On this page
At dusk on a campsite, a dead phone and a dark porch light show why a small cell matters, and the best lithium battery under 250 is the CR123A cell that keeps cameras, flashlights and smart home devices running. We compared what each listing states: voltage, pack size, stated storage and stated warranty terms. The 12-pack leads because it pairs the largest pack size in this group with the widest device list, while the 6-count packs suit a smaller set of devices. The title-only pick sits last because its listing gives no bullets or spec table to compare.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Energizer 123 12-Pack: Largest pack size in this group, with the widest device list Check price on Amazon
Best Outdoor Use Duracell CR123A 6-Pack: Wide temperature range stated, for outdoor cameras and flashlights Check price on Amazon
Best 6-Pack Energizer 123 6-Pack: Long storage stated, for cameras, flashlights and smart home devices Check price on Amazon
Spare Option Amazon Basics CR123A 6-Pack: Kept last, as a spare option with title-only detail Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Energizer 123 12-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Duracell CR123A 6-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Energizer 123 6-Pack | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Amazon Basics CR123A 6-Pack | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Energizer 123 12-Pack
A 12-pack of 3V lithium photo batteries for cameras, flashlights and smart home devices, with storage up to 10 years stated.
Pros
- 12 count pack, the largest pack size in this group
- Names garage door openers, gate openers, keypads, home security systems, motion sensors and security cameras
- Storage up to 10 years stated, for backup power in flashlights and detectors
- Listed as a CR123A substitute for flashlights, cameras and smart home devices
Cons
- Warranty description in the spec table says only to contact the maker, with no term stated
- No certification or protection feature is stated
- Package size of 0.5 x 3.0 x 7.0 inches is the longest package in this group
- Item weight of 0.47 pounds is the heaviest pack weight stated in this group
Detailed Review
The listing states a 12-pack of Energizer 123 lithium photo batteries at 3V, for cameras, flashlights and smart home devices, with storage up to 10 years stated and use in garage door openers, gate openers, keypads, home security systems, motion sensors, security cameras, smoke detectors, fire alarms, carbon monoxide detectors, programmable thermostats and door sensors. The spec table gives 0.47 pounds and 0.5 x 3.0 x 7.0 inches, with a warranty description that says only to contact the maker and no term stated. The title, bullets and spec table agree on the 12 count pack size and the 3V voltage, with no contradiction between them on those figures.
Who it's for: homes with several cameras, flashlights and sensors that take CR123A cells and want one larger spare pack. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term or a stated certification before they buy.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage | 3V |
|---|---|
| Pack size | 12 count |
| Item weight | 0.47 pounds |
| Package size | 0.5 x 3.0 x 7.0 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Duracell CR123A 6-Pack
A 6-count pack of 3V lithium batteries for tactical flashlights, security cameras, alarm sensors and professional cameras, with 10 years in storage stated.
Pros
- Powers tactical flashlights, security cameras, alarm sensors and professional cameras
- 10 years in storage stated for spares kept for cameras and security systems
- Wide temperature range stated, from sub-freezing to high heat, for outdoor cameras
- High-energy lithium chemistry stated, with more energy density than standard alkaline in high-drain devices
Cons
- Only 6 count in the pack, against the 12 count of the leading pick
- No warranty term with a concrete length is stated; the spec table lists a warranty description with no term
- No certification, protection feature or connector detail is stated
- No device list for garage door openers, gate openers or keypads, which the leading pick names
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6-count pack of Duracell CR123A 3V lithium batteries for tactical flashlights, home security cameras, alarm sensors and professional cameras, with high-energy lithium chemistry, a wide temperature range from sub-freezing to high heat, and 10 years in storage stated. The spec table gives 0.23 pounds and 0.7 x 3.75 x 4.5 inches, with a warranty description that gives no term. The bullets give 10 years in storage while the spec table gives no warranty term, so the storage figure is not a warranty term, and the title, bullets and spec table agree on the 6 count pack size and the 3V voltage.
Who it's for: buyers who want a 6-count pack for cameras and flashlights, with outdoor use and a stated storage figure. Who should skip it: buyers who want a larger pack or a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage | 3V |
|---|---|
| Pack size | 6 count |
| Item weight | 0.23 pounds |
| Package size | 0.7 x 3.75 x 4.5 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Energizer 123 6-Pack
A 6-pack of 3V lithium photo batteries for cameras, flashlights and smart home devices, with storage up to 10 years stated.
Pros
- Storage up to 10 years stated, for cameras, flashlights and smart home devices
- Listed for cameras, flashlights and smart home devices, with a long shelf life stated
- Listed as a CR123A replacement type for flashlights, cameras and smart home devices
- Package weight of 0.24 pounds, lighter than the 12-pack weight stated
Cons
- Only 6 count, against 12 count in the leading pick
- No warranty term is stated in the listing
- No certification or protection feature is stated
- Device list is narrower than the 12-pack list, with no garage door opener, gate opener or keypad named
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6-pack of Energizer 123 lithium photo batteries at 3V, for cameras, flashlights and smart home devices, with storage up to 10 years stated. The spec table gives 0.24 pounds and 0.7 x 3.76 x 4.51 inches, with no warranty description at all. The title, bullets and spec table agree on the 6 count pack size and the 3V voltage, with no contradiction between them on those figures.
Who it's for: buyers who want a smaller spare pack for a camera, a flashlight or a smart home device, with storage up to 10 years stated. Who should skip it: buyers who want a larger pack or a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Voltage | 3V |
|---|---|
| Pack size | 6 count |
| Item weight | 0.24 pounds |
| Package size | 0.7 x 3.76 x 4.51 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 30 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Amazon Basics CR123A 6-Pack
A 6-pack of non-rechargeable CR123A lithium batteries with 1550mAh capacity and up to 10-year shelf life.
Pros
- 1550mAh capacity per the spec table
- Up to 10-year leak-free shelf life
- Six batteries per pack
- Ideal for flashlights and cameras, per the listing
Cons
- Not rechargeable; single use only
- No warranty term is stated
- Not recommended for Arlo security cameras
- Small 3V cells, not for solar banks
Detailed Review
Amazon Basics lists a 6-pack of CR123A lithium batteries, 3 volt with 1550mAh capacity. The bullets describe an improved design with up to 10-year leak-free shelf life, ideal for flashlights, night-vision goggles and other high-drain devices. The spec table confirms the 1550 milliamp-hour capacity, 3-volt output and single-use design, with item dimensions of 0.67 by 0.67 by 1.34 inches. The listing notes they are not rechargeable, are for one-time use only, and are not recommended for Arlo security cameras.
Who it's for: owners of flashlights, cameras and night-vision devices who want a multi-year shelf life from a value pack. Who should skip it: anyone building a rechargeable solar battery bank, since these cells are single-use only.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 1550mAh |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 3V |
| Count | 6-pack |
| Shelf life | Up to 10 years |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No battery management system, protection or listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Battery safety. Charge with a charger and settings that match the stated chemistry, fuse the positive lead as the manual directs, cover terminals, keep within the stated temperature range, and never charge a damaged battery.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Battery | Solar Score | Voltage | Pack size | Storage | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Energizer 123 12-Pack | 9.5/10 | 3V | 12 count | Up to 10 years | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Duracell CR123A 6-Pack | 9.5/10 | 3V | 6 count | 10 years | Limited warranty | View on Amazon |
| Energizer 123 6-Pack | 9.5/10 | 3V | 6 count | Up to 10 years | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics CR123A 6-Pack | 9.4/10 | 3V | 6 count | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 30 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a lithium battery, safety means certifications and protections the listing actually states; none of the four listings states a certification or protection feature, so every pick scores zero on that line. None of the four listings states a warranty term with a concrete length, so every pick scores zero on warranty as well. Performance, build and value therefore decide the ranking here, with pack size, device list and storage detail carrying the most weight. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Energizer 123 12-Pack | 9.5 | 32 | 21 | 22 | 0 | 0 |
| Duracell CR123A 6-Pack | 9.5 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 |
| Energizer 123 6-Pack | 9.5 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best lithium battery under 250
Match the voltage and cell type
Every pick in this group is a 3V CR123A lithium battery, so the first check is simple: the device must call for a CR123A cell at 3V. A cell of a different type or voltage does not belong in a device that names CR123A, even if the pack size looks right. The Energizer 123 12-Pack and the Energizer 123 6-Pack both list CR123A as a replacement type, and the Duracell CR123A 6-Pack names CR123A in its title, so all three full-data picks line up on type and voltage. For the camera side of a home setup, see our best LiFePO4 battery for security camera guide, which covers larger camera power options that sit outside this CR123A group.
Pick a pack size for the devices you keep running
Pack size is the clearest split in this group. The Energizer 123 12-Pack gives 12 count in one pack, while the Duracell CR123A 6-Pack, the Energizer 123 6-Pack and the Amazon Basics CR123A 6-Pack each give 6 count. A home with cameras, flashlights, alarm sensors and smart home devices spread across rooms will use cells faster than a home with a single camera and a single flashlight, so the larger pack suits the busier home and the smaller packs suit the lighter home. Count the devices that take CR123A cells before choosing, and keep the spare pack size in line with that count. A larger home battery bank is a different purchase from these small cells, covered in our best lithium battery bank guide.
| Battery | Pack size | Storage |
|---|---|---|
| Energizer 123 12-Pack | 12 count | Up to 10 years |
| Duracell CR123A 6-Pack | 6 count | 10 years |
| Energizer 123 6-Pack | 6 count | Up to 10 years |
| Amazon Basics CR123A 6-Pack | 6 count | Not stated |
Read the storage line before stocking spares
Storage detail separates the three full-data picks from the title-only pick. The Duracell CR123A 6-Pack gives 10 years in storage, and both Energizer picks give storage up to 10 years, while the Amazon Basics CR123A 6-Pack gives no storage figure at all. A spare pack bought for an emergency kit, a camera bag or a set of alarm sensors is only useful if it is still ready when the device calls for it, so a stated storage figure matters more for spares than for cells used right away. If the listing gives no storage figure, treat the pack as a pack to use rather than a pack to hold for a long stretch.
Compare package size and weight for storage
Package size and weight vary across the full-data picks, and both figures help when shelf space is tight. The Energizer 123 12-Pack lists 0.5 x 3.0 x 7.0 inches and 0.47 pounds, the Duracell CR123A 6-Pack lists 0.7 x 3.75 x 4.5 inches and 0.23 pounds, and the Energizer 123 6-Pack lists 0.7 x 3.76 x 4.51 inches and 0.24 pounds. The 12-pack package is the longest of the three, while the Duracell pack has the lowest weight stated in this group. Check the package figures against the drawer, shelf or kit bag where the spares will sit, and remember that the Amazon Basics CR123A 6-Pack lists no package size or weight to compare.
Sizing Notes
- Match voltage across the system: every pick here is 3V, so only use a pick in a device that calls for a CR123A cell at 3V.
- Match pack size to the devices that take CR123A cells: 12 count for a busier home, 6 count for a lighter set of devices.
- Match the storage figure to the plan: 10 years stated for the Duracell pick and up to 10 years stated for both Energizer picks, with no storage figure stated for the title-only pick.
- Check package size and weight against shelf space: 0.5 x 3.0 x 7.0 inches and 0.47 pounds for the 12-pack, 0.7 x 3.75 x 4.5 inches and 0.23 pounds for the Duracell pick, and 0.7 x 3.76 x 4.51 inches and 0.24 pounds for the Energizer 6-pack.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pick has the largest pack size?
The Energizer 123 12-Pack, with 12 count in one pack. The other three picks each give 6 count.
Which picks state storage up to 10 years?
The Duracell CR123A 6-Pack states 10 years in storage, and both Energizer picks state storage up to 10 years. The Amazon Basics CR123A 6-Pack states no storage figure.
What voltage do all four picks share?
All four picks are 3V CR123A lithium batteries. That shared voltage and cell type is why they can be compared as one group.
Which devices do the listings name?
The listings name cameras, flashlights, smart home devices, security cameras, alarm sensors, motion sensors, garage door openers, gate openers, keypads, smoke detectors, fire alarms, carbon monoxide detectors, programmable thermostats and door sensors. The 12-pack names the widest list of those devices.
Related guides
See every Batteries and Charging guide.
More picks: best battery monitor for motorhome, best battery cable for solar system, best battery charger for shed.




