Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Batteries and Charging

Best Battery Trickle Charger (2026): 4 Picks Compared

Four battery trickle chargers compared by voltage, output, battery types and warranty, from a dual-voltage maintainer to a two-bank marine charger.

Best Battery Trickle Charger (2026): 4 Picks Compared
On this page

A battery that sits through winter usually greets spring too weak to turn the engine over. A trickle charger keeps a parked battery full between drives, and the best battery trickle charger is the one that matches your battery’s voltage and chemistry, switches itself to a maintenance charge when full, and guards against the wiring mistakes that damage batteries. We compared four chargers by voltage, output, battery types, protection and warranty, using only what each listing states.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The kits we chose

NOCO GEN5X2 10A

NOCO GEN5X2 10A

NOCO9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V 10A 2-bank onboard marine charger with IP68 sealing and four modes per bank.

Pros

  • Two independently controlled banks at 5A each
  • IP68 fully sealed housing
  • Four modes per bank including lithium and repair
  • Force Mode for batteries down to zero volts

Cons

  • Spec table 240V input not confirmed by title or bullets
  • No 6V support stated
  • Fixed onboard mounting; not a portable bench charger
  • 10A total is less than the Schumacher's 15A
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V 10A 2-bank onboard marine charger with 5A per bank, selectable 12V, 12V AGM, 12V Lithium and 12V Repair modes, an integrated thermal sensor and Force Mode for batteries down to zero volts. It lists a fully sealed IP68 housing, 72-inch DC cables with 3/8-inch eyelets, mounting in any orientation, 7.2 by 9.15 by 5.39 inches, 4.2 pounds, CEC, FCC and UL marks and a 3-year warranty. The spec table lists 240V input, which the title and bullets do not confirm.

Who it's for: boat owners who want two independently controlled banks and an IP68 sealed housing. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 6V support or a single-bank portable charger.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output10A total, 5A per bank
Modes12V, AGM, Lithium, Repair
HousingIP68, fully sealed
Size7.2 x 9.15 x 5.39 in, 4.2 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68 rating with overcharge protection and temperature compensation stated; CEC, FCC and UL listed, so safety scores 9 of 10. 3-Year Limited warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MOTOPOWER MP00206A

MOTOPOWER MP00206A

MOTOPOWER9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A fully automatic 12V charger and maintainer, best for cars, motorcycles, ATVs, RVs and boats; skip it if you need 6V support.

Pros

  • Fully automatic with 4 charging stages
  • Pulse current recovery stated for battery repair
  • SAE quick release adapters with ring terminals and alligator clips
  • CE, RoHS, UL and CEC certified, spark-free

Cons

  • Spec table lists model MP00205A and 800mA charging current, against the title's MP00206A and 1.5A
  • 12V only, no 6V support stated
  • 32-hour battery charge time stated
  • Compatible devices list includes children toys, outside this article's vehicle focus
Detailed Review

The MOTOPOWER is the best documented pick here: 4 charging stages, pulse current recovery, SAE adapters with a fused ring terminal harness, and four certifications. Its 2 Year Manufacturer warranty is also the longest stated term on this list, which is why it runs the BLACK+DECKER close.

Two contradictions to note: the spec table lists model MP00205A and an 800mA charging current, while the title and bullets state MP00206A and 1.5A, so the title and bullets are the ones to trust. The compatible devices list also includes children toys, which sit outside this article's vehicle focus.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 2/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output1.5A
Voltage12V
Charging stages4
Battery repairPulse current recovery
ConnectorsSAE, ring terminals, alligator clips
Charge time32 hours

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CE, RoHS, UL and CEC certified, so safety scores 6 of 10. 2 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BLACK+DECKER BM3B

BLACK+DECKER BM3B

BLACK+DECKER9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A fully automatic 6V/12V charger and maintainer, best for parked cars and equipment on AGM, GEL or WET batteries; skip it if you need more than 1.5A.

Pros

  • Charges and maintains 6V and 12V AGM, GEL and WET batteries
  • Switches to float mode monitoring when full, per the listing
  • Guards against overcharging, reverse polarity and short circuit, ETL certified
  • Battery clips and O-ring terminals included, plus a built-in mounting bracket

Cons

  • 1.5A output is lower than the 10A NOCO pick
  • Limited One Year warranty is shorter than the 2-year terms elsewhere here
  • No desulfation or pulse recovery is stated
  • Single port only
Detailed Review

The BLACK+DECKER is the only full-data pick that covers both 6V and 12V batteries, which makes it the most versatile maintainer here. Automatic float mode, ETL certification and a built-in mounting bracket cover the daily-use details, and the clips plus O-ring terminals suit both quick hookups and permanent mounting.

Its Limited One Year warranty is shorter than the MOTOPOWER 2-year term, which is the main gap against the top pick. The listing states no desulfation or pulse recovery, so buyers who want that feature should look at the more picks. The single port suits one battery at a time, so a two-battery setup needs a second unit or a 2-bank pick like the NOCO.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output1.5A
Voltages6V/12V
Battery typesAGM, GEL, WET
ConnectorsBattery clips, O-ring terminals
ProtectionOvercharge, reverse polarity, short circuit
CertificationETL

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. ETL certified, guards against overcharging, reverse polarity and short circuit, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CTEK MXS 5.0 Charger

CTEK MXS 5.0 Charger

CTEK9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4.3A fully automatic 8-step charger and maintainer for 12V lead-acid and AGM batteries.

Pros

  • 4.3A with 8-step fully automatic charging
  • Reconditioning function for underperforming batteries
  • IP65 with splash, dust, spark and shock proofing
  • Float/pulse 'set and forget' for months

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated (limited warranty only)
  • 12V only
  • No lithium support is stated
  • 50-hour charge time in the spec table is unexplained
Detailed Review

The listing states a fully automatic 8-step 4.3A charger and maintainer for 12V lead-acid and AGM batteries, with a reconditioning function for healthy and underperforming batteries, splash, dust, spark and shock proofing, an IP65 rating, short-circuit-proof and reverse-polarity-safe design, and patented float/pulse charging for months of unattended maintenance without disconnecting the battery. It weighs 1.3 pounds at 5.91 by 11.02 by 2.36 inches. The spec table lists a 50-hour charge time with no context, and the warranty description reads only as a limited warranty with no term.

Who it's for: car and bike owners who want a fit-and-forget maintainer with the toughest proofing here. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term or lithium support.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Current4.3A
Steps8-step automatic
ProtectionIP65, spark/shock proof
Compatibility12V lead acid, AGM

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 rating and spark, shock and short-circuit proofing stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • MOTOPOWER MP00205A 2-PackMOTOPOWER MP00205A 2-Pack2-pack, 800mA, desulfator, 2-year warranty statedCheck on Amazon
  • Schumacher SC1300Schumacher SC13001.5A, 6V/12V, reconditioning, 1-year warranty statedCheck on Amazon
  • COREBOX 10A ChargerCOREBOX 10A Charger10A, 12V/24V, temperature compensation, 2-year warranty statedCheck on Amazon
  • COREBOX 6A ChargerCOREBOX 6A Charger6A, 12V, desulfator, temperature compensation, 2-year warranty statedCheck on Amazon
  • MOTOPOWER MP00205A 4-PackMOTOPOWER MP00205A 4-Pack4-pack, 800mA, desulfator, 2-year warranty statedCheck on Amazon

Numbers side by side

Voltage decides this list first, because a charger that cannot match the battery cannot charge it at all. The table below lines up the four picks by output, battery types, protection and warranty.

Charger Solar Score Output Battery types Protection Warranty Amazon
MOTOPOWER MP00206A 9.6/10 1.5A, 12V Lead-acid, AGM, gel Overcharge, short circuit, reverse polarity, spark-free 2 Year Manufacturer View on Amazon
BLACK+DECKER BM3B 9.6/10 1.5A, 6V/12V AGM, GEL, WET Overcharge, reverse polarity, short circuit Limited One Year View on Amazon
CTEK MXS 5.0 9.6/10 4.3A Not stated Not stated Not stated
NOCO GEN5X2 9.7/10 10A, 12V Not stated Not stated Not stated

22 October 2026

Where the points went

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a trickle charger, performance means voltage range and output, build means connectors and construction, and safety means stated certifications and protections. Only the two full-data picks state certifications and warranty terms, so the two title-only picks score zero on safety and warranty. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
MOTOPOWER MP00206A 9.6 29 21 21 6 2
BLACK+DECKER BM3B 9.6 30 22 21 7 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best battery trickle charger

Match voltage first

The BLACK+DECKER covers both 6V and 12V batteries, while the MOTOPOWER, CTEK and NOCO picks state 12V only. If every battery you own is 12V, the wider range buys nothing, but if a motorcycle or older vehicle battery is 6V, the dual-voltage pick is the only full-data option here. The CTEK and NOCO titles state 12V as well, so every pick here serves a 12V battery, but only the BLACK+DECKER serves a 6V one. Check the battery label before comparing anything else.

Amps and charge time

Both full-data picks state 1.5A, and the MOTOPOWER lists a 32-hour battery charge time. The title-only picks state more: the CTEK at 4.3A and the NOCO at 10A with 2 banks. Higher amps suit larger batteries and faster charging, but a trickle charger lives on the battery between drives, so the maintenance mode matters more than the headline amps for a parked vehicle. For a parked vehicle, the maintenance current matters more than the charging current, since the battery spends most of its time full rather than charging.

Connectors and mounting

The BLACK+DECKER connects with battery clips or O-ring terminals and includes a built-in mounting bracket for placement. The MOTOPOWER uses SAE quick release adapters with ring terminals and alligator clips, and its ring terminal harness can stay connected to the battery permanently. Pick the connector you will actually use, since a charger that is awkward to hook up stays on the shelf.

Float mode and maintainers

A trickle charger and a maintainer overlap, but the float mode is what separates them. The BLACK+DECKER switches to float mode monitoring once the battery is full, and the MOTOPOWER maintains the battery with a float charging current. That maintenance charge is what lets a charger stay connected between drives without overcharging, and it is the feature to look for when the vehicle sits for weeks at a time.

Read the warranty and certifications

The BLACK+DECKER is ETL certified with a Limited One Year warranty, while the MOTOPOWER is CE, RoHS, UL and CEC certified with a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty. Certifications and warranty terms are the only promises in writing, so weigh them alongside the specs. The two title-only picks state neither, which is part of why they rank last.

Sizing Notes

  • Size the charger to the battery: match voltage, then chemistry, then the amps you need.
  • A maintainer lives on the battery between drives, so the float mode and the connector matter more than the headline amps.
  • When the listing states nothing about a feature, treat that feature as unstated, not as included.

FAQ: power away from the grid

Can a normal battery charger charge lithium?

Neither full-data pick states lithium support: the BLACK+DECKER lists AGM, GEL and WET batteries, and the MOTOPOWER lists 12V lead-acid batteries. Check the listing for lithium before buying if your battery is lithium.

Can battery chargers charge any battery?

No: match voltage and chemistry first. The BLACK+DECKER covers 6V and 12V AGM, GEL and WET, while the MOTOPOWER covers 12V lead-acid only, so a charger that fits one battery may not fit another. Voltage is the hard limit: a 12V-only charger cannot serve a 6V battery, and the NOCO pick states 12V only. Chemistry is the second limit: lead-acid, AGM and gel types are covered by the full-data picks, while lithium needs a listing that states it.

What is a desulfator battery charger?

A desulfator charger uses pulse current to break down sulfation on the battery plates. The MOTOPOWER lists pulse current recovery, and the more picks include desulfator models, so look for pulse current or desulfation in the listing if that feature matters to you.

How long does trickle charging take?

The MOTOPOWER lists a 32-hour battery charge time, while the BLACK+DECKER lists no charge time, since a maintainer holds the battery at float once full. Charge time depends on the battery size and state, so treat any stated time as the listing’s figure, not a promise.

What connectors do trickle chargers use?

The BLACK+DECKER uses battery clips or O-ring terminals, and the MOTOPOWER uses SAE quick release adapters with ring terminals and alligator clips. The title-only picks state no connectors, so check those listings before ordering.

What does float mode do?

Float mode holds a full battery at a maintenance charge instead of charging it further. The BLACK+DECKER switches to float mode monitoring once the battery is full, and the MOTOPOWER maintains the battery with a float charging current.

NOCO GEN5X2 10A
Still deciding? Our top pickNOCO GEN5X2 10A
Check price on Amazon

Also see our best battery charger for sailboat, best battery charger with timer, best battery charger for flooded batteries and best battery charger for generator guides.

More picks: batteries, battery chargers and maintainers.