On this page
The phone hits 5% halfway up the trail, and the nearest outlet is a day away. The best portable solar panel for phone charging is a foldable panel with the right USB output, a stated weather rating, and a weight you will actually carry, and this comparison covers five of them. We compared what each listing states: rated watts, USB ports, weather rating, weight and warranty terms. The Ecosonique 30W leads on the combination of power and portability, while the FlexSolar 10W is the ultralight pick.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Ecosonique 30W Solar Panel: 30W tri-fold at 1.7 lbs with IP67 and USB-C Check price on Amazon
Best Outputs MARBERO 30W Solar Panel: USB-C PD, QC3.0 and DC with 3 adapters Check price on Amazon
Lightest Pick FlexSolar 10W Solar Panel: 0.66 lbs with IP67 and a 2-year term Check price on Amazon
Best Features ELECOM NESTOUT 28W Panel: SunPower cells with stands and a current checker Check price on Amazon
Best 20W Value FlexSolar 20W Solar Panel: IP67 with dual USB and per-port 15W Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ecosonique 30W Solar Panel | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | MARBERO 30W Solar Panel | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | FlexSolar 10W Solar Panel | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | ELECOM NESTOUT 28W Panel | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | FlexSolar 20W Solar Panel | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Ecosonique 30W Solar Panel
A 30W tri-fold solar panel at 1.7 lbs with USB-C and USB-A, IP67 and a stated 12-month warranty.
Pros
- 30W in a tri-fold at 1.7 lbs
- USB-C and USB-A each at up to 5V/3A
- IP67 water resistance stated
- Overcurrent, overvoltage and short-circuit protection stated
Cons
- Bullets claim both 15% and 25% lighter than most
- 12-month warranty is shorter than the FlexSolar 10W term
- No DC output for power stations
- 95% light transmittance is a maker claim
Detailed Review
The listing states a 30W portable solar panel with USB-C and USB-A ports each at up to 5V/3A, a tri-fold design at 1.7 lbs, IP67 water resistance, 23.5% conversion, and a 12-month warranty. It states ETFE laminate, overcurrent, overvoltage and short-circuit protection, carabiners, and 12 by 1 by 8.3 inches folded. The bullets claim both 15% and 25% lighter than most comparable 30W panels; the listing disagrees with itself there.
Who it's for: hikers who want 30W in the lightest package here with modern USB ports. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a DC output for a power station.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 86 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 30W |
|---|---|
| Outputs | USB-C + USB-A, 5V/3A |
| Weight | 1.7 lb |
| Weather rating | IP67 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 water resistance and overcurrent, overvoltage and short-circuit protection stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 12-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MARBERO 30W Solar Panel
A 30W foldable solar panel with USB-C PD, QC3.0 and DC output, IP65 and a stated 12-month warranty.
Pros
- USB-C PD, QC3.0 USB and DC output in one panel
- 3 DC adapter plugs for solar generators and power stations
- IP65 water resistance stated
- 15W to 20W on cloudy days stated
Cons
- Bullets and spec table disagree on USB-C voltages
- 2.4 lbs is the heaviest here
- Cannot store electricity, per the listing
- Bullets and spec table disagree on folded size
Detailed Review
The listing states a 30W foldable solar panel with a USB-C PD port, a QC3.0 USB port and a DC output at 16.5V/1.81A max, IP65 water resistance, 21.5 to 23.5% conversion, and a 12-month warranty. It states 3 DC adapter plugs, 2 carabiners, a 6.56 ft DC cable, a carry bag and handle, 25W to 30W in full sun and 15W to 20W on cloudy days. The bullets state USB-C at 5V/3A, 9V/2.22A and 12V/1.67A while the spec table lists 5V/3.3A, 9V/3.3A, 12V/3.3A and 20V/3.3A; trust the bullets.
Who it's for: campers who want one panel for phones, tablets and a power station's DC input. Who should skip it: ultralight hikers, at 2.4 lbs.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 30W |
|---|---|
| Outputs | USB-C PD, QC3.0, DC |
| Weight | 2.4 lb |
| Weather rating | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 water resistance and overcharging and overloading protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 12-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FlexSolar 10W Solar Panel
A 10W foldable solar panel at 0.66 lbs with USB-A, IP67 and a stated 2-year warranty.
Pros
- 0.66 lbs, the lightest here
- IP67 water resistance stated
- 2-year warranty, the longest term here
- 24% conversion with ETFE coating stated
Cons
- 10W max is the lowest output here
- Single USB-A port only
- Cannot store electricity, per the listing
- 10W needs full sun to reach its max
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10W foldable solar panel with a USB-A port at 5V/2A max, IP67 water resistance, 24% conversion with an ETFE coating, and a 2-year warranty. It states 0.66 lbs, 8.8 by 7.6 by 0.7 inches folded, 2 carabiners, and compatibility with smartphones, small fans, watches and GPS. The listing states the panel cannot store electricity.
Who it's for: ultralight backpackers who need a trickle charge for a phone. Who should skip it: anyone charging tablets or multiple devices.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 4/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 10W max |
|---|---|
| Output | USB-A, 5V/2A |
| Weight | 0.66 lb |
| Weather rating | IP67 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 water resistance stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

ELECOM NESTOUT 28W Panel
A 28W foldable solar panel with dual USB-A, SunPower cells and a stated 1-year warranty.
Pros
- SunPower MAXEON cells stated
- Dual USB-A ports for two devices
- Adjustable stands and a current checker LED
- 1-year warranty term stated
Cons
- No IP rating is stated; water-resistant nylon only
- USB-A only; no USB-C
- 771 g is heavier than the 20W FlexSolar
- 24% increase claim is against traditional cells, per the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a 28W foldable solar panel with dual USB-A ports, SunPower MAXEON cells, a 4.8A amperage capacity, and a 1-year warranty. It states 771 g, 11 by 2.4 by 6.1 inches folded, 2 adjustable stands, a current checker LED, water-resistant ripstop nylon, mesh pouches and exterior hooks. No IP rating is stated. The 24% efficiency increase is stated against traditional solar cells.
Who it's for: campers who like the stand and checker details and charge over USB-A. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated IP rating or USB-C.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 28W |
|---|---|
| Outputs | Dual USB-A |
| Weight | 771 g |
| Stands | 2 adjustable |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP rating is stated; water-resistant nylon and short circuit protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FlexSolar 20W Solar Panel
A 20W foldable solar panel at 0.99 lbs with USB-A and USB-C, IP67 and ETFE lamination.
Pros
- 0.99 lbs with ETFE lamination
- 15W per port, 10W each when both are used
- IP67 water resistance stated
- Overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Junction box is not fully sealed, per the listing
- 5V output only; no PD or QC
- Cannot store electricity, per the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a 20W foldable solar panel with USB-A and USB-C ports at 5V, 15W per port individually or 10W each when both are used, IP67 water resistance, and 24% conversion. It states 0.99 lbs, 18 by 12 by 0.6 inches unfolded, ETFE lamination, overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection, and 4 hanging holes with carabiners. The listing notes the junction box is not fully sealed and the panel cannot store electricity. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: day hikers who want dual USB charging in a sub-pound panel. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 20W |
|---|---|
| Outputs | USB-A + USB-C, 5V |
| Weight | 0.99 lb |
| Weather rating | IP67 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 water resistance and overcurrent, overheating and short-circuit protection stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Panels make voltage in daylight. Keep connectors covered until you connect them, check the panel's stated open circuit voltage and current against your controller or power station input limits, and use cables rated for the current. Roof and permanent mounts belong to a qualified installer.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Panel | Solar Score | Power | Outputs | Weather rating | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ecosonique 30W Solar Panel | 9.7/10 | 30W | USB-C + USB-A, 5V/3A | IP67 | 12 months | View on Amazon |
| MARBERO 30W Solar Panel | 9.7/10 | 30W | USB-C PD, QC3.0, DC | IP65 | 12 months | View on Amazon |
| FlexSolar 10W Solar Panel | 9.6/10 | 10W | USB-A, 5V/2A | IP67 | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| ELECOM NESTOUT 28W Panel | 9.6/10 | 28W | Dual USB-A | Not stated | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| FlexSolar 20W Solar Panel | 9.6/10 | 20W | USB-A + USB-C, 5V | IP67 | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a portable panel, safety means a stated IP weather rating and the charging protections the listing actually names; a panel that states no IP rating scores low on that line, whatever its watts. Four of the five listings state a concrete warranty term, from 12 months to 2 years. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ecosonique 30W Solar Panel | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 8 | 3 |
| MARBERO 30W Solar Panel | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| FlexSolar 10W Solar Panel | 9.6 | 26 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 4 |
| ELECOM NESTOUT 28W Panel | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 5 | 3 |
| FlexSolar 20W Solar Panel | 9.6 | 28 | 22 | 21 | 9 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best portable solar panel for phone
Match watts to the device
These five range from 10W to 30W. For a phone alone, the FlexSolar 10W at 0.66 lbs or the 20W at 0.99 lbs is enough panel to carry. The 30W picks add headroom for tablets and more: the Ecosonique states USB-C and USB-A at up to 5V/3A each, and the MARBERO adds a USB-C PD port, a QC3.0 USB port and a DC output at 16.5V/1.81A max. The ELECOM sits at 28W with dual USB-A ports. Bigger is not better on a trail; it is heavier.
Read the weather rating
Three listings state IP67: the FlexSolar 20W, the Ecosonique and the FlexSolar 10W. The MARBERO states IP65. The ELECOM states water-resistant ripstop nylon with no IP number. The FlexSolar 20W adds a caveat worth reading: the junction box is not fully sealed, so avoid submersion. See our portable solar panel guides for more folding panels.
| Panel | Power | Weight |
|---|---|---|
| Ecosonique 30W Solar Panel | 30W | 1.7 lb |
| MARBERO 30W Solar Panel | 30W | 2.4 lb |
| FlexSolar 10W Solar Panel | 10W | 0.66 lb |
| ELECOM NESTOUT 28W Panel | 28W | 771 g |
| FlexSolar 20W Solar Panel | 20W | 0.99 lb |
Remember these do not store power
Three listings say it outright: the MARBERO, FlexSolar 20W and FlexSolar 10W cannot store electricity. They charge your phone in direct sun and stop when the sun does. For nighttime use, the FlexSolar 20W listing says to pair the panel with a rechargeable battery pack charged during the day. Our best solar power bank for backpacking roundup covers the storage side.
Check the fine print on outputs
Listings disagree with themselves often enough to check. The MARBERO bullets state USB-C at 5V/3A, 9V/2.22A and 12V/1.67A while the spec table lists 5V/3.3A, 9V/3.3A, 12V/3.3A and 20V/3.3A; trust the bullets. The Ecosonique bullets claim both 15% and 25% lighter than most; the listing disagrees with itself there too. Read the bullets before the spec table.
Mind what is missing
The FlexSolar 20W listing states no warranty term. The ELECOM states no IP rating. When a listing does not state something, the review says so rather than guessing.
Sizing Notes
- Match panel watts to the device: 10W to 30W across these picks.
- Check the output ports against your cable: USB-C PD and QC3.0 on the MARBERO, 5V USB on the rest.
- Check the stated weather rating against your trip: IP67 on three, IP65 on one, none stated on one.
- These panels do not store electricity; pair one with a power bank for use after dark.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which panel here is best for just a phone?
The FlexSolar 10W at 0.66 lbs with a USB-A port at 5V/2A max, or the 20W at 0.99 lbs with USB-A and USB-C. Both state IP67 and fold to a small rectangle.
Which of these can charge a laptop?
The MARBERO: its bullets list a USB-C PD port, a QC3.0 USB port and a DC output at 16.5V/1.81A max, with 3 DC adapter plugs for solar generators and power stations. The listing names laptops among the compatible devices.
Which panels state IP67?
The FlexSolar 20W, the Ecosonique 30W and the FlexSolar 10W. The MARBERO states IP65, and the ELECOM states water-resistant nylon with no IP number.
Do any of these store power for night use?
No. The MARBERO, FlexSolar 20W and FlexSolar 10W listings state the panel cannot store electricity. The FlexSolar 20W listing suggests pairing it with a rechargeable battery pack charged during the day.
Which is the lightest panel here?
The FlexSolar 10W at 0.66 lbs, folding to 8.8 by 7.6 by 0.7 inches. The FlexSolar 20W is 0.99 lbs and the Ecosonique 30W is 1.7 lbs.
Related guides
See every Portable Solar Panels guide and all Solar Panels and Kits guides. Also see our best solar power bank for backpacking. Also see our best solar power bank for multiple devices.




