On this page
A cabin roof at dusk with a dead phone and a panel still catching light is where a short lead earns its place, and the best short mc4 extension cable is the lead that matches the panel, the controller and the gap between them. We compared solar extension cables by length, gauge, stated voltage and connector type. The leads below run from a short jumper to a long run, with the short, certified leads at the top.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall iGreely 6FT Solar Cable: 6-foot 10AWG lead with IP67 code and 1500-volt listing for short panel runs. Check price on Amazon
Best Longer Lead VEVOR 20FT Solar Cable: 20-foot 10AWG pair with IP67 code and 1500-volt listing for wider panel spacing. Check price on Amazon
Best Adapter Lead MOOKEERF 3FT Solar Cable: 3-foot solar-to-DC lead with 1-year warranty for power station charging. Check price on Amazon
Best Long Run XRDS 50FT Solar Cable: 50-foot dual-gauge lead with 10AWG branch wires for distant panels. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | iGreely 6FT Solar Cable | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | VEVOR 20FT Solar Cable | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | MOOKEERF 3FT Solar Cable | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | XRDS 50FT Solar Cable | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | XRDS XT60 2FT Cable | 9.2/10 | Buy on Amazon |

iGreely 6FT Solar Cable
A 6-foot 10AWG solar extension cable pair in black and red with tinned copper wire, a 1500-volt listing and an IP67 code.
Pros
- 6-foot pair for short panel-to-controller runs
- 10AWG tinned copper wire with a 1500-volt listing
- IP67 code and TUV certification stated
- Self-locking connectors that are easy to lock and open
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists 70.87 inches against the 6-foot title
- Spec table lists a unit count of 12 against a one-pair listing
- Connector type is not named in the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a 6-foot pair, one black and one red, in 10AWG tinned copper with a 1500-volt listing, a 30 A current figure, self-locking connectors and an IP67 code with TUV certification. The spec table lists 70.87 inches against the 6-foot title and a unit count of 12 against a one-pair listing; the title and bullets carry the pair at 6 feet.
Who it's for: owners who need a short, certified lead between a panel and a controller. Who should skip it: owners who need a named MC4 connector type in the listing.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 6 feet |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 10AWG |
| Voltage | 1500 volts |
| Current | 30 A |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. TUV certified, IP67 code, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

VEVOR 20FT Solar Cable
A 20-foot 10AWG solar extension cable pair in black and red with tinned copper wire, a 1500-volt listing and an IP67 code.
Pros
- 20-foot black and red pair for wider panel spacing
- 10AWG tinned copper wire with a 1500-volt listing
- IP67 code and TUV certification stated
- Pre-installed male and female connectors for tool-free fitting
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- Spec table lists a count of 1 against a set of 2 in the title
- 20 feet is long for a short-cable search
- Spec table lists outdoor use only
Detailed Review
The listing states a 20-foot black and red pair in 10AWG tinned copper with a 1500-volt listing, a 10 A current figure, pre-installed male and female connectors, an IP67 code, TUV certification and XLPE insulation. The title describes a set of 2 while the spec table lists a count of 1; the title and bullets carry the pair.
Who it's for: owners who need a longer short lead with certified connectors for home, ship and RV panels. Who should skip it: owners who want a lead for a tight panel-to-controller gap.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 20 feet |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 10AWG |
| Voltage | 1500 volts |
| Current | 10 A |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. TUV certified, IP67 code, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MOOKEERF 3FT Solar Cable
A 3-foot solar-to-DC extension cable with 12AWG and 14AWG conductors, a DC7909 to DC8020 adapter and a 1-year warranty.
Pros
- 3-foot lead for short power station charging runs
- 1-year warranty stated in the listing
- 12AWG and 14AWG tinned copper conductors
- DC7909 to DC8020 adapter for Jackery Explorer 1500 and Explorer 2000
Cons
- Two different gauges in one lead
- One end is a DC adapter, not a solar panel connector pair
- No IP code is stated
- Jacket heat resistance is listed at 80 degrees Celsius
Detailed Review
The listing states a 3-foot solar-to-DC cable with 12AWG and 14AWG tinned copper conductors, a DC7909 to DC8020 adapter, a flame-retardant PVC VW-1 jacket rated to 80 degrees Celsius and a 1-year warranty. It names Jackery Explorer 1500 and Explorer 2000 power stations, plus GZ Yeti, BLUETTI and Anker stations, among the compatible stations.
Who it's for: owners charging a Jackery, BLUETTI, Anker or GZ Yeti station from a panel. Who should skip it: owners who want two solar panel connectors and no adapter in the middle.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 3 feet |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 12AWG and 14AWG |
| Connector | Solar panel connector to DC7909 and DC8020 |
| Warranty | 1-year warranty |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Flame-retardant PVC VW-1 jacket, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

XRDS 50FT Solar Cable
A 50-foot solar extension cable with a 14AWG main cable, 10AWG branch wires and tinned copper for outdoor runs.
Pros
- 50-foot length for panels set far from the controller
- 14AWG main cable with 10AWG branch wires
- Tinned copper wire for outdoor runs
- Solar panel connectors for panels, controllers and power stations
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No IP code is stated
- 50 feet is long for a short-cable search
- No voltage figure is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 50-foot orange cable with a 14AWG main conductor, 10AWG red and black branch wires, tinned copper, water resistant solar panel connectors and weather and UV resistant insulation. It names panels, charge controllers, inverters, generators, batteries and power stations among the connections, and RV, camping and off-grid systems among the uses.
Who it's for: owners with panels set well away from the controller. Who should skip it: owners who want a short jumper for a tight layout.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 50 feet |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 14AWG main, 10AWG branches |
| Connector | Solar panel connectors |
| Water resistance | Water resistant |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Water resistant solar panel connectors, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

XRDS XT60 2FT Cable
A 2-foot 10AWG XT60 extension cable pair with tinned copper wire for RC models, drones and battery systems.
Pros
- 2-foot length for tight battery and charger layouts
- 10AWG tinned copper wire
- Two cables in the pack
- 600-volt figure for high-demand battery systems
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- No IP code is stated
- XT60 connectors, not the MC4 connectors this search names
- Listing centers on RC models and drones
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-foot pair of XT60 extension cables in 10AWG tinned copper with a 600-volt figure, a heat-resistant PVC jacket and XT60 male to female connectors. It centers on RC cars, drones, quadcopters and FPV racing drones, with battery packs, chargers and power supplies among the uses, and solar applications named last.
Who it's for: RC and drone owners who need a short battery lead. Who should skip it: owners who need MC4 connectors for a solar panel run.
Its Solar Score of 9.2/10 comes from performance 21/35, build 18/25, value 18/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 57 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Length | 2 feet |
|---|---|
| Gauge | 10AWG |
| Voltage | 600 volts |
| Pack | 2 cables |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No current rating or safety listing is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Size and fuse it. Match wire gauge and fuses to the current the maker specifies, keep MC4 connectors matched to the same type, and keep connections dry and strain relieved.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
GEYA 10FT Solar Cable10-foot pair with TUV certification and IP67 code for panel-to-controller runs.Check on Amazon
Kimbluth 1FT Solar Cable1-foot 10AWG jumper with IP68 code and 60-day warranty for tight layouts.Check on Amazon
XRDS 2FT Solar Cable 2-Pack2-foot 2-pack 10AWG lead with solar connectors for RV and off-grid runs.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Solar Extension Cable | Solar Score | Length | Gauge | Voltage | IP Code | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iGreely 6FT Solar Cable | 9.7/10 | 6 feet | 10AWG | 1500 volts | IP67 | View on Amazon |
| VEVOR 20FT Solar Cable | 9.6/10 | 20 feet | 10AWG | 1500 volts | IP67 | View on Amazon |
| MOOKEERF 3FT Solar Cable | 9.5/10 | 3 feet | 12AWG and 14AWG | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| XRDS 50FT Solar Cable | 9.4/10 | 50 feet | 14AWG | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| XRDS XT60 2FT Cable | 9.2/10 | 2 feet | 10AWG | 600 volts | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For an extension cable, safety means certifications, IP codes and jacket specs the listing actually states; a cable that states none scores zero on that line. Only the MOOKEERF cable states a warranty term, and only the iGreely and VEVOR cables state TUV certification with an IP67 code. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iGreely 6FT Solar Cable | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | 8 | 0 |
| VEVOR 20FT Solar Cable | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 20 | 8 | 0 |
| MOOKEERF 3FT Solar Cable | 9.5 | 27 | 19 | 19 | 5 | 3 |
| XRDS 50FT Solar Cable | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 19 | 3 | 0 |
| XRDS XT60 2FT Cable | 9.2 | 21 | 18 | 18 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best short mc4 extension cable
Match the length to the gap
Start with the distance between the panel and the controller, then pick the lead that covers it without coils of spare cable. The MOOKEERF lead covers a 3-foot gap, the iGreely lead covers 6 feet, the VEVOR pair covers 20 feet and the XRDS lead covers 50 feet. A lead that is far longer than the gap adds clutter, so match the length before the gauge.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| A short jumper for a tight gap | MOOKEERF 3FT Solar Cable, 3 feet |
| A short certified lead | iGreely 6FT Solar Cable, 6 feet, IP67 code |
| A longer lead for wider spacing | VEVOR 20FT Solar Cable, 20 feet |
| A long run to a distant panel | XRDS 50FT Solar Cable, 50 feet |
Check gauge and stated voltage
Gauge and stated voltage decide whether a lead fits the system it joins. The iGreely and VEVOR leads list 10AWG wire with a 1500-volt listing, while the XRDS lead lists a 14AWG main cable with 10AWG branch wires and no voltage figure. The MOOKEERF lead lists 12AWG and 14AWG conductors with no voltage figure, and the XT60 pair lists 10AWG wire with a 600-volt figure. Compare the gauge and the voltage figure against the panel and controller listings before ordering.
Check the connector type
Connector type decides whether the lead plugs straight in or needs an adapter. The VEVOR pair lists MC4 male and female connectors, and the MOOKEERF lead pairs a solar panel connector with a DC7909 to DC8020 adapter. The XRDS lead lists solar panel connectors without naming a connector standard, the iGreely listing does not name its connector type, and the XT60 pair uses XT60 connectors. For the connector debate, see our mc4 vs xt60 connectors guide and our best MC4 extension cable for solar panels guide.
Read the IP code and warranty lines
Weather protection and warranty terms vary more than length does. The iGreely and VEVOR leads state an IP67 code with TUV certification, while the MOOKEERF, XRDS and XT60 listings state no IP code. Only the MOOKEERF lead states a warranty term, a 1-year warranty, and the other picks state none. Read those lines before ordering, since a lead that lives outdoors should state both.
Sizing Notes
- Match panel watts and voltage against the controller or power station input before choosing a lead.
- Use the cable gauge the listing states: 10AWG on the iGreely, VEVOR and XT60 leads, 12AWG and 14AWG on the MOOKEERF lead.
- Match the connector type to the panel and controller ends: MC4 on the VEVOR pair, a DC adapter on the MOOKEERF lead, XT60 on the XT60 pair.
- Check the stated voltage: 1500 volts on the iGreely and VEVOR listings, 600 volts on the XT60 listing.
- Check warranty terms: a 1-year warranty is stated for the MOOKEERF lead and no term is stated for the other picks.
Frequently Asked Questions
What length MC4 extension cable do I need for a short run?
It depends on the gap between the panel and the controller. The MOOKEERF lead covers 3 feet and the iGreely lead covers 6 feet, while the VEVOR pair covers 20 feet for wider spacing.
What gauge suits a short MC4 extension cable?
The iGreely and VEVOR leads list 10AWG wire, the MOOKEERF lead lists 12AWG and 14AWG conductors, and the XRDS lead lists a 14AWG main cable with 10AWG branch wires. Match the gauge to the panel and controller listings.
Do all of these cables use MC4 connectors?
No. The VEVOR pair lists MC4 male and female connectors, the MOOKEERF lead pairs a solar panel connector with a DC adapter, the XRDS lead lists solar panel connectors without naming a standard, the iGreely listing does not name its connector type, and the XT60 pair uses XT60 connectors.
What does an IP67 code mean on a solar cable?
The IP67 code appears on the iGreely and VEVOR listings alongside dust and water protection claims. It does not replace checking the connector fit and the stated voltage.
Related guides
See every Mounts, Cables and Connectors guide and all Solar Panels and Kits guides. Also see our best MC4 extension cable 50 ft. Also see our mc4 vs xt60 connectors. Also see our best solar extension cable for van. Also see our best solar extension cable for rv. Also see our best solar extension cable for camper. Also see our best solar extension cable for trailer. Also see our best solar extension cable for power station. Also see our 10 ft vs 25 ft solar extension cable. Also see our best MC4 to XT60 cable.





