Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Path, String and Deck Lights

Best Black Solar Lantern (2026): 10 Picks Compared

Ten black solar lanterns compared on stated runtime, battery, weather protection and warranty, with every figure taken straight from the listings.

Best Black Solar Lantern (2026): 10 Picks Compared
On this page

The best black solar lantern turns a dark patio or campsite into somewhere worth sitting after sunset, and we compared ten black solar lanterns to see which listings state the most about runtime, batteries and weather protection. Every pick here pairs a black finish with a flickering candle-style glow, charged by its own solar panel with no wiring to run. The five ranked picks below carry the strongest stated specs in the group, and five more options follow for different heights, materials and modes.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Cozymeow 14-Inch Lantern Pair
    Best Overall Cozymeow 14-Inch Lantern Pair: 24+ hour first-use runtime and a 365-day term stated Check price on Amazon
  • TAKE ME 14-Inch Lantern Pair
    Best IP65 Pair TAKE ME 14-Inch Lantern Pair: IP65 weather protection and 1500mAh battery stated Check price on Amazon
  • yowin 9-Inch Lantern Pair
    Compact Pick yowin 9-Inch Lantern Pair: 8.5-inch body with 8 to 10 hour runtime stated Check price on Amazon
  • anyperfect 13-Inch Lantern Pair
    Metal and Glass anyperfect 13-Inch Lantern Pair: Metal housing, IP46 protection, honest low-sun figures Check price on Amazon
  • newvivid Hanging Lantern Pair
    Soft Hanging Glow newvivid Hanging Lantern Pair: 3000K flicker, 11.32-inch hang height, IP44 stated Check price on Amazon

The picks

Cozymeow 14-Inch Lantern Pair

Cozymeow 14-Inch Lantern Pair

Cozymeow9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 14-inch tempered-glass lantern pair with an upgraded panel, a replaceable Ni-MH battery and the longest stated runtime in this group.

Pros

  • 24+ hour runtime stated on first use after a 6 to 8 hour charge, then 10 to 12 hours daily
  • Tempered glass panels with an ABS diamond-grid coating, IP44 weather protection stated
  • Built-in Ni-MH battery is replaceable with standard AA batteries
  • 365-day warranty stated

Cons

  • Warm orange amber glow is decorative, not a bright white light
  • Spec table lists dimensions in a different order than the bullets
  • No lumens figure is stated
  • Two light sources; a steady light mode is not listed
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of 14-inch lanterns, 5.6 by 5.6 by 13.6 inches with the handle and an 11-inch body, a warm orange amber LED that mimics a flickering candle, tempered glass panels, an ABS diamond-grid coating and IP44 weather protection. It states a 6 to 8 hour charge under full sun gives 24+ hours of runtime on first use and 10 to 12 hours daily, with a replaceable Ni-MH battery, and a 365-day warranty. The spec table writes the dimensions in a different axis order than the bullets, so trust the bullets for the 5.6 by 5.6 by 13.6 inch size.

Who it's for: shoppers who want the longest stated runtime and a replaceable battery. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a bright cool-white light, since the glow is warm and decorative.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size5.6 x 5.6 x 13.6 in, 11 in body
Runtime24+ hr first use, 10-12 hr daily
Light2900K flickering, 2 light sources
BatteryNi-MH, 1 AAA, replaceable with AA

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP44 weather protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 365-day warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TAKE ME 14-Inch Lantern Pair

TAKE ME 14-Inch Lantern Pair

TAKE ME9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 14-inch lantern pair with tempered glass, a 1500mAh stated battery and IP65 weather protection.

Pros

  • IP65 weather protection stated, the strongest figure in the ranked group
  • 1500mAh battery capacity stated
  • Up to 24 hours of runtime stated
  • Tempered glass shade with an ABS body and a warm amber flickering glow

Cons

  • Light is warm amber and decorative, not bright white, per the listing
  • 360-day maker term is worded unusually rather than as a standard warranty line
  • No lumens or color temperature figure is stated
  • Automatic dusk lighting depends on daytime charge, and low-sun days are not covered
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of 14-inch lanterns, 5.5 by 5.5 by 14 inches with the handle and an 11-inch body, an upgraded polysilicon panel, 1500mAh battery capacity, IP65 weather protection, tempered glass with an ABS body and a warm amber-orange flickering glow. It states the lanterns charge in daylight and light up at dusk for up to 24 hours, and the spec table lists a 360-day maker term. The listing warns the glow is decorative and warm rather than bright cool white.

Who it's for: buyers who want the strongest stated weather protection and a large stated battery in a 2-pack. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for bright task lighting.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size5.5 x 5.5 x 14 in, 11 in body
RuntimeUp to 24 hr
Battery1 AAA, 1500mAh stated
Weather protectionIP65 stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 weather protection stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 360-day maker term stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

yowin 9-Inch Lantern Pair

yowin 9-Inch Lantern Pair

yowin9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact 8.5-inch lantern pair with tempered glass, a 600mAh NiMH battery and a 365-day warranty.

Pros

  • 8.5-inch body suits small tables and tight porch corners
  • 8 to 10 hours of runtime stated when fully charged
  • Tempered glass with high quality plastic, IP44 weather protection stated
  • 365-day warranty stated

Cons

  • Title says 9 inches while the bullets and spec table say 8.5 inches
  • 600mAh battery is smaller than the 1500mAh stated by the higher pick
  • No lumens figure beyond the 2900K color temperature
  • 0.8 kg weight is stated with no per-lantern split
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of lanterns with a 600mAh NiMH AAA battery, 8 to 10 hours of runtime when fully charged, high quality plastic and tempered glass, IP44 weather protection, a 2900K warm white flickering glow and two light sources, plus a 365-day warranty. The title says 9 inches, but the bullets and spec table give 4.1 by 4.1 by 8.5 inches, so trust the 8.5-inch figure.

Who it's for: small patios and tabletops where a compact lantern fits best. Who should skip it: anyone who wants the longest stated runtime in this group.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size4.1 x 4.1 x 8.5 in
Runtime8-10 hr when fully charged
BatteryNiMH AAA, 600mAh
Light2900K flickering, 2 light sources

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP44 weather protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 365-day warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

anyperfect 13-Inch Lantern Pair

anyperfect 13-Inch Lantern Pair

anyperfect9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 13-inch metal and glass lantern pair with diamond-pattern glass, IP46 protection and detailed low-sun runtime figures.

Pros

  • Rust-resistant black metal housing with diamond-patterned tempered glass
  • IP46 weather protection stated
  • 8 to 10 hours stated when fully charged, with 3 to 4 hours on cloudy days and 1 to 2 hours on rainy or snowy days
  • 2 AA NiMH batteries included

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table finish reads copper-finish while the title and bullets say black
  • 2.79 kg weight is stated with no per-lantern split
  • Listing is silent on color temperature and lumens
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of 13-inch lanterns, 5.7 by 6.8 by 11 inches, a rust-resistant black metal housing, diamond-patterned tempered glass, a flickering flame effect, IP46 weather protection and a 6 to 8 hour full charge giving 8 to 10 hours of glow, with 3 to 4 hours on cloudy days and 1 to 2 hours on rainy or snowy days. It includes 2 AA NiMH batteries. The spec table lists a copper-finish while the title and bullets say black, so trust the black finish.

Who it's for: buyers who want a metal housing and honest low-sun runtime figures. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size5.7 x 6.8 x 11 in
Runtime8-10 hr full charge, 3-4 hr cloudy
Battery2 AA NiMH included
BuildMetal housing, diamond-pattern glass

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP46 weather protection stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

newvivid Hanging Lantern Pair

newvivid Hanging Lantern Pair

newvivid9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A compact black hanging lantern pair with a 3000K flickering glow and IP44 weather protection.

Pros

  • 11.32-inch height with the handle fits hanging spots and shepherd hooks
  • 7-lumen 3000K flickering flame effect for soft ambient light
  • 1.2V 600mAh NiMH battery included, up to 8 hours stated
  • IP44 weather protection stated

Cons

  • Spec table lists the color as bronze while the title and bullets say black
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Up to 8 hours is the lowest stated runtime in the ranked group
  • Plastic construction where the other picks state glass
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of hanging lanterns, 4.07 inches wide, 8.56 inches tall and 11.32 inches with the handle, a 7-lumen 3000K flickering flameless candle effect, a 1.2V 600mAh NiMH battery, IP44 weather protection and up to 8 hours of working time after a full charge. The spec table lists the color as bronze, but the title and bullets say black, so trust black. The aftersale note invites contact but states no concrete warranty term.

Who it's for: hanging spots and party tables where a small soft glow is enough. Who should skip it: buyers who want glass construction or a stated warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size4.07 x 4.07 x 11.32 in
RuntimeUp to 8 hr
Light7 lumens, 3000K flickering
Battery1 AA NiMH, 600mAh, 1.2V

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP44 weather protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Lichtfam 14-Inch Solar LanternLichtfam 14-Inch Solar LanternSingle lantern with IP44 protection and 2000K glow, 8 to 10 hour runtime stated.Check on Amazon
  • BAYN 18 and 15-Inch Lantern PairBAYN 18 and 15-Inch Lantern PairTwo iron lanterns in different heights with solar candles and a 2-year term stated.Check on Amazon
  • YDHOK Dual-Mode Solar LanternYDHOK Dual-Mode Solar LanternFlickering and steady modes with 12-hour runtime stated after 6 hours of sun.Check on Amazon
  • LEOKED Handwoven Shade LanternLEOKED Handwoven Shade LanternHandwoven shade with 10-lumen LED and a 2-year term stated.Check on Amazon
  • TAKE ME 14-Inch Single LanternTAKE ME 14-Inch Single LanternSingle-pack version with IP65 protection and 1500mAh battery stated.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Lantern Solar Score Runtime stated Battery stated Weather protection Warranty stated Amazon
Cozymeow 14-Inch Lantern Pair 9.7/10 24+ hr first use; 10-12 hr daily Ni-MH AAA, replaceable IP44 365 days View on Amazon
TAKE ME 14-Inch Lantern Pair 9.6/10 Up to 24 hr 1 AAA, 1500mAh IP65 360 days View on Amazon
yowin 9-Inch Lantern Pair 9.6/10 8-10 hr NiMH AAA, 600mAh IP44 365 days View on Amazon
anyperfect 13-Inch Lantern Pair 9.6/10 8-10 hr 2 AA NiMH IP46 Not stated View on Amazon
newvivid Hanging Lantern Pair 9.5/10 Up to 8 hr 1 AA NiMH, 600mAh IP44 Not stated View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a solar lantern, safety means the weather protection figure the listing states, since these lights live outside in rain and snow; a lantern that states an IP figure earns on that line, and one that states no figure earns nothing. Three of the five ranked picks state a warranty term with a concrete period. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Cozymeow 14-Inch Lantern Pair 9.7 30 22 21 5 3
TAKE ME 14-Inch Lantern Pair 9.6 29 21 21 6 3
yowin 9-Inch Lantern Pair 9.6 28 20 21 5 3
anyperfect 13-Inch Lantern Pair 9.6 29 21 20 6 0
newvivid Hanging Lantern Pair 9.5 27 20 21 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best black solar lantern

Match the stated runtime to your evenings

Runtime figures vary more than anything else here. Cozymeow states 24+ hours on first use after a 6 to 8 hour charge, then 10 to 12 hours daily, and TAKE ME states up to 24 hours. The yowin and anyperfect pairs state 8 to 10 hours when fully charged, and newvivid states up to 8 hours. If you want light from dusk to dawn on short winter days, the two leaders on this line are easy to spot; if you only need a few hours of table glow, the shorter figures are plenty. See our best solar lantern for patio guide for patio-specific advice.

Look at the battery the listing states

Capacity and chemistry set how forgiving a lantern is after a cloudy day. TAKE ME states a 1500mAh battery, while yowin, newvivid and the Lichtfam more option state 600mAh. Cozymeow states a replaceable Ni-MH battery that swaps with standard AA batteries, which is the most practical detail in the group if you keep spares. newvivid states 5 years of battery life. A larger stated capacity plus a replaceable cell is the combination to favor. Our best rechargeable solar lantern guide covers rechargeable options in more depth.

Read the weather protection figure

Every ranked pick states an IP figure, and the spread matters. The TAKE ME pair and the YDHOK more option state IP65, anyperfect states IP46, and Cozymeow, yowin and newvivid state IP44. Higher figures mean the listing claims stronger protection against dust and water, so match the figure to how exposed your spot is: an open fence line deserves IP65, while a covered porch is comfortable at IP44.

Lantern Weather protection Runtime stated
TAKE ME 14-Inch Lantern Pair IP65 Up to 24 hours
YDHOK Dual-Mode Solar Lantern IP65 12 hours
anyperfect 13-Inch Lantern Pair IP46 8 to 10 hours
Cozymeow 14-Inch Lantern Pair IP44 24+ hours first use, 10 to 12 daily

Check the warranty term

Coverage is uneven. Cozymeow and yowin state 365 days, TAKE ME states a 360-day term, the YDHOK and Lichtfam more options state 1 year each, and the BAYN and LEOKED more options state 2 years. newvivid and anyperfect state no concrete term in the ranked group. A concrete period is worth more than an invitation to contact the seller, so weight this line when two picks are otherwise close. See our best solar lantern for garden guide for more garden picks.

Sizing Notes

  • The TAKE ME body is 11 inches tall and 14 inches includes the handle, so measure hanging clearance from the handle top.
  • Cozymeow stands 13.6 inches with the handle on a 5.6-inch square base, while newvivid is 11.32 inches with the handle and 4.07 inches square for smaller tables.
  • The BAYN set spans 15-inch and 18-inch lanterns with 6-inch and 4-inch candles 3 inches across; check the pair of heights against your porch railing before choosing.
  • Full charges the listings state run 6 to 8 hours of sun, so place the panel where midday light lands.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which black solar lantern states the longest runtime?

Cozymeow states 24+ hours on first use after a 6 to 8 hour charge, then 10 to 12 hours daily. TAKE ME states up to 24 hours.

Which picks state IP65?

The TAKE ME 2-pack in the ranked group and the YDHOK dual-mode lantern in the more options both state IP65.

Do any of these use real candles?

No. Every pick uses an LED flickering candle effect, and the LEOKED more option notes its candle-like shapes are decoration and are not lit.

Which lantern states a replaceable battery?

Cozymeow states its built-in Ni-MH battery is replaceable with standard AA batteries. newvivid states 5 years of battery life.

Is the TAKE ME lantern really 14 inches tall?

The body is 11 inches and 14 inches includes the handle, per the listing. Measure hanging space from the handle top.

Cozymeow 14-Inch Lantern Pair
Still deciding? Our top pickCozymeow 14-Inch Lantern Pair
Check price on Amazon

See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides.

More picks: best large outdoor solar lantern, best hanging solar lanterns, best solar lantern for camping, best white solar lantern.