On this page
When dusk settles over the patio and the table still needs light, the best small solar lantern turns an afternoon of sun into an evening glow. This list compares small solar lanterns on flame effect, charge and runtime as stated, weather ratings, materials and warranty terms. Two listings give a title only, so they sit last with their limits stated plainly.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall KINGLEAD Solar Lantern: Dimmer switch, dusk-to-dawn sensor and IP65 rating Check price on Amazon
Best Star Projection Brizled Solar Lantern: Retro hollow design with a star projector film Check price on Amazon
Best Metal Lantern X-PREK Solar Lantern: Iron body with a flickering flame design Check price on Amazon
8-Pack Option GIGALUMI Solar Lantern: Title states eight hanging lanterns with candle effect; no further details listed Check price on Amazon
2-Pack Option FriutShine Solar Lantern: Title states flickering flame effect; no further details listed Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | KINGLEAD Solar Lantern | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Brizled Solar Lantern | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | X-PREK Solar Lantern | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | GIGALUMI 8-Pack Candle Lanterns | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | FriutShine Solar Lantern | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |

KINGLEAD Solar Lantern
A 2-pack vintage flickering flame lantern with a dimmer switch and dusk-to-dawn sensor for patios, gardens and decks.
Pros
- Dimmer switch stated
- Dusk-to-dawn sensor stated
- Up to 10 hours summer runtime stated
- IP65 rating stated
Cons
- Winter runtime drops to 6 to 8 hours stated
- No solar panel wattage stated
- No lumen figure stated
- No battery capacity figure stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-pack of vintage flickering flame LED lanterns with a dimmer switch, about 5 hours of charge for up to 10 hours in summer or 6 to 8 hours in winter, a built-in sensor that turns them on at night and off at dawn, an IP65 rating, a heat-resistant and frost-resistant ABS body with a bronze-look finish, a top hook for hanging, dimensions of 5.9 by 4.52 by 9.45 inches, a weight of 11.52 ounces, a lithium ion battery included, and a 1 year warranty.
Who it's for: patio, garden, deck and pathway users who want a dimmer switch and dusk-to-dawn operation. Who should skip it: readers who want a stated panel wattage, lumen figure or battery capacity, since the listing states none of those.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 87 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charge time | About 5 hours |
|---|---|
| Runtime | Up to 10 hours summer |
| Rating | IP65 |
| Size | 5.9 by 4.52 by 9.45 inches |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 1 year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Brizled Solar Lantern
A 2-pack retro hollow lantern with a star projector film and warm white light for gardens, patios and courtyards.
Pros
- Star projector film stated
- Auto on and off at dusk stated
- 8 hours runtime on a full charge stated
- Metal hooks for hanging or tabletop use stated
Cons
- Bullets say glass while the spec table lists plastic and ABS
- Bullets say IP44 while the spec table lists IP65
- No dimensions stated in the listing data
- No lumen figure stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-pack of retro hollow lanterns with a star projector film at the bottom, warm white light, 6 hours of charge for 8 hours of illumination, automatic on and off at dusk, sturdy metal hooks for hanging or standing on flat surfaces, a 0.35 watt light source at 1.2 volts, a weight of 0.42 kg, reuse as a tealight candle holder with the cover off, and a 1 year warranty. Contradictions: the bullets describe a glass structure and an IP44 rating, while the spec table lists plastic and ABS materials and an IP65 rating; this article uses the bullets, trusting them over the spec table.
Who it's for: garden, patio and courtyard users who want a star pattern and automatic dusk operation. Who should skip it: readers who want stated dimensions or a single agreed material and rating, since the listing conflicts on those lines.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charge time | 6 hours |
|---|---|
| Runtime | 8 hours |
| Rating | IP44 |
| Weight | 0.42 kg |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP44 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

X-PREK Solar Lantern
A 2-pack iron and metal flickering flame lantern with a hummingbird design for patios, porches and gardens.
Pros
- Iron and metal body stated
- Flickering flame design stated
- 2-pack stated
- Hummingbird design stated in the title
Cons
- No charge time stated
- No runtime stated
- Water Resistant level, no IP rating stated
- Single light source stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-pack of outdoor solar lanterns with an orange flickering flame design, an iron and metal body, a hummingbird design, LED light, tabletop mounting, dimensions of 4 by 4 by 5.5 inches, 1 AAA nickel-metal hydride battery included, a Water Resistant level, and a 1 year warranty. Two gaps: the listing states no charge time and no runtime, and the title and the spec table differ on water resistance; this article uses the spec table's Water Resistant level.
Who it's for: patio, porch and garden users who want a small metal flickering flame lantern. Who should skip it: readers who want a stated charge time, runtime or IP rating, since the listing states none of those.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Size | 4 by 4 by 5.5 inches |
|---|---|
| Material | Iron |
| Battery | 1 AAA NiMH included |
| Rating | Water Resistant |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Water Resistant level stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1 year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GIGALUMI 8-Pack Candle Lanterns
Eight candle-effect lanterns with stakes, clamps and hangers, auto-on at dusk, and a 90-day replacement term in the bullets.
Pros
- Eight lanterns with a stake each plus metal clamps and hangers
- Auto-on at dusk with an ON/OFF switch stated
- Stated to stand up to rainy nights and light snow
- Hangs on umbrellas, tents and trees or stands on the stakes
Cons
- 0.24 watts in the spec table, the weakest light source figure here
- Bullets promise 90 days replacement while the spec table says 6 months
- Plastic shade stated in the spec table
- 1910 g weight with no per-lantern split stated
Detailed Review
The listing states eight warm-white LED lanterns with a candle effect for mood lighting, each with a stake, plus metal clamps and hangers for trees, tents and umbrellas, auto-on at dusk with an ON/OFF switch, a 1 AAA Ni-MH battery, 0.24 watts, 3 volts, 4.2 by 5.4 by 4.2 inches and 1910 g. It claims the lanterns stand up to sunny days, rainy nights and light snow. The bullets promise 90 days replacement or a risk-free refund, while the spec table says 6 months; trust the bullets for the warranty term.
Who it's for: garden owners who want many small accent lights for paths, lawns and party trees. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a bright lantern or a long written warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 1/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pack | 8 pack |
|---|---|
| Light source | LED, 0.24 watts, candle effect |
| Battery | 1 AAA Ni-MH |
| Warranty term | 90 days in the bullets |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. stated to stand up to rainy nights and light snow, so safety scores 4 of 10. 90 days replacement stated in the bullets. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FriutShine Solar Lantern
A 2-pack of hanging solar lanterns with a flickering flame effect, dusk-to-dawn operation and a stated 2-year warranty.
Pros
- 2-year warranty stated, the longest clear term here
- FCC and RoHS stated
- Dusk-to-dawn auto on/off
- 1200mAh battery with all-night lighting stated
Cons
- No lumen figure is stated
- No panel watt figure is stated
- ABS plastic build
- Flame effect is decorative, not task lighting
Detailed Review
The listing states a 2-pack of hanging solar lanterns with a flickering flame effect, a 1200mAh battery, 6 to 12 hours of sun for all-night lighting, and dusk-to-dawn automatic operation. It claims continued nighttime lighting for up to a week through cloudy days, lists FCC and RoHS, and states a 2-year warranty. The lanterns measure 4.35 by 4.35 by 6.7 inches with an ABS build.
Who it's for: buyers who want decorative indoor-outdoor lanterns with the longest clear warranty here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stated brightness for task work.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Battery | 1200mAh |
|---|---|
| Effect | Flickering flame |
| Operation | Dusk to dawn |
| Size | 4.35 x 4.35 x 6.7 in |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. FCC and RoHS stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. "2 year manufacturer" warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Killoywin Small LanternFor small outdoor spaces, with IP44 rating and 8 hours stated.Check on Amazon
BONLION Solar LanternFor gardens and patios, with flickering flame and IP65 rating.Check on Amazon
HERJIATK Solar LanternFor patios and porches, with 2-pack and IP44 rating stated.Check on Amazon
Vivideal Solar LanternFor camping and gardens, with flickering flame and IP65 rating.Check on Amazon
Boakboary Solar LanternFor patios and parties, with 4 light modes and IP65 rating.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Lantern | Solar Score | Pack | Runtime | Weather rating | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KINGLEAD Solar Lantern | 9.7/10 | 2 Pack | Up to 10 hours summer | IP65 | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| Brizled Solar Lantern | 9.7/10 | 2 Pack | 8 hours | IP44 | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| X-PREK Solar Lantern | 9.6/10 | 2 Pack | Not stated | Water Resistant | 1 year | View on Amazon |
| GIGALUMI Solar Lantern | 9.5/10 | 8 Pack | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| FriutShine Solar Lantern | 9.5/10 | 2 Pack | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 25 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a solar lantern, safety means the weather rating the listing actually states, such as an IP65 or IP44 rating, or a stated water resistance level. Three of the five listings state a warranty term, and all three state a 1 year term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KINGLEAD Solar Lantern | 9.7 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 9 | 3 |
| Brizled Solar Lantern | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
| X-PREK Solar Lantern | 9.6 | 27 | 20 | 20 | 5 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best small solar lantern
Flame effect or star projection
The KINGLEAD and X-PREK listings both state a flickering flame effect, while the Brizled listing states a retro hollow pattern with a star projector film at the bottom. The GIGALUMI title states a candle effect, and the FriutShine title states a flickering flame effect. For a deck setting, see best solar lantern for deck for more deck-sized options.
Charge time and runtime, as stated
The KINGLEAD listing states about 5 hours of charge for up to 10 hours in summer or 6 to 8 hours in winter, and the Brizled listing states 6 hours of charge for 8 hours of light. The X-PREK listing states neither a charge time nor a runtime, so it cannot be compared on those lines. The table below keeps charge, runtime and rating side by side, with no score column.
| Lantern | Charge | Runtime | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| KINGLEAD Solar Lantern | About 5 hours | Up to 10 hours summer | IP65 |
| Brizled Solar Lantern | 6 hours | 8 hours | IP44 |
| X-PREK Solar Lantern | Not stated | Not stated | Water Resistant |
| GIGALUMI Solar Lantern | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| FriutShine Solar Lantern | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Read the weather rating as stated
Weather ratings are stated differently across these listings, so read the rating itself rather than any general claim. The KINGLEAD listing states an IP65 rating, the Brizled bullets state an IP44 rating, and the X-PREK spec table states a Water Resistant level with no IP rating. A higher rating code is not a promise about any particular storm; it is only the rating the listing states.
Size and pack count
The KINGLEAD listing gives dimensions of 5.9 by 4.52 by 9.45 inches, while the X-PREK listing gives 4 by 4 by 5.5 inches, the smallest stated size here. The Brizled listing states no dimensions, so its size cannot be compared from the listing. Pack counts also differ: the three full listings are 2-packs, the GIGALUMI title states an 8-pack, and the FriutShine title states a 2-pack. For pack comparisons, see best solar lantern pack.
Sizing Notes
- Match the stated runtime to the evening planned: up to 10 hours in summer for KINGLEAD, 8 hours for Brizled, and not stated for X-PREK.
- Match the charge time to the sun available: about 5 hours for KINGLEAD, 6 hours for Brizled.
- Check the weather rating as stated: IP65 for KINGLEAD, IP44 for Brizled, Water Resistant for X-PREK.
- Check pack count: 2-pack for the three full listings, 8-pack for the GIGALUMI title, 2-pack for FriutShine by title.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which lantern here has a dimmer switch?
The KINGLEAD listing states a dimmer switch for softening or raising brightness. No other listing here states a dimmer switch.
Which lantern has a star projection?
The Brizled listing states a star projector film at the bottom of the lantern, casting a pattern at night.
How long do these lanterns run on a full charge?
The KINGLEAD listing states up to 10 hours in summer or 6 to 8 hours in winter, and the Brizled listing states 8 hours. The X-PREK listing states no runtime.
Which listings state an IP rating?
The KINGLEAD listing states an IP65 rating, and the Brizled bullets state an IP44 rating. The X-PREK listing states a Water Resistant level with no IP rating.
What do the Brizled spec table figures mean?
The Brizled spec table lists plastic and ABS materials and an IP65 rating, which conflict with the bullets describing glass and an IP44 rating. This article uses the bullets, trusting them over the spec table.
Related guides
See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides.
More picks: solar lantern for picnic, solar path lights for stepping stones, solar lantern for deck.




