On this page
The 500 watt vs 1000 watt solar generator question usually comes up the first time you add up what you want to run at once. A phone and a lamp barely register; a fridge and an electric pot change the math completely. We compared the two sides with one concrete listing each: a 5-pack of 500W halogen bulbs on the 500-watt side, and the Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 on the 1000-watt side. Verdict: the 500-watt side covers small loads, while the 1000-watt side covers bigger appliances, with the Jackery listing 1500W AC output and 1070Wh of capacity.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
500 watt vs 1000 watt solar generator: side by side
| 500W vs 1000W | CTKcom 500W Halogen 5-Pack | Jackery 1000 v2 |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | 5-pack of 500W halogen bulbs | Solar generator with 100W panel |
| Output | 500W per bulb | 1500W AC, 3000W surge |
| Capacity | Not stated | 1070Wh |
| Weight | 2.08 ounces | 23.8 lbs, per the bullets |
| Warranty | Not stated | 5 years, per the bullets |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026.
What each listing actually is
The 500-watt example is not a generator at all: it is a 5-pack of 500W T3 halogen bulbs, 118mm double-ended, 120V, with a stated life of about 2,000 hours and a 2.08 oz item weight. Each bulb draws 500W, so the listing shows what a 500-watt load looks like rather than a 500-watt source. The 1000-watt example is the Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 bundle: the Explorer 1000 v2 power station plus a 100W solar panel, with 1070Wh of LiFePO4 capacity, 1500W AC output and a 3000W surge peak.
Output and capacity
On output the two sides are directly comparable: 500W per bulb against the Jackery’s 1500W AC output and 3000W surge. The Jackery listing names AC units, fridges and electric pots among the appliances it can power. On capacity there is no comparison to judge: the Jackery lists 1070Wh, while the bulb listing states no capacity figure at all, so the listing leaves it unclear rather than losing the point.
Weight and what’s in the box
The bulb pack lists a 2.08 oz item weight for 5 bulbs. The Jackery’s bullets state 23.8 lbs with a foldable handle, though its spec table says 31.7 pounds; we trust the bullets. The Jackery box includes the station, a 100W solar panel, a user manual and an AC charging cable, with 5 years of coverage stated in the bullets. The bulb box includes 5 halogen bulbs and nothing else.
What the listings leave unclear
The bulb listing states no watt-hours, no outlets, no recharge time and no warranty, because it is a load, not a power source. The Jackery listing contradicts itself twice: 23.8 lbs in the bullets against 31.7 pounds in the spec table, and 5 years of coverage in the bullets against a 2 year manufacturer warranty in the spec table. We trust the bullets in both cases, but the contradictions are worth knowing before you buy.
Two examples

Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2
A solar generator bundle with 1070Wh of LiFePO4 capacity, 1500W AC output, a 3000W surge peak and a 100W solar panel, for outages, camping, RV and off-grid use.
Pros
- 1500W AC output with a 3000W surge peak stated
- 1070Wh LiFePO4 capacity, 4,000 cycles to over 70% stated
- 1-hour emergency charging via the Jackery app stated
- 6 outlets: two USB-C, one USB-A, one DC car port, three AC
Cons
- Bullets state 23.8 lbs but the spec table says 31.7 pounds
- Bullets state 5 years of coverage but the spec table says 2 year manufacturer
- 30 dB quiet overnight charging is the maker's claim, not a measured figure
- No UL, ETL or CSA listing is stated
Detailed Review
Jackery lists the Solar Generator 1000 v2 as a bundle of the Explorer 1000 v2 power station and a 100W solar panel, with 1070Wh of LiFePO4 capacity, 1500W AC output and a 3000W surge peak. The listing states 1-hour emergency charging through the app, a default 1.7-hour charge, ChargeShield 2.0 technology, 6 outlets and LED lights. Two contradictions: the bullets state 23.8 lbs while the spec table says 31.7 pounds, and the bullets state 5 years of coverage while the spec table says 2 year manufacturer. We trust the bullets in both cases.
Who it's for: campers, RV owners and anyone preparing for outages who needs 1500W-class output with solar recharging. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the weight or warranty figure nailed down in one place, given the two contradictions.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 4/5: 82 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Output | 1500W AC |
|---|---|
| Surge | 3000W |
| Capacity | 1070Wh |
| Weight | 23.8 lbs, per the bullets |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. ChargeShield 2.0 charging technology is stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 5 Years of Coverage. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.
Power station limits. Stay within the stated continuous output and solar input limits, keep the unit ventilated and dry, charge within the stated temperature range, and never connect it to home wiring except through equipment a licensed electrician installs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

CTKcom 500W Halogen 5-Pack
A 5-pack of 500W T3 halogen bulbs, 118mm double-ended, 120V, with about 2,000 hours of stated life, representing the 500-watt side as a load.
Pros
- 500W per bulb, a concrete example of a 500W load
- About 2,000 hours of bulb life stated
- Works with 110, 120 and 130 volts, per the listing
- Dimmable, with a quartz glass tube stated
Cons
- Not a generator: no watt-hours, outlets or recharge figures are stated
- No warranty term is stated
- 118 lumens brightness is low for a 500W bulb, per the listing
- Indoor or outdoor use is listed both ways in the spec table
Detailed Review
CTKcom lists a 5-pack of 500W T3 halogen bulbs, 118mm double-ended, R7S base, 120V, with a stated life of about 2,000 hours and a 2.08 oz item weight. The listing states 500W power consumption per bulb, white light color and a quartz glass tube. This is a load, not a power source: it states no watt-hours, no outlets, no recharge figures and no warranty, so it cannot be scored as a generator.
Who it's for: readers who want a concrete picture of what a 500-watt draw looks like on the 500-watt side. Who should skip it: anyone shopping for an actual 500-watt power station, which this listing is not.
Its Solar Score of 9.3/10 comes from performance 21/35, build 18/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 59 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Wattage | 500W per bulb |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 120V |
| Life | About 2,000 hours |
| Pack | 5 bulbs |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No UL, FCC or battery management statement is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Power station limits. Stay within the stated continuous output and solar input limits, keep the unit ventilated and dry, charge within the stated temperature range, and never connect it to home wiring except through equipment a licensed electrician installs.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a power station, safety means a stated battery management system or protection technology; the Jackery states ChargeShield 2.0, and the bulb listing states none. One of the two states a warranty term: the Jackery’s bullets state 5 years of coverage. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 20 | 5 | 4 |
| CTKcom 500W Halogen 5-Pack | 9.3 | 21 | 18 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
500 watt vs 1000 watt solar generator: which should you choose?
Choose the 500-watt side if your loads are small: phones, lamps and one modest appliance at a time, where the bulb listing shows what 500W of draw looks like. Choose the 1000-watt side if you need to run a fridge, an AC unit or an electric pot, or you want the Jackery’s 1070Wh of stored capacity and its 6 outlets. For a closer look at the next step up, see our 1000 watt vs 2000 watt solar generator comparison.
| If you need | Look at |
|---|---|
| Small loads like phones and lamps | The 500-watt side; the CTKcom listing shows what a 500W load looks like |
| A fridge, AC unit or electric pot | The 1000-watt side; the Jackery lists 1500W AC output and a 3000W surge |
| A stated warranty | The Jackery, with 5 years of coverage stated in the bullets |
| The lighter package | The CTKcom 5-pack at 2.08 oz, against the Jackery’s stated 23.8 lbs |
Sizing Notes
- Match the load to the output: the Jackery lists 1500W AC output and a 3000W surge; each CTKcom bulb draws 500W.
- Check capacity in watt-hours: the Jackery lists 1070Wh; the bulb listing states no capacity.
- Count the outlets: the Jackery lists 6 total, two USB-C, one USB-A, one DC car port and three AC.
- On the panel side, the Jackery bundle includes a 100W solar panel; the bulb listing includes no panel.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the 500-watt listing a solar generator?
No. It is a 5-pack of 500W halogen bulbs, so it represents the 500-watt side as a load, not as a power source. It states no watt-hours, outlets or recharge figures.
What can the Jackery 1000 v2 run?
The listing names AC units, fridges and electric pots. It states 1500W AC output with a 3000W surge peak and 1070Wh of LiFePO4 capacity.
How fast does the Jackery recharge?
The listing states 1 hour with emergency charging activated in the Jackery app, and a default of 1.7 hours to optimize battery health.
How long will the Jackery last?
The listing states an LFP battery holding over 70% of its original capacity after 4,000 charge cycles, a lifespan exceeding 10 years, and 5 years of coverage in the bullets.
How heavy is the Jackery?
The bullets state 23.8 lbs; the spec table says 31.7 pounds. We trust the bullets, but note the contradiction.
Related guides
See every Solar Generators guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. For portable power, see the best portable power station for camping. Also see our best solar generator for freezer. Also see our solar generator vs gas generator.
More picks: solar generators for backpacking, portable power stations for camping, 1000W vs 2000W generators.




