On this page
The best battery disconnect switch for rv owners who park their rig between trips is the one that finally stops the slow drain on the house battery. Clock, alarm and radio memory circuits keep drawing power while the RV sits, and a disconnect switch gives you a single point to cut that draw during storage and maintenance. We compared the switches on stated current figures, voltage range, weather codes, included hardware and warranty terms, scoring each with the Solar Score weights. The MOTOFLEX side-post switch and the SUNMORN kit tie at the top of the scoring, and the GOGONFLY bundle suits buyers who want timed amp figures.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall MOTOFLEX Side Post Switch: 1-1/2 inch height suits GM side posts; knob removes for security Check price on Amazon
Best Complete Kit SUNMORN Rotary Switch Kit: two 20-inch 6AWG cables and a 1-year warranty in the box Check price on Amazon
Best Rated Bundle GOGONFLY Rotary Switch GG-02: bolts, ring terminals, heat shrink and hex wrench included Check price on Amazon
Best Key Lock Jtron Key Switch: 2 removable keys; 100A rated with 200A withstanding at 12V Check price on Amazon
Best Timed Figures UCkasayfy Rotary Switch BS006: 200A for an hour, 455A for 5 min, 1250A for 10 sec stated Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MOTOFLEX Side Post Switch | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | SUNMORN Rotary Switch Kit | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | GOGONFLY Rotary Switch GG-02 | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Jtron Key Switch | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | UCkasayfy Rotary Switch BS006 | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |

MOTOFLEX Side Post Switch
Side-post switch with 300A continuous and 900A cranking figures, a 1-1/2 inch height for tight engine bays and a removable knob.
Pros
- 300A continuous and 900A cranking figures, 48V DC max stated
- 1-1/2 inch height fits tight GM side-post installs
- PA66 housing with -40°F to 284°F stated range
- Knob removes to prevent unauthorized switching
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table height of 1.57 inches differs slightly from the 1-1/2 inches in the bullets; trust the bullets
- Memory electronics like radios lose their settings each time it is switched off
- No certification mark is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V-48V side-post switch with 300A continuous and 900A cranking figures, 48V DC max, tin-plated copper terminals, a 1-1/2 inch height for tight installs and a removable red knob. It recommends installing on the negative side of the battery and notes that memory electronics like radios lose their settings every time it is switched off. The spec table's 1.57 inch height differs slightly from the bullets' 1-1/2 inches; trust the bullets. No certification mark is stated.
Who it's for: GM side-post owners and tight engine bays where height matters. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated certification or warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Switch type | ON/Off rotary, side post |
|---|---|
| Amps | 300A continuous, 900A cranking |
| Voltage | 12V-48V, 48V DC max |
| Height | 1-1/2 in, PA66 housing |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP66 stated with PA66 housing and -40°F to 284°F range, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUNMORN Rotary Switch Kit
Rotary switch kit with two 20-inch 6AWG cables, IP66 stated, a red/green indicator and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- Two 20-inch 6AWG tinned copper cables included, pre-crimped
- IP66 stated with an O-ring sealed rotary design
- 1-year warranty stated against manufacturing defects
- Red/green indicator shows on/off without drawing power
Cons
- No current figure is stated for the switch itself
- Bullets explicitly state it is not UL or CE certified
- Fits standard SAE posts only, not oversized marine terminals
- Installs inline on the positive cable only, per the safety guide
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V, 24V and 48V rotary switch with an IP66 code, an O-ring sealed design rated from -40°F to 221°F, a red/green on/off indicator and two 20-inch 6AWG tinned copper cables with pre-crimped lugs. It backs the switch with a 1-year warranty against manufacturing defects. The bullets explicitly state the switch is not UL or CE certified, so ignore certification tokens that appear elsewhere on the page. No current figure is stated for the switch itself.
Who it's for: DIY installers who want cables in the box and a stated warranty. Who should skip it: buyers who need a stated current figure before choosing.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Switch type | ON-OFF rotary, 2 position |
|---|---|
| Amps | Not stated |
| Voltage | 12V, 24V, 48V |
| Weather | IP66, -40°F to 221°F |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP66 stated; the listing states no UL or CE certification, so safety scores 5 of 10. Backed by a 1-year warranty against manufacturing defects. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GOGONFLY Rotary Switch GG-02
Rotary switch with timed 275A, 455A and 1250A figures, CE and IP54 stated, plus mounting hardware in the box.
Pros
- Timed figures stated: 275A for 1 hour, 455A for 5 min, 1250A for 10 sec
- CE and IP54 stated
- Full mounting kit: 4 bolts, 4 ring terminals, 4 heat shrink tubings, hex wrench
- Fully enclosed ABS and copper tin plating design
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists app control and X-10 protocol, which do not fit a rotary switch; trust the bullets
- 2.67 x 2.67 x 2.8 inch body is taller than the MOTOFLEX pick
- Manual operation only, no key lock is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 275A DC continuous for 1 hour, 455A DC intermittent for 5 min and 1250A DC cranking for 10 sec across 12V to 48V systems, with an ABS housing, copper tin plating inner stud, CE and IP54 stated. The box includes 4 mounting bolts, 4 ring terminals, 4 heat shrink tubings and a hex wrench. The spec table's app control method and X-10 protocol do not fit a rotary switch; trust the bullets' clockwise-on, counter-clockwise-off operation.
Who it's for: buyers who want timed amp figures and a full mounting kit in one order. Who should skip it: buyers who need a warranty term or a locking knob.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Switch type | ON-OFF rotary, 2 position |
|---|---|
| Amps | 275A continuous (1hr), 455A intermittent (5 min), 1250A cranking (10 sec) |
| Voltage | 12V, 24V, 36V, 48V |
| Weather | IP54, CE |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE and IP54 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Jtron Key Switch
Key-operated switch for 12-24V systems with a 100A figure, 2 removable keys, IP54 and a 1-year manufacturer warranty.
Pros
- 2 removable keys so power cannot be switched on when the key is removed
- 100A figure and 200A withstanding current stated for 12V
- 1-year manufacturer warranty stated
- IP54 stated with a protective case over the key hole
Cons
- Title leads with 200A while the bullets state 100A max; trust the bullets
- 12-24V range only, not the 12-48V of most picks
- Spec table 4800 watt figure is not reconciled with the bullets' 100A figure; trust the bullets
- 0.33 inch pillars fit small studs; check your ring terminals
Detailed Review
The listing's title leads with 12V 200A, but the bullets state a rated current of 100A at 12V with a 200A withstanding current, so trust the bullets: this is a 100A switch for 12-24V systems. It states an IP54 code, 2 removable keys, 0.33 inch pillars, a 3.98 x 2.32 x 2.32 inch body and a 1 year manufacturer warranty. The spec table's 4800 watt figure is not reconciled with the bullets; trust the bullets.
Who it's for: owners who want a key that removes to lock out power, on a 12V or 24V setup. Who should skip it: owners who need more than 100A or a 48V system.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 22/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Switch type | ON-OFF rotary with 2 removable keys |
|---|---|
| Amps | 100A (12V) rated, 200A (12V) withstanding |
| Voltage | 12-24V |
| Body | 3.98 x 2.32 x 2.32 in, IP54 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP54 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

UCkasayfy Rotary Switch BS006
Rotary switch with 200A, 455A and 1250A figures in a 12V circuit, ABS housing and copper tin plating, no weather code stated.
Pros
- Timed figures: 200A for an hour, 455A for 5 min, 1250A for 10 sec in a 12V circuit
- ABS housing and copper tin plating, fully enclosed against dirt and rain
- Wide stated use: car, marine, RV, camper, truck, ATV and UTV
- 2-position on/off with no parasitic draw stated when off
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No weather code or certification is stated
- Title reads 12V while the bullets extend to 48V systems; confirm your voltage
- Listing text is thin beyond the bullet points
Detailed Review
The listing states 200A for an hour, 455A for 5 min and 1250A for 10 sec in a 12V DC circuit, with an ABS housing and copper tin plating inner stud in a fully enclosed design. The title reads 12V while the bullets extend to 12V, 24V, 36V and 48V systems; trust the bullets for the range. No weather code, certification or warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: owners who want high stated cranking figures on a basic manual switch. Who should skip it: buyers who need a weather code, certification or warranty in the listing.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 63 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Switch type | On/Off, 2 position |
|---|---|
| Amps | 200A for an hour, 455A for 5 min, 1250A for 10 sec |
| Voltage | 12V, 24V, 36V, 48V |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
RED WOLF On-Off Battery Disconnect SwitchCheck on Amazon
Nataboon Top Post Battery Disconnect SwitchCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Switch | Solar Score | Voltage | Amps | Weather code | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MOTOFLEX Side Post Switch | 9.6/10 | 12V-48V | 300A continuous, 900A cranking | IP66 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| SUNMORN Rotary Switch Kit | 9.5/10 | 12V, 24V, 48V | Not stated | IP66 | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| GOGONFLY Rotary Switch GG-02 | 9.5/10 | 12V-48V | 275A continuous, 455A intermittent, 1250A cranking | IP54, CE | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Jtron Key Switch | 9.4/10 | 12-24V | 100A rated, 200A withstanding | IP54 | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| UCkasayfy Rotary Switch BS006 | 9.3/10 | 12V, 24V, 36V, 48V | 200A for an hour, 455A for 5 min, 1250A for 10 sec | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a disconnect switch, safety means stated weather codes, certification marks and design features that keep terminals isolated, such as insulated rear covers and removable knobs. Two of the five switches state a warranty term, and four state a weather code. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MOTOFLEX Side Post Switch | 9.6 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 6 | 0 |
| SUNMORN Rotary Switch Kit | 9.5 | 23 | 20 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| GOGONFLY Rotary Switch GG-02 | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 5 | 0 |
| Jtron Key Switch | 9.4 | 22 | 19 | 20 | 5 | 3 |
| UCkasayfy Rotary Switch BS006 | 9.3 | 26 | 19 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best battery disconnect switch for rv
Match the amp figures to your load
Start with the continuous figure, the current the switch carries in normal use. The MOTOFLEX listing states 300A continuous with 900A cranking, the GOGONFLY listing states 275A continuous with 455A intermittent and 1250A cranking, and the UCkasayfy and Jtron listings state 200A and 100A respectively. The GOGONFLY listing is the only one to time all three figures: 275A for 1 hour, 455A for 5 min and 1250A for 10 sec. The SUNMORN kit states no current figure, so it does not suit buyers who size from amps. Our battery isolator vs solenoid guide covers a related way to manage charging between batteries.
Check the voltage range
Four of the five listings cover 12V to 48V systems, while the Jtron is for 12-24V systems only. Match the switch to your RV’s system voltage before you order.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| 300A continuous with a side-post mount | MOTOFLEX, 300A stated for GM side posts |
| A cable kit in the box | SUNMORN, two 20-inch 6AWG cables included |
| Timed amp figures for each duty | GOGONFLY, 275A, 455A and 1250A with times |
Two more options worth a look
Two more listings did not make the ranked picks but suit specific installs: the Nataboon top-post switch mounts directly on SAE top posts with 300A continuous and 900A cranking stated, and the RED WOLF rotary switch covers 12V to 48V with 275A continuous, 455A intermittent and 1250A cranking stated plus a CE mark.
Match the mount to your battery
Top-post, side-post and panel mounts each suit a different install. The MOTOFLEX fits GM side posts with a 1-1/2 inch height for tight bays, and the SUNMORN kit sits on a battery box or tongue box with its cables. When you size cables, see our battery cable gauge comparison, and match the switch to your bank with our best 12 volt deep cycle battery for RV guide.
Mind the weather code and the sparks
IP66 and IP54 codes appear on four of the listings and say how the housing handles water and dust. The SUNMORN bullets also warn to keep the switch away from plastic battery boxes and to avoid sparks when connecting, which is good practice for any install. The Jtron and MOTOFLEX knobs remove for a basic level of security against unauthorized switching.
Sizing Notes
- Match the continuous amp figure to your largest load, and keep each cranking figure in its stated time: 1250A for 10 sec on the GOGONFLY listing, 900A with no stated time on the MOTOFLEX listing.
- Match the voltage range to your bank: four listings cover 12V to 48V, while Jtron covers 12-24V only.
- Use the cable gauge the listing or manual gives: SUNMORN includes two 20-inch 6AWG cables.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is a battery disconnect switch?
A battery disconnect switch is a manual on/off switch wired into a battery cable that cuts power between the battery and the electrical system. RV owners use it to stop parasitic draw during storage and to isolate the battery during maintenance.
How does a battery disconnect switch work?
The switches here are 2-position rotary or key designs: turn the knob or key one way to connect the battery, the other way to disconnect it. Once off, the switch stops power draw from electronics, alarms and clocks that would otherwise drain the battery.
How do you wire a battery disconnect switch?
The listings differ: SUNMORN installs inline on the positive battery cable, while MOTOFLEX recommends the negative side. Follow the install guide in the box, mount the switch where it is easy to reach, and keep sparks away from the battery when connecting.
Where should the switch mount on an RV?
Wherever it is easy to reach: SUNMORN lists battery box or tongue box mounting, and several listings support panel or surface mounting. Keep it away from plastic battery boxes, per the SUNMORN safety note.
Do these switches state a warranty?
Two do: SUNMORN states a 1-year warranty against manufacturing defects, and Jtron states a 1 year manufacturer warranty. The other three listings state no warranty term.
Related guides
See every Battery Monitors and Accessories guide and all Batteries and Charging guides.
More picks: battery isolator vs solenoid, battery cable gauge comparison, best 12 volt deep cycle battery for RV, best battery box for RV.




