Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans

Best Solar Lantern for Ice Fishing (2026): 5 Compared

Five solar lanterns for ice fishing, from a 2-in-1 lantern-flashlight to a 4-pack, compared on lumens, charging and run time.

Best Solar Lantern for Ice Fishing (2026): 5 Compared
On this page

Blue dusk on the ice and the headlamp beam dies right as a flag goes up on the tip-up. The best solar lantern for ice fishing is the light that keeps the shack workable all evening: hang it from the shelter roof for tying lines, carry it out to the hole for a flag check, and let the panel top it up on sunny days. We compared five lanterns on what each listing states: lumens, charging options, battery run time and stated water protection. The Censinda leads as a 2-in-1 lantern and flashlight, while the FLRONGSUN covers the hanging bulb slot.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Censinda Camping Lantern
    Best Overall Censinda Camping Lantern: 300LM 2-in-1 lantern-flashlight with 6-8 hour run time Check price on Amazon
  • FLRONGSUN Solar Bulb
    Hanging Bulb Pick FLRONGSUN Solar Bulb: 350LM solar bulb with USB charging and 4-6 hour run time Check price on Amazon
  • XTAUTO 4-Pack Camp Lantern
    4-Pack Pick Xtauto 4-Pack: Four collapsible lanterns, solar and USB rechargeable Check price on Amazon
  • Lepwings Solar Lantern
    Big Battery Pick Lepwings 6000mAh: 6000mAh battery with dimming stated in the title Check price on Amazon
  • LuminAID Nova Inflatable
    Inflatable Pick Luminaid Nova: Inflatable 75-lumen lantern stated in the title Check price on Amazon

The picks

Censinda Camping Lantern

Censinda Camping Lantern

Censinda9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 300LM 2-in-1 solar camping lantern and flashlight with cable or solar charging and 6-8 hour run time.

Pros

  • 300LM with 160 to 320 feet irradiation distance stated
  • Solar and cable charging with 3 to 4 hour full charge
  • 6 to 8 hours of light after a full charge
  • Works as lantern and flashlight by side switch

Cons

  • Spec table says Not Water Resistant despite outdoor use in the bullets
  • No warranty term is stated
  • Bullets say 6+1 bulbs while the spec table says 6 light sources
  • Spec table lists 220 volts against a battery-powered lantern
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-in-1 solar rechargeable camping lantern and handheld flashlight with collapsible design, 6+1 LED bulbs at 300LM and 160 to 320 feet irradiation distance, solar and cable charging with a 3 to 4 hour full charge, 6 to 8 hours of light after a full charge, 6 watts, 3 lithium-ion batteries included, 3.7 by 3.7 by 5.7 inches at 0.28 kg and stainless steel handles. The spec table says Not Water Resistant even though the bullets list fishing and hurricanes; trust the spec table. The spec table also lists 220 volts on a battery-powered lantern, which does not fit.

Who it's for: ice fishers who want a lantern-flashlight combo with stated run time and cable charging. Who should skip it: anyone who needs stated weather protection.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 70 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness300LM
ChargeSolar + cable, 3-4 hours
Run time6-8 hours
Build0.28 kg, collapsible

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

FLRONGSUN Solar Bulb

FLRONGSUN Solar Bulb

FLRONGSUN9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 350LM solar light bulb with USB charging, 5-8 hour solar charging and 4-6 hour run time.

Pros

  • 350LM with 12 light sources at 6500K stated
  • Solar panel or USB cable charging with two charge modes
  • 4 to 6 hours of lighting after a full charge
  • Panel is rainproof while the bulb hangs under cover

Cons

  • Bulb is not water resistant per the bullets while the spec table says Water resistant
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 5 to 8 hours of solar charging for 4 to 6 hours of light
  • Spec table lists 5 and 8 volts against a 5-volt USB input
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar light bulb with 350LM, 1.5 watts, 12 light sources at 6500K, solar panel or USB cable charging, 5 to 8 hours of solar charging, 4 to 6 hours of lighting after a full charge, 2.4 by 2.4 by 4.2 inches at 170 g and polycarbonate construction. The bullets say the bulb is not water resistant while the spec table says Water resistant; the panel is rainproof either way. Trust the bullets: the bulb stays under cover.

Who it's for: shack owners who want a hanging bulb with solar and USB charging. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a weatherproof light head.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety not scored (non-powered gear) and warranty 0/5: 69 of 90 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness350LM, 6500K
ChargeSolar 5-8 hours or USB
Run time4-6 hours
Weight170 g

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Lepwings Solar Lantern

Lepwings Solar Lantern

Lepwings9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A solar camping lantern with a 6000mAh battery, up to 80 hours of light, dimmable 60 to 280 lumens, IPX4 and a power bank function.

Pros

  • 6000mAh battery with up to 80 hours of stated light
  • Dimmable from 60 to 280 lumens with 3000K warm light
  • Works as a power bank for phones and other devices
  • Full recharge in 3 hours via USB stated

Cons

  • IPX4 weather rating, per the listing
  • 1.3 pounds, heavier than the inflatable and collapsible picks
  • No flashlight mode is stated
  • No SOS or red-light mode is stated
Detailed Review

The title states a solar camping lantern with a rechargeable battery, 6000mAh and up to 80 hours of lasting light. The bullets state dual solar panels, a 6000mAh battery, up to 80 hours of light, USB charging with a full recharge in 3 hours, a power bank function for phones, dimmable light from 60 to 280 lumens with a 3000K warm glow covering 300 square feet, and IPX4. The spec table lists 1.3 pounds, 3.93 by 3.93 by 10.07 inches, overcurrent protection and a manufacturer warranty for 365 days from the date of purchase.

Who it's for: campers who want the longest stated run time and a power bank in one lantern. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a higher stated weather rating than IPX4.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery6000mAh, up to 80 h
Output60-280 lumens, 3000K
ChargeUSB 3 h, dual solar panels
Warranty365 days stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 and overcurrent protection stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. Manufacturer warranty for 365 days from date of purchase. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LuminAID Nova Inflatable

LuminAID Nova Inflatable

LuminAID9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An inflatable, collapsible solar lantern with 75 lumens, IP67, up to 24 hours of light and solar plus USB charging.

Pros

  • IP67 with shatterproof and dustproof stated
  • Up to 24 hours of light when fully charged
  • Inflatable and collapsible at 5.3 ounces
  • Solar plus micro USB charging, cord included

Cons

  • The warranty description reads only 'Limited', with no term stated
  • 75 lumens is the lowest output here
  • About 10 hours of sunlight for a full solar charge
  • No power bank function is stated
Detailed Review

The title states an inflatable solar LED lantern with 75 lumens for camping, hiking and travel. The bullets state 75 lumens of LED light with multiple brightness settings, IP67, shatterproof and dustproof construction, up to 24 hours of light when fully charged, and two recharge ways: about 10 hours of direct sunlight or micro USB in 1 to 2 hours with the cord included. The spec table lists 5.3 ounces, 4.75 by 4.75 by 4.75 inches and a warranty description that reads only 'Limited', so no warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: backpackers who want the lightest, most packable lantern with the highest stated weather rating. Who should skip it: anyone who wants high output or a power bank function.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Output75 lumens
RuntimeUp to 24 h
Charge10 h solar or 1-2 h USB
RatingIP67 stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP67, shatterproof and dustproof stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

XTAUTO 4-Pack Camp Lantern

XTAUTO 4-Pack Camp Lantern

XTAUTO9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-pack of collapsible lantern-flashlights with solar and USB charging, a stated 1600mAh battery and more than 25 hours of light when fully charged.

Pros

  • 4-pack covers a whole group or several tents
  • Collapses to phone size with a folding handle for hanging
  • Solar and USB charging with automatic power-off protection
  • More than 25 hours of lighting when fully charged stated

Cons

  • Spec table says 4 light sources while the title and bullets say 6+1 LED chips
  • Battery chemistry is listed as both nickel-metal hydride and lithium metal
  • No warranty term is stated
  • 6000K color temperature is cooler than the warm white rivals
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4-pack of collapsible lanterns that double as flashlights, with 6+1 LED chips, a 360-degree beam, a folding handle for hanging on tents or trees, and an ABS build stated as water resistant, heat-resistant and freeze resistant. The built-in 1600mAh battery charges by solar or USB with automatic power-off protection, and the bullets state more than 25 hours of lighting when fully charged. The spec table contradicts the listing twice: it lists 4 light sources against the 6+1 chips in the title and bullets, and it describes the battery as nickel-metal hydride while also listing 1 lithium metal battery included, so trust the title and bullets. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: group campers who want one lantern for every tent with long stated runtimes. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty or warm white light.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 73 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
LEDs6+1 chips, 360-degree beam
Battery1600mAh, solar + USB
RuntimeMore than 25 hours stated
Size3.54 x 3.54 x 7.68 in

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Water, heat and freeze resistance stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Lantern Solar Score Lumens Charge Run Time Protection Amazon
Censinda Camping Lantern 9.6/10 300 Solar + cable 6-8 hours Not water resistant View on Amazon
FLRONGSUN Solar Bulb 9.6/10 350 Solar + USB 4-6 hours Bulb not water resistant View on Amazon
Xtauto 4-Pack 9.5/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Lepwings 6000mAh 9.6/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Luminaid Nova 9.6/10 75 Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a lantern, safety means the water protection the listing actually states; a lantern that states none scores zero on that line. None of the five state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Censinda Camping Lantern 9.6 30 20 20 n/a 0
FLRONGSUN Solar Bulb 9.6 30 19 20 n/a 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Safety counts only for powered gear or where the listing states safety features; where it does not apply, the score is taken over the remaining 90 points.

How to choose the best solar lantern for ice fishing

Brightness on the ice

The Censinda states 300LM from 6+1 LED bulbs with 160 to 320 feet of irradiation distance, and the FLRONGSUN states 350LM from 12 light sources at 6500K. The LuminAID states 75 lumens. The three thin listings state no lumen figure at all. For an ice shack, compare on the stated numbers: 350LM is the most here, 75 the least. The Censinda’s 160 to 320 feet of irradiation distance is the only coverage figure stated; the others give no distance.

Lantern and flashlight in one

The Censinda is the only pick that doubles as a flashlight by its side switch, which suits flag checks outside the shack. The FLRONGSUN is a hanging bulb only, with the cord to the panel as its one tether. Our solar lantern vs solar flashlight comparison is already linked above; the shack answer is the same as anywhere: hang the area light, carry the directional one.

Charging on short winter days

The Censinda charges by solar panel on top or by cable, 3 to 4 hours for a full charge. The FLRONGSUN charges by solar panel or USB cable, with 5 to 8 hours stated for solar charging. On short winter days, the cable and USB options are the reliable route; the solar panel tops up when the sun shows. See our solar lantern vs solar flashlight comparison for the form trade-off.

Water and weather

The Censinda’s spec table says Not Water Resistant, even though the bullets list outdoor use. The FLRONGSUN says the bulb is not water resistant while the panel is rainproof. In an ice shack with melt water and snow, neither listing states weather protection for the light itself, so keep both under cover.

Run time

The Censinda states 6 to 8 hours of light after a full charge. The FLRONGSUN states 4 to 6 hours after a full charge. Both state a full charge figure: 3 to 4 hours for the Censinda by cable, 5 to 8 hours for the FLRONGSUN by solar. The three thin listings state no run time.

Sizing Notes

  • Match stated lumens to the job: 350LM on the FLRONGSUN, 300LM on the Censinda, 75 on the LuminAID.
  • Both detailed lanterns need hours of charging for hours of light; charge before heading out.
  • Neither detailed listing states water protection for the light, so plan cover in the shack.
  • The Censinda also works as a flashlight by the side switch for flag checks.
  • No warranty term is stated on any of the five picks.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which lantern is brightest here?

The FLRONGSUN states 350LM, then the Censinda at 300LM, then the LuminAID at 75 lumens. The XTAUTO and Lepwings state no lumen figure.

Can I charge them by cable when the sun is gone?

Yes on both detailed listings: the Censinda charges by cable, and the FLRONGSUN charges by USB cable with a DC 5V adaptor. The three thin listings state no charging detail.

Are they safe in snow and rain?

Not per the listings. The Censinda’s spec table says Not Water Resistant, and the FLRONGSUN says the bulb is not water resistant. Keep both under cover.

How long do they run?

The Censinda states 6 to 8 hours after a full charge. The FLRONGSUN states 4 to 6 hours after a full charge. The others state no run time.

What else should I pack for the shack?

See our best solar lantern for power outage and best solar lantern for tent guides for more lantern picks, and best portable refrigerator for ice fishing for the rest of the kit.

Censinda Camping Lantern
Still deciding? Our top pickCensinda Camping Lantern
Check price on Amazon

See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides.

More picks: also worth a look are the Glocusent 400H with a 24-month warranty and IPX5 water resistance, the SAMUUN 2000-lumen lantern with IP65 and FCC/RoHS, the Westinghouse 1000-lumen lantern with IPX4 and a 1-year warranty, and the Olytra outdoor solar lantern with a 1-year manufacturer warranty.