On this page
A boat battery dies slowly at the dock, and shore power is not always there. The best solar charger for boat battery maintenance keeps the bank topped with a panel and a controller, no wiring project. We compared four solar chargers from 1.8W to 20W on power, controller, modes, weather rating and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Baldr 13W: 13W, MPPT, IP67, UL, 3-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best 20W SUNER 20W: 20W, MPPT, 3 battery modes, 8 protections Check price on Amazon
Best Small SUNAPEX 1.8W: 1.8W, UL, suction cups, 1-year warranty Check price on Amazon
Best Bracket SUNER 10W: 10W, MPPT, 3-stage, adjustable bracket Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Baldr 13W | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | SUNER 20W | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SUNAPEX 1.8W | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | SUNER 10W | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Baldr 13W
A 13W solar battery charger with MPPT, an IP67 rating, UL compliance and a 3-year warranty.
Pros
- 13W with MPPT stated
- IP67 rating stated
- UL stated
- 3-year warranty stated
Cons
- 13W, less than the 20W pick
- 1-year full refund, not a longer warranty
- No stated charge level display
- No adjustable bracket stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 13W solar battery charger with MPPT, a dual-sided design at 25% efficiency, an IP67 rating, UL compliance, 6+ year panel life, a -40 to 185°F range, 3 installation options, and a 3-year warranty with a 1-year full refund.
Who it's for: boat batteries that need the most rated trickle charger here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 20W.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 13W |
|---|---|
| Controller | MPPT |
| Rating | IP67 |
| Options | 3 installation |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP67 rating, UL stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 3-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 20W, the most here
- 3 battery modes: 12V, AGM, lithium
- Charge level indicators stated
- 8 safety protections stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 1.38kg, heavier than the 1.8W pick
- No stated IP rating
- No UL stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 20W solar battery charger with MPPT at 99% tracking and 98% conversion, 3 selectable modes (12V, 12V AGM, 12V lithium), charge level indicators at 25, 50, 75 and 100%, 8 safety protections, suction cups, SAE cables, 15.9 by 13.1 by 0.12 inches, 1.38kg, A+ cells and ETFE. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: boat owners who want the biggest panel with a lithium mode. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 20W |
|---|---|
| Controller | MPPT |
| Modes | 12V, AGM, lithium |
| Weight | 1.38kg |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 8 safety protections, 3 battery modes stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- UL stated
- 1-year warranty stated
- Suction cups included
- 2 indicator lights stated
Cons
- 1.8W, the least here
- No MPPT stated
- No stated IP rating
- 10-year lifespan stated, shorter than others
Detailed Review
The listing states a 1.8W solar battery charger and maintainer with a built-in controller that prevents overcharging, suction cups, alligator clips, a cigarette lighter plug, compatibility with sealed lead-acid, lithium, LiFePO4, GEL, AGM and flooded batteries, 2 indicator lights, 1.2lbs at 13.3 by 4.9 by 0.5 inches, UL compliance, and a 1-year warranty with lifetime technical support.
Who it's for: infrequently used boat batteries that need a small maintainer. Who should skip it: anyone who needs MPPT or more watts.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 1.8W |
|---|---|
| Controller | Smart |
| Mount | Suction cups |
| Weight | 1.2lbs |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. UL stated, built-in controller with no overcharging stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- MPPT with 99% tracking stated
- 3-stage charging stated
- 8 safety protections stated
- Adjustable bracket stated
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- 10W, less than the 13W and 20W picks
- No lithium mode switch stated
- No UL stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 10W solar battery charger with MPPT at 99% tracking, a 3-stage charging algorithm, 8 safety protections, an adjustable swivel bracket, a 9.8ft cable, compatibility with flooded, gel, AGM, SLA and LiFePO4 lithium batteries, 13.8 by 9.2 by 0.7 inches, A+ cells, aluminum frame and tempered glass. No warranty term is stated.
Who it's for: boat batteries that need an MPPT maintainer on a bracket. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Power | 10W |
|---|---|
| Controller | MPPT |
| Stages | 3-stage |
| Cable | 9.8ft |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. 8 safety protections stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Charger | Solar Score | W | Controller | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baldr 13W | 9.7/10 | 13 | MPPT | 3-year | View on Amazon |
| SUNER 20W | 9.6/10 | 20 | MPPT | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| SUNAPEX 1.8W | 9.6/10 | 1.8 | Smart | 1-year | View on Amazon |
| SUNER 10W | 9.6/10 | 10 | MPPT | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a boat battery charger, safety means the protections and ratings the listing actually states; one states IP67 and UL. Two of the four state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baldr 13W | 9.7 | 30 | 22 | 20 | 6 | 3 |
| SUNER 20W | 9.6 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 6 | 0 |
| SUNAPEX 1.8W | 9.6 | 26 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 2 |
| SUNER 10W | 9.6 | 28 | 22 | 20 | 6 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar charger for boat battery
Power and controller
The SUNER POWER 20W is the biggest here; the Baldr is 13W and the SUNER POWER 10W is next; the SUNAPEX is 1.8W. Three state MPPT; the SUNAPEX has a smart controller. See our best battery charger for a boat picks for AC-powered chargers.
| Charger | W | Controller | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Baldr 13W | 13 | MPPT | 3-year |
| SUNER 20W | 20 | MPPT | Not stated |
| SUNAPEX 1.8W | 1.8 | Smart | 1-year |
| SUNER 10W | 10 | MPPT | Not stated |
Modes and mounts
The SUNER POWER 20W switches between 12V, 12V AGM and 12V lithium modes and shows charge level at 25, 50, 75 and 100%; the other three are automatic. The SUNER POWER 10W has an adjustable swivel bracket; the SUNER POWER 20W and SUNAPEX use suction cups; the Baldr offers 3 installation options. Browse every solar chargers and power banks guide for the full category.
Weather and warranty
The Baldr states an IP67 rating and a -40 to 185°F range; the Baldr and SUNAPEX state UL; all state multi-protection sets. The Baldr states a 3-year warranty with a 1-year full refund; the SUNAPEX states a 1-year warranty with lifetime technical support. Check the mounting before a permanent dock install.
Sizing Notes
- Check the watts: 20 (SUNER 20W), 13 (Baldr), 10 (SUNER 10W), 1.8 (SUNAPEX).
- Check the controller: MPPT on three; smart controller (SUNAPEX).
- Check the modes: 3 battery modes (SUNER 20W); the rest are automatic.
- Check the warranty: 3 years (Baldr), 1 year (SUNAPEX); none stated (the SUNER pair).
Frequently Asked Questions
Which is the most powerful?
The SUNER POWER 20W.
Which has a lithium mode?
The SUNER POWER 20W with 12V AGM and 12V lithium modes.
Which states an IP rating?
The Baldr with IP67.
Which states the longest warranty?
The Baldr with 3 years; the SUNAPEX states 1 year.
Which is the smallest?
The SUNAPEX 1.8W at 1.2lbs.
Related guides
See every blog guide. Also see our best battery charger for a boat again.
More picks: How we pick and all blog guides.







