Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Solar Bug Zapper Under 50 (2026): 5 Compared

Five solar bug zappers compared: CXBER, PALONE, OnBeam, PestMentor and zechuan, ranked on stated grid voltage, charging options and warranty.

Best Solar Bug Zapper Under 50 (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

Dinner on the patio ends when the bugs arrive. The best solar bug zapper under 50 is the one that stays charged through the evening and hangs where the insects fly. We compared five zappers from CXBER, PALONE, OnBeam, PestMentor and zechuan on what their listings state: grid voltage, charging options, runtime, weather codes and warranty. The CXBER leads with a stated 2-year warranty and indoor use, while the PALONE brings the highest stated grid voltage. All five run on solar power, so none needs an outlet near the patio.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper

OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper

OnBeam9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4200V solar bug zapper with EPA registration, IPX5 and 1-year warranty service.

Pros

  • EPA registered with a 0.25-inch mesh gap
  • IPX5 stated on the listing
  • 1-year warranty service stated
  • LED light and SOS modes with a dusk-to-dawn sensor

Cons

  • 2100 sq ft is mid-range coverage here
  • No runtime figure is stated
  • No battery capacity is stated
  • 6.2 by 6.2 by 9.8 inches is compact for 2100 sq ft
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar bug zapper with a 4200V shock grid, 365-395 nm LED light, up to 2100 sq ft of coverage, solar and USB-C charging with 3-4 hours for a full charge, LED light and SOS modes, a dusk-to-dawn sensor, an ABS housing with a protective mesh at a 0.25-inch safety gap, IPX5, EPA registration and 1-year warranty service. The listing states 6.2 by 6.2 by 9.8 inches.

Who it's for: buyers who want the only EPA-registered pick with a stated warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated runtime or bigger coverage.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Coverage2100 sq ft
Grid4200V
ChargingSolar plus USB-C in 3-4 hours
Water resistanceIPX5

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. EPA registered with 0.25-inch mesh gap and IPX5 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1-year warranty service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CXBER Solar Bug Zapper

CXBER Solar Bug Zapper

CXBER9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A solar bug zapper with USB backup, UV light and indoor and outdoor use, with a stated 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • Solar charging with USB backup stated
  • Indoor and outdoor use stated
  • 3 hours of charging stated
  • 2 Year Manufacturer warranty stated

Cons

  • No grid voltage figure is stated
  • No coverage figure is stated
  • No weather code is stated
  • Indoor use notes keep it away from food
Detailed Review

The listing states a CXBER solar bug zapper for outdoor and indoor use, with UV light to attract mosquitoes, flies and gnats, solar charging with USB backup charging when sunlight is limited, and a rechargeable cordless design for the patio, campsite, garage or home. It lists hanging or tabletop use, 3 hours of charging, 1.2 pounds and 3.6 by 11.4 by 14.9 inches. The spec table gives a 2 Year Manufacturer warranty. Indoor use is for kitchens and garages, placed away from food and high-traffic areas.

Who it's for: buyers who want stated indoor use with a warranty. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated grid voltage.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
ChargingSolar, USB backup
UseIndoor and outdoor
Charge time3 hours
Weight1.2 pounds

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 2 Year Manufacturer stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PALONE 4500V Solar Zapper

PALONE 4500V Solar Zapper

PALONE9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4500V solar bug zapper with a 7.5W panel, Type-C backup, 2600mAh battery and up to 13 hours of runtime.

Pros

  • 4500V high power grid stated
  • Solar, Type-C and 2600mAh battery stated
  • Up to 13 hours per full charge stated
  • Protective 0.19 inch fence and ABS stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No coverage figure is stated
  • ABS refractory material claims need care in heat
  • Protective film must be removed before use
Detailed Review

The listing states a PALONE solar bug zapper with a 4500V high power grid and a special wavelength light source, powered three ways: a 7.5W 5V solar panel with a 3.6m cable, a Type-C cable and a 2600mAh rechargeable battery. It lists up to 13 hours per full charge after around 6 hours in the sun, three modes, a hook, a protective fence with a 0.19 inch interval around the grid, ABS material, a bottom tray that rotates out, and 6 by 4 by 5 inches. Target species are fly, gnat, mosquito, moth and wasp. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: buyers who want the highest stated grid voltage with three power options. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Grid4500 V
Panel7.5 W, 5 V
Battery2600 mAh
Runtime13 hours

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

zechuan SE563 Trap Lamp

zechuan SE563 Trap Lamp

zechuan9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A physical-trap mosquito lamp with LED night light and SOS signal.

Pros

  • Physical trap, no grid and no chemicals
  • LED night light with SOS signal
  • Auto on and off with a panel sensor
  • Solar plus USB-C charging

Cons

  • No coverage figure is stated
  • No grid voltage, it is not a zapper grid
  • No water resistance figure is stated
  • No warranty term is stated on the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar bug zapper lamp with a physical trap instead of an electric grid, an LED night light, an SOS signal, auto on and off with a panel sensor, solar and USB-C charging and 6.5 by 6.5 by 10 inches at 2 pounds. The bullets advise minimizing surrounding light during use. No coverage figure, no water resistance figure and no warranty term are stated on the listing.

Who it's for: buyers who want a chemical-free trap with a night light and no high-voltage grid. Who should skip it: anyone who wants an electric zapper grid.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 4/10 and warranty 0/5: 71 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
MethodPhysical trap
LightLED night light plus SOS
ChargingSolar plus USB-C
Size6.5 by 6.5 by 10 inches

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Physical trap, no chemicals stated, so safety scores 4 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PestMentor 2-in-1 Zapper

PestMentor 2-in-1 Zapper

PestMentor9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-in-1 solar bug zapper and outdoor light with a 2000V grid, 365nm light and solar plus USB charging.

Pros

  • 2000V contact grid with 365 nm light stated
  • Solar and USB rechargeable stated
  • 2-in-1 zapper and outdoor light stated
  • Light-sensing control stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • No coverage figure is stated
  • No weather code is stated
  • Ground stake rods add setup
Detailed Review

The listing states a PestMentor solar bug zapper in a two-mode design: a flying-insect zapper or a built-in outdoor light, with a 2000V contact grid and 365 nm purple light, solar daytime charging and a USB cable as a second charging option. It lists light-sensing control for nighttime use and setup choices of rods and ground stake, a stable surface or an upper ring for hanging. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: buyers who want a 2-in-1 zapper and light. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty or coverage figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Grid2000 V
Light365 nm
ChargingSolar, USB
Design2-in-1

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No safety listing, protection or rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Follow the manual. Connect and use the product as the maker describes, stay within every stated rating, and read the manual before first use.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Bug Zapper Solar Score Grid Charging Extras Amazon
CXBER Solar Bug Zapper 9.5/10 UV grid Solar, USB 2-year warranty View on Amazon
PALONE 4500V Solar Zapper 9.5/10 4500V Solar, Type-C 13 h runtime View on Amazon
OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper 9.7/10 4200V Solar IPX5, EPA View on Amazon
PestMentor 2-in-1 Zapper 9.4/10 2000V Solar, USB 2-in-1 light View on Amazon
zechuan Solar Bug Zapper 9.5/10 Not stated Solar LED light, SOS

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a bug zapper, safety means a protective fence around the grid or a stated weather code; the PALONE names a 0.19 inch fence and the OnBeam states IPX5. Only the CXBER states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
CXBER Solar Bug Zapper 9.5 26 20 21 0 3
PALONE 4500V Solar Zapper 9.5 28 21 21 0 0
PestMentor 2-in-1 Zapper 9.4 26 20 21 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar bug zapper under 50

Charging options

The PALONE states three ways to power it: a 7.5W 5V solar panel, a Type-C cable and a 2600mAh battery, with up to 13 hours per full charge after around 6 hours in the sun. The CXBER states solar charging with USB backup and 3 hours of charging. The PestMentor states solar and USB rechargeable. The OnBeam and the zechuan give no charging details beyond the solar title. If your yard gets limited direct sun, favor the listings that state a USB or Type-C backup.

Grid and attractant

Zapper Grid stated Coverage stated
PALONE 4500V Not stated
OnBeam 4200V 2100 sq ft
PestMentor 2000V Not stated
CXBER UV grid Not stated
zechuan Not stated Not stated

The PALONE states a 4500V high power grid with a special wavelength light, and names fly, gnat, mosquito, moth and wasp as targets. The OnBeam states 4200V with 2100 sq ft. The PestMentor states a 2000V contact grid with 365 nm purple light. The CXBER states UV light to attract mosquitoes, flies and gnats. Compare on the stated grid figure: the PALONE at 4500V, the OnBeam at 4200V and the PestMentor at 2000V.

Indoor or outdoor use

The CXBER states indoor and outdoor use: kitchens, garages, patios, campsites and backyards, with the note to place it away from food and high-traffic areas. The PALONE states indoor and outdoor use for backyards, patios, camping and farms. The PestMentor is aimed at patios, gardens and campsites with a stake, tabletop or hanging setup. The OnBeam and the zechuan give no stated use areas. For indoor spaces, the CXBER and the PALONE are the only two that state indoor use.

Extras worth noting

The PALONE states a hook, a 3.6m solar panel cable, three modes and a bottom tray that rotates out for cleaning. The PestMentor is a 2-in-1 zapper and outdoor light with light-sensing control. The zechuan adds an LED night light and an SOS signal. The CXBER is the only one with a stated warranty: 2 Year Manufacturer. The PALONE lists 360 degree coverage and a wider defense range with its open design.

Sizing Notes

  • Match charging to your site: solar with Type-C or USB backup on the PALONE, CXBER and PestMentor; solar only is stated on the OnBeam and zechuan.
  • Check stated runtime and charge time: up to 13 hours after around 6 hours of charge on the PALONE, and 3 hours of charging on the CXBER.
  • Note the grid voltage stated: 4500V on the PALONE, 4200V on the OnBeam and 2000V on the PestMentor.
  • Confirm the weather code: IPX5 on the OnBeam; no code stated on the others.
  • Keep stated use areas in mind: indoor and outdoor on the CXBER and PALONE, and patios, gardens and campsites on the PestMentor.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does the PALONE run on a full charge?

Up to 13 hours per full charge, from a 2600mAh battery charged in around 6 hours of sunlight.

Which zappers here charge by USB too?

The PALONE by Type-C, and the CXBER and PestMentor by USB. The OnBeam and zechuan give no backup charging details.

Which one states a warranty?

Only the CXBER, with a 2 Year Manufacturer description in its spec table.

What does the OnBeam state for coverage?

4200V, 2100 sq ft, IPX5 and EPA Registered. It gives no runtime or charging details.

Can these be used indoors?

The CXBER and the PALONE both state indoor use; the CXBER names kitchens and garages with the note to keep it away from food.

Does the PALONE need an outlet?

No. It states solar, Type-C and a rechargeable battery, and it runs up to 13 hours per full charge.

OnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper
Still deciding? Our top pickOnBeam 4200V Bug Zapper
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. For the campsite, see the best solar lantern for hunting camp. Also see our best solar barn flood lights under 60.

More picks: a solar bug zapper with a removable panel, IPX6 and a 6000mAh battery stated, a 4 pack of solar bug zappers with a 1000V grid stated, a 2-in-1 solar bug zapper with a motion sensor light stated, and a 4 pack of solar bug zappers with IP65 and a 1 year manufacturer warranty stated.