Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Emergency Radio for Truck Drivers (2026): 6 Compared

Six hand-crank and solar NOAA weather radios for truck drivers compared on bands, power options, SOS features and warranty terms.

Best Emergency Radio for Truck Drivers (2026): 6 Compared
On this page

A sleeper cab at a closed rest stop with no cell bars and a storm warning moving in is a bad time to find out your radio only plays music. The best emergency radio for truck drivers keeps weather alerts coming when the road turns bad, and the six radios here are hand-crank and solar NOAA weather radios. We compared what each listing states: weather bands, power options, SOS and light features, size and warranty terms. The OnLyee CR1030 scored highest with a 12,000mAh battery and a 3-year warranty, while the NNOOAADIO is the more portable pick with 7 NOAA channels.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • OnLyee CR1030 Solar Radio
    Best Overall OnLyee CR1030 Solar Radio: 12,000mAh battery with solar, crank and 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • PPLEE CR1009Ultra Radio
    Best Auto Alerts PPLEE CR1009Ultra Radio: auto NOAA alert across 7 bands plus SW reception Check price on Amazon
  • Wavetour TL698 Crank Radio
    Best Compact Shortwave Wavetour TL698 Crank Radio: 7 NOAA channels, SW band and a 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • NNOOAADIO Hand Crank Radio
    Most Portable NNOOAADIO Hand Crank Radio: hand crank and solar with 7 NOAA channels Check price on Amazon
  • Semmorn SE001 Crank Radio
    Largest Battery Semmorn SE001 Crank Radio: 22000mAh with 20W USB-C and 15W wireless output Check price on Amazon

The picks

OnLyee CR1030 Solar Radio

OnLyee CR1030 Solar Radio

OnLyee9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hand-crank and solar NOAA weather radio with a 12,000mAh battery, 5W flashlight, 120dB SOS alarm and a 3-year manufacturer warranty.

Pros

  • 12,000mAh battery with solar panel and hand crank
  • NOAA, AM and FM reception with DSP tuning stated
  • 5W flashlight, reading lamp and 120dB SOS alarm with beacon
  • 3-year manufacturer warranty stated

Cons

  • No CB transmit channels, receive-only for weather bands
  • Spec table uses marketing words for the crank and water resistance that we do not repeat
  • 1.6 pounds and 6.81 by 2.91 by 4.76 inches, larger than the compact crank radios here
  • The 8500mm² solar panel still needs sun or cranking to recharge
Detailed Review

The listing states a hand-crank and solar NOAA weather radio with a 12,000mAh battery, an 8500mm² solar panel, a 5W flashlight, a folding reading lamp, a 120dB SOS alarm with flashing beacon and a 3-year manufacturer warranty. It lists 6.81 by 2.91 by 4.76 inches and 1.6 pounds. The spec table lists an oversize hand crank generator and a water resistance level.

Who it's for: drivers and campers who want the biggest backup battery among the 12,000mAh radios here with solar and crank recharging. Who should skip it: drivers who need to transmit on CB channels.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery12,000mAh
PowerSolar, hand crank, USB-C
Light and SOS5W flashlight, 120dB SOS
Size6.81 x 2.91 x 4.76 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 120dB SOS alarm with flashing beacon, 5W flashlight and water resistance stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 3 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PPLEE CR1009Ultra Radio

PPLEE CR1009Ultra Radio

PPLEE9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A six-way powered NOAA weather radio with a 12000mAh battery, automatic NOAA alert, AM/FM/SW reception and an 18-month warranty description.

Pros

  • 12000mAh battery with six power sources including an AC adapter
  • Auto NOAA alert monitors 7 NOAA bands with a siren and flashing light
  • AM, FM and SW reception on an LCD with digital tuning
  • 3W flashlight, 2.5W reading lamp and an SOS alarm with Morse-code light

Cons

  • Warranty is an 18-month extended term with a 3-month refund window, shorter than the OnLyee's 3 years
  • Spec table lists a 1.2W rechargeable battery and Micro USB input, which conflicts with the title and the Type-C hardware list
  • Plastic enclosure with no water resistance level stated
  • No IP rating or compliance mark is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12000mAh battery, six power sources (AC adapter, USB input, hand crank, solar panel, AAA batteries and the built-in battery), an automatic alert that monitors all 7 NOAA weather bands, and AM, FM and SW tuning on an LCD. It lists 6.69 by 2.36 by 3.74 inches and 16 ounces. The spec table lists a 1.2W rechargeable battery and a Micro USB input, while the title and bullets state 12000mAh and the hardware list includes USB Type C. We trust the title and bullets.

Who it's for: drivers who want automatic NOAA alerts and shortwave reception in a mid-size radio with an AC option. Who should skip it: buyers who want a longer written warranty or a stated water resistance rating.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery12000mAh
PowerSolar, hand crank, AAA, USB, AC adapter
BandsAM, FM, SW, 7 NOAA
Size6.69 x 2.36 x 3.74 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Automatic NOAA alert with siren and flashing red light, SOS alarm with Morse-code signal stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 18-month Extend Warranty Period, 3-month Refund, Within 24 Hours Response. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Wavetour TL698 Crank Radio

Wavetour TL698 Crank Radio

Wavetour9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact hand-crank and solar radio with 7 NOAA alert channels, AM/FM/SW reception, an 18500mWh battery and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 7 NOAA alert channels with auto scan and timed hazard alerts
  • 5000mAh (18500mWh) battery with solar, hand crank, Type-C and 3 AAA backup
  • 3-mode flashlight, fold-out reading lamp and SOS siren with Morse-code light
  • Compact at 5.98 by 2.07 by 3.03 inches and 0.75 lb

Cons

  • 5000mAh battery, well below the 12000mAh radios here
  • 1-year warranty, shorter than the OnLyee and PPLEE terms
  • No compliance marks are stated
  • No water resistance level or IP rating is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a hand-crank and solar radio with 7 NOAA weather alert channels, auto station scan, AM/FM/SW/WB bands, a 5000mAh (18500mWh) battery, Type-C input and 3 AAA backup. It lists 5.98 by 2.07 by 3.03 inches, with the weight given as 0.75 lb in the bullets and 12 ounces in the spec table. The title, bullets and spec table agree on the battery and power sources.

Who it's for: drivers who want a compact crank radio with shortwave and NOAA alert scanning. Who should skip it: buyers who want a larger backup battery or a stated water resistance rating.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery5000mAh (18500mWh)
PowerSolar, hand crank, Type-C, 3 AAA
BandsAM/FM/SW/WB, 7 NOAA channels
Size5.98 x 2.07 x 3.03 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. NOAA alert channels, SOS siren with Morse-code light stated, no compliance marks stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 Year Warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Raynic 12000mAh Crank Radio

Raynic 12000mAh Crank Radio

Raynic9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hand-crank and solar weather radio with a 12000mAh battery, USB and Type-C output, 5W flashlight, 120dB SOS siren and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 12000mAh battery with USB and Type-C output for phones
  • Solar, hand crank and AAA power listed
  • 5W flashlight, reading light and 120dB SOS siren
  • 57mm full-range speaker stated

Cons

  • 1-year warranty, shorter than the OnLyee's 3 years
  • Spec table lists AM/FM bands only, while the title lists NOAA
  • Maker calls it NOAA-Certified but names no certificate
  • No solar panel size or IP rating is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12000mAh battery, a solar panel, a hand crank, USB and Type-C output, a 5W flashlight, a reading light and a 120dB SOS siren. It lists 6.81 by 2.91 by 4.76 inches and 1.6 pounds. The title and bullets list AM/FM/NOAA reception, while the spec table lists AM and FM only, so we trust the title and bullets. The maker's claims of a 5 times larger solar panel and NOAA certification come with no size or certificate named.

Who it's for: drivers who want a 12000mAh crank radio with a 1-year warranty. Who should skip it: buyers who want a longer warranty term or a stated solar panel size.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery12000mAh
PowerSolar, hand crank, AAA, USB
Light and SOS5W flashlight, 120dB SOS
Size6.81 x 2.91 x 4.76 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. 120dB SOS siren and NOAA weather alerts stated, no compliance marks stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

NNOOAADIO Hand Crank Radio

NNOOAADIO Hand Crank Radio

NNOOAADIO9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hand-crank and solar NOAA weather radio with a 2000mAh power bank and stated CE, FCC, ROHS and ISO 9001 compliance.

Pros

  • Hand crank, solar panel and Type-C charging input
  • 7 NOAA weather channels with AM/FM reception
  • CE, FCC, ROHS and ISO 9001 compliance stated
  • SOS alarm with strobe and 3-LED flashlight

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 2000mAh, the smallest battery here
  • 0.5W speaker output stated
  • Spec table lists a water resistance level with no IP code
Detailed Review

The listing states a hand-crank and solar NOAA weather radio with a 2000mAh (7400 mWh) battery, Type-C charging, 7 NOAA channels, a 3-LED flashlight, an SOS alarm with strobe and CE, FCC, ROHS and ISO 9001 compliance. It lists 5 by 2.4 by 1.8 inches, 230 grams and a 3 to 4 hour full charge time. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: drivers who want a compact crank radio with stated compliance marks. Who should skip it: buyers who want a written warranty or a larger backup battery.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 24/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery2000mAh (7400 mWh)
PowerCrank, solar, Type-C
BandsAM/FM, 7 NOAA
Size5 x 2.4 x 1.8 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CE, FCC and ROHS compliance with ISO 9001 standardization, SOS alarm and strobe stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Semmorn SE001 Crank Radio

Semmorn SE001 Crank Radio

Semmorn9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A solar and hand-crank NOAA and FM radio with a 22000mAh battery, USB-C and wireless phone charging, Bluetooth playback and an SOS signal.

Pros

  • 22000mAh battery, the largest listed here
  • Up to 20W USB-C and up to 15W wireless phone charging stated
  • NOAA weather and FM reception with Bluetooth playback
  • LED flashlight, reading lamp and SOS signal

Cons

  • The listing states AM reception is not supported
  • Warranty field reads only "1" with no unit, so no concrete term is stated
  • Spec table lists solar power only and 2 12V batteries, which conflicts with the bullets
  • No charge time, run time or compliance marks are stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 22000mAh battery, NOAA and FM reception with no AM, charging by USB-C, a built-in solar panel and a hand crank, up to 20W USB-C and up to 15W wireless phone charging, Bluetooth playback, a flashlight, a reading lamp and an SOS signal. It lists 3 by 3 by 6 inches. The spec table lists the power source as solar only, 2 12V batteries and a 2-band tuner, while the title and bullets describe three charging options, so we trust the title and bullets. The maker notes charging performance varies with sunlight and cranking speed.

Who it's for: drivers who care most about backup phone charging capacity and Bluetooth playback. Who should skip it: buyers who need AM reception, a stated warranty term or published charge times.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 18/25, value 18/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery22000mAh
PowerSolar, hand crank, USB-C
BandsNOAA, FM, no AM
Size3 x 3 x 6 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. NOAA weather broadcasts and SOS signal stated, no compliance marks stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Radio Solar Score Power Bands SOS/Light Warranty Amazon
OnLyee CR1030 Solar Radio 9.6/10 12,000mAh, crank, solar NOAA, AM, FM 120dB SOS, 5W flashlight 3 years View on Amazon
PPLEE CR1009Ultra Radio 9.6/10 12000mAh, crank, solar, AC 7 NOAA, AM, FM, SW SOS alarm, 3W flashlight 18 months View on Amazon
Wavetour TL698 Crank Radio 9.5/10 5000mAh, crank, solar 7 NOAA, AM, FM, SW SOS siren, 3-mode flashlight 1 year View on Amazon
Raynic 12000mAh Crank Radio 9.5/10 12000mAh, crank, solar NOAA, AM, FM 120dB SOS, 5W flashlight 1 year View on Amazon
NNOOAADIO Hand Crank Radio 9.4/10 2000mAh, crank, solar 7 NOAA, AM, FM SOS strobe, 3-LED Not stated View on Amazon
Semmorn SE001 Crank Radio 9.4/10 22000mAh, crank, solar NOAA, FM SOS signal, LED flashlight Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an emergency radio, safety means the alert and protection features the listing actually states, such as NOAA weather alerts, SOS alarms or stated compliance; a radio that states none scores lower on that line. Four of the six listings state a concrete warranty term: 3 years for the OnLyee, 18 months for the PPLEE, and 1 year each for the Wavetour and the Raynic. The NNOOAADIO states none, and the Semmorn warranty field reads only “1” with no unit. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
OnLyee CR1030 Solar Radio 9.6 28 20 21 7 3
PPLEE CR1009Ultra Radio 9.6 29 19 21 6 3
Wavetour TL698 Crank Radio 9.5 28 19 20 5 2
Raynic 12000mAh Crank Radio 9.5 27 19 20 5 2
NNOOAADIO Hand Crank Radio 9.4 24 19 20 6 0
Semmorn SE001 Crank Radio 9.4 26 18 18 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best emergency radio for truck drivers

Weather bands first

All six receive NOAA weather broadcasts. The OnLyee lists NOAA, AM and FM reception with DSP tuning, the NNOOAADIO lists 7 NOAA weather channels with AM and FM, and the PPLEE and Wavetour add an SW band. The PPLEE lists an automatic alert that monitors all 7 NOAA bands, and the Wavetour lists timed hazard reception alerts. The Semmorn lists NOAA and FM only and states AM reception is not supported. These are receive-only radios for alerts, not two-way transmitters. If you are unsure which band matters on your route, our NOAA vs shortwave emergency radio guide explains the difference.

Radio Power Bands
OnLyee CR1030 12,000mAh, crank, solar NOAA, AM, FM
PPLEE CR1009Ultra 12000mAh, crank, solar, AC 7 NOAA, AM, FM, SW
Wavetour TL698 5000mAh, crank, solar 7 NOAA, AM, FM, SW
Raynic 12000mAh 12000mAh, crank, solar NOAA, AM, FM
NNOOAADIO 2000mAh, crank, solar 7 NOAA, AM, FM
Semmorn SE001 22000mAh, crank, solar NOAA, FM

Power when the truck cannot help

The crank radios carry their own power. The OnLyee lists a 12,000mAh battery with a solar panel, hand crank, USB-C 5V/2A input and 3 AAA backup. The PPLEE lists 12000mAh with six power sources, including an AC adapter. The Wavetour lists 5000mAh (18500mWh) with Type-C and 3 AAA backup, and the Semmorn lists 22000mAh. The NNOOAADIO lists a 2000mAh battery with hand crank, solar panel and Type-C input, with a 3 to 4 hour full charge time. See our best emergency radio with NOAA picks for more alert-focused options.

SOS, light and warranty

The crank radios double as emergency kits. The OnLyee and Raynic list a 5W flashlight and a 120dB SOS alarm, the PPLEE lists a 3W flashlight and a 2.5W reading lamp, and the Wavetour lists a 3-mode flashlight and a fold-out reading lamp. The NNOOAADIO lists a 3-LED flashlight and an SOS alarm with strobe, and the Semmorn lists an LED flashlight and an SOS signal. On warranty, the OnLyee states 3 years, the PPLEE 18 months, the Wavetour and Raynic 1 year, and the NNOOAADIO states no term. Compare best emergency radio with cell phone charger for more charging-focused picks.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the band to your route: all six list NOAA reception, in band or channel form, and only the PPLEE and Wavetour list SW.
  • Match the battery to your needs: 22000mAh on the Semmorn, 12,000mAh on the OnLyee, 12000mAh on the PPLEE and Raynic, 5000mAh on the Wavetour and 2000mAh on the NNOOAADIO.
  • Check the backup power: hand crank on all six, plus AAA backup on the OnLyee, PPLEE, Wavetour and Raynic.
  • Read the warranty line: 3 years on the OnLyee, 18 months on the PPLEE, 1 year on the Wavetour and Raynic, none stated on the NNOOAADIO and Semmorn.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which radios here receive NOAA weather alerts?

All six. The OnLyee, Raynic and Semmorn list a NOAA band, while the NNOOAADIO, PPLEE and Wavetour list 7 NOAA channels or bands.

Which radios list shortwave reception?

The PPLEE and Wavetour list an SW band. The Semmorn lists NOAA and FM only and states AM reception is not supported.

Can the hand-crank radios charge a phone?

Yes, per the listings. The OnLyee lists emergency phone charging from its 12,000mAh battery, the NNOOAADIO lists a 2000mAh power bank for phones, and the Semmorn lists up to 20W USB-C and up to 15W wireless phone charging.

Which listings state a warranty term?

The OnLyee states a 3-year manufacturer warranty and the PPLEE an 18-month extended warranty. The Wavetour and Raynic state 1 year. The NNOOAADIO states no warranty term.

What powers the radios when there is no sun?

The hand crank on all six. The OnLyee, PPLEE and Wavetour also take 3 AAA batteries as backup, and the Raynic lists an AAA battery option.

OnLyee CR1030 Solar Radio
Still deciding? Our top pickOnLyee CR1030 Solar Radio
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our NOAA vs shortwave emergency radio guide.

More picks: best emergency radio with NOAA and best emergency radio with cell phone charger.