On this page
The best large outdoor solar lantern for a patio or garden stays lit through the evening and stands up to the weather where you hang it. We compared what each listing states: glow time, charging options, IP codes, build and warranty terms. The Hompavo leads on charging flexibility and stated coverage, while the PAKEDANDUN suits anyone who wants a remote-controlled floor lamp.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Hompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern: USB-C plus solar charging, 12-hour glow and 10-year after-sale service Check price on Amazon
Best Floor Lamp PAKEDANDUN Solar Floor Lamp: remote, timer and replaceable E26 bulb with IP65 Check price on Amazon
Best Metal Build pearlstar Large Solar Lantern: metal build with IP44 and dusk-to-dawn sensor Check price on Amazon
Flame Effect Pick Marlrin 2-Pack Flame Lantern: IP65 2-pack with vintage flame styling Check price on Amazon
Glass 2-Pack SHYMERY 2-Pack Glass Lantern: tempered glass 2-pack; the listing states no further details Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Hompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | PAKEDANDUN Solar Floor Lamp | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Marlrin 2-Pack Solar Lantern | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | pearlstar Large Solar Lantern | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | SHYMERY 2-Pack Lantern | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Hompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern
A two-pack of flame-effect solar lanterns with USB-C and solar charging, a dusk-to-dawn sensor, IP65 and a 10-year after-sale service.
Pros
- USB-C charging in 3 hours or solar in 6 to 8 hours, with up to 12 hours of glow stated
- Flame mode plus steady light mode
- Light sensor turns on at dusk and off at dawn
- 10-year after-sale service: money back or replacement stated
Cons
- 4.8 by 4.8 by 5.4 inches, a small stated size for the large label
- ABS housing rather than metal or glass
- No lumen figure is stated
- The sensor needs the switch on and darkness to trigger on first use
Detailed Review
The listing states a two-pack of larger Gen2 flame lanterns with USB-C charging in 3 hours or solar charging in 6 to 8 hours for up to 12 hours of glow, a flame mode and a steady light mode, and a light sensor that turns on at dusk and off at dawn. The housing is ABS, the code is IP65, the size is 4.8 by 4.8 by 5.4 inches, and the box includes two lanterns, two USB-C cables and a manual. The after-sale service is 10 years: money back or replacement for any product issue.
Who it's for: buyers who want a decorative flame look with both USB-C and solar charging and the longest stated coverage here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated brightness figure or a metal and glass build.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 5/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charging | USB-C 3 hrs, solar 6-8 hrs |
|---|---|
| Glow | Up to 12 hrs |
| IP code | IP65 |
| Size | 4.8 x 4.8 x 5.4 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 10-year after-sale service: money back or replacement for any product issue in 10 years, so warranty scores 5 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PAKEDANDUN Solar Floor Lamp
A solar floor lamp lantern with remote brightness and timer control, a replaceable E26 bulb, IP65 and a 2 year warranty.
Pros
- Remote control of brightness and timers from up to 4m stated
- Standard E26 socket with replaceable bulb included
- Stainless steel and PE build with IP65 stated
- About 5 hours of charge for up to 12 hours of light stated
Cons
- 8 pounds stated
- No lumen figure is stated
- Floor lamp form only; not for hanging
- Remote is the only control stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a solar floor lamp lantern that charges in about 5 hours for up to 12 hours of light, with auto-on at dusk, smart brightness adjustment, a remote working from 4m for brightness and timers, and a standard E26 socket with the bulb included. The build is stainless steel and PE with an IP65 code, the size is 7.87 by 7.87 by 16.93 inches at 8 pounds, and the warranty is 2 years.
Who it's for: patio owners who want a movable floor lamp with remote control and a replaceable bulb. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a hanging lantern, which this is not.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Light | Up to 12 hrs, dusk to dawn |
|---|---|
| Control | Remote, 4m, timers |
| IP code | IP65 |
| Size | 7.87 x 7.87 x 16.93 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2 year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Marlrin 2-Pack Solar Lantern
A 2-pack of vintage solar flame lanterns with IP65 protection and a 2-year warranty.
Pros
- Up to 10 hours of stated light in summer
- IP65 weather protection stated
- Vintage design with a hanging handle
- 2-year warranty stated
Cons
- Spec table lists USB-C power against solar in the title
- 6 to 8 hours in winter, less than summer
- No brightness figure in lumens is stated
- Plastic construction only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-pack of vintage solar flame lanterns with up to 10 hours of light in summer and 6 to 8 hours in winter after an 8-hour charge, IP65 weather protection, plastic construction, a handle for hanging, lithium-ion batteries and a 2-year warranty. The spec table lists the power source as USB-C rechargeable against the title's and bullets' solar power, so trust the title and bullets.
Who it's for: porches and patios that want a vintage flame look with the longest solar warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone counting on winter runtime equal to summer.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Runtime | 10 h summer, 6-8 h winter |
|---|---|
| Charge | 8 h sunlight |
| Weather | IP65 |
| Size | 6 x 4.15 x 9.4 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 weather protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

pearlstar Large Solar Lantern
A large metal solar lantern with warm white light, a 4.5V solar panel, a dusk-to-dawn sensor, IP44 and a 180-day warranty.
Pros
- Metal build with a crystal-style plastic shade
- 4.5V solar panel stated, with 30% brighter illumination claimed
- Dusk-to-dawn sensor stated
- Hanging handle or tabletop placement
Cons
- IP44, the lowest code stated here
- Only a 180-day warranty is stated
- No glow duration is stated
- Maker says it is for ambient light, not intense task lighting
Detailed Review
The listing states a large black metal solar lantern with warm white light through a crystal-style plastic shade, a 4.5V solar panel, a rechargeable battery, and a dusk-to-dawn sensor. The maker claims up to 30% brighter illumination than standard solar lights and codes it IP44 for water and dust. The size is 7 by 7.09 by 7 inches, and the warranty is 180 days.
Who it's for: buyers who want a decorative metal lantern for ambient patio light. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated glow duration or a higher IP code.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 1/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Panel | 4.5V solar |
|---|---|
| Light | Warm white |
| IP code | IP44 |
| Size | 7 x 7.09 x 7 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP44 for water and dust stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 180-day warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SHYMERY 2-Pack Lantern
A 2-pack of tempered glass solar lanterns with flickering candle light, 12 to 16 hours of stated light and protection circuitry.
Pros
- 12 to 16 hours of stated light after a 6-hour charge
- Tempered glass with a flickering candle effect
- Over-charge and short-circuit protection stated
- 2 lanterns, 14 inches tall
Cons
- The warranty description reads only '1', with no term stated
- 10 lumens is the lowest stated figure here
- 1.56 kg for the pair
- 2 AA batteries per lantern, 4 in total
Detailed Review
The title states a 2-pack of 14-inch tempered glass solar lanterns with flickering flameless candle light. The bullets state monocrystalline silicon panels that charge for 6 hours and provide 12 to 16 hours of light, over-charge and short-circuit protection, a sealing design, tempered glass with a soft flickering effect, a built-in light sensor for automatic on at dusk, and 5.5 by 14 by 5.5 inches per lantern. The spec table lists 10 lumens maximum, 2 AA batteries per lantern and a warranty description that reads only '1', so no warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: table and porch settings where a long, soft candle glow matters more than brightness. Who should skip it: anyone who wants real path illumination or a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pack | 2 lanterns, tempered glass |
|---|---|
| Output | 10 lumens, flickering |
| Runtime | 12-16 h after 6 h charge |
| Protection | Over-charge, short-circuit |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Over-charge and short-circuit protection stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
HERJIATK 13.2in 2-Pack LanternsFor a matched 2-pack with flickering candle effect and IP44.Check on Amazon
PARTPHONER 14.6in 2-Pack LanternsFor tall metal 2-pack lanterns with USB-C and 1-year warranty.Check on Amazon
Litehouse Touch Control LanternFor touch control, 3 brightness levels and up to 26 hours of light.Check on Amazon
ALL FORTUNE 24in/18in Lantern SetFor an extra-large 24-inch and 18-inch pair with IP65.Check on Amazon
ALL FORTUNE 26in/18in Lantern SetFor the tallest pair here, 26-inch and 18-inch, with IP65.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Lantern | Solar Score | Glow stated | IP code | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern | 9.7/10 | Up to 12 hrs | IP65 | 10-year after-sale | View on Amazon |
| PAKEDANDUN Solar Floor Lamp | 9.7/10 | Up to 12 hrs | IP65 | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| pearlstar Large Solar Lantern | 9.5/10 | Not stated | IP44 | 180 days | View on Amazon |
| Marlrin 2-Pack Flame Lantern | 9.6/10 | Not stated | IP65 | Not stated | |
| SHYMERY 2-Pack Glass Lantern | 9.5/10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an outdoor lantern, safety means a stated IP code; three picks here state IP65 and one states IP44. Three of the five state a warranty term, from 180 days to a 10-year after-sale service. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 5 |
| PAKEDANDUN Solar Floor Lamp | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 3 |
| pearlstar Large Solar Lantern | 9.5 | 27 | 20 | 19 | 6 | 1 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best large outdoor solar lantern
Start from the glow you need
Lanterns here split into flame-effect decoration and plain illumination. The Hompavo offers a flame mode and a steady light mode, while the pearlstar gives warm white light through a crystal-style shade and the maker notes it is for ambient light, not intense task lighting. No listing here states a lumen figure, so compare on stated glow time and charging instead.
Check the charging options
Solar-only is the norm, but the Hompavo adds USB-C charging in 3 hours for cloudy stretches, against 6 to 8 hours via solar. The PAKEDANDUN charges in about 5 hours of sun. Both state up to 12 hours of glow; the other three listings state no duration.
| Lantern | Charging stated | Glow stated |
|---|---|---|
| Hompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern | USB-C 3 hrs, solar 6-8 hrs | Up to 12 hrs |
| PAKEDANDUN Solar Floor Lamp | Solar, about 5 hrs | Up to 12 hrs |
| pearlstar Large Solar Lantern | Solar | Not stated |
| Marlrin 2-Pack Flame Lantern | Solar | Not stated |
| SHYMERY 2-Pack Glass Lantern | Solar | Not stated |
Match the IP code to the spot
The Hompavo, PAKEDANDUN and Marlrin state IP65, while the pearlstar states IP44. For a lantern that hangs unsheltered through storms, the IP65 picks state the stronger code. The SHYMERY listing states no code at all. See our best solar lantern for patio for more placement ideas.
Read the coverage lines closely
Coverage varies more than the lanterns do. Hompavo states a 10-year after-sale service with money back or replacement, the PAKEDANDUN states 2 years, and pearlstar states 180 days. The Marlrin and SHYMERY listings state no term.
Sizing Notes
- Match the lantern to the spot: hanging, tabletop or freestanding floor lamp, per the listing.
- Check the stated glow time against your evening: two picks state up to 12 hours.
- For exposed spots, prefer a stated IP65 code over IP44.
- A USB-C charging option, stated on the Hompavo, covers stretches without sun.
- Keep the solar panel clear and facing the sky so the dusk-to-dawn sensor behaves.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do solar lanterns work on cloudy days?
They charge slower without direct sun. The Hompavo also charges via USB-C in 3 hours, so it does not depend on sun alone; the other picks here rely on their solar panels.
How long do these lanterns glow per charge?
The Hompavo and PAKEDANDUN both state up to 12 hours. The pearlstar, Marlrin and SHYMERY listings state no duration.
Which of these can hang?
The Hompavo works hanging or as a table lamp, and the pearlstar hangs from its metal handle or sits on a table. The PAKEDANDUN is a freestanding floor lamp.
Which pick has the longest stated coverage?
The Hompavo, with a 10-year after-sale service covering money back or replacement. The PAKEDANDUN states 2 years, pearlstar 180 days, and the other two state none.
Can you replace the bulb?
The PAKEDANDUN uses a standard E26 socket and the bulb is included and replaceable. The other listings do not state a replaceable bulb.
Related guides
See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar lantern for garden. Also see our best solar lantern for camping.
More picks: best solar lantern for patio, best solar lantern for garden, best solar lantern for backyard.




