Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Batteries and Charging

Best Extra Large Battery Box (2026): 5 Compared by Spec

Five extra large battery boxes compared on stated capacity size, material, mounting hardware and safety features, with every figure taken from the product listings.

Best Extra Large Battery Box (2026): 5 Compared by Spec
On this page

The best extra large battery box starts with a real off-grid problem: a battery that slides across the bilge, rattles on a trailer tongue or sits exposed to spray and curious hands with nothing holding it in place. This roundup compared the boxes the way the listings describe them, using only stated capacity sizes, materials, mounting hardware, lockable covers and safety features. The stainless steel dual box and the steel Group 27 box lead the ranking because their listings publish the most checkable detail, while the vented, strapped and port-equipped boxes round out the group. For every number below, the listing states it; where a listing stays silent, the review says so plainly.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Peastorm Stainless Dual Box
    Best Overall Peastorm Stainless Dual Box: stainless steel dual box with a lock and mounting hardware included Check price on Amazon
  • Peastorm Group 27 Steel Box
    Best Group 27 Fit Peastorm Group 27 Steel Box: Group 27 steel box with a lockable cover and side handles Check price on Amazon
  • Attwood 9065-1 Vented Box
    Best Vented Pick Attwood Vented Group 24 Box: vented Group 24 box with a strap for marine use Check price on Amazon
  • Newport Battery Box
    Best Extra Ports Newport Trolling Box with USB: trolling box with USB and DC ports built in Check price on Amazon
  • Camco Group 24
    Best Simple Group 24 Camco Group 24 Box with Strap: Group 24 box with a strap Check price on Amazon

The picks

Attwood 9065-1 Vented Box

Attwood 9065-1 Vented Box

attwood9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A vented Group 24 battery box with acid-resistant shell, 350-lb strap and USCG 183.420 compliance.

Pros

  • Vented lid lets battery gases escape
  • Acid-resistant polypropylene, stated to withstand impacts from -20°F to +120°F
  • 40-inch strap rated for 350 lbs with mounting hardware
  • Meets USCG 183.420 for OEM hold-down systems

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists U1 Series and smaller dimensions against the Group 24 title
  • Group 24 only, no larger group stated
  • 2 pounds with no per-part breakdown
Detailed Review

The listing states a vented Group 24 battery box with an interior of 10.6 by 7 by 10.125 inches, acid-resistant polypropylene stated to withstand impacts from -20°F to +120°F, a vented lid, a 40-inch strap rated for 350 lbs and USCG 183.420 compliance. The spec table contradicts the bullets: it lists U1 Series as the suitable size and 8-1/4 by 5-1/2 by 7-7/8 inches as the internal dimensions, so trust the title and bullets for the Group 24 fit.

Who it's for: RV and boat owners who want a vented Group 24 box with a serious hold-down strap. Who should skip it: buyers who need a written warranty term or a larger group size.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
FitsGroup 24
Interior10.6 x 7 x 10.125 in
Strap40 in, 350 lbs
ComplianceUSCG 183.420

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Vented lid for battery gases, acid-resistant shell and USCG 183.420 compliance stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Camco Group 24

Camco Group 24

Camco9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A Group 24 marine battery box with strap, foot clamps and USCG and ABYC compliance.

Pros

  • Meets USCG CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7
  • Woven hold-down strap with foot clamps
  • Corrosion-resistant polypropylene shell
  • Limited 1 Year warranty is stated

Cons

  • Group 24 only
  • Lift-off lid, not hinged
  • No charging ports or voltmeter
  • 1.32 kg before the battery
Detailed Review

Camco lists a Group 24 marine battery box in corrosion-resistant polypropylene with a lift-off lid, a woven hold-down strap, foot clamps and stainless screws, plus 2 in of terminal headroom. The bullets state compliance with USCG CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 specifications. The spec table states a Limited 1 Year warranty.

Who it's for: boaters who want a compliant, no-frills Group 24 box with a strap and clamps. Who should skip it: anyone who wants charging ports; the Litime is the smart pick.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
FitsGroup 24
ComplianceUSCG + ABYC
LidLift-off
WarrantyLimited 1 Year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. USCG CFR 183.420 and ABYC E-10.7 compliance are stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. Limited 1 Year warranty is stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Peastorm Stainless Dual Box

Peastorm Stainless Dual Box

peastorm9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A stainless steel dual battery box for 12V marine, RV, trailer and car use, with a lockable cover, side handles and mounting hardware included.

Pros

  • Stainless steel construction for a double battery series
  • Lockable upper cover with a lock included
  • Handles on both sides plus bottom fixing holes with screws included
  • Reserved cable holes protected by rubber rings

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
  • Measure your batteries first: maximum capacity is 22 by 8.5 by 11.5 inches
  • Listing gives no cable or fuse guidance
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V stainless steel dual battery box for car, marine, RV, trailers and camping, with handles on both sides, a lockable upper cover with a lock included, reserved holes protected by rubber rings and reserved fixing holes at the bottom with screws included. Maximum capacity size is 22 by 8.5 by 11.5 inches and the external size is 22.25 by 8.7 by 11.75 inches, with a note to measure the battery before purchasing. The packing list states 1 stainless steel battery box, 4 rubber rings, 4 screws and 1 lock, while the spec table lists 12 volts and a double battery series.

Who it's for: boat, RV and trailer owners who want two batteries in one stainless steel box with a lock. Who should skip it: owners with batteries larger than the stated maximum capacity, or buyers who want a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
FitsDouble battery series, 12V
Capacity size22 x 8.5 x 11.5 in
Box size22.25 x 8.7 x 11.75 in
IncludesLock, 4 rubber rings, screws

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Rubber rings protect reserved cable holes against contact, stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Peastorm Group 27 Steel Box

Peastorm Group 27 Steel Box

peastorm9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A black coated steel battery box for Group 27 batteries with a lockable cover, side handles and rubber ring protected cable holes.

Pros

  • Designed for Group 27 batteries, with car, marine, RV and trailer use stated
  • Lockable upper cover with side handles
  • Rubber rings protect the reserved cable holes
  • Bottom fixing holes with screws included

Cons

  • Requires assembly, stated at about 10 minutes
  • No warranty term is stated
  • No safety certification is stated
  • Maximum capacity of 13.78 by 7.8 by 11 inches may not fit larger batteries
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V steel battery box with a black spray coating for Group 27 batteries, for car, marine, RV, trailers and camping, with handles on both sides, a lockable upper cover, reserved holes protected by rubber rings and bottom fixing holes with screws included. Maximum capacity size is 13.78 by 7.8 by 11 inches and the external size is 14 by 8 by 11.25 inches. The listing notes the product requires assembly, which takes approximately 10 minutes, and the spec table lists the item weight as 10 pounds.

Who it's for: Group 27 battery owners who want a coated steel box with a lockable cover and mounting hardware. Who should skip it: buyers who want a box that arrives assembled, or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
FitsGroup 27, 12V
Capacity size13.78 x 7.8 x 11 in
Box size14 x 8 x 11.25 in
Weight10 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Rubber rings protect reserved cable holes against contact, stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Install it right. Fit shunts, bus bars and fuses within their stated current ratings, follow the wiring order in the manual, and disconnect the battery before you work on any connection.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Newport Battery Box

Newport Battery Box

Newport Vessels9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12V battery box with USB and DC ports, breakers and battery meter, for lead-acid batteries only.

Pros

  • USB and 12V DC ports with built-in battery meter
  • 10A and 60A circuit breakers stated
  • UL specification stated
  • 4.4 pounds with secure lid and rubber feet

Cons

  • Lead-acid only, not compatible with lithium ion batteries
  • A box, not a battery, so no capacity of its own
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 10.5 by 17 by 14 inches needs deck space
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12V trolling motor battery box with USB and 12V DC ports, 10A and 60A circuit breakers, a built-in battery meter, a UL specification, dimensions of 10.5 by 17 by 14 inches, 4.4 pounds, a secure lid and rubber feet. The listing states it is compatible only with lead acid type batteries and not with lithium ion batteries. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: lead-acid setups that want an organized power center with ports. Who should skip it: this lithium roundup, since the listing rules lithium out.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Voltage12V
Breakers10A and 60A
PortsUSB, 12V DC
Weight4.4 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL specification with 10A and 60A circuit breakers stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Sidasu Stainless Dual Battery BoxSidasu Stainless Dual Battery BoxStainless dual box for two 12V Group 24 or 27 batteries with a lockable cover.Check on Amazon
  • Ghost Controls Deep Cycle BoxGhost Controls Deep Cycle BoxLarge box that holds a Group 27 deep cycle battery with a lockable lid.Check on Amazon
  • Moeller 8D Marine Battery BoxMoeller 8D Marine Battery BoxRoto-molded box built for one 8D marine battery.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Box Solar Score Fits Material Mounting Warranty Amazon
Peastorm Stainless Dual Box 9.5/10 Double battery series, 12V Stainless steel Screws included, lock included Not stated View on Amazon
Peastorm Group 27 Steel Box 9.5/10 Group 27 Steel, black coated Screws included, assembly needed Not stated View on Amazon
Attwood Vented Group 24 Box 9.6/10 Group 24, vented Not stated Strap stated Not stated
Newport Trolling Box with USB 9.4/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Camco Group 24 Box with Strap 9.6/10 Group 24 Not stated Strap stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a battery box, safety means features the listing actually states, such as rubber-ringed cable holes, lockable covers and venting; a box that states none scores zero on that line. None of the five picks state a warranty term, so warranty is zero across the board. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Peastorm Stainless Dual Box 9.5 29 21 21 3 0
Peastorm Group 27 Steel Box 9.5 28 20 20 3 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best extra large battery box

Start from the battery group, not the box

Every box here is sized around a battery group, and the group decides fit before the box does. The Peastorm stainless dual box states a maximum capacity of 22 by 8.5 by 11.5 inches with an external size of 22.25 by 8.7 by 11.75 inches, and the Peastorm Group 27 box states 13.78 by 7.8 by 11 inches inside a 14 by 8 by 11.25 inch shell. The Attwood and Camco listings state only the Group 24 fit, with no dimensions at all, so measure your battery footprint against a group chart before ordering one of those. The Moeller 8D box in the more picks section goes larger still, stated at 25 by 15 by 13.06 inches for one 8D battery.

Steel boxes versus plastic boxes

The two Peastorm boxes state steel construction, stainless on the dual box and black coated steel on the Group 27 box. The Newport, Camco and Attwood listings state no material at all, which makes a fair material comparison impossible for those three. If corrosion resistance matters for your install, buy the box whose material the listing actually names.

Box Stated material Stated mounting
Peastorm Stainless Dual Box Stainless steel Screws included, lock included
Peastorm Group 27 Steel Box Steel, black coated Screws included, assembly needed
Attwood Vented Group 24 Box Not stated Strap stated
Newport Trolling Box with USB Not stated Not stated
Camco Group 24 Box with Strap Not stated Strap stated

Locking covers and mounting hardware

Both Peastorm boxes state lockable upper covers and bottom fixing holes with screws in the box. The dual box goes further with a lock included in the packing list, alongside four rubber rings and four screws, and rubber rings protecting the reserved cable holes. The other three listings state no cover, lock or mounting detail at all. For a box that lives on a trailer tongue or an open deck, a stated lock and stated mounting hardware are the difference between a purchase and a guess.

Match the box to your loads and venting needs

The vented Attwood box is the natural marine pick, since a vented box suits batteries that gas during charging; our best battery box with vent guide compares more vented options. The Newport box is the odd one out with USB and DC ports built into the box, handy for running accessories at the battery without extra wiring. Plan the rest of the install around the battery too: see our best 12V battery for cabin lighting and best battery disconnect switch for RV guides.

Sizing Notes

  • Match battery size to the stated maximum capacity: 22 by 8.5 by 11.5 inches for the dual stainless box, 13.78 by 7.8 by 11 inches for the Group 27 box.
  • Confirm your battery voltage against the 12V use both Peastorm boxes state.
  • The Peastorm Group 27 box requires assembly, stated at about 10 minutes, with screws included for the fixing holes.
  • A vented box suits batteries that gas during charging; the Attwood box is the vented pick here.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which box here fits two batteries?

The Peastorm stainless steel dual box, which states a double battery series and a maximum capacity of 22 by 8.5 by 11.5 inches. The Sidasu dual box in the more picks section states it fits two 12V Group 24 or 27 batteries.

Does the Peastorm Group 27 box arrive assembled?

The listing states the product requires assembly, which takes approximately 10 minutes. Handles, a lockable cover, rubber ring protected holes and bottom fixing holes with screws are part of the box.

Which boxes fit a Group 24 battery?

The Camco and Attwood listings both state a Group 24 fit, and the Attwood box adds venting. Neither listing states dimensions, so check your battery footprint before ordering.

Which pick has built-in power ports?

The Newport Vessels trolling motor battery box, which states USB and DC ports. The listing states nothing about material, size or the batteries it fits, so confirm those details before buying.

Do any of these boxes state a warranty term?

None of the five main picks state a warranty term. The Ghost Controls deep cycle box in the more picks section states an 18 Month Warranty.

Attwood 9065-1 Vented Box
Still deciding? Our top pickAttwood 9065-1 Vented Box
Check price on Amazon

See every Battery Monitors and Accessories guide and all Batteries and Charging guides. Also see our best battery box for truck. Also see our best battery box for tiny house. Also see our best kayak battery box.

More picks: best battery box with vent, steel vs aluminum battery box, best battery box for lithium battery under 50, best RV battery cables.