On this page
Miles from the trailhead with a dead phone, a headlamp on its last bar, and a camera full of the day’s best shots. That is where the best solar generator for backpacking earns its place: a battery with outlets you can carry, topped up by a panel in the sun, keeping small devices alive for days off the grid. We compared 5 portable solar generators from the listings, from 146Wh to 1070Wh, and scored each only on what its listing states. Weight matters most on the trail, so read the stated pounds before falling for the biggest watt-hours. The listings that state no weight leave the most important backpacking number blank.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall EnginStar 296Wh Station: 296Wh with BMS protections and 1 year warranty stated Check price on Amazon
Best Complete Kit MARBERO 155Wh Solar Kit: 155Wh with 30W panel at 3.7 pounds stated Check price on Amazon
Best Capacity Jackery 1000 v2 Station: 1070Wh with 1500W output stated in the title Check price on Amazon
Best 300W Value Apowking 300W 220Wh: 220Wh with 300W output stated in the title Check price on Amazon
Best Compact Apowking 100W 146Wh: 146Wh with 100W output stated in the title Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Jackery 1000 v2 | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | EnginStar 296Wh Station | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | MARBERO 155Wh Solar Kit | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Apowking 300W | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Apowking 100W | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Jackery 1000 v2
A solar generator with 200W solar panel, 1070Wh, 1500W AC, 1 Hr fast charge, LiFePO4.
Pros
- 1500W, per the listing
- 1070Wh, the largest
- 1 Hr fast charge, per the listing
- LiFePO4, per the listing
Cons
- 2 year manufacturer only
- Largest, heaviest
- 1500W needs big loads
- 200W panel charges slowly
Detailed Review
The Jackery 1000 v2 is the overall pick: a solar generator with a 200W solar panel, 1070Wh and 1500W AC.
The 1 Hr fast charge, LiFePO4 battery and 100W USB-C output suit outdoor, off-grid, RV and emergency use.
Who it's for: the big shed. Who should skip it: small budgets.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 35/35, build 25/25, value 22/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 1/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Watts | 1500 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 1070Wh |
| Panel | 200W |
| Warranty | 2 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL, FCC or battery management statement is stated, so safety scores zero. 2 year manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power station limits. Stay within the stated continuous output and solar input limits, keep the unit ventilated and dry, charge within the stated temperature range, and never connect it to home wiring except through equipment a licensed electrician installs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

EnginStar 296Wh Station
An EnginStar 296Wh portable solar generator with 300W pure sine wave output and BMS protections.
Pros
- 296Wh capacity stated
- 300W pure sine wave AC outlets stated
- BMS with five protections stated
- 1 year manufacturer warranty stated
Cons
- Solar panel sold separately
- 6.5-pound stated weight against 3.7 on the MARBERO
- Supports devices under 300W only per the listing
- No IP code is stated
Detailed Review
The listing states a 296Wh portable solar generator with two 110V pure sine wave AC outlets at 300W, a DC 12V car port, two DC outputs, two USB outputs at 5V/3.1A and an 18W USB-C fast charge port. It states a smart battery management system with overloading, over discharging, overcharging, overheating and short circuit protection, lithium-ion cells with more than 1000 charge cycles, a 6.5-pound body with LED light and LCD display, and a 1 year manufacturer warranty. Solar charging uses a panel sold separately, and the listing limits devices to under 300W.
Who it's for: backpackers who want the largest stated sub-7-pound capacity here with stated protections. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a panel in the box.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 296Wh |
|---|---|
| AC output | 300W |
| Weight | 6.5 lb |
| USB-C | 18W |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. battery management system with overloading, over discharging, overcharging, overheating and short circuit protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power station limits. Stay within the stated continuous output and solar input limits, keep the unit ventilated and dry, charge within the stated temperature range, and never connect it to home wiring except through equipment a licensed electrician installs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MARBERO 155Wh Solar Kit
A MARBERO 155Wh solar generator kit with a 30W panel, IP65 and a 12-month warranty.
Pros
- 155Wh with 30W panel included stated
- 23% panel efficiency with IP65 stated
- Two 100W AC outlets with USB and DC ports stated
- 12 months warranty stated
Cons
- 155Wh against 296Wh on the EnginStar
- 100W AC output against 300W on the EnginStar
- 30W panel recharges in 6 to 7 hours stated
- No stated protection beyond short circuit
Detailed Review
The listing states a 155Wh portable power station kit with a 30W triple-fold solar panel at 23% efficiency and IP65, a 6.5-foot cable, and a power converter with 18W QC3.0 USB-A and 18W USB-C outputs. It states two 100W AC outlets, one QC3.0 USB-A, two USB-A, one USB-C, three DC outputs, a car port, a 3-mode LED flashlight, short circuit protection, a 3.7-pound station, and a 12 months warranty with round-the-clock customer service. The panel recharges the station in 6 to 7 hours stated.
Who it's for: backpackers who want a complete kit at the lowest stated weight here. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 300W AC output or more capacity.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Capacity | 155Wh |
|---|---|
| AC output | 100W |
| Panel | 30W included |
| Weight | 3.7 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating on the solar panel and short circuit protection stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 12 months warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power station limits. Stay within the stated continuous output and solar input limits, keep the unit ventilated and dry, charge within the stated temperature range, and never connect it to home wiring except through equipment a licensed electrician installs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 300W, per the listing
- 220Wh, per the listing
- 2 Year Manufacturer, per the listing
- Pure sine wave, per the listing
Cons
- 220Wh is mid-range
- 40W panel charges slowly
- 2 year only
- 300W limit
Detailed Review
The Apowking 300W is the 300W pick: a portable solar generator with a 40W solar panel and 220Wh.
The pure sine wave AC outlet suits outdoor, camping, RV and van travel. A 2 Year Manufacturer warranty is stated.
Who it's for: the 300W shed. Who should skip it: bigger banks.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 22/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 1/5: 75 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Watts | 300 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 220Wh |
| Panel | 40W |
| Warranty | 2 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL, FCC or battery management statement is stated, so safety scores zero. 2 Year Manufacturer. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power station limits. Stay within the stated continuous output and solar input limits, keep the unit ventilated and dry, charge within the stated temperature range, and never connect it to home wiring except through equipment a licensed electrician installs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
Pros
- 100W, per the listing
- 146Wh, per the listing
- 1 Year, per the listing
- 40W panel, per the listing
Cons
- 100W is the smallest
- 146Wh is small
- 40W panel charges slowly
- 1 year only
Detailed Review
The Apowking 100W is the 100W pick: a solar powered generator with a 40W solar panel and 146Wh.
The AC outlet with USB A, USB C and DC output suits home use, outdoor, camping, RV and van trips.
Who it's for: the tiny shed. Who should skip it: bigger loads.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 19/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Watts | 100 |
|---|---|
| Capacity | 146Wh |
| Panel | 40W |
| Warranty | 1 year |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL, FCC or battery management statement is stated, so safety scores zero. 1 Year. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 0 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power station limits. Stay within the stated continuous output and solar input limits, keep the unit ventilated and dry, charge within the stated temperature range, and never connect it to home wiring except through equipment a licensed electrician installs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Compare the picks
| Solar Generator | Solar Score | Capacity | AC output | Solar panel | Weight | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EnginStar 296Wh Station | 9.6/10 | 296Wh | 300W | Sold separately | 6.5 lb | View on Amazon |
| MARBERO 155Wh Solar Kit | 9.6/10 | 155Wh | 100W | 30W included | 3.7 lb | View on Amazon |
| Jackery 1000 v2 Station | 9.7/10 | 1070Wh | 1500W | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Apowking 300W 220Wh | 9.5/10 | 220Wh | 300W | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Apowking 100W 146Wh | 9.4/10 | 146Wh | 100W | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. Safety for power stations means a stated battery management system or ingress code: the EnginStar states BMS protections and the MARBERO states short circuit protection with an IP65 panel. Two listings state a concrete warranty term, 1 year on the EnginStar and 12 months on the MARBERO. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EnginStar 296Wh Station | 9.6 | 30 | 20 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| MARBERO 155Wh Solar Kit | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 21 | 7 | 3 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar generator for backpacking
Read the weight before the watt-hours
Only two listings state a weight: the MARBERO at 3.7 pounds and the EnginStar at 6.5 pounds. The Jackery 1000 v2 and both Apowking titles state no weight, so their trail fit cannot be judged from the listings. For backpacking, every stated pound counts against the stated capacity, and the MARBERO’s 3.7 pounds against 155Wh is the lowest-weight stated pairing here. Browse the solar generators roundups for more portable picks.
Match the capacity to the trip length
The Jackery title states 1070Wh with 1500W output, the largest stated capacity here. The EnginStar states 296Wh with 300W pure sine wave output, the Apowking titles state 220Wh at 300W and 146Wh at 100W, and the MARBERO states 155Wh with 100W AC outlets. Bigger stated watt-hours mean more device charges between recharges, but also a bigger box; the 146Wh and 155Wh listings suit short trips, while the 1070Wh listing suits base camps rather than backpacks.
| Pick | Capacity | Stated weight |
|---|---|---|
| EnginStar 296Wh Station | 296Wh | 6.5 lb |
| MARBERO 155Wh Solar Kit | 155Wh | 3.7 lb |
| Jackery 1000 v2 Station | 1070Wh | Not stated |
| Apowking 300W 220Wh | 220Wh | Not stated |
Check whether the panel is in the box
The MARBERO listing is a complete kit: the 155Wh station plus a 30W triple-fold panel with 23% efficiency and IP65, a 6.5-foot cable and a power converter with 18W USB-A and USB-C outputs. The EnginStar states solar charging with a panel sold separately. Neither Apowking title nor the Jackery title mentions a panel, so assume the station alone. A kit in one box is the simplest path to solar on the trail, and the MARBERO’s stated 23% panel efficiency with IP65 means it keeps working through rain and dust on the move.
Mind the protections and the warranty
The EnginStar listing states a smart battery management system with overloading, over discharging, overcharging, overheating and short circuit protection, plus more than 1000 charge cycles on the lithium-ion battery. The MARBERO states short circuit protection and 12 months of warranty with round-the-clock customer service. The EnginStar states a 1 year manufacturer warranty. The other three listings state no warranty term and no protections.
Sizing Notes
- Match the stated weight, 3.7 lb on the MARBERO and 6.5 lb on the EnginStar, to what you will carry on the trail.
- Match the stated capacity, 146Wh to 1070Wh here, to the trip length and the devices you charge.
- Match the stated AC output, 100W on the MARBERO and Apowking 100W, 300W on the EnginStar and Apowking 300W, 1500W on the Jackery, to your largest device.
- Match the stated panel, 30W included on the MARBERO and sold separately on the EnginStar, to how you recharge in the field.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which of these include a solar panel?
The MARBERO is a complete kit with a 30W triple-fold panel, a 6.5-foot cable and a power converter. The EnginStar states solar charging with the panel sold separately, and the other three listings mention no panel.
Which listing states the lowest weight?
The MARBERO at 3.7 pounds. The EnginStar states 6.5 pounds, and the other three listings state no weight.
Which listing states the largest capacity?
The Jackery title states 1070Wh with 1500W output. The EnginStar states 296Wh, the Apowking titles state 220Wh and 146Wh, and the MARBERO states 155Wh.
Which of these state a warranty?
The EnginStar states a 1 year manufacturer warranty, and the MARBERO states a 12 months warranty. The other three listings state no concrete warranty term.
Can these run a mini fridge?
The EnginStar listing states a DC 12V car port for a mini fridge and 300W pure sine wave AC outlets. The MARBERO states 100W AC outlets. The other listings state no fridge use; read each listing’s stated outputs before connecting one.
Related guides
See every Solar Generators guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.
More picks: best solar power bank for camping, best portable power station for hiking and best solar power bank for backpacking.






