Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Power Stations and Generators

Best Solar Charger for Truck Drivers (2026): 5 Compared

Five solar chargers compared by watts, ports, weather rating and safety features, for truck drivers charging phones and power banks on the road.

Best Solar Charger for Truck Drivers (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

Long hauls mean long hours away from an outlet, and the best solar charger for truck drivers keeps phones, power banks and small electronics topped up from the dash or the sleeper. A dead phone on a remote stretch is more than an inconvenience when dispatch, navigation and logs all run through it. We compared five chargers by watts, output ports, weather rating, stated protections and warranty, using only what each listing publishes.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Quick picks

  • MHPOWOS 60W Foldable
    Best Overall MHPOWOS 60W Foldable: 60W with IP67 rating, 3 output ports and a foldable 4.4 lb design Check price on Amazon
  • Mesuvida 30W Foldable
    Best for Phones Mesuvida 30W Foldable: 30W, 5 ports with PD 18W, IPX4 rating, folds to A4 size Check price on Amazon
  • Voltset 20W
    Best Trickle Charger Voltset 20W Trickle: 20W with IP67 rating and smart controller for battery maintenance Check price on Amazon
  • SUNAPEX 1.8W
    Most Compact SUNAPEX 1.8W Maintainer: 1.8W maintainer for keeping a truck battery topped up Check price on Amazon

The picks

MHPOWOS 60W Foldable

MHPOWOS 60W Foldable

MHPOWOS9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 60W foldable solar charger with USB-C, USB-A and DC outputs and an IP67 rating, for truck drivers who need more power.

Pros

  • 60W, the highest wattage of the five
  • IP67 rating for dust and water resistance
  • 3 output ports: DC at 5A max, Type-C and USB-A
  • Folds to 9.76 by 13.97 by 1 inches at 4.4 lb

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • The junction box lacks a water resistance rating, per the listing
  • Panels cannot store electricity, only generate it
  • 4.4 lb is the heaviest of the five
Detailed Review

The listing describes a 60W foldable panel with a 23% conversion efficiency, 3 output ports including DC at 5A max, Type-C and USB-A, an IP67 rating, 2 kickstands and a folded size of 9.76 by 13.97 by 1 inches at 4.4 lb.

Who it is for: a truck driver who wants the most watts for phones, tablets and power banks. Who should skip it: someone who wants a stated warranty or a lighter panel.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 85 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BrandMHPOWOS
Watts60W
PortsDC, USB-C, USB-A
RatingIP67

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 rating stated for the panel, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Mesuvida 30W Foldable

Mesuvida 30W Foldable

Mesuvida9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 30W foldable solar charger with 5 ports including PD 18W USB-C and an IPX4 rating.

Pros

  • 5 ports: MC4, DC, 2 USB-A and USB-C with PD 18W
  • 24% conversion efficiency stated, 23.5% in the spec table
  • IPX4 water resistance for outdoor use
  • Folds to A4 size with a carry handle and kickstand

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated, only customer support
  • 30W is half the top pick's output
  • QC 3.0 and PD need compatible cables
  • A4 folded size is larger than a phone
Detailed Review

The listing describes a 30W foldable panel with 5 ports, USB-C PD 18W and QC 3.0, a 24% conversion efficiency, IPX4 water resistance, an adjustable kickstand and a built-in smart protection system against overcharging, overheating and overloading.

Who it is for: a truck driver who charges multiple devices at once. Who should skip it: someone who needs 60W or a stated warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 0/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BrandMesuvida
Watts30W
PortsMC4, DC, 2 USB-A, USB-C
RatingIPX4

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 water resistance; smart protection against overcharging, overheating and overloading, so safety scores 9 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Voltset 20W

Voltset 20W

Voltset9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 20W solar trickle charger with a 10A smart controller, IP67 weather protection and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • 20W mono panel with 10A smart controller stated
  • IP67 with -40°F to 185°F operating range stated
  • Overcharge, over-discharge, short circuit and reverse polarity protection stated
  • 1 Year warranty stated

Cons

  • No cell efficiency figure is stated
  • No cable length is stated
  • LED indicators show 25% to 100% with no finer steps
  • 12.68 by 14.96 by 1.65 inches is the largest panel here
Detailed Review

The listing states a 20W 12V solar trickle charger with an A+ monocrystalline panel, a 10A smart charge controller, 18V maximum voltage and SAE to SAE connectors. It states IP67 water protection, a -40°F to 185°F operating range, LED indicators from 25% to 100%, auto-stop charging when full and auto-resume on voltage drop, and a 1 Year warranty. Protections cover overcharge, over-discharge, short circuit and reverse polarity.

Who it's for: buyers who want the only stated weather code here with a 10A smart controller. Who should skip it: anyone who wants stated cell efficiency figures.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Panel20W mono
Controller10A smart
WeatherIP67, -40°F to 185°F
Warranty1 Year

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67 stated, overcharge, over-discharge, short circuit and reverse polarity protection, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 Year stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

POWOXI 7.5W Solar Charger

POWOXI 7.5W Solar Charger

POWOXI9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 7.5W 12V solar battery trickle charger with an intelligent charge controller, blocking diode and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • Intelligent charge controller stated
  • Blocking diode against reverse charging stated
  • CE stated
  • 1-year warranty stated

Cons

  • 7.5W is the lower solar output here
  • 2.2 pounds stated
  • No watt-hour figure stated
  • Maintenance-only, not a fast charger
Detailed Review

The listing states a 7.5W 12V solar battery charger trickle maintainer kit with an upgrade intelligent charge controller, a built-in smart protection system with a blocking diode structure to prevent overvoltage and short circuit, and no overcharge of the battery. It states high-transparency low-iron tempered glass, an ABS+PC frame, aluminum alloy, an SAE to cigarette lighter connector, 2.2 pounds at 14.76 by 1.89 by 9.06 inches, CE, and a 1-year warranty.

Who it's for: anyone maintaining a parked 12V battery who wants a controller and a stated warranty. Who should skip it: anyone who needs more solar watts.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 9/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output7.5W, 12V
ControllerSmart, blocking diode
FrameABS+PC, tempered glass
Size14.76 x 9.06 in, 2.2 lb

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. CE stated, so safety scores 9 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SUNAPEX 1.8W

SUNAPEX 1.8W

SUNAPEX9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 1.8W solar battery charger and maintainer with UL compliance and a 1-year warranty.

Pros

  • UL stated
  • 1-year warranty stated
  • Suction cups included
  • 2 indicator lights stated

Cons

  • 1.8W, the least here
  • No MPPT stated
  • No stated IP rating
  • 10-year lifespan stated, shorter than others
Detailed Review

The listing states a 1.8W solar battery charger and maintainer with a built-in controller that prevents overcharging, suction cups, alligator clips, a cigarette lighter plug, compatibility with sealed lead-acid, lithium, LiFePO4, GEL, AGM and flooded batteries, 2 indicator lights, 1.2lbs at 13.3 by 4.9 by 0.5 inches, UL compliance, and a 1-year warranty with lifetime technical support.

Who it's for: infrequently used boat batteries that need a small maintainer. Who should skip it: anyone who needs MPPT or more watts.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 2/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Power1.8W
ControllerSmart
MountSuction cups
Weight1.2lbs

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. UL stated, built-in controller with no overcharging stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 1-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Match the charger. Use a charger mode that matches your battery's stated chemistry and voltage, connect in the order the manual gives, and keep it ventilated and dry.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Compare the picks

Charger Solar Score Watts Ports Weather Rating Amazon
MHPOWOS 60W Foldable 9.7/10 60W DC, USB-C, USB-A IP67 View on Amazon
Mesuvida 30W Foldable 9.7/10 30W MC4, DC, 2 USB-A, USB-C IPX4 View on Amazon
Voltset 20W Trickle 9.7/10 20W Not stated IP67
POWOXI 7.5W Trickle 9.7/10 7.5W Not stated Not stated
SUNAPEX 1.8W Maintainer 9.6/10 1.8W Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a solar charger, performance means watts and ports, safety means weather ratings and stated protections, and warranty means a stated term. None of the five states a warranty term. The MHPOWOS and Voltset state IP67, the Mesuvida states IPX4 with smart protection, and the POWOXI states a CE marking with a smart controller.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
MHPOWOS 60W Foldable 9.7 33 22 21 9 0
Mesuvida 30W Foldable 9.7 32 21 21 9 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar charger for truck drivers

Watts and what they charge

Watts set the ceiling. The 60W MHPOWOS can run phones, tablets and power banks together, while the 30W Mesuvida handles phones and small banks. The 20W Voltset, 7.5W POWOXI and 1.8W SUNAPEX are trickle chargers and maintainers, meant to keep a battery topped up rather than charge a dead phone fast. Match the watts to the job: active device charging needs 30W or more, while battery maintenance works at lower watts.

Ports and cables

Ports decide what you can plug in. The Mesuvida offers 5 ports including MC4, DC, 2 USB-A and USB-C with PD 18W, the most versatile of the five. The MHPOWOS offers 3 ports: DC at 5A max, Type-C and USB-A, and includes a Type-C to Type-C and Lightning cable. The three trickle chargers do not state port details. If you charge a phone and a power bank at the same time, count the ports before you buy.

Weather ratings

A charger that lives on a dash or a hood sees sun, dust and rain. The MHPOWOS and Voltset state IP67, which covers dust and temporary immersion, though the MHPOWOS notes its junction box has no rating. The Mesuvida states IPX4, which covers splashing water. The POWOXI and SUNAPEX state no weather rating. For a truck that sits outside, an IP rating is worth more than a few extra watts.

Size on the road

The MHPOWOS folds to 9.76 by 13.97 by 1 inches at 4.4 lb, while the Mesuvida folds to about A4 size at 11.81 by 9.06 by 1.77 inches. Both include kickstands for angling toward the sun. A dash or a sleeper berth has limited flat space, so check the folded footprint against where you plan to set it. The trickle chargers are smaller but their listings state no dimensions.

Trickle chargers vs full chargers

The five picks split into two kinds. The MHPOWOS 60W and Mesuvida 30W are full chargers: foldable panels with multiple output ports meant to actively charge phones, tablets and power banks. The Voltset 20W, POWOXI 7.5W and SUNAPEX 1.8W are trickle chargers and maintainers: low-wattage panels meant to sit on a battery and offset its slow self-discharge over days and weeks. A trickle charger will not revive a dead phone in an afternoon, and a 60W panel is overkill for maintaining a parked truck. Buy the kind that matches the job: active charging on the road, or maintenance during downtime.

Cables and what is in the box

The box contents affect what you can do on day one. The MHPOWOS includes a 2-in-1 USB cable with Type-C to Type-C and Lightning ends, plus 2 carabiners and a solar connector. The Mesuvida includes a 1.5 meter DC to DC cable, 2 carabiners and 3 DC connectors, plus a user manual. The three trickle chargers do not state their included parts. If your truck already has the cables you need, the box matters less; if not, a charger that ships with cables saves a separate purchase.

Sizing Notes

  • Match watts to the load: 30W or more for active phone charging, lower watts for maintenance.
  • Check the folded size against your dash or sleeper space before you buy.
  • Confirm the ports fit your cables: USB-C PD needs a PD cable.
  • For permanent mounting, use the stated mounting points and keep the junction box dry.
  • Angle the panel toward the sun and clear dust off the surface for the best output.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many watts do I need to charge a phone?

The 30W Mesuvida offers PD 18W USB-C for phones, and the 60W MHPOWOS covers phones, tablets and power banks. The trickle chargers at 20W and below are for battery maintenance, not fast phone charging.

Can these chargers run a power station?

The Mesuvida lists compatibility with small power stations via its MC4 and DC ports. The MHPOWOS lists small power stations among its uses. Check the station’s input specs against the charger’s output before connecting.

Are these chargers water resistant?

The MHPOWOS and Voltset state IP67, and the Mesuvida states IPX4. The MHPOWOS notes its junction box has no rating. The POWOXI and SUNAPEX state no weather rating.

Do any of these include a warranty?

None of the five listings states a warranty term. The Mesuvida mentions customer support for questions.

Can a solar charger stay connected to a truck battery?

The Voltset, POWOXI and SUNAPEX are trickle chargers and maintainers designed for that use, with the Voltset and POWOXI listing smart controllers that regulate the charge. Confirm the controller suits your battery type, whether flooded, AGM or lithium, before leaving it connected for days. A maintainer will not overcharge a healthy battery when the controller is working, but check the connections periodically for corrosion.

MHPOWOS 60W Foldable
Still deciding? Our top pickMHPOWOS 60W Foldable
Check price on Amazon

See every power stations guide. Also see our solar charger vs wall charger comparison and best solar charger for dump trailer under 70.

More guides: power stations, best portable power station for road trip.