Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Charge Controllers

Best MPPT Solar Charge Controller for LiFePO4 Batteries: 5 Compared

Five solar charge controllers compared on amps, PV input, LiFePO4 modes and warranty terms, from a 60A MPPT to compact 10A units.

Best MPPT Solar Charge Controller for LiFePO4 Batteries: 5 Compared
On this page

The LiFePO4 battery sat at half charge through a gray December week because the old PWM controller never found the panel’s sweet spot. That is the gap the best mppt solar charge controller for lifepo4 batteries is supposed to close. We compared five controllers on stated amps, PV input limits, battery modes, protections and warranty terms, from a 60A MPPT to compact 10A units.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

LiTime 60A MPPT

LiTime 60A MPPT

Litime9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 60A MPPT controller with 200V PV input, 12V to 48V support, a LiFePO4 charging mode and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 60A with 200V max PV input, the largest here
  • Dedicated LiFePO4 charging mode; 12V, 24V and 48V for LiFePO4
  • 99% tracking efficiency and 96% peak conversion efficiency claimed
  • 2-year warranty stated

Cons

  • No Bluetooth built in
  • 3.8 pounds and 6.57 by 2.76 by 8.66 inches, the largest unit here
  • No temperature sensor in the box, unlike the Renogy Rover 2 more pick
  • Fan-cooled sheet metal shell needs ventilation space
Detailed Review

The listing states a 60A MPPT controller with 200V max PV input, 870W at 12V, 1740W at 24V, 2610W at 36V and 3480W at 48V, a dedicated LiFePO4 charging mode, an LCD screen with LED indicators, a sheet metal shell with dual forced cooling, and protection against overpower, over-voltage, short circuit and over-temperature. It claims 99% tracking efficiency and 96% peak conversion efficiency, lists no built-in Bluetooth and states a 2-year warranty.

Who it's for: owners running 24V or 48V LiFePO4 banks who want the most headroom here. Who should skip it: anyone with a small 12V setup, where the compact 10A units fit better.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Controller60A MPPT
PV input200V max
Battery12/24/48V LiFePO4
Size6.57 x 2.76 x 8.66 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overpower, over-voltage, short-circuit and over-temperature protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Stay under the input limit. Keep your panels' combined open circuit voltage, with cold weather margin, under the controller's stated maximum PV input, connect the battery first unless the manual says otherwise, and fuse both sides as the manual directs.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Renogy Wanderer 10A

Renogy Wanderer 10A

Renogy9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10A PWM controller with LCD, 12/24V support, temperature compensation and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 12V/24V with 50V PV input, the widest PV range of the PWM picks
  • 4-stage charging with temperature compensation stated
  • 5V/2A USB port for phones and tablets
  • 2-year material and workmanship warranty stated

Cons

  • PWM, not MPPT
  • Lithium needs manual activation
  • IP32 rating, the lowest stated here
  • Bluetooth needs the BT-1 module, sold separately
Detailed Review

The listing states a 10A PWM controller for 12V/24V systems with 50V PV input, 4-stage charging (bulk, boost, float, equalization) for AGM, gel, flooded and lithium batteries, an LCD, a 5V/2A USB port, negative ground and temperature compensation. It lists protection against overcharge, over-discharge, overload, short circuit and reverse polarity, an IP32 rating and a 2-year material and workmanship warranty. Lithium charging needs manual activation, and Bluetooth needs the BT-1 module sold separately.

Who it's for: small 12V or 24V setups that want a documented PWM controller with a 2-year warranty. Who should skip it: anyone set on MPPT tracking.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Controller10A PWM
PV input50V max
Battery12/24V, Li manual
DisplayLCD, 5V/2A USB

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overcharge, over-discharge, overload, short-circuit and reverse polarity protection with temperature compensation stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year material and workmanship warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Stay under the input limit. Keep your panels' combined open circuit voltage, with cold weather margin, under the controller's stated maximum PV input, connect the battery first unless the manual says otherwise, and fuse both sides as the manual directs.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Renogy Wanderer Li 30A

Renogy Wanderer Li 30A

Renogy9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 30A PWM controller with a lithium mode, LED indicators and temperature compensation.

Pros

  • 30A, the most amps of the PWM picks
  • Lithium mode with 4-stage charging stated
  • Temperature compensation stated, against winter undercharge and summer overvoltage
  • IP32-rated casing

Cons

  • PWM, not MPPT
  • 25V PV input, the lowest ceiling here
  • 1-year warranty, shorter than the Wanderer 10A's 2 years
  • LED only; Bluetooth needs the BT-1 module sold separately
Detailed Review

The listing states a 30A PWM controller for 12V systems with 25V PV input, a lithium battery mode with 4-stage charging, LED indicators, temperature compensation, stated to prevent winter undercharge and summer overvoltage and protection against reverse polarity, overcharging, overload and short circuits. It lists an IP32-rated casing and a 1-year material and workmanship warranty. Bluetooth needs the BT-1 module sold separately.

Who it's for: 12V lithium owners who want 30A of PWM charging with temp compensation. Who should skip it: anyone with panels over 25V Voc or a 24V bank.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Controller30A PWM
PV input25V max
Battery12V, lithium mode
Temp compStated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Reverse polarity, overcharging, overload and short circuit protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year material and workmanship warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Stay under the input limit. Keep your panels' combined open circuit voltage, with cold weather margin, under the controller's stated maximum PV input, connect the battery first unless the manual says otherwise, and fuse both sides as the manual directs.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUNAPEX 10A MPPT

SUNAPEX 10A MPPT

SUNAPEX9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10A MPPT controller with Type-C and USB outputs, LCD display and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Type-C and USB output ports for direct device charging
  • LCD with voltage and current display plus LED status
  • Zero battery drain design with reverse-current diodes stated
  • 1-year warranty with 24/7 after-sales service stated

Cons

  • 12V batteries only; not for 24V or 36V packs
  • Not compatible with panels that have built-in controllers
  • Plastic housing rather than metal
  • No PV input voltage ceiling is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 10A MPPT controller for 12V batteries including LiFePO4, lead-acid, gel and AGM, with Type-C and USB output ports, an LCD showing voltage and current, LED charging status and 4-stage charging. It lists protection against overcharge, over-voltage, reverse current, reverse polarity, short circuit and over-temperature, a zero-battery-drain design and a 1-year warranty. It is not for 24V or 36V packs or panels with built-in controllers.

Who it's for: 12V LiFePO4 owners who also want USB charging from the controller. Who should skip it: anyone on 24V or with a high-Voc array, since no PV ceiling is stated.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Controller10A MPPT
Battery12V LiFePO4
PortsType-C, USB
Size4.1 x 2 x 0.8 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overcharge, over-voltage, reverse current, reverse polarity, short-circuit and over-temperature protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty and 24/7 after-sales service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Stay under the input limit. Keep your panels' combined open circuit voltage, with cold weather margin, under the controller's stated maximum PV input, connect the battery first unless the manual says otherwise, and fuse both sides as the manual directs.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Bateria 10A MPPT

Bateria 10A MPPT

Bateria Power9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 10A MPPT controller with LCD, SAE plug-and-play cables and LiFePO4 support.

Pros

  • MPPT with LCD display and LED indicator
  • SAE connector with two 130mm extension cables included
  • LiFePO4 listed among supported 12V chemistries
  • Max PV 150W at 30Voc stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 12V batteries only
  • Maker's 100% tracking and 20% faster charging claims lack supporting detail
  • Water resistance claimed, but no IP rating is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 10A MPPT controller for 12V batteries including LiFePO4, AGM, gel and flooded, with an LCD display, LED indicator, SAE plug-and-play connector and two 130mm extension cables. It lists max PV of 150W at 30Voc, 3-stage charging and protection against overcharge, over-temperature, over-voltage, overcurrent, short circuit, discharge and reverse polarity. The maker claims up to 100% tracking efficiency and 20% faster charging without supporting detail, claims water resistance with no IP rating, and states no warranty term.

Who it's for: 12V portable setups that want MPPT with plug-and-play SAE cables. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty or a higher PV ceiling.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Controller10A MPPT
PV input150W, 30Voc max
Battery12V LiFePO4
ConnectorsSAE, 2 cables

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Overcharge, over-temperature, over-voltage, overcurrent, short circuit, discharge and reverse polarity protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Stay under the input limit. Keep your panels' combined open circuit voltage, with cold weather margin, under the controller's stated maximum PV input, connect the battery first unless the manual says otherwise, and fuse both sides as the manual directs.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Controller Solar Score Type Amps Battery Warranty Amazon
LiTime 60A MPPT 9.7/10 MPPT 60A 12/24/48V LiFePO4 2 years View on Amazon
Renogy Wanderer 10A 9.6/10 PWM 10A 12/24V, Li manual 2 years View on Amazon
Renogy Wanderer Li 30A 9.6/10 PWM 30A 12V, Li manual 1 year View on Amazon
SUNAPEX 10A MPPT 9.5/10 MPPT 10A 12V LiFePO4 1 year View on Amazon
Bateria 10A MPPT 9.5/10 MPPT 10A 12V LiFePO4 Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For charge controllers, safety means the protections the listing actually states, overcharge, short circuit, reverse polarity and the rest; every main pick states a protection list. Four of the five state a warranty term, from 1 year to 2 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
LiTime 60A MPPT 9.7 33 21 21 7 3
Renogy Wanderer 10A 9.6 26 20 20 7 3
Renogy Wanderer Li 30A 9.6 27 20 20 7 2
SUNAPEX 10A MPPT 9.5 29 19 20 5 2
Bateria 10A MPPT 9.5 29 19 20 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best mppt solar charge controller for lifepo4 batteries

MPPT or PWM, and why it matters here

Only three of the main picks are MPPT; the two Renogy Wanderers are PWM, which the listings state plainly. MPPT makers claim better harvest in changing light: LiTime claims 99% tracking efficiency, Bateria Power claims up to 100% tracking, and the Renogy Rover 2 more pick claims 99%. For a LiFePO4 bank, the charging profile matters as much as the tracking type, so check the battery mode next. Our LiFePO4 battery guides cover the battery side.

Check the LiFePO4 mode, not just the battery list

LiTime lists a dedicated LiFePO4 charging mode with 12V, 24V and 48V support, SUNAPEX and Bateria Power list LiFePO4 among supported 12V chemistries, and both Renogy PWMs need manual activation for lithium. The HHFLY more pick switches to LiFePO4 4S 12.8V by button press. If your bank is 24V or 48V, the 12V-only picks are out: only the LiTime covers 48V here.

Match amps and PV input to your array

Amps run from 10A on the compact units to 30A on the Wanderer Li and 60A on the LiTime. PV input ceilings matter just as much: 25V on the Wanderer Li 30A, 30Voc on the Bateria Power, 50V on the Wanderer 10A and 200V on the LiTime, which lists 870W at 12V, 1740W at 24V, 2610W at 36V and 3480W at 48V. The Renogy Rover 2 more pick pairs up to 100V Voc with 300W on 12V and 600W on 24V.

Controller Amps Max PV input
LiTime 60A MPPT 60A 200V
Renogy Wanderer 10A 10A 50V
Renogy Wanderer Li 30A 30A 25V
SUNAPEX 10A MPPT 10A Not stated
Bateria 10A MPPT 10A 30Voc, 150W

Read the protection and warranty lines

Every main pick lists protections: overcharge, short circuit, reverse polarity and over-temperature appear across the group, and the Renogy pair adds temperature compensation. Warranties run from 1 year on the Wanderer Li 30A and SUNAPEX to 2 years on the Wanderer 10A and LiTime; the Bateria Power lists none. If you are still choosing the battery itself, see our best LiFePO4 battery charger for RV roundup.

Sizing Notes

  • Match controller amps to the array: 10A on the compact units, 30A on the Wanderer Li and 60A on the LiTime.
  • Check the PV input ceiling before wiring panels in series: 25V, 30Voc, 50V and 200V across the main picks.
  • Confirm the battery mode: LiTime lists a dedicated LiFePO4 mode, while the Renogy PWMs need manual lithium activation.
  • 12V-only picks cannot serve 24V or 48V banks; only the LiTime lists 48V support here.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is PWM or MPPT better for LiFePO4?

The listings claim MPPT tracks the panel’s maximum power point: LiTime claims 99% tracking efficiency and Bateria Power claims up to 100%. Both Renogy main picks are PWM and state that plainly; for LiFePO4, the battery charging mode matters as much as the tracking type.

Which controllers here list a LiFePO4 mode?

LiTime lists a dedicated LiFePO4 charging mode, SUNAPEX and Bateria Power list LiFePO4 among 12V chemistries, and the Renogy Wanderer 10A and Wanderer Li 30A need manual activation for lithium.

What is the highest PV input here?

200V on the LiTime 60A, with 3480W at 48V, 2610W at 36V, 1740W at 24V and 870W at 12V. The Renogy Rover 2 more pick pairs 100V Voc with 300W on 12V and 600W on 24V.

Do these controllers work with 24V or 48V batteries?

The LiTime covers 12V, 24V and 48V for LiFePO4. The Wanderer 10A covers 12V and 24V. The Bateria Power, SUNAPEX and Wanderer Li 30A are 12V only.

Which warranties are stated?

2 years on the Renogy Wanderer 10A and the LiTime 60A, 1 year on the Wanderer Li 30A and the SUNAPEX. The Bateria Power lists no warranty term.

LiTime 60A MPPT
Still deciding? Our top pickLiTime 60A MPPT
Check price on Amazon

See every Charge Controllers guide and all Controllers and Inverters guides. Also see our LiFePO4 battery guides. Also see our best LiFePO4 battery charger for RV. Also see our best mppt solar charge controller for lithium batteries. Also see our best mppt solar charge controller for rv. Also see our best solar charge controller for agm batteries. Also see our best solar charge controller for lead acid battery. Also see our mppt vs pwm charge controller. Also see our best mppt charge controller for 24v system. Also see our best mppt charge controller under 100. Also see our best charge controller for 220ah battery. Also see our best pwm charge controller for 12v battery. Also see our 5000 watt vs 6000 watt inverter. Also see our portable power station vs inverter generator. Also see our victron smartsolar vs renogy rover. Also see our best mppt charge controller for boat. Also see our best mppt charge controller for shed. Also see our best mppt charge controller for travel trailer. Also see our mppt vs pwm for rv.

More picks: Renogy Rover 2 20A MPPT (Bluetooth, 100V PV input), SOLPERK 10A MPPT (IP67), SUNAPEX 10A MPPT with SAE adapter (Type-C and USB outputs, 1-year warranty stated), HHFLY 30A MPPT (dual USB, LiFePO4 4S mode) and Rolokit 20A PWM (22W Type-C PD, 18W USB).