Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Path, String and Deck Lights

Best Solar Lanterns for Emergency (2026): 4 Compared

Four solar lanterns for emergencies compared on stated lumens, run time, charging methods, phone charging and warranty terms.

Best Solar Lanterns for Emergency (2026): 4 Compared
On this page

A power outage at dinner time with the house going dark is the moment the best solar lanterns for emergency prove themselves, lighting rooms without matches or fuel. We compared four emergency lanterns, checking stated lumens, run time, charging methods, phone charging and warranty terms. Outputs run from 150 to 650 lumens, run times from 25 hours to 200 hours, and two listings state a hand crank for making power when there is no sun and no outlet. Every number below comes from the listings themselves, and the ranking follows the Solar Score, which weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty from those stated figures.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The kits we chose

Raynic 6000 Lantern

Raynic 6000 Lantern

Raynic9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hand crank solar lantern with 650 lumens max, 200 hours at 50 lumens, solar plus micro USB charging, phone charging and IPX4.

Pros

  • 650 lumens max, dimmable from 0 to 650
  • 200 hours at 50 lumens stated
  • Solar, hand crank and 5V 2A micro USB charging
  • Charges phones in emergencies

Cons

  • IPX4 stated
  • 0.83 lb
  • 2700K is the only color temperature stated
  • No USB-C stated
Detailed Review

The title states a 650LM hand crank solar lantern with a built-in 6000 battery. The bullets state 200 hours at 50 lumens, a smooth rotary switch dimming from 0 to 650 lumens with modes from warm to white light, 3 charging modes (5V 2A micro USB, solar panel and hand crank), phone charging to keep in touch with family, a metal handle, 6.4 by 4.1 by 4.1 inches, 0.83 pounds, IPX4 and an 18-month warranty. The listing states the solar and hand crank modes maintain power in snowstorms and hurricanes.

Who it's for: anyone who wants the brightest lantern here with the longest stated low-mode run time. Who should skip it: anyone who wants USB-C charging, which the Mesqool states.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output650 lm max, dimmable
Runtime200 h at 50 lm
ChargeSolar, crank, micro USB
Warranty18 months stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 18-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mesqool Hand Crank Lantern

Mesqool Hand Crank Lantern

Mesqool9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hand crank solar lantern with a 3000mAh battery, 200LM main light plus 350LM flashlight, USB charging for phones and IPX4.

Pros

  • 3 charging methods: solar, 5V USB-C and hand crank
  • 3000mAh battery that charges phones via USB
  • 200LM main light plus a 350LM flashlight
  • 18-month warranty stated

Cons

  • IPX4 stated
  • 6000K is the only color temperature stated
  • 4 hours of strong light on the main light
  • 0.66 lb
Detailed Review

The title states a 3000mAh hand crank solar camping lantern with an 8-hour play time. The bullets state a 200LM main light for 4 hours of strong light and up to 35 hours of low light, a 3W 350LM flashlight for 8 hours of strong light and up to 30 hours of low light, 3 charging methods (5V USB-C cable included, solar panel and hand crank), a 3000mAh battery that charges Android phones via USB, 4.96 by 3.19 by 3.11 inches, 0.66 pounds, IPX4 and an 18-month warranty. The listing states the hand crank suits tornadoes, hurricanes and extreme snow storms.

Who it's for: anyone who wants three charging methods and a separate flashlight in one lantern. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the highest output, where the Raynic states 650 lumens.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery3000mAh, USB charger
Light200LM + 350LM flashlight
ChargeSolar, USB-C, hand crank
Warranty18 months stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 18 months warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Roxicosly 4-Pack Lantern

Roxicosly 4-Pack Lantern

Roxicosly9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-pack of rechargeable emergency lanterns with 150 lumens, 30-hour stated runtime, USB-C plus solar charging and an 18-month warranty.

Pros

  • 4 lanterns for home backup
  • 1600mAh with up to 30 hours of stated runtime
  • USB-C rechargeable with solar backup
  • Lantern and flashlight in one

Cons

  • Water resistant with no IP code stated
  • 150 lumens is the lowest output here
  • 6500K is the only color temperature stated
  • 1.03 kg for the 4-pack
Detailed Review

The title states a 4-pack of rechargeable emergency lanterns with USB-C and solar backup, 1600mAh and 30 hours of runtime. The bullets state 4 lanterns for placing around the home, lantern and flashlight modes, USB-C recharging with a solar panel for backup, up to 30 hours of runtime, a simple pull-up and button design for seniors and kids, 3.19 by 3.11 by 4.96 inches, 1.03 kg and an 18-month warranty with a 30-day money back guarantee. The spec table lists 150 lumens maximum and 6500 Kelvin.

Who it's for: households that want one lantern per room during an outage. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated weather rating or the brightest output.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack4 lanterns, 150 lumens
RuntimeUp to 30 h
ChargeUSB-C, solar
Warranty18 months stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Water resistant stated, no IP code, so safety scores 5 of 10. 18 months warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

XTAUTO 4-Pack Lantern

XTAUTO 4-Pack Lantern

XTAUTO9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-pack of collapsible solar lanterns with 1600mAh batteries, 25+ hours of stated light, solar plus USB charging and a 6-month warranty.

Pros

  • 4 lanterns, collapsible to phone size
  • More than 25 hours of stated light when fully charged
  • Lantern and flashlight in one
  • Automatic power-off protection against overcharging

Cons

  • 6-month warranty is the shortest stated
  • No IP code is stated
  • 4 AA batteries per lantern
  • No lumen figure is stated
Detailed Review

The title states a 4-pack of collapsible portable LED camping lanterns with solar and USB rechargeable flashlight modes. The bullets state 6+1 high-intensity LED chips, lantern and flashlight modes with brightness adjusted by pulling the lantern up, a collapsible design as small as a phone with a folding handle, ABS construction, water, heat and freeze resistance, more than 25 hours of light when fully charged, a built-in 1600mAh rechargeable battery, solar and USB charging, automatic power-off protection, 4 AA batteries included and a 6-month warranty.

Who it's for: anyone who wants four packable lanterns for the price of one listing. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated lumen figure or an IP code.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack4 lanterns, 1600mAh
Runtime25+ h stated
ChargeSolar, USB
Warranty6 months stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Water, heat and freeze resistant stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 6 months warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Numbers side by side

Pick Solar Score Output Run time Charging Warranty Amazon
Raynic 6000 Lantern 9.6/10 650 lm 200 h at 50 lm Solar, crank, micro USB 18 months View on Amazon
Mesqool Hand Crank Lantern 9.6/10 200LM + 350LM 35 h low (main) Solar, USB-C, crank 18 months View on Amazon
Roxicosly 4-Pack Lantern 9.6/10 150 lm Up to 30 h USB-C, solar 18 months View on Amazon
XTAUTO 4-Pack Lantern 9.5/10 Not stated 25+ h Solar, USB 6 months View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

Where the points went

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an emergency lantern, safety means the weather protection and safeguards the listing actually states, such as an IPX4 rating, overcharge protection or stated resistance to water, heat and cold; a listing that states none scores lower on that line. Value counts the packaging: the 4-packs spread light across rooms for one listing, while the singles are judged on battery size and charging breadth. Build reflects ABS or plastic construction with no crush rating stated. All four listings state a warranty term, from 6 months to 18 months. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Raynic 6000 Lantern 9.6 32 20 21 5 3
Mesqool Hand Crank Lantern 9.6 30 20 21 5 3
Roxicosly 4-Pack Lantern 9.6 28 19 21 5 3
XTAUTO 4-Pack Lantern 9.5 27 19 21 5 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar lanterns for emergency

Hand crank or USB charging

The Mesqool and Raynic state three charging methods: solar, USB (USB-C on the Mesqool, 5V 2A micro USB on the Raynic) and a hand crank for weather emergencies. The Roxicosly states USB-C with solar backup, and the XTAUTO states solar and USB charging. In an outage with no sun, the crank is the only option that needs no outlet at all. Our best solar power bank with crank guide covers more crank-charged gear.

Run time against output

The Raynic states 200 hours at 50 lumens, the Mesqool states up to 35 hours on low for its 200LM main light, the Roxicosly states up to 30 hours, and the XTAUTO states more than 25 hours. For brightness, the Raynic states up to 650 lumens, the Mesqool 200LM main plus a 350LM flashlight, the Roxicosly 150 lumens; the XTAUTO states no lumen figure. Lower modes stretch every battery further.

Pick Output Run time Charging
Raynic 6000 Lantern 650 lm 200 h at 50 lm Solar, crank, micro USB
Mesqool Hand Crank Lantern 200LM + 350LM 35 h low (main) Solar, USB-C, crank
Roxicosly 4-Pack Lantern 150 lm Up to 30 h USB-C, solar
XTAUTO 4-Pack Lantern Not stated 25+ h Solar, USB

4-packs against singles

The XTAUTO and Roxicosly come as 4-packs, so an outage finds one lantern in the bedroom, kitchen, hallway or garage without a hunt in the dark. The Mesqool and Raynic are singles that light one room or travel in a go bag. A house with frequent outages benefits from a pack; a car kit or tent needs just one good one. Singles concentrate the value in one body, packs spread it across rooms.

Weather protection

The Mesqool and Raynic state IPX4, which covers splashes and rain; the Roxicosly states water resistance with no code; the XTAUTO states water, heat and freeze resistance with no code. For a lantern that may live in a garage, a car or a tent, a stated code makes the claim concrete. None of the four states a drop rating or an IPX5 rating, so treat them with care rather than as hardy gear.

Warranty terms

The Mesqool, Raynic and Roxicosly state 18 months; the XTAUTO states 6 months. A longer stated warranty matters most on the picks that also charge phones, because the battery works hardest there. Terms alone do not make a lantern better, but they mark where the maker draws its own line.

Phone charging in an outage

The Mesqool and Raynic state they can charge a phone or Android device from the built-in battery; the XTAUTO and Roxicosly state no phone charging. A lantern that charges a phone covers both light and contact in one box. Our best portable power station for camping guide covers bigger backup power.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the charging to the outage: hand crank on the Mesqool and Raynic needs no outlet or sun.
  • Check stated run time on low modes: 200 hours at 50 lumens on the Raynic, 35 hours on the Mesqool.
  • Check phone charging: stated on the Mesqool and Raynic, not stated on the other two.
  • Check the weather rating: IPX4 on the Mesqool and Raynic, water resistant with no code on the other two.
  • Check the warranty line: 18 months on three picks, 6 months on the XTAUTO.

FAQ: power away from the grid

Which lantern states the longest run time?

The Raynic at 200 hours at 50 lumens, then the Mesqool at up to 35 hours on low, then the Roxicosly at up to 30 hours.

Which lanterns have a hand crank?

The Mesqool and Raynic. The XTAUTO and Roxicosly state solar and USB charging only.

Which lanterns can charge a phone?

The Mesqool and Raynic state a USB charging function for phones. The other two do not state one.

Which listings state a warranty term?

The Mesqool, Raynic and Roxicosly state 18 months; the XTAUTO states 6 months.

Which lantern is the brightest?

The Raynic at up to 650 lumens, then the Mesqool at 200LM main plus a 350LM flashlight, then the Roxicosly at 150 lumens.

Do the 4-packs cover a whole house?

The XTAUTO and Roxicosly come as 4-packs, made for placing one per room during an outage; the Mesqool and Raynic are singles.

Raynic 6000 Lantern
Still deciding? Our top pickRaynic 6000 Lantern
Check price on Amazon

See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar lights for camping.

More picks: solar power bank with crank, portable power station for camping. Also from this data set: LuminAID Nova Inflatable, Lepwings 6000mAh, DIBMS 4-Pack, Lichamp 4-Pack and Glocusent 400H.