On this page
The best MPPT solar charge controller for RV squeezes the most from your panels: amps for the array, volts for the bank, and a warranty for the road. We compared four MPPT controllers by amps, volts, certification and warranty, using only what each listing publishes. See every charge controllers guide.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Renogy Rover 30A: 30A, 12V/24V, 3-year Check price on Amazon
Best 40A BougeRV 40A Up: 40A, 12V/24V, 18 months Check price on Amazon
Best Wide BougeRV 40A: 40A, 12V-48V, CE Check price on Amazon
Best Mini Renogy 20A Mini: 20A, 100V, 300W/600W Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Renogy Rover 30A | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | BougeRV 40A Up | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | BougeRV 40A | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Renogy 20A Mini | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- 30A, per the listing
- 12V/24V, per the listing
- 3-year warranty, per the listing
- LCD display, per the listing
Cons
- 30A is mid-range
- 3-year only
- LCD only
- Auto DC only
Detailed Review
The Renogy Rover 30A is the overall pick: a 30A 12V/24V auto DC input MPPT solar charge controller.
The parameter adjustable LCD display suits gel, sealed, flooded and lithium batteries. A 3-year material and workmanship warranty is stated.
Who it's for: the RV classic. Who should skip it: 48V systems.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 1/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Amps | 30 |
|---|---|
| Volts | 12V/24V |
| Display | LCD |
| Warranty | 3-year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No protection feature or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. 3-year material and workmanship warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Stay under the input limit. Keep your panels' combined open circuit voltage, with cold weather margin, under the controller's stated maximum PV input, connect the battery first unless the manual says otherwise, and fuse both sides as the manual directs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 40A, per the listing
- 12V/24V, per the listing
- 18 months warranty, per the listing
- CE and RoHS, per the listing
Cons
- 18 months only
- 12V/24V only
- APP needed
- Upgraded only
Detailed Review
The BougeRV 40A upgraded is the 40A pick: a 40A 12V/24V MPPT solar charge controller.
Low-temp cut-off and APP control with backlit LCD for LiFePO4, SLD, gel, FLD and AGM. CE and RoHS are stated.
Who it's for: the 40A RV. Who should skip it: 48V systems.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 1/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Amps | 40 |
|---|---|
| Volts | 12V/24V |
| Cert | CE, RoHS |
| Warranty | 18 months |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE, RoHS, so safety scores 0 of 10. Manufacturer warranty for 18 months from date of purchase. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Stay under the input limit. Keep your panels' combined open circuit voltage, with cold weather margin, under the controller's stated maximum PV input, connect the battery first unless the manual says otherwise, and fuse both sides as the manual directs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 40A, per the listing
- 12V to 48V, per the listing
- CE, per the listing
- APP control, per the listing
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- APP needed
- 48V is wide
- Backlit only
Detailed Review
The BougeRV 40A is the wide pick: a 40A MPPT solar charge controller for 12V/24V/36V/48V.
APP control with backlit LCD display and temperature sensor for gel, LiFePO4, SLD, AGM and FLD. CE is stated.
Who it's for: the wide volts. Who should skip it: warranty seekers.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Amps | 40 |
|---|---|
| Volts | 12V-48V |
| Cert | CE |
| Control | APP |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE, so safety scores 0 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Stay under the input limit. Keep your panels' combined open circuit voltage, with cold weather margin, under the controller's stated maximum PV input, connect the battery first unless the manual says otherwise, and fuse both sides as the manual directs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 20A, per the listing
- 100V, per the listing
- 300W/600W PV, per the listing
- 99%, per the listing
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 20A is the smallest
- Mini size
- Bluetooth only
Detailed Review
The Renogy 20A Mini is the mini pick: a 20A 12V/24V MPPT solar charge controller in mini size.
With 100V, 300W/600W PV and Bluetooth plus LCD for lithium, AGM, gel and flooded. 99% is stated.
Who it's for: the small RV. Who should skip it: big arrays.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Amps | 20 |
|---|---|
| Volts | 100 |
| PV | 300W/600W |
| Efficiency | 99% |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No protection feature or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Stay under the input limit. Keep your panels' combined open circuit voltage, with cold weather margin, under the controller's stated maximum PV input, connect the battery first unless the manual says otherwise, and fuse both sides as the manual directs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
BougeRV MPPT Solar Charge Controller 30ACheck on Amazon
Dyness MPPT Solar Charge ControllerCheck on Amazon
Renogy Charge Controller-Rover 30A MPPTCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Controller | Solar Score | Amps | Volts | Cert | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Renogy Rover 30A | 9.6/10 | 30 | 12V/24V | Not stated | 3-year | View on Amazon |
| BougeRV 40A Up | 9.5/10 | 40 | 12V/24V | CE, RoHS | 18 months | View on Amazon |
| BougeRV 40A | 9.5/10 | 40 | 12V-48V | CE | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Renogy 20A Mini | 9.4/10 | 20 | 12V/24V | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Performance here means amps and volts for RV duty. Two of the four state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Renogy Rover 30A | 9.6 | 33 | 22 | 21 | 0 | 1 |
| BougeRV 40A Up | 9.5 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 0 | 1 |
| BougeRV 40A | 9.5 | 32 | 22 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Renogy 20A Mini | 9.4 | 29 | 20 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best mppt solar charge controller for rv
Amps
The BougeRV pair offer 40A; the Renogy Rover 30A; the Renogy Mini 20A. More amps means bigger arrays. See our best mppt solar charge controller for lithium batteries for lithium picks.
Volts
The BougeRV 40A covers 12V to 48V; the Rover and upgraded 12V/24V; the Mini 100V. Match the volts to your bank. See our best mppt solar charge controller for lifepo4 batteries for LiFePO4 picks.
| Controller | Amps | Volts | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Renogy Rover 30A | 30 | 12V/24V | 3-year |
| BougeRV 40A Up | 40 | 12V/24V | 18 months |
| BougeRV 40A | 40 | 12V-48V | Not stated |
| Renogy 20A Mini | 20 | 12V/24V | Not stated |
Warranty
The Renogy Rover states a 3-year material and workmanship warranty; the BougeRV upgraded states 18 months. The other two state no warranty term. See our best portable solar panel with charge controller for panel picks.
Setup Notes
- Size the controller to the array amps.
- Match the volts to the battery bank.
- Ventilate the install location.
- Fuse the battery side per the manual.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which has the most amps?
The BougeRV pair with 40A.
Which covers the widest volts?
The BougeRV 40A with 12V to 48V.
Which state a warranty?
The Renogy Rover with 3-year and the BougeRV upgraded with 18 months.
Which state a certification?
The BougeRV 40A with CE and the upgraded with CE and RoHS.
Related guides
See every charge controllers guide and all blog guides. Also see our best mppt solar charge controller for lithium batteries. Also see our best mppt solar charge controller for lifepo4 batteries. Also see our best portable solar panel with charge controller.
More picks: browse controllers and inverters and blog.








