Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Solar Lantern vs Solar Flashlight: Which One Should You Buy?

Solar lantern vs solar flashlight: two solar lanterns and two solar flashlights compared on brightness, battery life, light modes and warranty terms.

Solar Lantern vs Solar Flashlight: Which One Should You Buy?
On this page

The short verdict on solar lantern vs solar flashlight: pick a solar lantern if you want hands-free ambient light for a table, patio or campsite, and pick a solar flashlight if you need a bright beam you can aim at the trail, the tent or the engine bay. We compared two solar lanterns against two solar flashlights on what each listing states: brightness, battery life, light modes, weather protection and warranty terms. The lanterns win on glow time and set-and-forget use; the flashlights win on stated brightness and portability.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Solar lantern vs solar flashlight: side by side

Solar lantern vs solar flashlight Hompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern BONLION Retro Solar Lantern Energizer S-600 Solar Flashlight Queena 2-Pack Solar Flashlight Amazon
Side lantern lantern flashlight flashlight
Brightness stated Not stated Not stated 600 lumens 100000 lumens (title)
Battery life stated Up to 12 hours 10-12 hours 3 hours 30 minutes 6 hours
Charging USB-C and solar Solar only Solar, USB and 2 AA Solar and USB-C
Weather protection stated IP65 IP65 IPX4 IP65
Warranty 10-year after-sale 1 year Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 21 October 2026.

Brightness and beam

This is the clearest gap. The Energizer flashlight states up to 600 lumens on High with a beam distance of up to 400 m when using the rechargeable battery. The Queena flashlight’s title claims 100000 lumens, but the bullets never restate a lumen figure, so the claim stands on the title alone. Neither lantern states a brightness figure: the Hompavo talks about flame and steady modes, and the BONLION describes brightness as noticeable but pleasant to the eyes. If you need a number to compare against your trail or emergency kit, only the Energizer gives one.

Battery life and charging

The lanterns state longer glow times. The Hompavo lists up to 12 hours of glow from USB-C or solar charging, and the BONLION lists 10 to 12 hours from an 800mAh battery charged in 6 to 8 hours of sun. The Energizer lists 3 hours 30 minutes of runtime with solar, USB or 2 AA batteries as power options. The Queena lists a 6 hour runtime with solar and USB-C charging and a non-removable battery. Only the BONLION is solar only; the other three add USB or USB-C charging, and the Energizer can also fall back on 2 AA batteries.

Modes and use

The lanterns are built for ambient light. The Hompavo gives a flame simulation mode and a steady light mode, turns on at dusk and off at dawn by itself, and works as a hanging lantern or a table lamp. The BONLION switches between warm light and cool white, also turns on at sunset, and is a tabletop piece. The flashlights are built for aimed light: the Energizer cycles through high, medium and low, and the Queena adds a side light, an SOS strobe and a dimming mode. The Energizer doubles as a USB power bank, which is handy when a phone dies at the campsite.

What the listings leave unclear

The Hompavo bullets say Type-C charging takes 3 hours in one line and 4 hours in the first-use note, and solar charging is listed as 6 to 8 hours in one line and 8 plus hours in the note. The Queena title claims 100000 lumens without a restating bullet, and its warranty description reads 2 with no unit, so no warranty term is stated. The Energizer’s warranty description reads not applicable. The Hompavo flame realism and the Queena’s weight and toughness claims are the makers’ marketing words.

Four examples

Hompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern

Hompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern

Hompavo9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-pack of solar lanterns with flame and steady modes, auto on at dusk and stated 10-year after-sale service.

Pros

  • 4-pack with flame mode and steady light mode
  • Light sensor auto turns on at dusk and off at dawn
  • USB-C and solar charging with up to 12 hours of glow stated
  • 10-year after-sale service stated

Cons

  • The listing says USB-C takes 3 hours in one line and 4 hours in another
  • Solar charging is listed as 6 to 8 hours in one line and 8 plus hours in another
  • Flame realism is a marketing claim, not a checkable figure
  • No brightness figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 4-pack of solar lanterns with a flame simulation mode and a steady light mode, charging by USB-C or solar panel, up to 12 hours of glow, a light sensor that turns on at dusk and off at dawn, IP65, ABS housing, hanging or tabletop use, 4.72 by 4.72 by 5.3 inches and 0.93 kg. The 10-year after-sale service promises money back or replacement for any product issue in 10 years. The bullets say Type-C charging takes 3 hours in one line and 4 hours in the first-use note, and solar charging is listed as 6 to 8 hours in one line and 8 plus hours in the note, so the charging times are unclear. The flame effect is described as lifelike, which is the maker's claim.

Who it's for: anyone who wants decorative, hands-free light for a patio, garden or campsite table that runs itself at night. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a stated brightness figure.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 4/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Glow timeUp to 12 hours
ChargingUSB-C and solar
ModesFlame and steady light
Weather protectionIP65 stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 10-year after-sale service stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 4 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

BONLION Retro Solar Lantern

BONLION Retro Solar Lantern

BONLION9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of metal solar lanterns with warm and cool white modes, 800mAh battery and stated IP65.

Pros

  • Two color modes: warm light and cool white
  • 800mAh battery with 10 to 12 hours of illumination stated
  • IP65 stated for rain and wind
  • 1-year warranty stated

Cons

  • No lumen figure is stated
  • Solar only, no USB backup charging
  • The 26% higher energy conversion is a comparison the listing does not explain
  • The switch must be turned on under the panel before charging
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of metal cutout solar lanterns with warm light and cool white modes, an 800mAh battery, 6 to 8 hours of charging for 10 to 12 hours of illumination, a solar panel with stated 26% higher energy conversion, auto on at sunset, IP65, metal and ABS construction, 5.9 by 3.9 by 5.9 inches and 0.69 kg. It runs fully on solar with no battery purchases. The warranty is one year. No contradictions between the title, bullets and spec table affect the figures used here.

Who it's for: anyone who wants a decorative tabletop lantern with a warm or cool white choice for patios and gardens. Who should skip it: anyone who wants USB backup charging.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 0/5: 76 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Glow time10-12 hours
Battery800mAh
ModesWarm and cool white
Weather protectionIP65 stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Energizer S-600 Solar Flashlight

Energizer S-600 Solar Flashlight

Energizer9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A hybrid solar flashlight with 600 lumens on High, USB power bank output and IPX4 water resistance.

Pros

  • Up to 600 lumens on High with a 400 m beam stated
  • Runs on solar, USB or 2 AA batteries
  • Doubles as a USB power bank for other devices
  • IPX4 water resistance and 1 m drop with shatterproof lens stated

Cons

  • The warranty description reads not applicable
  • 600 lumens and 400 m apply with the rechargeable battery, per the listing
  • 3 hours 30 minutes runtime stated
  • USB charges out to devices; no USB-C input is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a hybrid solar flashlight that runs on 2 AA batteries or a rechargeable lithium ion battery charged by solar panel or USB, with high, medium and low modes, up to 600 lumens on High with a beam distance of up to 400 m when using the rechargeable battery, anti-roll and non-slip design, IPX4 water resistance, 1 m drop survival and a shatterproof lens. It doubles as a USB power bank, and runtime is stated as 3 hours 30 minutes. Size is 2.36 by 3.07 by 9.37 inches and 0.28 kg. The warranty description reads not applicable, so no warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: campers and homeowners who want a bright handheld beam with backup power from AA batteries and a phone-charging output. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a lantern that lights a whole table.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 74 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
BrightnessUp to 600 lumens
Beam distanceUp to 400 m
PowerSolar, USB and 2 AA
Weather protectionIPX4 water resistant stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IPX4 water resistance stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Queena 2-Pack Solar Flashlight

Queena 2-Pack Solar Flashlight

Queena9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of solar flashlights with 4 light modes, USB-C charging and stated IP65 at 5 by 2 by 3 inches.

Pros

  • 4 lighting modes including SOS strobe and dimming
  • Solar and USB-C charging
  • IP65 water resistance and shock-resistant ABS stated
  • 2-pack with a USB cable included

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated; the warranty description reads 2
  • The 100000 lumen title claim is not restated in the bullets
  • The battery is built in and not removable, per the listing
  • No battery capacity figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of solar flashlights with 4 lighting modes (front light, side light, SOS strobe and dimming), solar and USB-C charging, shock-resistant ABS, IP65 water resistance, a 6 hour runtime, 5 by 2 by 3 inches, and a built-in rechargeable battery that is not removable. The title claims 100000 lumens, but the bullets never restate a lumen figure, so the claim stands on the title alone. The warranty description reads 2 with no unit, so no warranty term is stated. The maker's claims about weight and toughness are reported as the listing states them.

Who it's for: anyone who wants two compact emergency flashlights with SOS and dimming modes for car, home or backpack. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated brightness figure they can compare.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 19/25, safety 5/10 and warranty 0/5: 69 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
ModesFront, side, SOS strobe, dimming
ChargingSolar and USB-C
Runtime6 hours
Weather protectionIP65 stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 stated, so safety scores 5 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For solar lights, safety means stated weather protection: the Hompavo, BONLION and Queena state IP65, and the Energizer states IPX4 water resistance. Two of the four state a warranty term: a 10-year after-sale service and a 1-year warranty. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Hompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern 9.7 30 21 21 7 4
BONLION Retro Solar Lantern 9.6 28 20 21 7 0
Energizer S-600 Solar Flashlight 9.5 29 20 20 5 0
Queena 2-Pack Solar Flashlight 9.4 26 19 19 5 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

Solar lantern vs solar flashlight: which should you choose?

Choose a solar lantern if the light stays in one place. The Hompavo suits patios and garden paths with its 4-pack, dusk-to-dawn sensor and up to 12 hours of glow, and the BONLION suits tabletops with its warm and cool white modes. Both state IP65, so rain is covered on paper.

Choose a solar flashlight if you need to aim the beam. The Energizer suits emergencies and outdoor work with its stated 600 lumens, 400 m beam and power bank output, and it still works on 2 AA batteries when the sun is gone. The Queena suits a backup kit with its SOS strobe, dimming mode and compact 5 by 2 by 3 inch size, though its lumen claim stands on the title alone.

For more on ambient options, see the best solar lantern for tent guide, and for handheld options the best solar flashlight for camping under 12 guide. The best solar lights for bike path guide covers fixed pathway lights.

If you need Look at
Longest glow time Hompavo, up to 12 hours
Stated brightness figure Energizer, 600 lumens
SOS and dimming modes Queena, 4 modes
Warm or cool white choice BONLION, 2 modes

Sizing Notes

  • Match lumens to the job: only the Energizer states a figure, 600 lumens on High.
  • Check stated battery life against your nights: up to 12 hours on the Hompavo, 10 to 12 hours on the BONLION, 3 hours 30 minutes on the Energizer, 6 hours on the Queena.
  • Match charging to your setup: the BONLION is solar only, while the others add USB or USB-C, and the Energizer also takes 2 AA batteries.
  • Weather protection stated: IP65 on the Hompavo, BONLION and Queena, IPX4 on the Energizer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is better for a campsite table, a lantern or a flashlight?

A lantern. The Hompavo and BONLION turn on at dusk by themselves and give ambient light for a table or patio, while the flashlights give an aimed beam. If you need to walk the trail, take a flashlight too.

How bright is the Energizer flashlight?

Up to 600 lumens on High, with a beam distance of up to 400 m when using the rechargeable battery, per the listing.

How long do these lights run on a charge?

The Hompavo states up to 12 hours, the BONLION 10 to 12 hours, the Queena 6 hours, and the Energizer 3 hours 30 minutes.

Which lights here state a warranty?

The Hompavo states a 10-year after-sale service, and the BONLION states a 1-year warranty. The Energizer’s warranty description reads not applicable, and the Queena’s reads 2 with no unit, so no warranty term is stated for either.

Do any of these charge by USB?

Yes. The Hompavo charges by USB-C, the Queena by USB-C, and the Energizer by USB, while the BONLION is solar only, per the listings.

Hompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern
Still deciding? Our top pickHompavo Gen2 Solar Lantern
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides.

More picks: best solar lantern for tent, best solar flashlight for camping under 12, best solar lights for bike path, best solar trail camera for security under 90.