On this page
When a vehicle sits parked through a long winter and the battery fades before spring, the best battery trickle charger under 50 keeps a stored battery maintained without a workshop visit. This comparison covers four chargers for stored cars, motorcycles, lawn mowers and trucks, judged on output, battery types, protections and warranty terms. The right choice depends on the battery voltage, the output needed, and how much of the listing is actually documented.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall MOTOPOWER MP00205B Charger: 1000mA maintainer with desulfator and 2 year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
10-Amp Pick COREBOX 10-Amp Charger: 10-Amp 12V/24V smart charger with temperature compensation stated Check price on Amazon
ETL Listed BLACK+DECKER BM3B Charger: 6V/12V charger and maintainer with 1.5A and ETL listing Check price on Amazon
Two-Pack Pick MOTOPOWER MP00205A Charger: 12V 800mA charger and desulfator in a 2-pack Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MOTOPOWER MP00205B Charger | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | COREBOX 10-Amp Charger | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | BLACK+DECKER BM3B | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | MOTOPOWER MP00205A | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

MOTOPOWER MP00205B Charger
A 12V 1000mA automatic charger, maintainer, trickle charger and desulfator with timer protection and a 2 year warranty stated.
Pros
- 1000mA output with pulse desulfator charging and timer protection stated
- Maintains the battery at 13.6V indefinitely with spark-free operation stated
- CE, RoHS, UL and CEC listing stated in the bullets
- SAE cables up to 8.5FT with ring terminals and alligator clamps stated
Cons
- Bullets list CE, RoHS, UL and CEC while the spec table lists CE and ETL
- No charging time is stated
- Plastic case only; no metal case is stated
- Single output only; no second port is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12V 1000mA automatic charger, maintainer, trickle charger and desulfator with timer protection, for 12-volt lead-acid, flooded, sealed, AGM and gel cell batteries, pulse charging at proper stages, overcharge protection, spark-free operation, maintenance at 13.6V indefinitely, LED indication, SAE cables up to 8.5FT with 18AWG wire, ring terminals with 7.5amp fuse protection and 50amp alligator clamps, dimensions of 6.61 by 4.61 by 2.2 inches, 0.37 kg, 110 volts input, and a 2 year manufacturer warranty. The bullets list CE, RoHS, UL and CEC while the spec table lists CE and ETL; the certifications used here follow the bullets.
Who it's for: owners maintaining a stored 12V lead-acid, AGM or gel battery through a season. Who should skip it: buyers who want a higher output or a second port.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 4/5: 87 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 1000mA, 12V |
|---|---|
| Battery types | Lead-acid, AGM, gel |
| Maintain voltage | 13.6V |
| Cables | SAE, up to 8.5FT |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE, RoHS, UL and CEC listing with spark-free and overcharge protection stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 2 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

COREBOX 10-Amp Charger
A 10-Amp 12V/24V smart trickle charger and maintainer with temperature compensation and a 2 year warranty stated.
Pros
- 10-Amp output with 12V/24V and temperature compensation stated
- Overcharge and short-circuit protection stated
- 2 Year Manufacturer warranty stated
- 4 hours battery charge time stated
Cons
- Bullets describe several charging slots while the spec table lists 2 ports
- No cable length is stated
- No IP code is stated
- Spec table lists cars, lawn mowers, motorcycles, trucks and yachts only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10-Amp 12V/24V smart trickle charger and maintainer with temperature compensation, automatic battery status detection, overcharge and short-circuit protection, a compact portable build, a 4 hours battery charge time, CE, FCC and RoHS listing, dimensions of 8.4 by 2.6 by 4.3 inches, 2 ports, and a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty. The bullets describe charging several batteries at once and name NiMH and NiCd chemistries, while the spec table lists 2 ports and names cars, lawn mowers, motorcycles, trucks and yachts as compatible devices.
Who it's for: owners charging a car, motorcycle, lawn mower, truck or yacht battery at 12V or 24V. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated cable length or a stated IP code.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 10-Amp, 12V/24V |
|---|---|
| Charge time | 4 hours |
| Ports | 2 |
| Protection | Overcharge, short-circuit |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE, FCC and RoHS listing with overcharge and short-circuit protection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BLACK+DECKER BM3B
A fully automatic 6V/12V charger and maintainer, best for parked cars and equipment on AGM, GEL or WET batteries; skip it if you need more than 1.5A.
Pros
- Charges and maintains 6V and 12V AGM, GEL and WET batteries
- Switches to float mode monitoring when full, per the listing
- Guards against overcharging, reverse polarity and short circuit, ETL certified
- Battery clips and O-ring terminals included, plus a built-in mounting bracket
Cons
- 1.5A output is lower than the 10A NOCO pick
- Limited One Year warranty is shorter than the 2-year terms elsewhere here
- No desulfation or pulse recovery is stated
- Single port only
Detailed Review
The BLACK+DECKER is the only full-data pick that covers both 6V and 12V batteries, which makes it the most versatile maintainer here. Automatic float mode, ETL certification and a built-in mounting bracket cover the daily-use details, and the clips plus O-ring terminals suit both quick hookups and permanent mounting.
Its Limited One Year warranty is shorter than the MOTOPOWER 2-year term, which is the main gap against the top pick. The listing states no desulfation or pulse recovery, so buyers who want that feature should look at the more picks. The single port suits one battery at a time, so a two-battery setup needs a second unit or a 2-bank pick like the NOCO.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 1.5A |
|---|---|
| Voltages | 6V/12V |
| Battery types | AGM, GEL, WET |
| Connectors | Battery clips, O-ring terminals |
| Protection | Overcharge, reverse polarity, short circuit |
| Certification | ETL |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ETL certified, guards against overcharging, reverse polarity and short circuit, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MOTOPOWER MP00205A
2-pack 12V 800mA automatic battery charger and maintainer with desulfator, 2-year warranty.
Pros
- Two chargers in one pack
- CE, ETL and RoHS stated
- Automatic desulfation stated
- 2-year manufacturer warranty stated
Cons
- 800mA is the lowest charge current here
- Slow for large car batteries
- Severely sulfated batteries may not charge
- 12V lead-acid only
Detailed Review
The MOTOPOWER MP00205A is a 2-pack of 12V 800mA automatic battery chargers and maintainers with desulfation.
The 2-pack and protection list make it the strongest pick for keeping two vehicles ready.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 22/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 2/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charge current | 800mA |
|---|---|
| Stages | 5-stage |
| Warranty | 2 years |
| Pack | 2 chargers |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE, ETL and RoHS with overcharge, short-circuit and reverse-polarity protection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2-year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
15-Amp Smart Battery Charger15-Amp 12V automatic smart battery charger, maintainer and trickle chargerCheck on Amazon
20A LiFePO4 ChargerBattery charger for car, 20A 12V/24V LiFePO4 trickle charger maintainerCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Charger | Solar Score | Output | Battery types | Protection | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MOTOPOWER MP00205B Charger | 9.7/10 | 1000mA, 12V | Lead-acid, AGM, gel | Spark-free, overcharge | 2 year | View on Amazon |
| COREBOX 10-Amp Charger | 9.7/10 | 10-Amp, 12V/24V | NiMH, NiCd | Overcharge, short-circuit | 2 year | View on Amazon |
| BLACK+DECKER BM3B Charger | 9.6/10 | 1.5A, 6V/12V | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| MOTOPOWER MP00205A Charger | 9.7/10 | 800mA, 12V | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a charger, safety means certifications and listed protections the listing actually states; a charger that states none scores zero on that line. Two of the four chargers state a warranty term, and three of the four state a certification or listing. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MOTOPOWER MP00205B Charger | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 9 | 4 |
| COREBOX 10-Amp Charger | 9.7 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 8 | 4 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best battery trickle charger under 50
Match output to the battery
A maintainer output suits a stored battery that only needs topping up, and the MOTOPOWER charger at 1000mA fits that case with timer protection and desulfator pulse charging. A higher output suits a battery that needs a faster charge, and the COREBOX charger at 10-Amp with 12V/24V output fits that case. The BLACK+DECKER charger at 1.5A covers 6V and 12V batteries, while the MOTOPOWER 2-pack at 800mA covers two 12V batteries at once. Also see our best 12V battery charger with LCD display and best battery charger for motorhome guides for more charger forms.
Check protections and certifications
Protection lines separate this group clearly. MOTOPOWER states spark-free operation and overcharge protection with CE, RoHS, UL and CEC listing in its bullets, while COREBOX states overcharge and short-circuit protection with CE, FCC and RoHS listing. The BLACK+DECKER title names an ETL listing, and the MOTOPOWER 2-pack title names no certification at all.
| Charger | Output | Certification / Protection | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| MOTOPOWER MP00205B Charger | 1000mA, 12V | CE, RoHS, UL, CEC; spark-free, overcharge | 2 year |
| COREBOX 10-Amp Charger | 10-Amp, 12V/24V | CE, FCC, RoHS; overcharge, short-circuit | 2 year |
| BLACK+DECKER BM3B Charger | 1.5A, 6V/12V | ETL listing | Not stated |
| MOTOPOWER MP00205A Charger | 800mA, 12V | Not stated | Not stated |
Read the warranty line
Warranty terms are a 2 year term each for the MOTOPOWER and COREBOX chargers, and no term given for BLACK+DECKER and the MOTOPOWER 2-pack. A stated term plus stated protections together make the MOTOPOWER and COREBOX chargers the better documented picks in this group, and both MOTOPOWER chargers name a desulfator function.
Sizing Notes
- Match voltage to the battery: 6V/12V for BLACK+DECKER, 12V for MOTOPOWER, and 12V/24V for COREBOX.
- Match output to the job: 1000mA for MOTOPOWER maintenance, 10-Amp for COREBOX, 1.5A for BLACK+DECKER and 800mA for the MOTOPOWER 2-pack.
- Check connectors: SAE quick release on MOTOPOWER with ring terminals and alligator clamps stated.
- Check the warranty line: 2 year terms for MOTOPOWER and COREBOX, and no term given for BLACK+DECKER and the MOTOPOWER 2-pack.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which charger here has the highest output?
COREBOX, at 10-Amp. The other outputs are 1000mA for MOTOPOWER, 1.5A for BLACK+DECKER and 800mA for the MOTOPOWER 2-pack.
Which chargers work with 6V batteries?
Only the BLACK+DECKER BM3B, which lists 6V/12V in its title. The other chargers list 12V or 12V/24V.
Which chargers state a warranty term?
MOTOPOWER states a 2 year manufacturer warranty, and COREBOX states a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty. BLACK+DECKER and the MOTOPOWER 2-pack state no warranty term.
What is the difference between the two MOTOPOWER chargers?
The MP00205B lists 1000mA with timer protection and a full listing, while the MP00205A title lists 800mA in a 2-pack with desulfator and no further figures.
Can these chargers maintain a battery indefinitely?
MOTOPOWER states that it maintains the battery at 13.6V indefinitely after charging stops. The other listings state no such figure.
Related guides
See every Battery Chargers and Maintainers guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best battery charger for generator. Also see our best 12V battery charger with LCD display.




