On this page
The best emergency radio with cell phone charger is the one that keeps your phone alive when the grid goes down. We compared five solar emergency radios the listings describe, scored them on phone charging, battery size, alerts, water resistance and warranty terms, and ranked them below. Every figure comes from what the listings publish.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Mesqool 12000mAh Radio: 12000mAh with auto alert and 3-year term Check price on Amazon
Auto Alert Raynic CR1009Pro Radio: automatic NOAA alert in standby, IPX3 Check price on Amazon
18-Month Term iRonsnow ALERTSYNC 5000: 5000mAh with Type-C cable included Check price on Amazon
Pocket Pick iRonsnow IS-088+ 2000: 7.2 ounces with Type-C charging Check price on Amazon
Red Cross Pick Eton FRX3 Radio: American Red Cross branding stated Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mesqool 12000mAh Radio | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Raynic CR1009Pro Radio | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | iRonsnow ALERTSYNC 5000 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | iRonsnow IS-088+ 2000 | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Eton FRX3 Radio | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 12000mAh battery stated
- Automatic NOAA alert stated
- 15 to 100 hours of operation stated
- 3-year replacement or refund stated
Cons
- 5V USB adapter not included
- 1.2 pounds before AAA backup
- No water resistance figure is stated
- 6.8 inches tall, the largest here
Detailed Review
The listing states an emergency radio with a 12000mAh rechargeable battery, 7 pre-programmed NOAA channels with automatic weather alerts, AM, FM and SW reception, 15 to 100 hours of operation across modes, 5-way power with the battery, 5V USB, hand crank, solar panel and 3 AAA batteries, a flashlight with 150 to 250 lumens, a flip-up solar panel reading lamp with 6 LEDs in 2 modes, a backlit LCD, a 3.5mm headphone jack, an SOS alarm with flashing red light, USB phone charging, 3.7 by 2.48 by 6.8 inches at 1.2 pounds, and a 3-year replacement or refund for any quality problem.
Who it's for: buyers who want the biggest battery with automatic alerts and long runtimes. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated water resistance figure.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 22/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 12000mAh |
|---|---|
| Runtime | 15-100 hours |
| Flashlight | 150-250 lumens |
| Warranty | 3 years |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Water resistant stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 3 Year Replacement/Refund for Any Quality Problem stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- Automatic NOAA alert in standby
- 6-way charging options
- IPX3 water resistance stated
- 3W flashlight with 2.5W reading lamp
Cons
- 5000mAh is mid-pack here
- 1.2 pounds with plastic enclosure
- No solar panel size is stated
- LCD backlight needs the dimmer for power saving
Detailed Review
The listing states an emergency radio with a 5000mAh 18500mWh battery, AM, FM, SW and NOAA reception with automatic weather alerts in standby, 6-way charging with built-in battery, AC adapter, DC 5V USB input, hand crank, solar panel and AAA battery, a 3W flashlight with 2.5W reading lamp, an SOS siren with flashing red light, a USB connector for charging USB-enabled smart devices, a 3.5mm headphone jack, an HD LCD with digital tuning, IPX3 water resistance, 6.8 by 3.7 by 2.9 inches at 1.2 pounds, and a 1 Year Warranty.
Who it's for: buyers who want automatic alerts with the most charging options. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a bigger battery.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 5000mAh |
|---|---|
| Charging | 6-way |
| Flashlight | 3W plus 2.5W |
| Water | IPX3 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX3 water resistance stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 Year Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 5000mAh phone charger stated
- IPX3 stated
- Type-C cable included
- 0.62 pounds, light
Cons
- Bullets say 18-month warranty, spec table says 1 Year
- Bullets say 280 g, spec table says 300 g
- Flashlight says 4 modes but names 3
- No automatic NOAA alert is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states an emergency radio with a 5000mAh rechargeable battery, 7 NOAA channels with AM and FM, an SOS alarm with flashing mode, a 1W flashlight the bullets call 4-mode while naming low, medium and high, IPX3, an earphone jack, Type-C cable included with solar and hand crank charging, 5.7 by 2.2 by 2.7 inches at 0.62 pounds or 280 g, and an 18-month warranty. The bullets state 280 g and an 18-month warranty while the spec table states 300 g and 1 Year, so trust the bullet figures.
Who it's for: buyers who want a light 5000mAh radio with a longer stated term. Who should skip it: anyone who needs automatic NOAA alerts.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 2/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 5000mAh |
|---|---|
| Weight | 0.62 pounds |
| Water | IPX3 |
| Warranty | 18 months |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX3 stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. 18-month Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 2000mAh phone charger stated
- IPX3 stated
- Type-C cable included
- 7.2 ounces, pocket size
Cons
- 2000mAh is the smallest stated battery
- Bullets say 18-month warranty, spec table says 1 Year
- Flashlight says 4 modes but names 3
- No automatic NOAA alert is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states an emergency radio with a 2000mAh rechargeable battery, 7 NOAA channels with AM and FM, an SOS alarm with flashing mode, a 1W flashlight the bullets call 4-mode while naming low, medium and high, IPX3, a headphone jack, Type-C cable included with solar and hand crank charging, 5.7 by 2.2 by 2.7 inches at 7.2 ounces, and an 18-month warranty. The bullets state an 18-month warranty while the spec table states 1 Year, so trust the bullet figure.
Who it's for: buyers who want the smallest radio with a longer stated term. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a big battery or automatic alerts.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 2/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 2000mAh |
|---|---|
| Weight | 7.2 ounces |
| Water | IPX3 |
| Warranty | 18 months |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX3 stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. 18-month Warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- American Red Cross branding stated
- Smartphone charger stated
- NOAA reception stated
- 3 AAA batteries included
Cons
- No battery capacity is stated
- No warranty term is stated
- No water resistance figure is stated
- Listing states few specs
Detailed Review
The listing states an American Red Cross emergency weather radio with NOAA reception, an integrated LED, smartphone charging, 8.1 by 7.2 by 3.5 inches at 1.5 pounds, and 3 AAA batteries included. Few specs are stated: no battery capacity, no water resistance figure and no warranty term.
Who it's for: buyers who want the Red Cross branded radio. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stated specs for battery, water resistance or warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 65 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Size | 8.1 by 7.2 by 3.5 in |
|---|---|
| Weight | 1.5 pounds |
| Batteries | 3 AAA included |
| Charger | Smartphone stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
RunningSnail Emergency Crank RadioCheck on Amazon
yesiwtc Hand Crank Emergency Radio 7400mWhCheck on Amazon
Emgykit Hand Crank RadioCheck on Amazon
Mesqool Emergency Weather Radio NOAACheck on Amazon
OnLyee Emergency Radio with Hand Crank & SolarCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Radio | Solar Score | Battery | Phone charging | Alert | Water resistance | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mesqool 12000mAh Radio | 9.7/10 | 12000mAh | USB phone charging | Auto NOAA alert | Water resistant | 3 years | View on Amazon |
| Raynic CR1009Pro Radio | 9.7/10 | 5000mAh | USB phone charging | Auto alert standby | IPX3 | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| iRonsnow ALERTSYNC 5000 | 9.6/10 | 5000mAh | Phone charger stated | 7 NOAA stated | IPX3 | 18 months | View on Amazon |
| iRonsnow IS-088+ 2000 | 9.6/10 | 2000mAh | Phone charger stated | 7 NOAA stated | IPX3 | 18 months | View on Amazon |
| Eton FRX3 Radio | 9.4/10 | Not stated | Smartphone charger stated | NOAA stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For charger radios, safety means the water resistance the listing states: the Raynic and both iRonsnow state IPX3, and the Mesqool states water resistance. Three state a warranty term: the Mesqool states 3 years, the Raynic states 1 year, and both iRonsnow state 18 months per their bullets. The Eton states no warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mesqool 12000mAh Radio | 9.7 | 33 | 22 | 22 | 5 | 3 |
| Raynic CR1009Pro Radio | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 22 | 5 | 2 |
| iRonsnow ALERTSYNC 5000 | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 22 | 4 | 2 |
| iRonsnow IS-088+ 2000 | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 21 | 4 | 2 |
| Eton FRX3 Radio | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best emergency radio with cell phone charger
Charging your phone
The Mesqool states a 12000mAh battery that charges phones and USB devices, with 15 to 100 hours of operation across modes. The Raynic states a USB connector for USB-enabled smart devices with a 5000mAh 18500mWh battery. The iRonsnow pair states phone charging from 5000mAh and 2000mAh batteries over Type-C, solar and crank. The Eton states a smartphone charger with no battery capacity stated.
Alerts and bands
The Raynic and Mesqool state automatic NOAA scanning that alerts in standby. The iRonsnow pair states 7 NOAA channels with AM and FM. The Eton states NOAA reception.
| Radio | Battery | Phone charging |
|---|---|---|
| Mesqool 12000mAh Radio | 12000mAh | USB phone charging |
| Raynic CR1009Pro Radio | 5000mAh | USB phone charging |
| iRonsnow ALERTSYNC 5000 | 5000mAh | Phone charger stated |
| iRonsnow IS-088+ 2000 | 2000mAh | Phone charger stated |
| Eton FRX3 Radio | Not stated | Smartphone charger stated |
Lights, SOS and extras
The Mesqool states a 150 to 250 lumen flashlight with a 6-LED reading lamp under the flip-up panel. The Raynic states a 3W flashlight with a 2.5W reading lamp and a 3.5mm headphone jack. The iRonsnow pair states a 1W flashlight with SOS flashing and an earphone jack. For light when the grid fails, pair the radio with our solar lanterns for emergency.
Marks and the fine print
The Mesqool states a 3-year replacement or refund for any quality problem. The iRonsnow bullets state an 18-month warranty while the spec table says 1 Year, so compare on the bullet figure. The Raynic states 1 Year Warranty. The Eton states no warranty term. A solar power bank for camping covers the bigger charging jobs these radios cannot.
Sizing Notes
- Match the charging to the phone: 12000mAh on the Mesqool against 2000mAh on the iRonsnow 2000.
- Match the alert to your sleep: automatic NOAA scanning on the Raynic and Mesqool in standby.
- Match the water resistance to the weather: IPX3 on the Raynic and both iRonsnow.
- Keep warranty terms straight: 3 years on the Mesqool, 18 months on the iRonsnow pair per the bullets, 1 year on the Raynic, none on the Eton.
- Trust the bullets over the spec table: the iRonsnow warranty and weight figures differ between the two.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which state automatic NOAA alerts?
The Raynic and Mesqool state automatic NOAA scanning that alerts in standby. The iRonsnow pair and Eton state NOAA reception with no automatic alert named.
Which have the biggest battery?
The Mesqool at 12000mAh, then the Raynic and the iRonsnow 5000 at 5000mAh. The iRonsnow 2000 states 2000mAh, and the Eton states no capacity.
Which state a warranty longer than 1 year?
The Mesqool states 3 years and both iRonsnow state 18 months per their bullets. The Raynic states 1 year and the Eton states no term.
Which include a Type-C cable?
Both iRonsnow state a Type-C cable included. The Mesqool states Type-C input with the adapter not included.
Which state IPX3?
The Raynic and both iRonsnow. The Mesqool states water resistance, and the Eton states no figure.
Which are the lightest?
The iRonsnow 2000 at 7.2 ounces, then the iRonsnow 5000 at 0.62 pounds. The heaviest is the Eton at 1.5 pounds.
Related guides
See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. For emergency light see the best solar lanterns for emergency and the best solar lantern for camping.
More picks: the RunningSnail 090PG with its motion sensor lamp, the yesiwtc 090S with built-in cables, the Emgykit BG-086 pocket radio, the Mesqool CR1030 with 12000mAh, and the OnLyee CR1030 with IPX6 are extra options beyond the five scored picks.









