Certified. Each measures 7.12 by 3 by 6.5 inches with nut and bolt terminals, and the listing describes spill-proof construction that mounts in any position with shock and vibration resistance. The spec table lists both 24 pounds and 11.9 pounds without saying per battery or per pair. The listing covers batteries and screws only with no harness, and a full 1 year warranty is stated.
Who it's for: builders who want two matched 18Ah batteries for separate stations or a split bank. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated cycle life or a single larger battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 18Ah x2, 12V |
|---|---|
| Chemistry | SLA/AGM |
| Size | 7.12 x 3 x 6.5 in |
| Terminals | Nut and bolt |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL Certified stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturers Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

HWE Energy 12V 25Ah
An HWE Energy 12V 25Ah LiFePO4 battery with a 20A BMS, 5000+ cycles and a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- 5000+ deep cycles with 10-year lifespan stated
- LCD meter showing voltage and SOC stated
- Series to 24V 25Ah and parallel to 100Ah stated
- 2-year warranty stated
Cons
- 4.8 pounds in bullets vs 4.9 pounds in spec table
- Not a starter battery, per listing
- Needs a lithium charger below 20%
- 20A BMS is the smallest stated here
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 25Ah LiFePO4 battery with a 20A BMS, 5000+ deep cycles, an LCD meter showing voltage and SOC, 4.8 pounds in the bullets and 4.9 pounds in the spec table, 7.12 by 3.03 by 6.65 inches, M5 screw terminals, operating voltage 10V-15V with 20A max output and a 2-year warranty. It supports series connection of 2pcs for a 24V 25Ah system and parallel for 12V 50Ah, 75Ah or 100Ah systems. The listing notes it is not a starter battery.
Who it's for: small 12V systems that need a display and a 2-year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a starter battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 4/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 12V 25Ah |
|---|---|
| BMS | 20A |
| Cycle life | 5000+ cycles |
| Display | LCD voltage and SOC |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 20A BMS with four protections stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ECO-WORTHY 12V 20Ah
A 12V 20Ah LiFePO4 battery with a built-in BMS, the lightest listing in this group.
Pros
- Lightest listing here at 4.85 pounds per the bullets
- Built-in BMS with overcharge, over-discharge and short-circuit protection stated
- Supports up to 4 in series or in parallel, up to 4P2S or 2P4S
- 3-year warranty term stated
Cons
- Bullets state 4.85 pounds while the spec table states 5.7 pounds
- Title claims 4000+ cycles while the bullets describe more than 3000
- 20Ah is the second smallest capacity here
- No low-temperature figures are stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 20Ah LiFePO4 battery with a built-in BMS, a 3-year warranty, and ham radio in the title. The bullets state 4.85 pounds against 5.7 pounds in the spec table, and the title claims 4000+ cycles while the bullets describe more than 3000 cycles; trust the bullets for the weight. It supports up to 4 identical batteries in series or in parallel, in configurations up to 4P2S or 2P4S.
Who it's for: portable setups where every pound matters, since the bullets make this the lightest listing here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 30Ah or more in a single battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 20Ah, 12.8V |
|---|---|
| BMS | Built-in, cell balancing |
| Weight | 4.85 lb |
| Expansion | Up to 4 series or parallel |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Built-in BMS with overcharge, over-discharge and short-circuit protection and cell balancing stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 3-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Daakmax 12V 35Ah 2-Pack
Two 12V 35Ah sealed AGM batteries with ABS casing for light backup and off-grid loads.
Pros
- Two batteries in the pack
- Sealed AGM with vibration-resistant ABS casing
- Zinc-plated M6 bolts included
- 1-year warranty with dedicated support stated
Cons
- 35Ah per battery is the lowest capacity here
- No dimensions or weight stated
- Pack of two means wiring two batteries
- 1-year warranty is the shortest here
Detailed Review
The listing states a pack of two 12V 35Ah AGM sealed lead-acid batteries with heavy-duty ABS casing, zinc-plated M6 bolts and a 1-year warranty. It lists maintenance-free operation, vibration resistance and low self-discharge for storage, plus a dedicated support team.
Who it's for: RV owners who want two small AGM batteries for light backup loads. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a single large house battery or more than 35Ah per battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 2/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 2 x 35Ah, 12V |
|---|---|
| Type | sealed AGM, ABS casing |
| Terminals | zinc-plated M6 bolts |
| Use | RV, UPS backup, marine, camping |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Sealed AGM with leak-proof, vibration-resistant ABS casing stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
UPLUS 12V 79Ah Dual Purpose AGM79Ah dual purpose AGM with 550CCA and 2 year warrantyCheck on Amazon
LKWPOW 12V 10Ah LiFePO410Ah LiFePO4 with 10A BMS and 2000+ cycle lifeCheck on Amazon
UPLUS 12V 100Ah Leisure Battery100Ah AGM leisure battery with 2 year warrantyCheck on Amazon
CHITOLI 12V 100Ah LiFePO4100Ah LiFePO4 with 100A BMS and 5 year warrantyCheck on Amazon
Mighty Max 12V 90Ah Marine90Ah dual purpose marine battery with 550CCACheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Battery | Solar Score | Capacity | Chemistry | Warranty | Weight | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mighty Max ML35-12 35Ah | 9.6/10 | 35Ah | SLA/AGM | 1 year | 24 pounds | View on Amazon |
| Mighty Max ML18-12 2-Pack | 9.6/10 | 18Ah x2 | SLA/AGM | 1 year | 11.9 pounds | View on Amazon |
| HWE Energy 12V 25Ah LiFePO4 | 9.6/10 | 25Ah | LiFePO4 | Not stated | Not stated | |
| ECO-WORTHY 12V 20Ah LiFePO4 | 9.6/10 | 20Ah | LiFePO4 | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Daakmax 12V 35Ah AGM 2-Pack | 9.5/10 | 35Ah x2 | AGM | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For batteries, safety reflects stated certifications, BMS protection and spill-proof construction; both Mighty Max listings state UL certification, the LiFePO4 listings state a BMS, and the reused listings state neither. Two of the five ranked batteries state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mighty Max ML35-12 35Ah | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 20 | 5 | 3 |
| Mighty Max ML18-12 2-Pack | 9.6 | 26 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best deep cycle battery for ham radio use
Capacity first, chemistry second
Capacity in amp-hours sets how long the station runs. The ranked picks give 35Ah (Mighty Max ML35-12), 18Ah per battery in a 2-pack (ML18-12), 25Ah (HWE Energy LiFePO4), 20Ah (ECO-WORTHY LiFePO4) and 35Ah per battery in a 2-pack (Daakmax AGM). Among the more picks, the UPLUS leisure battery and CHITOLI give 100Ah, the UPLUS dual purpose gives 79Ah, the Mighty Max marine gives 90Ah, and the LKWPOW gives 10Ah. AGM is the proven low-cost choice; LiFePO4 costs more per amp-hour but the HWE lists 5000+ cycles and the LKWPOW lists 2000+ cycles, 4 to 5 times longer than traditional lead-acid per its listing. For the chemistry tradeoff in detail, see our LiFePO4 vs AGM battery for RV guide.
| Battery | Capacity | Cycle life stated |
|---|---|---|
| Mighty Max ML35-12 | 35Ah | Not stated |
| Mighty Max ML18-12 2-pack | 18Ah each | Not stated |
| HWE Energy 25Ah | 25Ah | 5000+ cycles |
| ECO-WORTHY 20Ah | 20Ah | Not stated |
| Daakmax 35Ah 2-pack | 35Ah each | Not stated |
Build details that matter on the bench
Both Mighty Max listings describe spill-proof SLA/AGM construction that mounts in any position and resists shock and vibration, with a UL mark stated. The ML35-12 measures 7.76 by 5.12 by 7.01 inches at 24 pounds, though the spec table also lists 16 ounces, which does not fit a 35Ah battery, so trust the 24 pound figure. The ML18-12 2-pack measures 7.12 by 3 by 6.5 inches at 11.9 pounds per battery with nut and bolt terminals, while its spec table lists 24 pounds without saying per battery or per pair. The HWE LiFePO4 adds an LCD meter and a 20A BMS. For a 24V station build, our 24V LiFePO4 battery picks cover the next step.
Dual-purpose and marine options
The more picks include dual-purpose batteries for stations that share a battery with a vehicle or boat. The UPLUS 79Ah dual purpose AGM lists 550CCA and a 2 year warranty, and the Mighty Max 90Ah marine lists 550CCA and 700CA with a 1 year warranty. Note the CHITOLI 100Ah LiFePO4 listing says it is suitable for energy storage rather than start-up, so match the battery’s stated purpose to yours. The CHITOLI lists 22.57 pounds, 35% smaller and 60% lighter than ordinary lead-acid per its listing, with a 5 year manufacturer warranty. For housing any of these, see our battery box guide.
Sizing Notes
- All five ranked picks are 12V; match the battery voltage to your station and charger.
- Size amp-hours to your station’s draw and session length; the listings here span 10Ah to 100Ah.
- Check the terminals: the ML18-12 lists nut and bolt terminals, and no harness is included.
- Read the weight for portable ops: 24 pounds for the ML35-12 against 22.57 pounds for the 100Ah CHITOLI.
- Read the warranty line: 1 year on the Mighty Max pair, up to 5 years on the CHITOLI more pick.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is LiFePO4 or AGM better for ham radio?
LiFePO4 lasts longer per the listings: the HWE states 5000+ cycles and the LKWPOW states 2000+ cycles, 4 to 5 times lead-acid. AGM costs less per amp-hour and both Mighty Max AGM listings state UL certification.
Can I use a marine dual-purpose battery for a station?
The UPLUS 79Ah dual purpose AGM and Mighty Max 90Ah marine are built for both starting and deep cycling. The CHITOLI 100Ah LiFePO4 states it suits energy storage rather than start-up, so check the stated purpose.
Do these batteries come with a warranty?
The Mighty Max pair states 1 year, the UPLUS more picks state 2 years, and the CHITOLI states 5 years. The reused listings state no term.
What does the spec table weight mismatch mean?
The ML35-12 spec table lists both 24 pounds and 16 ounces; trust 24 pounds for a 35Ah battery. The ML18-12 table lists 24 pounds and 11.9 pounds without saying per battery or per pair.
Related guides
See every Deep Cycle and RV Batteries guide and all Batteries and Charging guides.
More picks: LiFePO4 vs AGM batteries, 24V LiFePO4 batteries and battery boxes.




