Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Solar Lantern for Tent: 4 Lanterns Compared by Spec

Four solar lanterns for tent duty compared on lumens, runtime, IP codes, charging options and warranty terms, with every figure from the listings.

Best Solar Lantern for Tent: 4 Lanterns Compared by Spec
On this page

The tent zip is down, the headlamp batteries are fading and the map on the phone is barely readable, which is when the best solar lantern for tent trips proves its worth. We compared four solar lanterns on what each listing states: lumens, runtime, IP codes, charging and warranty terms. The WARSUN leads with a 2-year warranty and 48 hours of stated runtime, while the TechRise answers with 4,000 lumens and a phone-charging port. Every figure below comes from the makers’ listings, with no figures invented and no figures copied from one listing to another.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • WARSUN Square Lantern
    Best Overall WARSUN Square Lantern: 2-year warranty, up to 48h runtime, IPX5 stated Check price on Amazon
  • TechRise 4000LM Lantern
    Highest Lumens TechRise 4000LM Lantern: 4000 lumens, 6700mAh, charges phones, IP65 stated Check price on Amazon
  • LeKaufen 120-LED Lantern
    Best with Remote LeKaufen 120-LED Lantern: 4000 lumens, remote, 5 modes, 6-month warranty Check price on Amazon
  • MODOAO 5-Pack Tent Lights
    Best 5-Pack MODOAO 5-Pack Tent Lights: 5 lights with hooks, USB and solar, 2-year warranty Check price on Amazon

The picks

WARSUN Square Lantern

WARSUN Square Lantern

WARSUN9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A square 1,000-lumen LED panel lantern with USB-C and solar charging, 48 hours of stated runtime and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 2-year warranty with lifetime support stated
  • Up to 48 hours of runtime on a low setting
  • IPX5 code stated
  • Compact square panel at 6.08 ounces

Cons

  • 1,000 lumens, below the 4,000-lumen pair
  • Solar is stated as a backup, not the main charge
  • No phone-charging function is stated
  • Front-facing panel lights one direction only
Detailed Review

The listing states a compact square camping lantern with a front-facing LED panel delivering up to 1,000 lumens, USB-C recharging with a solar panel as backup, up to 48 hours of runtime on a low setting, adjustable brightness, and a 3,500K color temperature. It lists a lithium-ion battery, an ABS housing, an IPX5 code, 3.26 by 1.18 by 3.26 inches at 6.08 ounces, and a 2-year warranty with lifetime support. The listing is clear that solar charging is a backup rather than a replacement for USB-C charging.

Who it's for: campers who want the longest stated warranty here with a slim panel light for a tent or table. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 4,000-lumen output or phone charging.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 27/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 3/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness1000 lumens, 3500K
RuntimeUp to 48h stated
ChargingUSB-C plus solar backup
WeatherIPX5 stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX5 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 2-year warranty with lifetime support stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TechRise 4000LM Lantern

TechRise 4000LM Lantern

TechRise9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4,000-lumen lantern with a 6,700mAh battery, phone-charging port, hook, magnet and stand, and IP65 stated.

Pros

  • 4,000 lumens with 3 brightness levels and 3 color temperatures
  • 6,700mAh battery doubles as a USB power bank
  • Hook, magnets and 360-degree swivel stand
  • IP65 code stated

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • Spec table lists 3 nonstandard batteries against the one built-in pack
  • 4.53 by 4.72 by 1.77 inches, the largest unit here
  • Solar is a trickle backup, not the main charge
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4,000-lumen LED camping lantern with 3 adjustable brightness levels and cool, natural and warm white color temperatures, a 6,700mAh battery with up to 72 hours of runtime at dim brightness, and a USB port that charges phones. It lists USB-C fast charging with a 22% solar panel as backup, a flip-out hook, strong magnets and a 360-degree swivel stand, an IP65 code, anti-slip shock-resistant materials, and 4.53 by 4.72 by 1.77 inches. The spec table lists 3 nonstandard batteries while the bullets describe one built-in 6,700mAh pack; trust the bullets. After-sales support is listed with no warranty term.

Who it's for: campers who want the highest stated output here with phone charging for outages. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 33/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness4000 lumens, 3 color temps
Battery6700mAh, USB power bank
RuntimeUp to 72h stated
WeatherIP65 stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

LeKaufen 120-LED Lantern

LeKaufen 120-LED Lantern

LeKaufen9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4,000-lumen lantern with 120 LEDs, a wireless remote, 5 modes and a 6-month warranty.

Pros

  • 4,000 lumens from 120 LEDs
  • Wireless remote with 5 modes including strobe and SOS
  • USB plus solar charging, cable included
  • 238 grams, the stated weight here

Cons

  • 6-month warranty, shorter than the 2-year picks
  • About 12 hours for a full USB charge
  • IPX4, the lowest stated weather code of the four
  • Battery pack is built in and not replaceable
Detailed Review

The listing states a solar camping lantern with 4,000 lumens from 120 LED bulbs, 5 modes of high, medium, low, strobe and SOS, a wireless remote, and 12 hours of light when fully charged. It lists USB charging with about 12 hours for a full charge plus solar charging, a hook for hanging, an IPX4 code, 6.51 by 1.5 by 6.51 inches at 238 grams, and a 6-month warranty. The spec table lists 10 to 48 hours of working time across modes, which contains the 12-hour title figure.

Who it's for: campers who want remote control of a bright tent light with strobe and SOS modes. Who should skip it: anyone who needs the longest stated runtime or a 2-year warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 1/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Brightness4000 lumens, 120 LEDs
Modes5: high, medium, low, strobe, SOS
ChargingUSB plus solar
WeatherIPX4 stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. 6-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 1 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

MODOAO 5-Pack Tent Lights

MODOAO 5-Pack Tent Lights

MODOAO9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 5-pack of warm white tent lights with hooks, USB and solar charging, 3 modes and a 2-year warranty.

Pros

  • 5 lights in the box with a 2-year warranty
  • USB and solar rechargeable with a hanging hook
  • 3 modes: full, half and low brightness
  • Warm white light, suited to tent use

Cons

  • No lumen figure is stated
  • No runtime figure is stated
  • No IP code is stated
  • 0.62 kg for the set with no per-light weight
Detailed Review

The listing states a 5-pack of LED tent lights with a hanging hook on top, 3 modes of full, half and low brightness, warm white light with 360-degree illumination, and USB plus solar recharging from a built-in battery. It lists 7.6 by 2.4 inches, 0.62 kg for the set, an ABS housing, and a 2-year warranty. The spec table lists a water resistance level with no IP code stated.

Who it's for: groups who want one light per tent with a 2-year warranty at a 5-pack count. Who should skip it: buyers who need stated lumens, runtime or an IP code.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 3/5: 70 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack5 lights with hooks
ModesFull, half, low
ChargingUSB and solar
LightWarm white, 360 deg

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 2-year warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Lantern Solar Score Lumens Runtime IP code Warranty Amazon
WARSUN Square Lantern 9.5/10 1000 48h IPX5 2 years View on Amazon
TechRise 4000LM Lantern 9.5/10 4000 72h IP65 Not stated View on Amazon
LeKaufen 120-LED Lantern 9.5/10 4000 12h IPX4 6 months View on Amazon
MODOAO 5-Pack Tent Lights 9.5/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated 2 years View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a tent lantern, safety means the IP code the listing actually states; the TechRise states IP65, the WARSUN IPX5, the LeKaufen IPX4, and the MODOAO states no code. Three of the four state a warranty term, from 6 months to 2 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
WARSUN Square Lantern 9.5 27 21 20 5 3
TechRise 4000LM Lantern 9.5 33 21 20 6 0
LeKaufen 120-LED Lantern 9.5 30 20 21 5 1
MODOAO 5-Pack Tent Lights 9.5 26 20 21 0 3

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar lantern for tent

Start from brightness

The TechRise and the LeKaufen each state 4,000 lumens, with the TechRise adding 3 brightness levels and 3 color temperatures and the LeKaufen 120 LEDs with 5 modes. The WARSUN states 1,000 lumens from a front-facing LED panel, and the MODOAO states no lumen figure, only warm white light with 3 modes. Match the lumens to the space: a family tent needs the 4,000-lumen pair, while a solo tent is served by the WARSUN. For camp setups beyond the tent, see our best solar lantern for camping.

Check runtime and the battery

The TechRise states up to 72 hours at dim brightness from a 6,700mAh battery, and it doubles as a USB power bank for phones. The WARSUN states up to 48 hours on a low setting. The LeKaufen states 12 hours when fully charged, with 10 to 48 hours across modes in the spec table, and the MODOAO states no runtime figure. If the trip runs multiple nights, the longer stated runtimes answer.

Lantern Lumens Runtime IP code Warranty
WARSUN Square Lantern 1000 48h IPX5 2 years
TechRise 4000LM Lantern 4000 72h IP65 Not stated
LeKaufen 120-LED Lantern 4000 12h IPX4 6 months
MODOAO 5-Pack Tent Lights Not stated Not stated Not stated 2 years

Check charging and controls

The TechRise charges by USB-C with a 22% solar panel as backup, and the WARSUN charges by USB-C with a solar panel as backup, described as an auxiliary rather than the main charge. The LeKaufen charges by USB cable, included, plus solar, with about 12 hours for a full USB charge and a wireless remote for its 5 modes. The MODOAO charges by USB and solar with no charge time stated. The TechRise hangs by a flip-out hook, mounts by magnet or stands on a 360-degree swivel base, while the MODOAO hangs from a hook and the LeKaufen hangs upside down for area light.

Read the warranty lines

The WARSUN and the MODOAO state a 2-year warranty, the longest stated here. The LeKaufen states 6 months. The TechRise lists after-sales support with no stated term. For storm-season kits, see our best solar lantern for hurricane season.

Sizing Notes

  • Match lumens to the space: 4,000 stated on the TechRise and the LeKaufen; 1,000 on the WARSUN; none stated on the MODOAO.
  • Match runtime to the trip: 72 hours stated on the TechRise, 48 hours on the WARSUN, 12 hours on the LeKaufen, none stated on the MODOAO.
  • Check the IP code: IP65 stated on the TechRise, IPX5 on the WARSUN, IPX4 on the LeKaufen, none stated on the MODOAO.
  • Check charging: USB-C plus solar backup on the TechRise and the WARSUN; USB plus solar on the LeKaufen and the MODOAO.
  • Check warranty lines before ordering: 2 years on the WARSUN and the MODOAO, 6 months on the LeKaufen, no term stated on the TechRise.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which lantern states the most lumens?

The TechRise and the LeKaufen each state 4,000 lumens. The WARSUN states 1,000 lumens, and the MODOAO states no lumen figure.

Which lantern states the longest runtime?

The TechRise states up to 72 hours at dim brightness. The WARSUN states up to 48 hours on a low setting, and the LeKaufen states 12 hours when fully charged.

Which lantern has a remote control?

The LeKaufen, with a wireless remote for its 5 modes. The other three state no remote.

Which lanterns state a warranty?

The WARSUN and the MODOAO state a 2-year warranty. The LeKaufen states 6 months, and the TechRise lists after-sales support with no stated term.

Which lantern can charge a phone?

The TechRise, whose 6,700mAh battery doubles as a USB power bank. The other three state no phone-charging function.

WARSUN Square Lantern
Still deciding? Our top pickWARSUN Square Lantern
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best solar lantern for camping. Also see our best solar lantern for hurricane season. Also see our best solar flashlight for camping.

More picks: the DIBMS collapsible lantern with 300 stated lumens, IPX4 and a 6-month warranty; the LeKaufen 2-pack with 4,000 stated lumens, IPX4 and a 90-day warranty; the Glocusent pocket lantern with a 5,000mAh battery, IPX5 and a 24-month warranty; the LuminAID inflatable lantern with 200 stated lumens, IP67 and a 1-year warranty; and the SAMUUN lantern with 2,000 stated lumens, IP65 plus FCC and RoHS stated, and a 1-year warranty were also considered.