On this page
The power goes out on a winter evening and the garage goes black: no opener, no overheads, just the car and the workbench in the dark. That is the moment a solar lantern earns its keep, and on ordinary nights it is the light over the side door and the driveway. The best solar lantern for garage use charges all day on its panel and lights the wall all night with no wiring. We compared five solar wall lanterns on what each listing states: brightness, battery, lighting modes, motion sensing and weather rating.
SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Moodyfei Solar Wall Lantern: 200 lm warm white, 3 modes and motion sensing with IP65 and a 1-year warranty. Check price on Amazon
Best E26 Bulb Inowel Solar Wall Lantern: Includes a 3000K E26 bulb with 3 modes and a 30-second sensor. Check price on Amazon
Best Flame Effect Dynaming Flame Wall Lantern: Flickering flame effect on 12 SMD LEDs with flame and on modes. Check price on Amazon
Best IP44 Pick PASAMIC Solar Wall Lantern: IP44 rated 2-pack with 4 solar panels per the title. Check price on Amazon
Best 2-Bulb Aqonsie Solar Wall Lantern: Wall lantern with 2 bulbs per the title. Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Solar Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Moodyfei Solar Wall Lantern | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Aqonsie Solar Wall Lantern 2-Bulb | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | PASAMIC 2-Pack Wall Lanterns | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Inowel Solar Wall Lantern | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Dynaming Flame Wall Lantern | 9.4/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Moodyfei Solar Wall Lantern
A 2-pack of solar wall lanterns with 200 lm warm white light, 3 lighting modes and a PIR motion sensor, for garage walls, doorways and yards.
Pros
- 200 lm warm white from a 3.7V 1W bulb, the highest stated output here
- 3 modes: dim-to-bright, off-to-bright and constant on at night
- PIR motion sensor with 19 ft range and 120-degree detect angle
- IP65 rating and a 1-year manufacturer warranty stated
Cons
- Outdoor use only per the spec table
- Needs 8 to 10 hours of full charge for 10 to 12 hours of light
- Each motion lighting lasts about 20 seconds
- No ETL or UL listing is stated
Detailed Review
The Moodyfei listing is the most complete of the five: a 2-pack with four solar panels per the bullets, a 2200mAh battery, a 3.7V 1W bulb at 200 lm warm white, and three lighting modes built around a PIR motion sensor with a 19 ft range and 120-degree angle. It states an IP65 rating and a 1-year manufacturer warranty, the only warranty term in this lineup.
Who it's for: anyone wanting a bright, motion-aware light over the garage door or driveway. Who should skip it: anyone needing indoor use, since the spec table states outdoor use only.
Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Light | 200 lm warm white |
|---|---|
| Battery | 2200mAh |
| Sensor | PIR, 19 ft, 120 deg |
| Rating | IP65 |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Aqonsie Solar Wall Lantern 2-Bulb
A solar wall lantern with 2 swappable bulbs and 1375 lumens, 12-month warranty.
Pros
- 1375 lumens
- 3200K warm and 6500K cool bulbs included
- 3 lighting modes with motion sensor
- 12-month warranty stated
Cons
- 5 pounds, the heaviest here
- Plastic body
- Bulb changes need the bottom opening
- No remote is stated
Detailed Review
The Aqonsie lists a solar wall lantern with 2 bulbs, a 3200K warm bulb and a 6500K cool bulb, 1375 lumens, 3 lighting modes with motion sensing, a clear panel and an IP65 rating. It states a 12-month warranty with lifetime customer service. One caveat from the listing: bulbs are swapped through a square opening at the bottom.
Who it's for: garage doors and porches where warm or cool light can be swapped. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a remote or lighter fixture.
Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Lumens | 1375 |
|---|---|
| Color temp | 3200K/6500K |
| IP rating | IP65 |
| Warranty | 12 months |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP65 rating, so safety scores 7 of 10. 12-month warranty. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

PASAMIC 2-Pack Wall Lanterns
A 2-pack of wall lanterns with 4 solar panels, 2000mAh battery and 3000K warm white; for walls and porches, not for tables.
Pros
- 4 solar panels, the most here
- 2000mAh battery, the largest here
- 3000K warm white is stated
- E26 base for bulb replacement
Cons
- No warranty term is stated
- IP44 is the lowest rating here
- Wall mount only, less portable
- No flicker mode is stated
Detailed Review
PASAMIC lists a 2-pack of solar wall lanterns at 5 x 5 x 9 in with 4 built-in solar panels, a 2000mAh battery, a 6 to 8 hour charge, an 8 to 12 hour illumination, 3000K warm white light, an E26 base and a dusk-to-dawn sensor, with brackets and screws included. The listing states an IP44 rating. No warranty term appears in the listing.
Who it's for: someone who wants wall-mounted lanterns with the largest stated battery. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a tabletop lantern or a stated warranty.
Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Pack | 2 |
|---|---|
| Battery | 2000mAh |
| Rating | IP44 |
| Warranty | Not stated |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. IP44, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Inowel Solar Wall Lantern
A 2-pack of solar wall lanterns with a 3000K E26 bulb included and 3 sensor modes, for porches, patios, garages and entryways.
Pros
- Custom-tuned 3000K E26 bulb included, no bulb hunting
- 3 modes: gradual 100% on motion, sensor mode and 40% all-night mode
- 30-second sensor timing with soft-light guarding
- Monochrome panel stated at 92% light-trapping vs 85% for blue panels
Cons
- No IP code is stated, only water resistance in words
- No warranty term is stated
- No battery capacity is stated
- Heavier build at 2.8 lb per the extracted facts
Detailed Review
The Inowel listing sells the bulb as much as the lantern: a custom-tuned 3000K E26 bulb is included, with three sensor modes and a 30-second light-up timing. Its monochrome photovoltaic surface is stated at a 92% light-trapping rate against 85% for standard blue panels, and the spec table lists garage, fence, patio and yard among the uses.
Who it's for: buyers who want the bulb question answered in the box. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated IP code or battery capacity, since the listing gives neither.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 68 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| Bulb | 3000K E26 included |
|---|---|
| Modes | 3, 30-second sensor |
| Panel | 92% light-trapping stated |
| Weight | 2.8 lb |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Dynaming Flame Wall Lantern
A 2-pack of solar wall lanterns with a flickering flame effect on 12 yellow SMD LEDs, for decorative garage, porch and patio lighting.
Pros
- Flickering flame effect with 360-degree viewing angle
- Two lighting modes: flame and on
- Auto on at night and off at dawn after 6 to 8 hours of charging
- 500mAh rechargeable battery included per lantern
Cons
- Decorative light, not a bright security light
- No IP code is stated, only water resistance in words
- No warranty term is stated
- Flame effect may not suit a work-area garage
Detailed Review
The Dynaming listing is a decorative pick: 12 yellow SMD LEDs per lantern with a flickering flame effect and a 360-degree viewing angle, in a 2-pack with wall hooks. It states two lighting modes, flame and on, auto on/off at dusk and dawn, and a 500mAh rechargeable battery per lantern after 6 to 8 hours of full charging.
Who it's for: anyone dressing up a garage wall, porch or patio with a flame look and no wiring. Who should skip it: anyone needing real brightness for a work area or a stated IP code.
Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 67 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.
Key Specifications
| LEDs | 12 SMD per lantern |
|---|---|
| Modes | Flame and on |
| Battery | 500mAh |
| Charge | 6 to 8 hours |
Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.
Safety and Warranty
What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.
Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.
This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Dynaming 4 Pack Solar Lanterns OutdoorCheck on Amazon
Dynaming 4 Pack Solar Flame Wall LanternsCheck on Amazon
CYHKEE Solar Wall Lights OutdoorCheck on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Lantern | Solar Score | Pack | Light | Modes / sensor | Rating | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moodyfei Solar Wall Lantern | 9.7/10 | 2-pack | 200 lm warm white | 3 modes, motion sensor | IP65 | View on Amazon |
| Inowel Solar Wall Lantern | 9.4/10 | 2-pack | 3000K E26 bulb | 3 modes, motion sensor | Water resistance stated | View on Amazon |
| Dynaming Flame Wall Lantern | 9.4/10 | 2-pack | 12 SMD LEDs, flame effect | Flame and on modes | Water resistance stated | View on Amazon |
| PASAMIC Solar Wall Lantern | 9.5/10 | 2-pack | Not stated | Not stated | IP44 | |
| Aqonsie Solar Wall Lantern | 9.6/10 | Not stated | 2 bulbs | Not stated | Not stated |
Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. Two listings arrived as titles only, so their rows show what the title states. The Moodyfei is the only one of the five to state both an IP code and a warranty term.
How we scored them
The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For lanterns, safety means a stated weather or electrical rating; the Moodyfei states IP65 and the PASAMIC states IP44 in its title, while the others state water resistance in words only. One listing states a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.
| Product | Solar Score | Perf. /35 | Build /25 | Value /25 | Safety /10 | Warranty /5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moodyfei Solar Wall Lantern | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | 7 | 3 |
| Inowel Solar Wall Lantern | 9.4 | 28 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
| Dynaming Flame Wall Lantern | 9.4 | 28 | 19 | 20 | 0 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.
How to choose the best solar lantern for garage
Brightness and color temperature
Only two listings state brightness in numbers. The Moodyfei states 200 lm of warm white from its 3.7V 1W bulb, which suits a doorway or a garage wall. The Inowel includes a custom-tuned 3000K E26 bulb and claims twice the lifespan of standard bulbs, a maker claim rather than a measured one. The Dynaming flame lantern states no lumen figure at all: its 12 yellow SMD LEDs are there for the flickering flame look, not for working light. For a wider area, the CYHKEE more pick states 600 lm, which shows the range these listings span. Match the number to the job: a doorway wants the Moodyfei’s stated 200 lm, while a flame-effect lantern is decoration first.
Battery and run time
Battery numbers separate the all-night lights from the evening lights. The Moodyfei states a 2200mAh battery, 8 to 10 hours of full charging for 10 to 12 hours of light at night. The Dynaming flame lantern states a 500mAh battery per lantern after 6 to 8 hours of charging, and the Dynaming 4-pack more pick states an 8-hour battery life. The Inowel, PASAMIC and Aqonsie listings state no battery capacity, so their run time is a question for the live listing. If the lantern must burn until dawn, the stated 10 to 12 hour figure on the Moodyfei is the only number here that promises it.
Modes and motion sensing
Three of the five listings state multiple modes, and the choice of mode is really a choice about battery discipline. The Moodyfei offers dim-to-bright on motion, off-to-bright on motion and constant on at night, with a PIR sensor covering 19 ft at a 120-degree angle and about 20 seconds of light per trigger. The Inowel offers a gradual 100% on motion, an energy-saving sensor mode and a 40% all-night mode, with a 30-second sensor timing. The Dynaming flame lantern keeps it simple: flame mode and on mode, auto on at dusk and off at dawn. A motion mode saves the battery for the moments someone is actually at the door; a constant mode suits a wall that should simply stay lit.
Weather rating: read the code, not the adjective
Listings love the word water resistant, but the code is the checkable part. The Moodyfei states IP65 and the PASAMIC states IP44 in its title; the CYHKEE more pick states IP65 with an ETL listing. The Inowel and Dynaming listings state water resistance in words only, with no code. Where a code is stated, it is the maker’s claim in a standard format; where only words are stated, treat the weather claim as marketing until the live listing says more. For a garage wall under an eave, any of these will do; for an exposed fence post in driving rain, prefer a stated code, and check the live listing for the full rating text before you buy.
Pack size and mounting
These listings sell in pairs and fours: the Moodyfei, Inowel, Dynaming and PASAMIC are 2-packs, while the Dynaming more picks are 4-packs. Count the mounting spots before buying, since a 2-pack covers the garage door and the side door, and a 4-pack stretches to the fence and the shed. All five are wall mount designs, and the Dynaming flame lantern includes hooks for hanging.
E26 bulbs vs built-in LEDs
Two different bulb philosophies show up here. The Inowel includes a custom-tuned 3000K E26 bulb, so the light source is a standard screw-in bulb you already know how to replace, and the listing claims twice the lifespan of standard bulbs. The Moodyfei goes the other way with a built-in 3.7V 1W bulb at 200 lm warm white: no bulb to buy, but no bulb to swap either. The CYHKEE more pick lists an E26 bulb base with a 4W, 600 lm output. If replaceability matters to you, the E26 listings are the ones to weigh; if sealed simplicity matters, the built-in LED listings are.
Sizing Notes
- Count the mounting spots first: 2-packs cover two walls, 4-packs cover four.
- Check the charge time: 6 to 8 hours of full sun for the Dynaming flame lantern, 8 to 10 hours for the Moodyfei.
- Match brightness to the job: 200 lm warm white for a doorway, flame effect for decoration, 600 lm on the CYHKEE more pick for a wider area.
- Read the weather code: IP65 and IP44 are stated on two listings, water resistance in words on the rest.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long do solar lanterns stay lit at night?
The Moodyfei listing states 10 to 12 hours of light after 8 to 10 hours of full charging. The Dynaming 4-pack more pick states an 8-hour battery life. The other listings state no run time.
Do these work on cloudy days?
They charge in sunlight, so a cloudy stretch means a shorter night of light. The listings state full-charge times of 6 to 10 hours in full sun; plan the mounting spot for the sunniest wall.
Can I use these lanterns indoors?
The Moodyfei spec table states outdoor use only. The other listings describe outdoor mounting, so treat these as outdoor lights.
Do they turn on by themselves?
The listings state dusk-to-dawn auto on and off on the Moodyfei, the Dynaming flame lantern and the Dynaming more picks. The Inowel adds motion-triggered modes on top of its all-night 40% mode.
What does IP65 mean on a lantern listing?
It is the water and dust resistance code the listing states; the Moodyfei and the CYHKEE more pick state IP65, and the PASAMIC states IP44. Listings without a code state water resistance in words only.
Related guides
See every Solar Fans and Pumps guide and all Solar Outdoor guides.
More picks: solar lantern for barn, solar garage lights under 40 and solar lantern under 15.




