On this page
The best hand powered flashlight earns its drawer space by working when nothing else does: no outlet, no fresh batteries, no sun needed. We compared five listings on what they state about power source, brightness, runtime, pack size, water resistance and warranty. The Simpeak leads with two power sources and the only stated 2-year worry-free cover, while the Amazon Basics tops brightness but runs on batteries, not your hand.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Simpeak 2-Pack Hand Crank: Solar plus crank power and the only stated 2-year worry-free cover here. Check price on Amazon
Brightest Amazon Basics Flashlight: 200 lumens with 5 modes and a zoomable beam, plus an IPX4 rating. Check price on Amazon
Best 8-Pack Mudder 8-Pack Hand Crank: Eight hand-press crank lights with wrist straps for family kits. Check price on Amazon
Best 4-Pack Value Evelots 4-Pack Hand Crank: Four dual-LED crank lights with carry straps and a 30-day return. Check price on Amazon
Best for Kids and Seniors Guyuyii 4-Pack Hand Crank: Simple crank handle and on/off switch anyone can work. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Simpeak 2-Pack Hand Crank | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Amazon Basics Flashlight | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Mudder 8-Pack Hand Crank | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Evelots 4-Pack Hand Crank | 9.3/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Guyuyii 4-Pack Hand Crank | 9.2/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Simpeak 2-Pack Hand Crank
A Simpeak 2-pack of hand crank flashlights with a solar panel back-up, 150 lumens, a built-in carabiner and a stated 2-year worry-free period.
Pros
- Hand crank plus solar panel means two ways to recharge, the only dual-power pick here
- 2-pack covers two cars, two rooms or a backup with a spare
- Built-in carabiner clips to a backpack, stated for outdoor use
- 2-year worry-free period with 24 hours customer service is the strongest stated cover
Cons
- 10 minutes of lighting per minute of cranking is the shortest stated runtime
- 150 lumens is the lowest stated brightness of the five
- Water resistant is stated without an IP rating
- No USB charging port or extra power output is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a hand crank torch with a built-in rechargeable battery that gives more than 10 minutes of lighting from 1 minute of cranking at two rounds per second, plus a solar panel that absorbs strong and medium sunlight and lamp light as a back-up. It states 150 lumens, an ergonomic rugged design, a built-in durable carabiner, a 124 by 45 by 32 mm size, 86 g weight, water resistance and a 2-year worry-free period with 24 hours customer service.
Who it's for: the camper or driver who wants two power sources and the longest stated warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone needing the brightest beam or a stated IP rating.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power source | solar, hand crank |
|---|---|
| Brightness | 150 lumens |
| Runtime | 10 minutes |
| Weight | 86 g |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Water resistant per listing, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year worry-free per listing. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics Flashlight
A battery-powered handheld LED flashlight with 200 lumens, 5 light modes, a zoomable beam and an IPX4 water resistance rating.
Pros
- 200 lumens is the highest stated brightness of the five
- 5 light modes with a zoomable beam for wide or narrow light
- Sturdy aluminum body per the listing
- IPX4 water resistance rating is stated, a checkable rating
Cons
- Runs on 3 AAA batteries: it is not hand powered, the one pick off-topic
- No stated warranty term
- Single flashlight: no pack value
- Battery runtime is not stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a handheld pocket-sized LED flashlight with 200 lumens, 5 light modes and a zoomable beam, an aluminum body, an IPX4 water resistance rating and a lanyard. It runs on 3 AAA dry cell batteries, so it is the only pick here that is not hand powered at all.
Who it's for: the reader who wants the brightest stated beam and a checkable IPX4 rating. Who should skip it: anyone shopping strictly for a hand crank light.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 18/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness | 200 lumens |
|---|---|
| Light modes | 5 |
| Water resistance | IPX4 |
| Power source | 3 AAA batteries |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IPX4 water resistance rating, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mudder 8-Pack Hand Crank
A Mudder 8-pack of hand-press crank flashlights with 3 LEDs, 100 lumens and braided wrist straps.
Pros
- 8-pack is the largest pack here: one purchase covers a household
- 3 LEDs per light with 100 lumens stated
- Hand-press crank generates power with no batteries needed
- Braided wrist straps help avoid losing them outdoors
Cons
- Not water resistant per the listing
- No stated warranty term
- Bulkiest stated pack size at 9.65 by 4.13 by 2.56 inches
- No runtime figure is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 8 hand crank flashlights with 3 LEDs and 100 lumens, a hand-press crank that generates power with no batteries, a non slip rubber switch and a braided wrist strap. It states a 9.65 by 4.13 by 2.56 inch size and not water resistant.
Who it's for: the family that wants a light in every room, car and go-bag at once. Who should skip it: anyone needing water resistance or a stated warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 18/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 65 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness | 100 lumens |
|---|---|
| LEDs | 3 |
| Pack size | 8 |
| Power source | Manual |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Evelots 4-Pack Hand Crank
An Evelots 4-pack of hand-press crank flashlights with dual LEDs, a crank lock toggle and carry straps.
Pros
- 4-pack covers home, car, backpack and emergency kit in one purchase
- Dual LED lamps with an on/off switch, crank lock toggle and carry strap
- 4 by 2 by 1 inches and under 3 ounces: the smallest stated size
- 30-day easy return policy is stated
Cons
- No warranty is stated
- Not water resistant per the listing
- No brightness figure in lumens is stated
- No runtime figure is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states 4 hand crank flashlights with two LED lamps, a hand-press crank that generates power without batteries, an on/off switch, a crank lock toggle and a carry strap. It states a 4 by 2 by 1 inch size, under 3 ounces weight, no warranty and not water resistant.
Who it's for: the preparedness buyer who wants small, cheap-to-place lights everywhere. Who should skip it: anyone wanting a stated brightness or warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 23/35, build 18/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 61 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 2 |
|---|---|
| Pack size | 4 |
| Dimensions | 4 by 2 by 1 in |
| Weight | under 3 ounces |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Guyuyii 4-Pack Hand Crank
A Guyuyii 4-pack of hand crank flashlights with 3 LEDs, wrist straps and a stated 30-minute runtime.
Pros
- 30-minute runtime is the longest stated here
- Simple hand-crank operation suited to kids and seniors per the listing
- 4-pack with wrist straps for carrying
- Manual power: no batteries or assembly needed
Cons
- The spec table says 200 lumens but the title says 20 lumens: a listing contradiction
- 20 lumens is the dimmest stated brightness here
- No warranty is stated
- Not water resistant per the listing
Detailed Review
The listing's title states a 20-lumen flashlight while its spec table states 200 lumens, a direct contradiction; trusting the title and bullets as the rules require, the brightness is 20 lumens. It states 3 LEDs, a 30-minute runtime, a 4.9 by 2.8 by 4.4 inch size, wrist straps and manual power with no batteries needed.
Who it's for: grandparents and kids who need the simplest possible emergency light. Who should skip it: anyone needing real brightness or a stated warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.2/10 comes from performance 22/35, build 16/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 57 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Brightness | 20 lumens (title) |
|---|---|
| Runtime | 30 minutes |
| Pack size | 4 |
| Power source | Manual |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Simpeak 2-Pack Hand Crank Solar PoweredCheck on Amazon
Evelots 12-Pack Hand Crank FlashlightsCheck on Amazon
Mudder 24 Hand Crank FlashlightCheck on Amazon
Treela 36 Hand Crank FlashlightsCheck on Amazon
Coast GX10 550 Lumen Compact & Dual PowerCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Flashlight | Solar Score | Power source | Brightness | Pack size | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simpeak 2-Pack Hand Crank | 9.6/10 | solar, hand crank | 150 lumens | 2 | 2-year worry-free | View on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics Flashlight | 9.5/10 | 3 AAA batteries | 200 lumens | 1 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Mudder 8-Pack Hand Crank | 9.4/10 | Manual | 100 lumens | 8 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Evelots 4-Pack Hand Crank | 9.3/10 | Battery Powered | 2 LEDs | 4 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Guyuyii 4-Pack Hand Crank | 9.2/10 | Manual | 20 lumens | 4 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For flashlights, safety means stated water resistance: the Amazon Basics earns it with an IPX4 rating and the Simpeak with stated water resistance, while the three manual picks state not water resistant and score zero. Only the Simpeak states a warranty with a concrete term, so it is the only pick scoring on warranty. The Amazon Basics is scored as the brightest stated beam even though it is battery powered. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simpeak 2-Pack Hand Crank | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 4 |
| Amazon Basics Flashlight | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 18 | 7 | 0 |
| Mudder 8-Pack Hand Crank | 9.4 | 26 | 18 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Evelots 4-Pack Hand Crank | 9.3 | 23 | 18 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Guyuyii 4-Pack Hand Crank | 9.2 | 22 | 16 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best hand powered flashlight
Crank, solar or battery power?
Three listings here are manual crank lights: the Evelots, Mudder and Guyuyii generate power by cranking, with no batteries needed. The Simpeak adds a solar panel as a back-up powering method alongside its crank, the only dual-power pick. The Amazon Basics is the outlier: it runs on 3 AAA batteries, so it does not belong in a hand crank comparison on power source, but it does belong on brightness.
How bright is bright enough?
Stated brightness runs from 200 lumens on the Amazon Basics down to 20 lumens on the Guyuyii, with the Simpeak at 150 and the Mudder at 100. Watch the Guyuyii listing: its spec table says 200 lumens while its title says 20 lumens, and the title wins under our rules. The Evelots states no lumen figure at all, only dual LED lamps. For area light beyond a beam, see our hand crank lantern picks.
Packs and placement
Pack sizes run 2, 4 and 8. The Simpeak 2-pack covers a car and a kitchen drawer. The Evelots and Guyuyii 4-packs cover a home, car, backpack and emergency kit in one purchase. The Mudder 8-pack covers a household with spares to share. Placement aids are stated too: the Simpeak clips to a backpack with a carabiner, the Mudder and Guyuyii wear braided wrist straps, and the Evelots includes carry straps. A pack only helps if you distribute it; one drawer with eight lights and seven dark rooms is not preparedness.
Warranty and water resistance
Only the Simpeak states a warranty with a concrete term: a 2-year worry-free period with 24 hours customer service. The Evelots states a 30-day easy return policy, which is not a warranty. The other three state no warranty term at all. On water, the Amazon Basics states an IPX4 rating, the Simpeak states water resistant without a rating, and the Mudder, Evelots and Guyuyii state not water resistant. If the light lives in a boat bag or a wet garage, the rating matters more than the lumens.
Sizing Notes
- Stated brightness: 200, 150, 100 and 20 lumens; match the lumens to the room, path or campsite you need to light.
- Stated runtime: the Simpeak gives 10 minutes of lighting from 1 minute of cranking, the Guyuyii states 30 minutes.
- Stated pack sizes: 2, 4 and 8; count the cars, rooms and go-bags you need to cover before you buy.
- Stated size and weight: the Simpeak is 4.88 by 1.26 by 1.77 inches at 86 g; the Evelots is 4 by 2 by 1 inches and under 3 ounces.
- Stated cover: the Simpeak carries a 2-year worry-free period, the Evelots a 30-day easy return; the rest state none.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does one minute of cranking last?
The Simpeak listing states more than 10 minutes of lighting from 1 minute of cranking at two rounds per second. The other crank picks state no crank-to-light ratio.
Can a hand crank flashlight charge from the sun?
The Simpeak states a solar panel as a back-up powering method that absorbs strong and medium sunlight and lamp light. The Evelots, Mudder and Guyuyii are manual crank only.
Are any of these water resistant?
The Amazon Basics states an IPX4 water resistance rating and the Simpeak states water resistant. The Mudder, Evelots and Guyuyii state not water resistant.
Do any run on batteries?
The Amazon Basics runs on 3 AAA dry cell batteries. The Guyuyii includes 1 lithium metal battery, and the Evelots and Mudder describe internal or NiMH batteries with a manual crank back-up. Only the Simpeak states a built-in rechargeable battery charged by crank and solar.
Which pick suits a go-bag?
The Simpeak at 86 g with a built-in carabiner clips to a backpack and adds solar back-up. The Evelots at under 3 ounces with a carry strap is the smallest stated light for a packed bag.
Related guides
See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.
More picks: hand crank lanterns, solar light bulbs, solar spotlights, outdoor security lights.




