On this page
The patio goes dark at dusk and the path to the gate disappears with it, but no outlet reaches the far fence. The best outdoor solar candle lights fix that without wiring: small solar candles that charge all day and flicker on at dark. We compared five solar candle sets by count, stated runtime, water rating, size and warranty.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall TWINKVILLA 8-Pack Tea Lights: 8-pack with 10-hour runtime and IP54 rating Check price on Amazon
Best 6-Pack SoulBay 6-Pack Tea Lights: IP54 rating with 18-month warranty Check price on Amazon
Best 12-Pack SoulBay 12-Pack Tea Lights: Dozen pack with 8-10 hour runtime Check price on Amazon
Best Build ISUNMEA 6-Pack Candles: IP65 rating with stainless holders Check price on Amazon
Best Large Size VOOKRY 6-Pack Tea Lights: Oversize 2.1-inch tea lights Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | TWINKVILLA 8-Pack Tea Lights | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | SoulBay 6-Pack Tea Lights | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SoulBay 12-Pack Tea Lights | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | ISUNMEA 6-Pack Candles | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | VOOKRY 6-Pack Tea Lights | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

TWINKVILLA 8-Pack Tea Lights
An 8-pack of rechargeable tea lights with flickering amber LEDs and a dusk-to-dawn sensor, rated IP54.
Pros
- Up to 10 hours of light per night, the longest stated here
- Dusk-to-dawn sensor switches on at dark and off at dawn
- IP54 rating against rain, snow and splashes
- 8 pieces with a 1 year manufacturer warranty
Cons
- Needs 6-8 hours of sunlight for a full charge
- Standard tea-light size only
- No battery capacity stated
- No stated size in inches
Detailed Review
The TWINKVILLA set includes 8 rechargeable tea lights with flickering amber LEDs and a dusk-to-dawn sensor that switches them on at dark and off at dawn. The listing states 6-8 hours of sunlight for a full charge and up to 10 hours of light per night, with an IP54 rating against rain, snow and splashes. The listing also states a 1 year manufacturer warranty.
Who it's for: someone lighting a patio or path who wants the longest stated runtime here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs larger candles, since these are standard tea-light size.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Count | 8 pcs |
|---|---|
| Charge | 6-8 hours of sunlight |
| Runtime | Up to 10 hours nightly |
| Rating | IP54 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP54 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SoulBay 6-Pack Tea Lights
A 6-pack of solar tea lights with built-in panels, dusk-to-dawn operation and an IP54 rating.
Pros
- IP54 rating stated for outdoor use
- 18-month warranty, the longest stated here
- Built-in solar panels charge by day, light at dark
- Dusk-to-dawn automatic operation
Cons
- No runtime hours stated
- 6 pieces, fewer than the 8 and 12 packs
- No size in inches stated
- No battery capacity stated
Detailed Review
The SoulBay 6-pack lists built-in solar panels that charge by day and light the flickering candles at dark, with dusk-to-dawn automatic operation and no manual switch. The listing states an IP54 rating and an 18-month warranty, the longest warranty term of the six.
Who it's for: a buyer who wants the longest stated warranty on a basic 6-pack. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated runtime number before buying.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Count | 6 pack |
|---|---|
| Rating | IP54 |
| Control | Dusk to dawn automatic |
| Power | Solar powered |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP54 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 18 months. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SoulBay 12-Pack Tea Lights
A 12-pack of 1.5 by 2.1 inch solar tea lights with 8-10 hour runtime and dusk-to-dawn automatic on and off.
Pros
- 12 pieces, the most here
- 8-10 hours of light per night stated
- 1.5 by 2.1 inches, fits most holders and votives
- 18-months warranty stated
Cons
- Water resistance stated, no IP code given
- No battery capacity stated
- 12-pack may be more than a small table needs
- No charge time stated
Detailed Review
The SoulBay 12-pack measures 1.5 inches in diameter and 2.1 inches tall, fitting most tea light holders and average votives per the listing. It lights 8-10 hours at night with dusk-to-dawn automatic on and off, and the listing states an 18-months warranty. The listing claims water resistance but gives no IP code.
Who it's for: someone dressing a long path or many tables who wants the biggest count per order. Who should skip it: anyone who wants an IP code on the listing before trusting it outdoors.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 22/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 4/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Count | 12 pcs |
|---|---|
| Size | 1.5 in D x 2.1 in |
| Runtime | 8-10 hours |
| Control | Dusk to dawn automatic |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Water resistance stated, no IP code given, so safety scores 3 of 10. 18-months warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ISUNMEA 6-Pack Candles
A 6-pack of solar candles with stainless steel holders, a 1.2V 600mAh battery per light and an IP65 rating.
Pros
- IP65 rating, the highest stated here
- Stainless steel lamp holders
- 1.2V 600mAh battery per light stated
- About 8 hours of light per charge stated
Cons
- No warranty term stated
- 3.54 by 2.36 by 1.18 inches, larger than tea-light holders
- No dusk-to-dawn sensor stated
- 6 pieces only
Detailed Review
The ISUNMEA 6-pack pairs solar panels with stainless steel holders and a 1.2V 600mAh nickel-hydrogen battery per light, stated to run about 8 hours. Each candle measures 3.54 by 2.36 by 1.18 inches, larger than a standard tea light, and the listing states an IP65 rating. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: a buyer who wants the highest stated water rating and a stated battery capacity. Who should skip it: anyone fitting candles into standard tea-light holders, since these are larger.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 19/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Count | 6 pack |
|---|---|
| Size | 3.54 x 2.36 x 1.18 in |
| Battery | 1.2V 600mAh NiMH |
| Rating | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VOOKRY 6-Pack Tea Lights
A 6-pack of oversize 2.1 by 2.3 inch solar tea lights with dusk-to-dawn operation, stated rainproof and dust-proof.
Pros
- Oversize at 2.1 by 2.3 inches, larger than standard tea lights
- Dusk-to-dawn operation stated
- Rainproof and dust-proof stated
- Works outdoors or indoors, per the listing
Cons
- No warranty term stated; only a three-month free return
- No IP code given
- Manual switch on the bottom of each candle
- Too large for standard tea-light holders
Detailed Review
The VOOKRY 6-pack lists oversize tea lights at 2.1 inches diameter by 2.3 inches tall, larger than standard tea lights per the listing. They charge in sunlight with dusk-to-dawn operation, though each candle has a manual switch on the bottom, and the listing states rainproof and dust-proof construction with no IP code. The warranty field lists only a free return within three months.
Who it's for: someone who wants a bigger candle look on the table. Who should skip it: anyone fitting standard holders or wanting a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Count | 6 pcs |
|---|---|
| Size | 2.1 in Dia x 2.3 in H |
| Control | Dusk to dawn, manual switch |
| Rating | Rainproof and dust-proof stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 23 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Rainproof and dust-proof stated, no IP code given, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Generic 6-Pack String Candles6-pack string candles with IPX5 rating and 6-8 hour runtime, per the listingCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Light | Solar Score | Count | Runtime | Water rating | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TWINKVILLA 8-Pack Tea Lights | 9.7/10 | 8 | Up to 10 h | IP54 | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| SoulBay 6-Pack Tea Lights | 9.6/10 | 6 | Not stated | IP54 | 18 months | View on Amazon |
| SoulBay 12-Pack Tea Lights | 9.6/10 | 12 | 8-10 h | Not stated | 18 months | View on Amazon |
| ISUNMEA 6-Pack Candles | 9.5/10 | 6 | About 8 h | IP65 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| VOOKRY 6-Pack Tea Lights | 9.5/10 | 6 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 23 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For candle lights, safety means a stated water-ingress rating such as IP54 or IP65; three of the five listings state one. Three listings state a warranty term, from 1 year to 18 months. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TWINKVILLA 8-Pack Tea Lights | 9.7 | 30 | 20 | 21 | 7 | 4 |
| SoulBay 6-Pack Tea Lights | 9.6 | 29 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 4 |
| SoulBay 12-Pack Tea Lights | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 22 | 3 | 4 |
| ISUNMEA 6-Pack Candles | 9.5 | 28 | 21 | 19 | 7 | 0 |
| VOOKRY 6-Pack Tea Lights | 9.5 | 28 | 20 | 19 | 3 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best outdoor solar candle lights
Match the runtime to your evenings
Stated runtimes here run from about 8 hours on the ISUNMEA to up to 10 hours on the TWINKVILLA 8-pack, with the SoulBay 12-pack at 8-10 hours in between. Pick the longer stated runtime for long evenings; the runtime follows the day’s charge.
| Light | Stated runtime |
|---|---|
| TWINKVILLA 8-pack | Up to 10 hours |
| SoulBay 12-pack | 8-10 hours |
| ISUNMEA 6-pack | About 8 hours |
Read the water rating, not the marketing word
Three listings state an IP code: IP54 on the TWINKVILLA and SoulBay 6-pack, and IP65 on the ISUNMEA. The SoulBay 12-pack and VOOKRY state water resistance with no code given. A code tells you what was actually rated. For more ideas, see our black solar lantern guide.
Count the candles and check the size
Counts here run 6, 8 or 12 pieces. The SoulBay 12-pack suits a long path; a 6-pack covers one table. The SoulBay 12-pack fits standard holders at 1.5 by 2.1 inches, but the oversize VOOKRY lights at 2.1 by 2.3 inches need roomier holders.
Mind the switch
Most list dusk-to-dawn sensors that switch the candles on at dark. The VOOKRY set is the exception: each candle has a manual switch on the bottom. For step lighting along the same path, see our solar step lights.
Sizing Notes
- Match the charge time to your sun: the TWINKVILLA needs 6-8 hours of sunlight for a full charge.
- Match the runtime to the evening: stated runtimes here run about 8 hours to up to 10 hours.
- Match the size to your holders: the SoulBay 12-pack fits standard holders at 1.5 by 2.1 inches; the VOOKRY oversize lights need roomier ones.
- Match the count to the space: a 12-pack for a long path, a 6-pack for a single table.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long do solar candle lights stay on?
Stated runtimes here run from about 8 hours to up to 10 hours on the TWINKVILLA 8-pack. The actual runtime follows how much sun the panel saw that day.
Do solar candles work in winter?
They charge from sunlight, so shorter days mean shorter runtimes. The TWINKVILLA listing states 6-8 hours of direct sun for a full charge, so place the panels where the low winter sun still lands.
Are solar candle lights safe in rain?
Three of the five list IP ratings: IP54 and IP65. The other two state water resistance with no code given. Check the rating before leaving any set out in a storm.
Do they turn on automatically?
Most here list dusk-to-dawn sensors that switch on at dark. The VOOKRY set has a manual switch on the bottom of each candle that must stay on.
What size are solar tea lights?
The SoulBay 12-pack lists 1.5 by 2.1 inches, which the listing says fits standard holders. The VOOKRY lists 2.1 by 2.3 inches, oversize for standard holders.
Related guides
See every path, string and deck lights guide and all solar outdoor guides.
More picks: solar lantern, step lights, work lights.




