On this page
A power outage at dinner time leaves a hallway dark and a campsite at dusk leaves a tent zipper hard to find, and both moments call for light that does not depend on a wall outlet. This guide compares the best solar flashlight under 10 on the figures their listings actually state, from charging methods and runtime to brightness and warranty terms. Hand crank models sit beside a keychain model here, so a reader can match a light to a backpack, a keyring or an emergency kit without guessing at specs. The Simpeak pick leads on stated certifications and warranty detail, while the SEANCHEER pick leads on runtime, and the remaining picks cover keychain carry and simple crank lights.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Simpeak Hand Crank Flashlight: Hand crank and solar charging with CE, FCC and RoHS stated Check price on Amazon
Best Runtime SEANCHEER Crank Flashlight: 2-hour runtime on a full charge with a 3-year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Best Keychain Light munkees Keychain Flashlight: Keychain light charged by solar panel or dynamo crank Check price on Amazon
Carabiner Crank Light Simpeak Carabiner Flashlight: Hand cranking solar flashlight with a carabiner clip Check price on Amazon
4-Mode Solar Light GEEBONFLUGENS Solar Flashlight: Solar flashlight with 4 modes and USB-C charging Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Simpeak Hand Crank Flashlight | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Simpeak Hand Crank Flashlight | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | SEANCHEER Crank Flashlight | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | GEEBONFLUGENS 4-Mode Flashlight | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | munkees Keychain Flashlight | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Simpeak Hand Crank Flashlight
Hand cranking solar powered flashlight in green with a carabiner and a built-in rechargeable battery.
Pros
- Hand crank and solar charging, so light does not depend on one source
- Carabiner clips to a backpack
- CE, FCC and RoHS listings stated
- 2-year term stated
Cons
- Bullets list 86g while the spec table lists 80g
- Bullets list 124 by 45 by 32mm while the spec table lists 5.51 by 1.97 by 1.18 inches
- Spec table lists the light as not water resistant
- Green finish only, per the listing
Detailed Review
The listing states a hand cranking solar powered flashlight in green with a built-in rechargeable NiMH battery, a solar panel backup, an ergonomic rugged design and a carabiner. It lists more than 10 minutes of lighting from 1 minute of cranking, a spec table runtime of 5 hours, and a 2-year term. The bullets list 124 by 45 by 32mm and 86g, while the spec table lists 5.51 by 1.97 by 1.18 inches and 80g, so the size and weight do not line up. CE, FCC and RoHS are listed as specifications met, and the spec table lists the light as not water resistant.
Who it's for: bag owners who want a crank and solar light with a carabiner and a stated 2-year term. Who should skip it: buyers who want a water resistant light or settled size and weight figures.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charging | Hand crank and solar |
|---|---|
| Battery | NiMH rechargeable |
| Runtime | 5 hours per spec table |
| Clip | Carabiner |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 25 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE, FCC and RoHS listings stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 2-year term stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Simpeak Hand Crank Flashlight
A hand cranking solar flashlight with a carabiner clip, CE, FCC and RoHS stated and a 2-year service stated.
Pros
- Hand crank charging plus a solar panel as a backup power method
- CE, FCC and RoHS stated in the spec table
- Carabiner clip for a backpack
- 2-year service stated in the bullets
Cons
- Spec table lists 80 g while the bullets state 86 g
- Spec table lists 1 AAA battery required while the bullets state a built-in rechargeable battery
- Not water resistant, as stated in the spec table
- Runtime of 10 minutes stated, below the 2 hours stated for the SEANCHEER pick
Detailed Review
The listing states a hand cranking solar flashlight with a carabiner clip, a built-in rechargeable battery, ABS material and a matte finish, with 1 minute of cranking giving more than 10 minutes of lighting and a solar panel as a backup power method. The spec table lists 80 g while the bullets state 86 g, and the spec table lists 1 AAA battery required while the bullets state a built-in rechargeable battery, so trust the bullets figures. The spec table also lists CE, FCC and RoHS, and the bullets state a 2-year service while the spec table lists a warranty figure of 2 with no unit.
Who it's for: campers and hikers who want a crank and solar light that clips to a backpack. Who should skip it: buyers who want a water resistant light, since this listing states it is not water resistant, or buyers who want a 2-hour runtime.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 78 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charging | Hand crank and solar |
|---|---|
| Runtime | 10 minutes |
| Battery | NiMH rechargeable |
| Material | ABS |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. CE, FCC and RoHS stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2-year service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SEANCHEER Crank Flashlight
A hand crank solar flashlight with a carabiner clip, a 2-hour runtime on a full charge and a 3-year warranty service stated.
Pros
- 2-hour runtime on a full charge
- Hand crank and solar charging only, with no external power needed
- 130 lumens stated as maximum output from 3 LEDs
- 3-year warranty service stated in the bullets
Cons
- Bullets state a 3-year warranty service while the spec table lists 1 year
- Spec table lists 795 lumens in a field and 130 lumens as maximum output
- Bullets state a Ni-MH battery while the spec table lists a lithium ion battery
- Not water resistant, as stated in the spec table
Detailed Review
The listing states a hand crank solar flashlight with a carabiner clip, 3 LEDs, a 40mAh Ni-MH battery, a PVC cover over the lens and a 2-hour runtime on a full charge. Cranking for 1 minute gives more than 8 minutes of lighting, and 30 minutes in direct sunlight gives 10 minutes of lighting, with 40 hours in direct sunlight giving a full charge. The bullets state a 3-year warranty service while the spec table lists 1 year, the bullets state a Ni-MH battery while the spec table lists a lithium ion battery, and the spec table lists 795 lumens in a field against 130 lumens as maximum output, so trust the bullets figures and the maximum output figure.
Who it's for: hikers and campers who want a compact crank and solar light for power outages and trail use. Who should skip it: buyers who want USB charging or a water resistant light, since this listing states USB charging is not supported and the light is not water resistant.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 4/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charging | Hand crank and solar |
|---|---|
| Runtime | 2 hours |
| LEDs | 3 LEDs |
| Brightness | 130 lumens |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 3-year warranty service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GEEBONFLUGENS 4-Mode Flashlight
Solar handheld flashlight with 4 modes, USB-C and solar charging, ergonomic handle.
Pros
- USB-C fast charging stated
- 4 versatile lighting modes
- Ergonomic handle stated
- Compact backpack fit
Cons
- No lumen figure stated
- No runtime figure stated
- No IP code stated
- No warranty term stated
Detailed Review
The GEEBONFLUGENS Solar Handheld Flashlight offers 4 lighting modes with high and low main beam, a wide-angle side light and a combined center light, charged by USB-C or solar.
The handle design and USB-C charging make it the strongest pick for easy carrying.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Modes | 4 |
|---|---|
| Charging | USB-C and solar |
| Weight | 0.26 kg |
| Weather | Water resistant |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Water resistant stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

munkees Keychain Flashlight
A mini solar and dynamo keychain flashlight with 5 watts and a water resistant level stated.
Pros
- Keychain mount keeps the light on a keyring
- Charges by solar panel or dynamo crank
- 5 watts stated in the spec table
- Water resistant level stated in the spec table
Cons
- No runtime figure is stated
- No lumen figure is stated
- No concrete warranty term is stated
- Assorted colors, so the color received may be greenish-yellow or blue
Detailed Review
The listing states a mini solar and dynamo keychain flashlight with a rechargeable NiMH battery, 5 watts, a round shape and plastic material, charged by the onboard solar panel or by cranking the dynamo. The title suggests no disposable battery is needed while the spec table lists a rechargeable NiMH battery, so the light carries a rechargeable cell. The spec table states a water resistant level and a warranty entry of Yes with no term.
Who it's for: buyers who want a tiny light on a keyring for low-light use outdoors or at home. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated runtime, lumen figure or warranty term, since this listing states none of those.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 3/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Charging | Solar and dynamo |
|---|---|
| Wattage | 5 watts |
| Mount | Keychain mount |
| Weight | 22.68 g |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. Water resistant level stated, so safety scores 3 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Hand Crank Solar FlashlightHand crank solar flashlight with USB output and Type-C charging.Check on Amazon
Outdoor Solar LanternPortable LED camping lamp and flashlight with USB and solar charging.Check on Amazon
LED Multitool Small FlashlightKeychain light with solar charging, 1000 lumens and 8 lighting modes.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Flashlight | Solar Score | Charging | Runtime | Brightness | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simpeak Hand Crank Flashlight | 9.6/10 | Hand crank and solar | 10 minutes | Not stated | 2 years | View on Amazon |
| SEANCHEER Crank Flashlight | 9.5/10 | Hand crank and solar | 2 hours | 130 lumens | 3 years | View on Amazon |
| munkees Keychain Flashlight | 9.4/10 | Solar and dynamo | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Simpeak Carabiner Flashlight | 9.6/10 | Hand crank and solar | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
| GEEBONFLUGENS Solar Flashlight | 9.5/10 | USB-C and solar | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 28 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For flashlights, safety means stated certifications or a stated water resistance level; a light that states neither scores lower on that line, whatever its brightness. 2 picks state a warranty term, and 1 pick states CE, FCC and RoHS. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simpeak Hand Crank Flashlight | 9.6 | 28 | 21 | 21 | 5 | 3 |
| SEANCHEER Crank Flashlight | 9.5 | 29 | 20 | 21 | 0 | 4 |
| munkees Keychain Flashlight | 9.4 | 26 | 19 | 20 | 3 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar flashlight under 10
Hand crank or solar charging
Cranking gives light without sun or an outlet. The Simpeak listing states more than 10 minutes of lighting from 1 minute of cranking, and the SEANCHEER listing states more than 8 minutes from 1 minute of cranking. Solar charging adds another method: the SEANCHEER listing states 10 minutes of lighting from 30 minutes in direct sunlight, and a full charge from 40 hours in direct sunlight. For a comparison with lanterns, see the solar lantern vs hand crank lantern guide.
Runtime and brightness
Runtime separates the full-detail picks clearly. The SEANCHEER pick runs for 2 hours on a full charge with 130 lumens stated as maximum output, while the Simpeak pick states a runtime of 10 minutes and no lumen figure. The munkees pick states 5 watts with no runtime or lumen figure, so its brightness cannot be compared directly with the others. The table below lines up charging and runtime for each pick.
| Flashlight | Charging | Runtime |
|---|---|---|
| Simpeak Hand Crank Flashlight | Hand crank and solar | 10 minutes |
| SEANCHEER Crank Flashlight | Hand crank and solar | 2 hours |
| munkees Keychain Flashlight | Solar and dynamo | Not stated |
| Simpeak Carabiner Flashlight | Hand crank and solar | Not stated |
| GEEBONFLUGENS Solar Flashlight | USB-C and solar | Not stated |
Size and carry
A carabiner clip suits a backpack or belt, while a keychain light suits a keyring. The Simpeak and SEANCHEER picks state a carabiner clip, and the munkees pick mounts on a keychain. A light that clips outside a bag also sits in the sun during the day, which suits the solar charging on these picks. For a kit bag option, see the solar flashlight for bug out bag guide.
Warranty terms in the listings
Warranty detail separates this group more than size does. The Simpeak pick states a 2-year service and the SEANCHEER pick states a 3-year warranty service, while the munkees listing states no concrete term. A buyer who wants written cover should weigh that gap against the SEANCHEER runtime lead, and should note that the SEANCHEER bullets state the 3-year term while its spec table lists 1 year.
Sizing Notes
- Match charging to the situation: hand crank and solar for the Simpeak and SEANCHEER picks, solar and dynamo for the munkees pick.
- Match runtime to nightly use: 2 hours on a full charge for the SEANCHEER pick, 10 minutes stated for the Simpeak pick.
- Match brightness to the job: 130 lumens stated for the SEANCHEER pick, with no lumen figure stated for the munkees pick.
- Check warranty terms before ordering: 2-year service for the Simpeak pick, 3-year warranty service for the SEANCHEER pick, and no concrete term stated for the munkees pick.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pick runs longest on a full charge?
The SEANCHEER pick, at 2 hours straight on a full charge. The Simpeak pick states a runtime of 10 minutes, and the munkees pick states no runtime figure.
How much light does 1 minute of cranking give?
The Simpeak listing states more than 10 minutes of lighting from 1 minute of cranking, and the SEANCHEER listing states more than 8 minutes from 1 minute of cranking.
Which picks state a warranty term?
The Simpeak pick states a 2-year service and the SEANCHEER pick states a 3-year warranty service. The munkees pick states no concrete warranty term.
Which picks state certifications?
The Simpeak pick states CE, FCC and RoHS. The SEANCHEER and munkees listings state no certification.
Can these flashlights charge by USB?
The SEANCHEER listing states USB charging is not supported, so it charges only by hand crank and solar. The GEEBON limited-detail pick names USB-C in its title, while the full-detail picks state no USB charging.
Related guides
See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.
More picks: solar lantern for shed, solar work lights for ice fishing, large solar flashlight.




