Skip to content
Search
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›
Path, String and Deck Lights

Best Solar Lights for a Walkway: 5 Sets Compared by Spec

Five solar walkway light sets, from 8-pack step lights to 16-pack path stakes, compared on pack size, stated runtime, weather rating and warranty terms.

Best Solar Lights for a Walkway: 5 Sets Compared by Spec
On this page

The walkway after dark, each step a guess between the gate and the front door: the best solar lights for a walkway mark the path without wiring, trenching or a timer to remember. We compared five solar walkway sets, from 8-pack step lights to 16-pack path stakes, on pack size, stated runtime, weather rating and warranty terms their listings publish. Stated weather rating and warranty coverage decided the ranking.

SolarKitHQ earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • DetarZinLED 8-Pack Step Lights
    Best Overall DetarZinLED 8-Pack Step Lights: IP68 step lights with 1000mAh battery, 8 to 10h runtime and 2-year coverage Check price on Amazon
  • SOLPEX 16-Pack Path Lights
    Biggest Pack SOLPEX 16-Pack Path Lights: 16 stainless path lights with IP55 rating and 6-month warranty Check price on Amazon
  • GIGALUMI 12-Pack Path Lights
    12-Pack Pick GIGALUMI 12-Pack Path Lights: 12 stainless path lights with IP44 rating and 6-month warranty Check price on Amazon
  • Peasur 12-Pack Ground Discs
    Ground Disc Pick Peasur 12-Pack Ground Discs: 12 flat ground discs with IP68 rating and 304 stainless steel Check price on Amazon
  • GIGALUMI 16-Pack Path Lights
    Longest Runtime GIGALUMI 16-Pack Path Lights: 16-pack with 8 to 10h stated lighting and stainless build Check price on Amazon

The picks

DetarZinLED 8-Pack Step Lights

DetarZinLED 8-Pack Step Lights

DetarZinLED9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

An 8-pack of warm white solar step lights with an IP68 rating, 6 LED beads per light, a 1000mAh battery and 2-year coverage.

Pros

  • IP68 rating, the highest stated here
  • 1000mAh battery with 8 to 10 hours stated
  • 2-year coverage stated
  • Stick-on install with no stake or wiring

Cons

  • 8-pack is the smallest pack here
  • 1.02 kg pack weight is the heaviest per light
  • Warm white only, no color options
  • Needs plenty of direct sunlight per the listing
Detailed Review

The listing states an 8-pack of warm white solar step lights with an IP68 rating, 6 spotlight beads per light, 45-degree upward refraction for step edges, a built-in 1000mAh battery, 6 hours of daytime charging for 8 to 10 hours at night, and a stick-on install with sticky pads. The polycarbonate shell measures 6.1 by 1.77 by 0.98 inches per light. The maker promises to cover the light for 2 years if it stops working or has defects, which reads as a 2-year warranty.

Who it's for: walkway and stair owners who want low-profile step lights with the highest stated rating. Who should skip it: anyone lighting a long path who needs a bigger pack.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 20/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 3/5: 81 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack8 step lights
LEDs6 beads per light, 2700K
Battery1000mAh
Runtime8-10h stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68 rating stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. 2-year coverage stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 3 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

SOLPEX 16-Pack Path Lights

SOLPEX 16-Pack Path Lights

SOLPEX9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 16-pack of cold white stainless path lights with an IP55 rating, 1.2V 150mAh batteries and a 6-month warranty.

Pros

  • 16-pack, the biggest pack here
  • IP55 rating stated
  • Corrosion-resistant stainless steel
  • 14.37-inch height per light

Cons

  • 2 lumens is the lowest brightness stated
  • No runtime figure is stated
  • 6-month warranty is short
  • 1.2V 150mAh battery is small
Detailed Review

The listing states a 16-pack of cold white solar pathway lights in corrosion-resistant stainless steel with an IP55 rating, a 1.2V 150mAh Ni-MH rechargeable battery per light, 14.37 by 2.28 by 2.28 inches per light, and automatic dusk-to-dawn switching with no wiring. The spec table gives 5000K, 2 lumens and a 6-month warranty; no runtime figure is stated.

Who it's for: buyers lighting a long walkway who want the most lights per box. Who should skip it: anyone who wants a stated runtime or brighter output.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 7/10 and warranty 2/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack16 path lights
Battery1.2V 150mAh Ni-MH
Size14.37 x 2.28 in
RatingIP55

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP55 rating stated, so safety scores 7 of 10. 6-month warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GIGALUMI 12-Pack Path Lights

GIGALUMI 12-Pack Path Lights

GIGALUMI9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-pack of cool white stainless path lights with an IP44 rating, up to 8 hours of light and a 6-month warranty.

Pros

  • Stainless steel build
  • IP44 rating stated
  • Up to 8 hours of light stated
  • Integrated lamp head with transparent shade

Cons

  • Bullets say 7000K while the spec table says 6500K
  • 3 lumens is dim
  • 6-month warranty is short
  • Materials list both plastic and stainless steel
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12-pack of cool white stainless path lights with an integrated lamp head, transparent shade, IP44 rating and up to 8 hours of light per charge, with automatic dusk-to-dawn switching on a ground stake. The bullets say 7000K cool white while the spec table says 6500K and 3 lumens; trust the bullets on color temperature. The spec table gives 3V, 12.4 by 7.65 by 4.25 inches, 2.2 lb and a 6 month manufacturer warranty.

Who it's for: buyers who want a mid-size pack of classic stake lights. Who should skip it: anyone who needs brighter output or a longer warranty.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 28/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 6/10 and warranty 2/5: 77 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack12 path lights
Color7000K cool white
RuntimeUp to 8h
RatingIP44

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP44 rating stated, so safety scores 6 of 10. 6 month manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

Peasur 12-Pack Ground Discs

Peasur 12-Pack Ground Discs

Peasur9.6/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 12-pack of warm white flat ground disc lights with an IP68 rating, 304 stainless steel and 8 LEDs per light.

Pros

  • IP68 rating stated
  • 304 stainless steel with ultrasonic welding
  • 8 LEDs per light
  • Flat profile installs in 15 to 20 seconds

Cons

  • No warranty term is stated
  • 6 to 8 hour charge needed for 8 to 10 hours of light
  • Disc form suits paths, not stairs
  • No brightness figure is stated
Detailed Review

The listing states a 12-pack of warm white flat solar ground lights with an IP68 rating, 304 stainless steel and ultrasonic welding for sealing, 8 LEDs per light, 2.83 by 2.83 by 3.27 inches, and a 15 to 20 second install with no wiring. Charging takes 6 to 8 hours for 8 to 10 hours of operation, with automatic dusk switching. No warranty term is stated.

Who it's for: walkway owners who want flush ground lights that mowers and feet pass over. Who should skip it: buyers who want a stated warranty term.

Its Solar Score of 9.6/10 comes from performance 30/35, build 21/25, value 20/25, safety 8/10 and warranty 0/5: 79 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack12 ground discs
LEDs8 per light
Charge6-8h for 8-10h
RatingIP68

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. IP68 rating stated, so safety scores 8 of 10. No warranty term, so warranty scores zero. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

GIGALUMI 16-Pack Path Lights

GIGALUMI 16-Pack Path Lights

GIGALUMI9.5/10 Solar Score
i
The Solar Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs performance (35%), build (25%), value (25%), safety (10%, where it applies) and warranty (5%), using only what the manufacturer and the listing publish. How we pick ›

A 16-pack of cold white stainless path lights with 8 to 10 hours of stated lighting and a 6-month warranty.

Pros

  • 8 to 10 hours of lighting stated
  • 16-pack for long paths
  • Stainless steel build
  • 5 lumens, the brightest stake light here

Cons

  • Title says stainless steel, spec table adds plastic
  • 6-month warranty is short
  • Cold white only
  • Spec table lists pull-chain switch against push-button control
Detailed Review

The listing states a 16-pack of cold white stainless path lights with 6 to 8 hours of sunlight for 8 to 10 hours of night lighting, 14.37-inch height, 2.28-inch top diameter and a 1.2V 150mAh battery per light. The spec table gives 6500K, 5 lumens and a 6 month manufacturer warranty; it lists a pull-chain switch type against the push-button controller, a minor mismatch. The lights turn on at night and off at dawn automatically.

Who it's for: walkway owners who want the longest stated runtime in a big pack. Who should skip it: anyone who needs a higher weather rating.

Its Solar Score of 9.5/10 comes from performance 29/35, build 20/25, value 21/25, safety 0/10 and warranty 2/5: 72 of 100 points, placed on our 9.2 to 9.8 scale.

Key Specifications
Pack16 path lights
Runtime8-10h stated
Brightness5 lumens
RatingNot stated

Figures as published on the retailer listing, collected 20 October 2026. Performance figures are manufacturer rated.

Safety and Warranty

What this listing states. This product does not plug in or run on a battery, so safety is not part of its score. 6 month manufacturer warranty stated. It does not say everything a buyer needs, such as who pays return shipping, so warranty scores 2 of 5. See How We Pick.

Outdoor solar lights. Treat lumens, run time and weather ratings as the maker's figures, place the panel where it gets direct sun, and replace batteries only with the type the maker specifies.

This is general buying information, not professional advice. Follow each product manual and local rules, and see our Safety Disclaimer.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Set Solar Score Pack Light color Runtime Weather rating Warranty Amazon
DetarZinLED 8-Pack Step Lights 9.6/10 8 lights Warm white 2700K 8-10h IP68 2 years View on Amazon
SOLPEX 16-Pack Path Lights 9.6/10 16 lights Cold white Not stated IP55 6 months View on Amazon
GIGALUMI 12-Pack Path Lights 9.6/10 12 lights Cool white 7000K Up to 8h IP44 6 months View on Amazon
Peasur 12-Pack Ground Discs 9.6/10 12 lights Warm white 8-10h IP68 Not stated View on Amazon
GIGALUMI 16-Pack Path Lights 9.5/10 16 lights Cold white 6500K 8-10h Not stated 6 months View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 20 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Solar Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For walkway lights, safety means the weather protection the listing actually states: an IP68, IP55 or IP44 rating scores here, while a set that states no rating scores lower. Four of the five listings state a warranty term, from 6 months to 2 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Product Solar Score Perf. /35 Build /25 Value /25 Safety /10 Warranty /5
DetarZinLED 8-Pack Step Lights 9.6 30 20 20 8 3
SOLPEX 16-Pack Path Lights 9.6 29 20 21 7 2
GIGALUMI 12-Pack Path Lights 9.6 28 20 21 6 2
Peasur 12-Pack Ground Discs 9.6 30 21 20 8 0
GIGALUMI 16-Pack Path Lights 9.5 29 20 21 0 2

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each product’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score.

How to choose the best solar lights for a walkway

Stake lights, step lights or ground discs

Three sets are stake-mounted path lights (both GIGALUMI sets, SOLPEX) for lining a walk. The DetarZinLED set is made for steps and edges with a stick-on mount, and the Peasur set is a flat ground disc that sits flush with the soil. Match the form to the surface: stakes for lawn edges, stick-on for steps, discs for paths that get foot traffic or mowers.

Pack size and spacing

The packs run 8, 12 and 16 lights. The SOLPEX and GIGALUMI 16-packs cover the longest runs; the DetarZinLED 8-pack suits a short flight of steps. None of the listings states a spacing figure, so count lights against the length of your walk.

Runtime and color temperature

Stated runtimes: up to 8 hours (GIGALUMI 12-pack), 8 to 10 hours (GIGALUMI 16-pack, DetarZinLED, Peasur); SOLPEX states no runtime. Color runs warm white 2700K (DetarZinLED, Peasur) to cold white 5000K to 7000K (SOLPEX, GIGALUMI sets). Pick warm for ambience near the door, cooler white for visibility along the path. See our outdoor solar lights for landscaping for yard-wide options.

Set Pack Light color Runtime Weather rating
DetarZinLED 8-Pack Step Lights 8 Warm white 2700K 8-10h IP68
SOLPEX 16-Pack Path Lights 16 Cold white Not stated IP55
GIGALUMI 16-Pack Path Lights 16 Cold white 6500K 8-10h Not stated
GIGALUMI 12-Pack Path Lights 12 Cool white 7000K Up to 8h IP44
Peasur 12-Pack Ground Discs 12 Warm white 8-10h IP68

Weather rating and warranty

DetarZinLED and Peasur state IP68, SOLPEX states IP55, and the GIGALUMI 12-pack states IP44; the 16-pack states no IP number. Warranties: 2-year coverage on DetarZinLED, 6 months on the other three stake sets, and no term stated on Peasur. For deck and stair lighting ideas, see our best solar lights for a deck.

Sizing Notes

  • Count lights against the walk length: 16-packs for long runs, the 8-pack for steps.
  • Check the charge requirement: 6 to 8 hours of sun for 8 to 10 hours of light on three sets.
  • Note the install: stake into soil (GIGALUMI, SOLPEX), stick-on (DetarZinLED), or set flush (Peasur).
  • Match the weather rating to exposure: IP68 for low or wet spots, IP44 minimum elsewhere.
  • Confirm the warranty: 2 years (DetarZinLED), 6 months (three sets), none stated (Peasur).

Frequently Asked Questions

How many lights do I need for a walkway?

The packs here hold 8, 12 or 16 lights, and none of the listings states a spacing figure. Count lights against the length of your walk and the edges you want marked.

Which sets state the highest weather rating?

DetarZinLED and Peasur state IP68. SOLPEX states IP55, and the GIGALUMI 12-pack states IP44; the 16-pack states no IP number.

Which listings state a warranty?

DetarZinLED states 2-year coverage, and the SOLPEX and both GIGALUMI sets state 6 months. Peasur states no warranty term.

Which are warm white?

DetarZinLED at 2700K and the Peasur discs in warm white. The stake sets are cold or cool white, from 5000K to 7000K.

Do any need wiring?

No. All five are solar with dusk-to-dawn auto switching: stake, stick-on or ground-disc install with no wiring.

Which suit steps rather than lawns?

The DetarZinLED stick-on step lights are made for steps and edges. The Peasur flush discs suit paths that take foot traffic.

DetarZinLED 8-Pack Step Lights
Still deciding? Our top pickDetarZinLED 8-Pack Step Lights
Check price on Amazon

See every Path, String and Deck Lights guide and all Solar Lights, Cameras and Fans guides. Also see our best solar lights for a driveway. Also see our best solar lights for a deck.

More picks: fence lights, balcony lights, pergola lights, mailbox post light.