Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Camping and Emergency Gear

Best Solar Lantern Under $40 (2026): 5 Lanterns Compared

Five solar lanterns compared on stated run time, weather rating, pack size and warranty terms, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Solar Lantern Under $40 (2026): 5 Lanterns Compared
On this page

Dusk settles over a patio table while the last light fades from the garden, and the best solar lantern under 40 is the kind that charges itself by day and glows on its own at night. We compared what each listing states: run time, build, weather rating, pack size and warranty terms, across hanging and tabletop lanterns meant for patios, gardens and porches. The two lanterns with a stated IP65 rating lead the group, and the patterned bronze pair adds a decorative option for evenings outside.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Solmora Solar Lantern 2-Pack
    Best Overall Solmora Solar Lantern 2-Pack: metal frame, IP65 rating and a stated 1 year warranty Check price on Amazon
  • TAKE ME Solar Lantern 2-Pack
    Longest Stated Run Time TAKE ME Solar Lantern 2-Pack: 24 hours of battery life stated plus a tempered glass shade Check price on Amazon
  • DAMAYCA Solar Lantern 2-Pack
    Patterned Glow DAMAYCA Solar Lantern 2-Pack: cut out design casts flower patterned shadows at dusk Check price on Amazon
  • KOOPER 4-Pack Lanterns
    Four-Pack Option KOOPER Solar Lantern 4-Pack: four outdoor solar lanterns in a single pack Check price on Amazon
  • SHYMERY 2-Pack Lantern
    Glass Lantern Option SHYMERY Solar Lantern 2-Pack: tempered glass solar lantern in a 2-pack Check price on Amazon

The picks

Solmora Solar Lantern 2-Pack

Solmora Solar Lantern 2-Pack

Solmora9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A metal hanging lantern pair with a flickering flameless candle glow, an IP65 rating and a stated 1 year warranty.

Pros

  • IP65 rating stated for rain, snow and strong sun
  • Up to 8 to 10 hours of steady warm light after full-sun charging
  • Metal frame with a sturdy top hook for hanging or flat surface use
  • 1 year manufacture warranty stated

Cons

  • Needs 8 to 10 hours of full-sun charging for a full charge
  • Power switch must be turned on before first use
  • Spec table battery life of 8 hours differs from the bullets at 8 to 10 hours
  • No panel watts stated in the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states a water-drop silhouette with a black metal hollow frame, a monocrystalline solar panel, a flickering flameless candle glow, automatic on at dusk, and up to 8 to 10 hours of steady warm light after 8 to 10 hours of full-sun charging. It states an IP65 rating, iron sheet, iron wire and ABS materials, a sturdy top hook, flat surface standing, and a 1 year manufacture warranty. The spec table lists 6 by 7 by 11 inches, 0.6 watts and 2 volts, and a battery life of 8 hours, which sits below the bullets at 8 to 10 hours, so trust the bullets for run time.

Who it's for: garden, porch and backyard owners who want a hanging pair with a stated weather rating and warranty. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated panel watt figure or a shorter charging window.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 22/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 83 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size6 x 7 x 11 in
LightFlickering flameless candle
Power0.6 watts, 2 volts
Weather ratingIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 1 year manufacture warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

TAKE ME Solar Lantern 2-Pack

TAKE ME Solar Lantern 2-Pack

TAKE ME9.7/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A tall antique gold lantern pair with a tempered glass shade, a flickering warm glow and a stated 24 hours of battery life.

Pros

  • 24 hours of battery life stated
  • IP65 rating stated for outdoor use
  • Tempered glass shade that transmits light better than ordinary plastic, per the listing
  • 360 days guarantee stated

Cons

  • Listing warns the lanterns are more decorative than illuminating
  • Candle glow is warm orange, not white
  • Body measures 11 inches, with 14 inches including the handle
  • ABS body rather than metal
Detailed Review

The listing states a 2-pack of 14 inch lanterns including the handle, with an 11 inch body, a 5.5 by 5.5 inch footprint, a larger polysilicon panel, 1500 milliampere capacity, auto charging by day and auto light up at dusk, and a battery life of 24 hours. It states an IP65 rating, ABS construction with a tempered glass shade, a flickering warm orange candle glow, and a 360 days guarantee. The spec table lists 1.5 A and 2 light sources, and the title and bullets agree that the 14 inch figure includes the handle, so the body height is 11 inches.

Who it's for: patio and garden owners who want a tall decorative pair with the longest stated run time here. Who should skip it: buyers who need bright task lighting rather than ambient glow.

Its Solar Score of 9.7/10 comes from performance 32/35, build 21/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 3/5: 84 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size5.5 x 5.5 x 14 in
Battery life24 hours
ShadeTempered glass
MaterialABS

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 360 days guarantee stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

KOOPER 4-Pack Lanterns

KOOPER 4-Pack Lanterns

KOOPER9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 4-pack of bronze flame-effect solar lanterns with 8 to 12 hours of light for yards and gardens.

Pros

  • Four lanterns in the pack
  • 800mAh battery with 8 to 12 hours of light
  • IP65 code stated
  • Monocrystalline panel stated

Cons

  • No warranty term stated
  • No lumen figure stated
  • Solar charging only, no USB port stated
  • Bronze finish only
Detailed Review

The listing states an 800mAh battery, 8 to 12 hours of light, an IP65 code, a monocrystalline panel and a bronze ABS shell in a 4-pack. The description states a dancing flame effect from upgraded LED beads. No lumen figure and no warranty term are stated.

Who it's for: buyers who want four matching flame lanterns for a yard or garden table. Who should skip it: buyers who want USB charging, a stated lumen figure or a warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 21/25, value 22/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 80 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Battery800mAh
Work time8 to 12 hours
Pack4
Weather codeIP65

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 22 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP65 code stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SHYMERY 2-Pack Lantern

SHYMERY 2-Pack Lantern

SHYMERY9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 2-pack of tempered glass solar lanterns with flickering candle light, 12 to 16 hours of stated light and protection circuitry.

Pros

  • 12 to 16 hours of stated light after a 6-hour charge
  • Tempered glass with a flickering candle effect
  • Over-charge and short-circuit protection stated
  • 2 lanterns, 14 inches tall

Cons

  • The warranty description reads only '1', with no term stated
  • 10 lumens is the lowest stated figure here
  • 1.56 kg for the pair
  • 2 AA batteries per lantern, 4 in total
Detailed Review

The title states a 2-pack of 14-inch tempered glass solar lanterns with flickering flameless candle light. The bullets state monocrystalline silicon panels that charge for 6 hours and provide 12 to 16 hours of light, over-charge and short-circuit protection, a sealing design, tempered glass with a soft flickering effect, a built-in light sensor for automatic on at dusk, and 5.5 by 14 by 5.5 inches per lantern. The spec table lists 10 lumens maximum, 2 AA batteries per lantern and a warranty description that reads only '1', so no warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: table and porch settings where a long, soft candle glow matters more than brightness. Who should skip it: anyone who wants real path illumination or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 0/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack2 lanterns, tempered glass
Output10 lumens, flickering
Runtime12-16 h after 6 h charge
ProtectionOver-charge, short-circuit

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 21 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. Over-charge and short-circuit protection stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

DAMAYCA Solar Lantern 2-Pack

DAMAYCA Solar Lantern 2-Pack

DAMAYCA9.4/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A bronze hanging lantern pair with a cut out design that casts flower patterned shadows and 6 to 8 hours of light per charge.

Pros

  • Cut out design casts flower patterned shadows
  • Hangs or stands on a flat surface
  • Turns on automatically when it gets dark
  • Two lanterns with rechargeable batteries in the package

Cons

  • No IP rating stated and the spec table lists no water resistance rating
  • No warranty term stated
  • Spec table material of Polyester conflicts with the bullets stating durable metal
  • Only 0.1 watts stated, the lowest light source wattage here
Detailed Review

The listing states a set of 2 solar hanging lanterns in bronze or black, a cut out design with flower patterned shadows, a bright LED bulb, solar charging by day, automatic on at dark, and 6 to 8 hours of light per charge. It states a 5.5 by 6.3 inch body with a 9.1 inch height including the handle, a 3000 Kelvin color temperature, 0.1 watts and 1.2 volts. The spec table lists Material as Polyester while also listing Material Type as Metal, and the bullets state durable metal, so trust the bullets and read the frame as metal; the spec table size of 5.5 by 5.5 by 9.1 inches also differs from the bullets at 5.5 by 6.3 inches, so trust the bullets for width.

Who it's for: garden and patio owners who want decorative patterned light and a simple hang or place setup. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated weather rating or a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.4/10 comes from performance 26/35, build 19/25, value 20/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 0/5: 65 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Size5.5 x 6.3 in, 9.1 in with handle
Color temperature3000 Kelvin
Light sourceLED, 0.1 watts
MaterialMetal

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 28 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. No IP weather rating is stated, so safety scores zero. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Glocusent 400H Camping LanternGlocusent 400H Camping LanternPocket camping lantern for power outages and emergency use.Check on Amazon
  • SAMUUN LED Camping LanternSAMUUN LED Camping LanternCamping lantern for power outages, hiking and emergency use.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Lantern Solar Score Pack Run time Weather rating Warranty Amazon
Solmora Solar Lantern 2-Pack 9.7/10 2 pack 8 to 10 hours IP65 1 year View on Amazon
TAKE ME Solar Lantern 2-Pack 9.7/10 2 pack 24 hours IP65 360 days View on Amazon
DAMAYCA Solar Lantern 2-Pack 9.4/10 2 pack 6 to 8 hours Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
KOOPER Solar Lantern 4-Pack 9.6/10 4 pack Not stated Not stated Not stated
SHYMERY Solar Lantern 2-Pack 9.5/10 2 pack Not stated Not stated Not stated

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 28 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For a solar lantern, safety means a stated weather rating and stated weather protection in the listing; a lantern that states no IP rating scores zero on that line, whatever its glow. Two of the five lanterns state an IP65 rating, and two of the five state a warranty term. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
Solmora Solar Lantern 2-Pack 9.7 30 22 21 7 3
TAKE ME Solar Lantern 2-Pack 9.7 32 21 21 7 3
DAMAYCA Solar Lantern 2-Pack 9.4 26 19 20 0 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar lantern under 40

Start from run time, not glow style

Run time separates these lanterns more than any other figure. The TAKE ME pair states 24 hours of battery life, the Solmora pair states up to 8 to 10 hours of steady warm light after 8 to 10 hours of full-sun charging, and the DAMAYCA pair states 6 to 8 hours of light per charge. If the lantern must stay lit from dusk until morning, the stated run time matters more than the shape of the shade, so read that line before the style lines. For camp evenings, see our best solar lantern for camping guide.

Check the weather rating before the finish

Two lanterns here state an IP65 rating: the Solmora pair, which the listing says performs well in rain, snow and strong sun, and the TAKE ME pair, which the listing describes for outdoor use. The DAMAYCA pair states no IP rating, so it suits a covered porch or a spot that can be brought inside when rain arrives. A bronze or black finish looks good on a table, but the rating decides whether the lantern can stay out through a wet week. For garden paths, see our best solar lantern for garden guide.

Lantern Run time Weather rating
Solmora Solar Lantern 2-Pack 8 to 10 hours IP65
TAKE ME Solar Lantern 2-Pack 24 hours IP65
DAMAYCA Solar Lantern 2-Pack 6 to 8 hours Not stated
KOOPER Solar Lantern 4-Pack Not stated Not stated
SHYMERY Solar Lantern 2-Pack Not stated Not stated

Pack size and placement

Every full-data pick here comes as a pair, and the KOOPER pick comes as a pack of four, so a longer path or a larger patio can be dressed without mixing styles. The Solmora pair hangs from a sturdy top hook or stands on a flat surface, the TAKE ME pair can sit on a desktop, hang on a wall or hang from a shepherd hook, and the DAMAYCA pair hangs or stands on a flat surface. Measure the spots first: the TAKE ME lanterns stand 14 inches tall including the handle, the Solmora lanterns measure 6 by 7 by 11 inches, and the DAMAYCA lanterns measure 5.5 by 6.3 inches with a 9.1 inch height including the handle. For patio evenings, see our best solar lantern for patio guide.

Read the warranty line closely

Warranty terms vary more than the glow does. The Solmora listing states a 1 year manufacture warranty, the TAKE ME listing states a 360 days guarantee, and the DAMAYCA listing states no warranty term. The two title-only picks also state no warranty term in the listing data. When two lanterns look alike on a table, the warranty line is a fair tiebreaker, and it costs nothing to check before ordering.

Sizing Notes

  • Match the lantern height to the spot: TAKE ME at 14 inches including the handle, Solmora at 11 inches tall, DAMAYCA at 9.1 inches including the handle.
  • Match charging to use: Solmora lists 8 to 10 hours of full-sun charging for up to 8 to 10 hours of light, so a shaded spot will not deliver the stated run time.
  • Match the shade to the job: TAKE ME states a tempered glass shade and warns its glow is more decorative than illuminating, so it suits ambiance rather than bright task light.
  • Match the pack to the area: pairs suit a table or a porch, while the KOOPER 4-pack suits a longer path or several seating spots.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which lantern here states the longest run time?

The TAKE ME pair, which states a battery life of 24 hours. The Solmora pair states up to 8 to 10 hours, and the DAMAYCA pair states 6 to 8 hours per charge.

Which lanterns state an IP65 rating?

The Solmora pair and the TAKE ME pair both state an IP65 rating. The DAMAYCA pair states no IP rating, and the two title-only picks state no weather rating in the listing data.

Which lanterns state a warranty term?

The Solmora listing states a 1 year manufacture warranty, and the TAKE ME listing states a 360 days guarantee. The DAMAYCA, KOOPER and SHYMERY listings state no warranty term in the listing data.

Which lantern casts patterned shadows?

The DAMAYCA pair, whose cut out design creates flower patterned shadows from its LED bulb. The Solmora pair casts radial retro shadows from its hollow frame, per its listing.

Can these lanterns hang and stand?

The Solmora pair hangs from a top hook or stands on a flat surface, the TAKE ME pair can sit on a desktop or hang on a wall or shepherd hook, and the DAMAYCA pair hangs or stands on a flat surface.

How tall is the TAKE ME lantern?

The listing states 14 inches including the handle, with the lantern body itself measuring 11 inches, and a 5.5 by 5.5 inch footprint.

Solmora Solar Lantern 2-Pack
Still deciding? Our top pickSolmora Solar Lantern 2-Pack
Check price on Amazon

See every Camping and Emergency Gear guide and all Power Stations and Generators guides. Also see our best solar lantern for backyard. Also see our best solar lantern for power outage.

More picks: best solar lantern for camping, best solar lantern for garden, best solar lantern for patio, best solar lantern for deck.